This Hotel type is used for an individual building with a function of Hotel. i.e. It provides serviced rooms for rent to guests on a short term basis. A Hotel chain (e.g. Hilton, Accor) should be tagged with 'Hotel Operator'.
More about Best Hotel of All Time:
Best Hotel of All Time is a public top list created by Listnerd on rankly.com on November 27th 2012. Items on the Best Hotel of All Time top list are added by the rankly.com community and ranked using our secret ranking sauce. Best Hotel of All Time has gotten 1.460 views and has gathered 621 votes from 621 voters. O O
Best Hotel of All Time is a top list in the Travel category on rankly.com. Are you a fan of Travel or Best Hotel of All Time? Explore more top 100 lists about Travel on rankly.com or participate in ranking the stuff already on the all time Best Hotel of All Time top list below.
If you're not a member of rankly.com, you should consider becoming one. Registration is fast, free and easy. At rankly.com, we aim to give you the best of everything - including stuff like the Best Hotel of All Time list.
Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:
The Omni Parker House (built 1927) is a hotel in Boston, Massachusetts, currently owned by Omni Hotels. The name of the hotel derives from the original Parker House, which first opened in 1855. Founder Harvey D. Parker ran the hotel until his death in 1884, when the business passed on to his partners.
Opened in 1855 by Harvey D. Parker and located on School Street near the corner of Tremont, not far from the seat of the Massachusetts state government, it has long been a rendezvous for politicians. The hotel was home to the Saturday Club, also referred to as the Saturday Night Club, which consisted of literary dignitaries such as Charles Dickens, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr. John Wilkes Booth was also once a guest at the hotel. Charles Dickens resided in the Parker House for two years in his own apartments and first recited and performed "A Christmas Carol" at the Saturday Club at the Parker House. The Parker House currently holds possession of Charles Dickens lock and key to his apartment door and also his mirror.
The Parker House invented Massachusetts’ state dessert – Boston cream pie – and the Parker House roll; and coined the
Alden Houston, originally the Sam Houston Hotel, is a historic hotel in Downtown Houston, Texas, United States that is listed in the National Register of Historic Places under its former name. The hotel received its listing on April 17, 2004.
The Sam Houston Hotel Company built the hotel in 1924 to cater to the budget minded business traveler. It was designed by the firm Sanguinet, Staats, Hedrick & Gottlie. The hotel operated until the 1970s. The building sat vacant and unused for over 25 years. In 2002 it was extensively remodeled and reopened. Although it opened under its original name, it was re-branded as the Alden Houston because the owner hoped to expand the Alden brand to other cities. The hotel offers 97 rooms and suites. In 2010, the ownership of the Alden Houston formally transferred to Northwood Investors. In 2012, Northwood sold the hotel to American Liberty Hospitality and Gentry Mills Capital.
The Freedom Tower (also called Torre St. Regis Hotel) is a skyscraper located in the Paseo de la Reforma # 439, Colonia. Cuauhtémoc, Delegación Cuauhtémoc in Mexico City in front of the monument of Diana the Huntress, its construction began in November of 2004 and did so in January of 2008, was inaugurated in June 2008. The building has a commercial area in the floor 3, and 7 levels of underground parking with capacity for 2,000 boxes available.
The tower became the second tallest building in the Paseo de la Reforma and the ninth highest in Mexico City.
The tower houses a hotel and this is the first St. Regis Hotel & Residents in Latin America, also becoming the hotel's exclusive higher and Latin America.
The architect of the skyscraper is the Cesar Pelli, who had previously worked on the creation of the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur, the highest in the world until 2004 and in Mexico City's Twin Towers design Polanco called the Residential of Forest 1, the Residencial del Bosque 2 and the Coca Cola Building.
Its height is 152 meters and has 32 floors, floor to ceiling height is 4 meters. The building is equipped with 15 elevators of high speed that will move at a speed of 6.6
The Château Champlain (now officially known as the Marriott Château Champlain) is a hotel in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, overlooking Place du Canada, at 1050 De la Gauchetière Street West. Once owned by CP Hotels (now Fairmont Hotels and Resorts) and later sold off in the 1990s, it is now part of the Marriott hotel chain.
Completed in 1967, in time for Expo 67, the Château Champlain stands 133 metres (436 ft) high with 40 floors. It was designed by Quebec architects Roger D'Astous and Jean-Paul Pothier. The arch-shaped windows were intended by the designers as a visual reference to the Romanesque Revival arches of nearby Windsor Station, another Canadian Pacific property. D'Astous was a student of Frank Lloyd Wright, and the Château Champlain's arches have also been cited as similar to those used on Wright's last commission, the Marin County Civic Center. However, the arched openings have led some to nickname the building the "cheese grater." It is Montreal's tallest hotel, at 133 m in height, or 40 storeys.
The Château Champlain has 592 guest rooms and 19 suites along with a health and fitness centre with cardiovascular and weight lifting equipment, indoor pool, hot tub and steam
The Hotel Canberra, also known as Hyatt Hotel Canberra is a major hotel in the Australian national capital, Canberra. It is located in the suburb of Yarralumla, near Lake Burley Griffin and Parliament House. It was built to house politicians when the Federal Parliament moved to Canberra from Melbourne in 1927. It was constructed by the contractor John Howie between 1922-1925. Originally opened in 1924 as Hostel No. 1, in 1927 it became known as the Hotel Canberra.
Other early hotels in Canberra include the Hotel Kurrajong, opened in 1925. A number of other hotels opened in 1927. It was unlicensed until 1928 owing to King O'Malley's decision to keep Canberra free of alcohol as it was being constructed.
When James Scullin became Prime Minister in 1929, he refused to live in The Lodge, the official residence of the Prime Minister, and he and his wife lived at the Hotel Canberra during parliamentary sessions, and at their home in Melbourne at other times.
In 1950 the government gave up the management of the hotel and the lease was taken over by "Hotel Canberra Ltd" a subsidiary of Tooheys, a Sydney-based brewery. In 1974 the lease was not renewed and the hotel was shut down. Between
Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites is a 59-floor 256 meter (840 ft) tall skyscraper completed in 2007. This residential and hotel tower is located in Dubai Marina in Dubai, United Arab Emirates and features 261 suites offering choices of 24 spacious studio rooms, six one-bedroom, 170 two-bedroom and 55 three-bedroom suites, as well as six penthouses. The Hotel is the property of The Emirates Group, which also owns other hotels like Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa.
When opened on 1 November 2007, it was known as Emirates Marina Hotel & Residence. The name was changed to The Harbour Hotel & Residence in January 2008. The reason for the change was due to the large quantity of buildings in Dubai Marina that had the word "Marina" in them. To prevent confusion from their customers, and to keep the nautical theme, the words "Emirates Marina" were changed to "The Harbour." The hotel was finally rebranded and renamed Dubai Marriott Harbour Hotel & Suites, when it was put under the management of Marriott International on 15 September 2009.
Berkeley’s only full service, boutique hotel, Hotel Durant, is a unique blend of classic Spanish Mediterranean architecture and modern conveniences. Steps away from the U.C. Berkeley campus and Telegraph Avenue, the Hotel Durant infuses the formal university setting with the bohemian spirit that Berkeley is known for, making it an ideal destination for alumni, students’ families and friends, sports fans and academic groups.
The Hotel Durant is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco East Bay vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
Hotel Adlon is a hotel on Unter den Linden, the main boulevard in the Berlin city centre, directly opposite the Brandenburg Gate.
The first Hotel Adlon was built in 1907 by Lorenz Adlon, a successful Berlin wine merchant and restaurateur. Adlon wanted to build his hotel on the Pariser Platz, at the heart of Berlin. He had Kaiser Wilhelm II personally intercede with the owners of the Palais Redern, a landmark designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel, which sat at Adlon's chosen location. The Kaiser cleared the way for Adlon's purchase of the Palais and its demolition.
The Adlon was one of the most famous hotels in Europe between the two World Wars and hosted celebrities including Louise Brooks, Charlie Chaplin, Herbert Hoover, Josephine Baker and Marlene Dietrich. It was also a favorite hangout of journalists, located in the heart of the government quarter next to the British Embassy, on the same square as the French and American Embassies and only blocks from the Chancellery and other government ministries.
The hotel continued to operate throughout World War II, although parts were converted to a military field hospital during the final days of the Battle for Berlin. The hotel survived
The Hotel Clovis is a high-rise building in Clovis, New Mexico. It originally opened on October 20, 1931. It originally served as a hotel. When it was built, at 119 ft and 10 stories high it was the tallest building between Albuquerque, New Mexico, and Dallas, Texas. Hotel Clovis was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1984..
Although vacant since 1983, Developer Stephen Crozier has launched an extensive renovation of the 10-story Clovis Hotel. Crozier has announced that he would like to build 31 loft-style apartments in the Art Decco building, as well as creating some 8,000 square feet of commercial space.The developer also wants to build two separate structures that will house an additional 59 units.Groundbreaking started September 30, 2011 and a yearlong construction project is to become the Hotel Clovis Lofts.
The Hydro Majestic Hotel is located in Medlow Bath, New South Wales, Australia. The hotel is located on a clifftop overlooking the Megalong Valley on the western side of the Great Western Highway.
The hotel is heritage listed and is notable for its unusual mix of architectural styles, including Art Deco and Edwardian.
The hotel began as the Belgravia Hotel which was completed in 1891. The hotel was a health retreat and the building was constructed in Queen Anne style.
Australian retailer, Mark Foy purchased the site in 1902 for the purposes of a hydropathic sanatorium under the belief that the land contained mineral springs. At that stage the town was known as 'Medlow' and Mark Foy successfully petitioned the New South Wales government to change the name to Medlow Bath, the current name. It is not known if he requested the name change to make it sound more prestigious, or if he wanted to avoid confusion with another town called Medlow, also in New South Wales.
By the time the hotel opened in 1904, the mineral springs (if they ever existed) had dried up. Mark Foy had mineral water imported from Germany in large steel containers. After travelling in these containers from Germany to
Hotel Cala di Volpe is a luxury hotel in Porto Cervo, Costa Smeralda, Sardinia, established by prince Karim Aga Khan IV.
Princess Margaret celebrated her 37th birthday at Hotel Cala di Volpe in 1967. The hotel was featured in the James Bond movie, The Spy Who Loved Me in 1977.
The extraordinary piece of northeastern Sardinian coastline know as the Costa Smeralda—or “The Emerald Coast”—was largely undiscovered until the early 1960s when the Aga Kahn bought 5,000 acres of this prized stretch of fine white sand beaches and coves of the clearest Mediterranean water.
Sensitive to the breathtaking landscape of granite coastline and lush eucalyptus, juniper, and myrtle, the Aga Kahn developed the area into a resort paradise that embraced the natural wonder of its setting while offering the most luxurious accommodations, activities, and amenities conceivable. To that end, he formed the Architectural Committee of the Costa Smeralda, which chose renowned architect Jacques Couelle to build the Hotel Cala di Volpe.
Honorary member of the prestigious Académie des Beaux-Arts of the Institut de France, Jacques Couelle’s artistic genius is undisputed. His design of the Hotel Cala di Volpe,
Schloss Velden, a Capella Hotel, is a year-round Austrian resort located in Velden am Wörthersee on Lake Woerth (Wörthersee).
The hotel began as the Castle Velden in 1590, over 400 years ago. A fire in 1762 burned the castle, and it was then rebuilt and opened as a hotel in 1890. The hotel became popular with celebrities and royalty.
In 1990, the hotel reverted to being the private chateau of a German industrialist. In the 1990s, Schloss Velden served as the setting for many films and the Austrian/German TV series Ein Schloss am Wörthersee.
It was purchased by Hypo Alpe-Adria-Bank International. Under the direction of Horst Schulze, the founder of Ritz-Carlton and Capella, a hotel management company based in Atlanta, Georgia, it re-opened in summer 2007 under the Capella brand.
The Four Seasons Hotel & Residences is a 121 m (397 ft) mixed-used, development at 757 Market Street in San Francisco, California near Moscone Center. The five-star hotel operated by Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts hosts 277 guest rooms and retail stores, and has 142 luxury condominiums on the upper floors. Non-linear viscous dampers located at the top of the hotel tower help dampen some of the wind sway due to powerful winds off the Pacific Ocean. Completed in January 2001, the tower is the first skyscraper in the 21st century to be completed in the city.
Lake Palace (formerly known as Jag Niwas) is a luxury hotel, of 83 rooms and suites featuring white marble walls, located on a natural foundation of 4 acres (16,000 m) rock on the Jag Niwas island in Lake Pichola, Udaipur, India. The hotel operates a boat which transports guests to the hotel from a jetty at the City Palace. It has been voted as the most romantic hotel in India.
It was built in 1743- 1746 under the direction of the Maharana Jagat Singh II (62nd successor to the royal dynasty of Mewar) of Udaipur, Rajasthan as a royal summer palace and was initially called Jagniwas or Jan Niwas after its founder. The Maharana, ruler of Udaipur from 1628 to 1654, was very friendly with Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan and encouraged his craftsmen to copy some of the glories of his incomparable buildings at Agra. The palace was constructed facing east, allowing its inhabitants to pray to the Sun god at the crack of dawn. The successive rulers used this cool haven as their summer resort, holding their regal durbars in its courtyards lined with columns, pillared terraces, fountains and gardens.
The upper room of the palace is a perfect circle and is about 21 feet (6.4 m) in diameter. Its floor
The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, a 5-star hotel located on the banks of the River Nile in Luxor, Egypt, just south of Luxor Temple, was built in 1886. There are 86 rooms and 6 suites.
A sweeping edifice built by the British in 1886, Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor stands on the banks of the River Nile, amidst a lush tropical garden. Favored throughout history by royalties and adventurers alike, it is an oasis of tranquility and an elegant gateway to the splendors of pharaonic times. The story of the Winter Palace started thirteen decades ago, when the cooler days of Egypt has inspired the British excursionist Thomas Cook to extend the mysteries of exploration all the way to ancient capital of Egypt, now known as Luxor. Designed by the Italian artist J.S. Caruzzo, and with such majestic location overlooking the Valley of the Kings, the hotel tells its visitors about the glamorous guest list who has visited it… as it became a compass for legendary stars, luxury travellers and mystical adventurers.
Encompassing 92 guestrooms, the Palace has got 85 rooms, varying between three categories: Classic, Superior and Luxury, which are evenly distributed amongst the Garden side and Nile side of
Crowne Plaza Belgrade will be five-star hotel located in the New Belgrade area of the City of Belgrade, Serbia. The hotel was originally built as the Beograd Inter-Continental, part of the InterContinental hotel chain.
Crowne Plaza Belgrade hotel will be completely renovated. In June 2013, hotel will be reopened under the name Crowne Plaza Belgrade, which belongs to the brand InterContinental Hotels Group. The new hotel will have 416 different types of units - from ordinary rooms to presidential suites. More than 120 rooms will be the so-called "club room" which will be larger, more luxurious.
Continental Hotel Belgrade had 415 rooms (112 twin bedrooms, 273 queen bedrooms, 28 suites, 2 presidential suites), including 30 apartment suites. The hotel also contains Executive and Club floors. The hotel contains eight banquet and conference rooms are on the mezzanine and represent an ideal place for organizing conventions, congresses, receptions, ceremonies, banquets and fashion shows.
Continental Hotel Belgrade also had a sports and recreation centre which includes tennis courts, gym, solarium, sauna, massage, indoor swimming pool and pool-bar.
The Hotel also offers the services of the
The Four Seasons Hotel and Tower, also known as the Four Seasons Hotel Miami or simply the Four Seasons Tower, is a skyscraper in Miami, Florida, United States. It is located in Downtown Miami's Brickell Financial District. The tower contains a Four Seasons Hotel, office space and several residential condominium units on the upper floors. Rising 789 feet (240 m) and 70 floors, it is the tallest building in Miami as well as in Florida. At the time of its completion, the Four Seasons Hotel and Tower was also the tallest mixed use building in the U.S. south of New York City.
The building was planned by Gary Edward Handel & Associates and Bermello Ajamil & Partners, Inc. . Post-tensioning reinforcement of the structure was supplied and engineered by Suncoast Post-Tension. The building was constructed with dense steel reinforcing and silica-fume concrete, and is designed to sustain hurricane-force winds. Construction began in 2000, and the building was completed in 2003.
The Bonnington Tower is a 41-floor tower part of the Jumeirah Lake Towers in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The tower has a total structural height of 150 m (491 ft). Construction of The Bonnington Tower is expected to be completed in 2008.
Bosworth Hall is a historic country house and Grade II* listed building in the rural town of Market Bosworth in Leicestershire, England, now known as the Bosworth Hall Hotel. It was the country seat of the Dixie family (baronets of Bosworth) for nearly three hundred years. Since the 1980s the house has had several owners and is now a hotel.
Bosworth Hall is a former stately home which belonged to the once wealthy Dixie family, whose strong connections with Market Bosworth date back to the 12th century. At the time of the Restoration of King Charles II in 1660, the head of the family was created a baronet, of Bosworth, a title which became extinct with the death of Sir Wolstan Dixie, 13th and last Baronet, in 1975.
The parkland of the present house was bought by Sir Wolstan Dixie, Lord Mayor of London, in 1589, and the main house was built during the reign of William and Mary by his brother's descendant Sir Beaumont Dixie, 2nd Baronet, who had inherited the estate in 1682. The Dixie family fortune was lost in the 19th century, and the house and estate were sold in the 1880s to pay gambling debts.
In the eighteenth century Sir Wolstan Dixie, the 4th baronet, had a reputation for
Lingotto is a district of Turin, Italy, that named the Lingotto building in Via Nizza, which once was an automobile factory built by Fiat. Construction started in 1916 and the building opened in 1923. The design (by young architect Matté Trucco) was unusual in that it had five floors, with raw materials going in at the ground floor, and cars built on a line that went up through the building. Finished cars emerged at rooftop level, where there was a rooftop test track. It was the largest car factory in the world at that time. For its time, the Lingotto building was avante-garde, influential and impressive—Le Corbusier called it "one of the most impressive sights in industry", and "a guideline for town planning". 80 different models of car were produced there in its lifetime, including the famous Fiat Topolino of 1936.
The factory became outmoded in the 1970s and the decision was made to finally close it in 1982. The closure of the plant led to much public debate about its future, and how to recover from industrial decline in general. An architectural competition was held, which was eventually awarded to Renzo Piano, who envisioned an exciting public space for the city. The old
The Mondrian Hotel is the name of three boutique hotels owned and/or operated by the Morgans Hotel Group.
The original Mondrian Hotel is located on Sunset Boulevard in West Hollywood, California. The structure was built in 1959 as an apartment building. It was later renovated and reopened in 1985 as the Le Mondrian by the L'Ermitage Hotel Group. The outside of Le Mondrian featured a commissioned work by Yaacov Agam entitled L'Hommage a Mondrian which covered the hotel's 9 story exterior.
Le Mondrian was later purchased by Ian Schrager and his Morgans Hotel Group in 1996 and renamed Mondrian Hotel Los Angeles. In 2008, Morgans Hotel Group commissioned designer Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz to update the hotel. The Mondrian Los Angeles is well known for its restaurant Asia de Cuba, run by New York-based restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow, as well as Skybar, its bar and lounge.
In April 2011, Morgans Hotel Group reached a deal to sell the Mondrian Los Angeles to Pebblebrook Hotel Trust for $137 million. Morgans Hotel Group will continue to manage the hotel under a 20 year agreement.
In 2008, Morgans Hotel Group opened a new Mondrian in Miami Beach, Florida. The South Beach location contains hotel
Club Quarters builds private full service hotels for cost conscious organizations in prime city center locations where their member organizations travel for business in the US and UK. There are fourteen locations in total, 4 in New York, 7 in major US city centers and 3 in London with a fourth to open in early 2012. Club Quarters hotels offer member organizations low fixed rates, quieter, cleaner and safer business environments providing them with innovative and complimentary services in a club-like atmosphere. The first Club Quarters opened in New York in 1994.
Membership applications can be completed at clubquarters.com. While rooms are generally reserved for members, non-members may book rooms and other hotel facilities on weekends/holidays and periods when not used by members. Non-members may check availability on clubquarters.com.
• New York, opposite Rockefeller Center - Off 5th Avenue
• New York, Midtown - Off 5th Avenue, near Times Square
• New York, Wall Street - Historic Financial District near Ground Zero/Seaport
• New York, World Trade Center - Facing the Memorial Plaza and Freedom Tower
• Washington, DC - 2 blocks from the White House
• Boston - Post Office Square near
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Award–winning, Victorian themed luxury hotel and spa located at the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida. The property opened on June 28, 1988 as the Grand Floridian Beach Resort. The name changed to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa during the fall of 1997. The resort contains 867 rooms among six buildings at an average of 400 square feet (37 m) per room. A standard room can sleep up to five people. The resort is owned and operated by Walt Disney Parks and Resorts.
The Grand Floridian is categorized as a deluxe resort, one of four types of accommodations at the Florida site. The resort is distinguished as Disney's flagship and most luxurious resort. The resort has received designation in the Florida Green Lodging Program.
The hotel was inspired by the Victorian era beach resorts built along Florida's east coast during the late 19th century and early 20th century; its exterior is modeled after the Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire and Hotel del Coronado in Coronado, California, with red gabled roofs and white walls. Additional design inspiration was taken from the Belleview-Biltmore Hotel in
The Drake Hotel, 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, Illinois, is a luxury full-service hotel, located downtown on the lake side of Michigan Avenue two blocks north of the John Hancock Center and a block south of Oak Street Beach at the top of the Magnificent Mile.
Overlooking Lake Michigan, it was founded in 1920, designed in the Italian Renaissance style by the firm of Marshall and Fox, and soon became one of Chicago's landmark hotels, a longtime rival of the Palmer House. It has 537 bedrooms and 74 suites, a six-room Presidential Suite, several restaurants, two large ballrooms, the "Palm Court" (a club-like secluded lobby), and Club International (a members-only club introduced in the 1940s). It is known for the contribution that its silhouette and its sign on the lake side of the building (the Oak Street side) make to the Gold Coast skyline.
Second-generation hotel magnates Tracy Drake and John Drake (1872-1964) acquired the property from the estate of Potter Palmer in 1916. The building was financed by a syndicate of family friends including members of the Palmer, Armour, Swift, McCormick families and the hotel's architects, Benjamin Marshall and Charles Fox. At the time of its
The Hotel Arts is a 44-story, 483 room luxury hotel on the seafront of Barcelona, in Spain.
Contrary to popular belief, it was not built to service the 1992 Summer Olympics, though its construction was part of the big changes underwent by the city to prepare the Games. It remains one of the city's leading hotels, listed as one of the Top 10 Celebrity Spotting Hotels in GAYOT.com. It is operated by Ritz-Carlton.
Construction was finished in 1994 and it is an example of High-tech architecture.
It was designed by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill and is 154 meters tall.
The hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2006, installing new technology and upgrading the rooms and bathrooms into modern, luxurious spaces.
Jumeirah Emirates Hotel Tower, also known as Emirates Tower Two is a 56-storey hotel in the city of Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The hotel includes 40 luxury suites and is operated by the Jumeirah International Group. Connected with 54-floor Emirates Office Tower by a retail boulevard, the two towers form the Emirates Towers complex. At a structural height of 309 m (1,014 ft), Emirates Towers Hotel is the smaller of the two of the sister towers. It ranks as the 48th-tallest building in the world. It is the world's third-tallest all-hotel building. Construction was completed on 15 April 2000.
The JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans is a high-rise building in the Central Business District of New Orleans, Louisiana. The building rises 331 feet (101 m). It contains 30 floors, and was completed in 1984; originally named Le Meridien Hotel. The JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans currently stands as the 20th-tallest building in the city, and the 5th-tallest hotel. The architectural firm who designed the building was August Perez & Associates. The building is an example of modern architecture.
The building houses a 4-star JW Marriott Hotel with 487 guest rooms and 7 suites.
Glenapp Castle, formerly the family seat of the Earl of Inchcape, is now a luxury hotel and restaurant located in Ballantrae, South Ayrshire, Scotland.
The castle was built for the Deputy Lord Lieutenant of the County, James Hunter. Designed by the famous Scottish architect David Bryce the Deputy Lord Lieutenant of Ayrshire at the time, the Castle was finished in 1870. It is a noteworthy example of the Scottish Baronial style of architecture The Inchcape family owned the castle from 1917 until the early 1980s. Pioneering aviatrix Elsie Mackay, daughter of the first Earl of Inchcape, lived at the castle until her untimely death in 1928 in an attempt to fly the Atlantic in a single engined Stinson Detroiter. The Castle opened as a hotel in 2000; entry to the castle and its grounds is only for guests with a room or restaurant reservation.
Glenapp Castle is in Ballantrae, Ayrshire and overlooks several famous Scottish Islands: Ailsa Craig, Arran and Mull of Kintyre. The site is also close to Galloway Forest Park, Mull of Galloway, Culzean Castle and several significant Scottish botanical gardens such as Logan Gardens, Castle Kennedy Gardens. The actual castle and its buildings are
The Hotel Imperial, also known as Imperial, Wien or simply The Imperial, is a five-star luxury hotel in Vienna, Austria. It is located at Kärntner Ring on the Ringstraße.
The Imperial was acquired by Compagnia Italiana Grandi Alberghi (CIGA) after Prince Karim Aga Khan acquired the company in 1985 and began expanding its presence—which was purely Italian up to that time—into Spain and Austria. In 1994, the Starwood Hotels and Resorts took over CIGA and transformed it into its brand, The Luxury Collection, an assemblage of historic and venerable hotels in Europe that includes the Imperial.
The building was designed by architect Arnold Zenetti and built under the direction of Heinrich Adam in 1863. Initially, it was planned as a city palace (Stadtpalais) of Duke Philipp of Württemberg (1838-1917) and his spouse Duchess Marie Therese (1845-1927), née Archduchess of Austria, and its original name was Palais Württemberg. However, the Duke and the Duchess did not like their new home very much and, after having moved there in 1866, sold it only five years later. For the Universal Exhibition it was converted into a hotel in 1873. In 1928, two stories were added. But the original
The Hotel Hershey, built in the 1930s, is a historical landmark, four-star hotel located on a hilltop overlooking Hershey, Pennsylvania. It has 232 guest rooms and 23,500 square feet (2,180 m) of event space.
The Hotel Hershey's architectural style has Spanish and Italian influences, mosaic tiles and archways, and a villa-style balcony overlooking the twinkling lights of Hershey and the expanse of Hershey Gardens. Historic photographs and original artwork line the halls and decorate guest room walls, as well as the Iberian Lounge, which takes the guest back in time to dim, fireplace-lit cigar lounges.
During the Great Depression, Milton S. Hershey, founder of The Hershey Chocolate Company, faced with the challenge of either employing his town's construction workers or providing for their welfare, decided to build a hotel on Pat's Hill overlooking the town and his factory. Originally planned to be a recreation of the famous Heliopolis Palace Hotel, construction plans changed and were delayed due to costs, the death of Hershey's wife, Catherine, and the outbreak of World War I. When construction began, the new plans drew on Mediterranean and Spanish influences.
Construction began in
The Trump Hotel Las Vegas is a 64-story luxury hotel, condominium and timeshare located on Fashion Show Drive near Las Vegas Boulevard just off the Las Vegas Strip in Paradise, Nevada, named for famed real estate developer Donald Trump. It is located across the street from Wynn Las Vegas on 3.46 acres (14,000 m), near the Fashion Show Mall and features both non-residential hotel condominiums and residential condominiums. The exterior windows are gilded with 24-carat gold. The hotel is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World.
Tower 1 opened on March 31, 2008. The hotel features restaurants DJT, named after the developer, as well as a poolside restaurant, H2(eau). It has been announced that Donald Trump, due to the overwhelming seller's response from his first tower, will build a second, identical tower next to the first tower. It is Las Vegas's tallest residential building at 620 feet (190 m). In September 2012, the Trump Organization announced that it sold roughly 300 condominium units in Trump International Hotel Las Vegas to Hilton Worldwide's timeshare division, Hilton Grand Vacations.
The project was announced in 2004 as a joint project between Donald J. Trump, Phil Ruffin
The Copper King Mansion, also known as the W. A. Clark Mansion, is a 34-room residence of Romanesque Revival Victorian architecture that was built from 1884 to 1888 as the Butte, Montana residence of William Andrews Clark, one of Montana's three famous Copper Kings. The home features fresco painted ceilings, elegant parquets of rare imported wood, gas and electric chandeliers, ornate hand-carved fireplaces and stairways and stained-glass windows. The mansion was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.
The Copper King Mansion has been privately owned, operated, and occupied by the Cote family for four generations. The home is currently operated as a bed and breakfast. Guided tours are available during the summer tourist season, or by appointment.
The Hôtel Biron is an hôtel particulier in the rue de Varenne, Paris VIIème, that was built from 1727 to 1732 to the designs of the architect Jean Aubert. Since 1919 it has housed the Musée Auguste Rodin.
The hôtel was built for a peruke-maker, Abraham Peyrenc de Moras, who had speculated successfully in the ill-fated paper money schemes of John Law that had ruined many, at a time when the Faubourg Saint-Germain was still suburban in character. His house, the most superb in the neighborhood, was built as a free-standing structure, not built entre cour et jardin, "between entrance court and garden" with party walls against adjoining buildings, as hôtels in more densely-built quarters of Paris have traditionally been built since the seventeenth century. The house is still surrounded by three hectares/7.3 acres of grounds. The house had boiseries carved in the full-blown rococo manner and has two elliptical salons that form attached pavilions at the corners of the garden front. There were sixteen medallions or overdoor paintings by François Lemoyne, premier peintre du roi, enframed in the panelling. The Hôtel Peyrenc de Moras, as it then was, was completed in 1731, just a year before
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is a luxury hotel in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.
The original Newfoundland Hotel, an 8-storey brick structure, was opened in 1926 in St. John's. The hotel was owned and operated by the Newfoundland Hotel Facilities, Ltd. Ownership of the hotel was transferred to the Canadian National Railway hotel division in 1949 following Confederation.
From 1939 to 1949, the 6th floor served as home and studios for Broadcasting Corporation of Newfoundland. The current site was formerly Fort William, a British Army base in the 17th Century.
In the early 1960s the hotel was renamed Hotel Newfoundland due to CN's new policy of making names more bilingual.
Canadian National Hotels built the current hotel in 1982 on an adjacent site as a replacement for the original Newfoundland Hotel. The building was named Hotel Newfoundland and is an 8-storey glass and concrete building designed by architect George S. Burman.
The hotel's ownership was transferred to Canadian Pacific Hotels in 1988 after that company acquired the Canadian National Hotels chain. With the breakup of Canadian Pacific Limited in 2001, CP Hotels bought Fairmont Hotels and Resorts and took
The Address Dubai Mall (Arabic: العنوان دبي مول) is a 37-floor hotel in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The tower has a total structural height of 192 m (629 ft). Construction was completed in 2008 and the hotel was opened on 9 September 2009.
The Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel or Hotel Gansevoort is a luxury hotel located at 18 Ninth Avenue between Little West 12th Street and 13th Street in the Meatpacking District neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. The building, which was completed in 2004, was designed by Stephen B. Jacobs and has interiors by Andi Pepper. It has 187 rooms and 23 suites and features a rooftop pool and bar, among other amenities.
Rin Grand Hotel is a four star hotel located in the Vitan area in Bucharest, Romania. It is located in South - East Bucharest 6 kilometres (3.7 mi) from one of the largest squares in the city, Piaţa Unirii (Union Square), and close to the commercial and hystorical centers and the Bucureşti Mall one of the biggest and most visited malls in the city. As of 2008 the Rin Grand Hotel is the largest hotel in Romania and in Europe in terms of room number having a total of 1,459 rooms. The modern style building has two underground floors and 16 overground floors and a constructed surface area of 115,000 square metres (1,240,000 sq ft). With its 1,459 rooms, it surpasses several European hotels such as the Estrel in Berlin (1,125 rooms), the Concorde La Fayette in Paris (1,000 rooms), the Hilton London Metropole in London (1,058 rooms), the Auditorium in Madrid (894 rooms) and the Royal National in London (800 rooms).
At first the hotel was intended to have 1,000 rooms and the building only 11 floors and the cost would have been around €30 million. But with the demolishing of the Rossiya Hotel in Moscow, Russia which was the largest hotel in Europe at the time with 3,200 rooms, the
The Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa is a resort in the Ouachita Mountains of Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas, home of Oaklawn Race Track and the Arkansas Derby. The Arlington's sister hotel was the Baker Hotel in Mineral Wells, Texas. The hotel is located at the north end of "Bathhouse Row".
Samuel W. Fordyce and two other entrepreneurs financed the construction of the first luxury hotel in the area, the first Arlington Hotel, which opened in 1875. After almost 20 years of use, it was razed to build a new hotel.
When it was rebuilt in 1892-93, the hotel was known as the New Arlington, and boasted of its Spanish Renaissance architecture. With 300 rooms in four stories of red brick, it had corner towers. This second Arlington burned to the ground on April 5, 1923, killing one fireman and causing an estimated $1.6 million in damage (1923 dollars).
Those buildings were at the north end of Bathhouse Row, where the Arlington Park then was created. The third Arlington Hotel, designed by Mann and Stern in 1925, is the current hotel at the "Y" intersection at the corner of Central Avenue and Fountain Street. The building's huge size, Spanish-Colonial Revival style, and placement at the
Hotel del Coronado (also known as The Del and Hotel Del) is a beachfront luxury hotel in the city of Coronado, just across the San Diego Bay from San Diego, California. It is one of the few surviving examples of an American architectural genre: the wooden Victorian beach resort. It is one of the oldest and largest all-wooden buildings in California and was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, and is a designated California Historical Landmark.
When it opened in 1888, it was the largest resort hotel in the world. It has hosted presidents, royalty, and celebrities through the years. The hotel has been featured in numerous movies and books.
The hotel received a Four Diamond rating from the American Automobile Association, and was once listed by USA Today as one of the "Top 10 Resorts In The World", though it has since been removed from that list.
In the mid-1880s, the San Diego region was in the midst of one of its first real estate booms. At that time, it was common for a developer to build a grand hotel as a draw for what would otherwise be a barren landscape. The Hollywood Hotel in Hollywood, California, the Raymond Hotel in Pasadena, the Del Monte in Monterey, and the
The Disneyland Hotel is a resort hotel located at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, California, owned by the Walt Disney Company and operated through its Parks and Resorts division. Opened on October 5, 1955 as a motor inn owned and operated by Jack Wrather under an agreement with Walt Disney, the hotel was the first to officially bear the Disney name. Under Wrather's ownership, the hotel underwent several expansions and renovations over the years before being acquired by Disney in 1988. The hotel was downsized to its present capacity in 1999 as part of the Disneyland Resort expansion.
At the time of its construction in the early 1950s, Disneyland was in a remote area outside Anaheim, California. Walt Disney wanted to build a hotel for Disneyland visitors to stay overnight, since Disneyland was quite a drive from the established population centers of Southern California at the time. However, Disney's financial resources were significantly depleted by the construction of the park, so he negotiated a deal with Jack Wrather and his business partner Maria Helen Alvarez under which Wrather-Alvarez Productions would own and operate a hotel called the Disneyland Hotel across the street
The Hotel McAlpin was constructed in 1912 on Herald Square, at the corner of Broadway and 34th street in Manhattan, New York City by General Edwin A. McAlpin, son of David Hunter McAlpin. When opened it was the largest hotel in the world. The hotel was designed by the noted architect Frank Mills Andrews (1867–1948). Andrews also was president of the Greeley Square Hotel Company which first operated the hotel.
Construction of the Hotel McAlpin neared completion by the end of 1912 so that the hotel had an open house on 29 December. The largest hotel in the world at the time, The New York Times commented that it was so tall at 25 stories that it “seems isolated from other buildings” Boasting a staff of 1,500, the hotel could accommodate 2,500 guests. It was built at a cost of $13.5 million (nearly 300 million in 2010 dollars ). The top floor had a Turkish bath and there were two gender-specific floors; women checking into the hotel could reserve a room on the women's only floor and bypass the lobby and check in directly at their own floor. One floor, dubbed the “sleepy 16th” was designed for night workers so that it was kept quiet during the day.
The McAlpin hosted what may be the
The Ambassador Hotel was a hotel in Los Angeles, California and location of the Cocoanut Grove nightclub until it was demolished in 2005. The hotel was the site of the 2nd Academy Awards, 12th Academy Awards, and the June 1968 assassination of presidential candidate, United States Senator, and former U.S. Attorney General Robert F. Kennedy.
The Ambassador Hotel began operation formally on January 1, 1921, and was located at 3400 Wilshire Boulevard, between Catalina Street and Mariposa Avenue, in the center of the Los Angeles Mid-Wilshire district. Designed by Pasadena architect Myron Hunt, the Ambassador Hotel was frequented by celebrities, with some residing there. From 1930 to 1943, six Academy Awards ceremonies were performed at the hotel. Perhaps as many as seven U.S. Presidents stayed at The Ambassador Hotel, from Hoover to Nixon, along with chiefs of state from around the world. For decades, the hotel's famed Cocoanut Grove nightclub hosted well-known entertainers, such as Frank Sinatra, Barbra Streisand, Judy Garland, Lena Horne, Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole, Liza Minnelli, Martin and Lewis, The Supremes, Merv Griffin, Dorothy Dandridge, Vikki Carr, Evelyn Knight, Vivian
The Best Western Carriage Inn is a 48-room literary themed hotel offering an urban retreat close to San Francisco’s must-see attractions. Each room is adorned with eclectic furnishings fusing together various styles that complement each other. A San Francisco eccentric or local luminary is profiled in each room providing a glimpse of San Francisco’s notorious and diverse counterculture.
The Dorchester is a luxury hotel in London, opened on 18 April 1931. It is situated on Park Lane in Mayfair, overlooking Hyde Park.
The Dorchester was created by Malcolm McAlpine, a partner in the building company Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons and the managing director of Gordon Hotels Ltd, Sir Frances Towle, who shared a vision of creating the ‘perfect hotel’: ultramodern and ultra-efficient, with all the conveniences modern technology could supply. So, in 1929 their two companies jointly bought the Dorchester House, a large 19th-century building, and quickly had it demolished. Sir Owen Williams & William Curtis Green were commissioned to design the new hotel, using reinforced concrete to allow the creation of large internal spaces without support pillars.. The construction was carried out by Sir Robert McAlpine, with the upper eight floors erected in just 10 weeks, supported on a massive three feet thick reinforced concrete deck that forms the roof of the first floor.
During the Second World War, the strength of its construction gave the hotel the reputation of being one of London's safest buildings. Cabinet Ministers, such as Lord Halifax and Duff Cooper, stayed there during this
Designed to celebrate California's lively culture, the Hotel Del Sol in the Marina District in San Francisco is a cheerful explosion of the West Coast spirit. Once a 50s-style motor lodge, this San Francisco family-friendly hotel has been transformed to offer the style and personalized service of a boutique hotel. The spacious guestrooms evoke the bright and airy interior of a California beach house. Relaxing hammocks, a sparkling pool and towering palm trees in the courtyard are a colorful feast for the eyes.
The Hotel Del Sol is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui (Chinese: 香港尖沙咀凱悅酒店) is a hotel in The Masterpiece, a 64-floor 261 metre (856 ft) tall skyscraper completed in 2007 located in Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China, which also includes the 6-storey K11 shopping centre, and residential flats. The 384-room Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, located from Level 3 to 24 of the complex, opened on October 2, 2009.
The Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, was formerly located on Nathan Road. Opened on November 1, 1969, it was the first Hyatt Hotel established outside of United States. It was closed on January 1, 2006 after 36 years of service. The former site of the hotel is now occupied by iSQUARE, a 31-story high shopping mall.
A total of 7,040 square feet (654 m) will be dedicated to meeting space, including a 4,111 square feet (381.9 m) ballroom and eight meeting rooms of different sizes. All meeting facilities will be equipped with audio-visual technology and wireless Internet connectivity.
The Masterpiece has direct access to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station through the basement of the building.
Four Seasons Hotel Austin is a part of the Toronto-based Four Seasons chain of luxury hotels and resorts. Four Seasons Hotel Austin offers Austin's only four-star restaurant, TRIO. It is located on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, a reservoir of the Colorado River in the heart of Downtown Austin, Texas.
The Four Seasons Hotel Austin was built in 1987. The nine-story facility's interior includes elements of flagstone and native art reflecting the history of Austin. Located near the Austin Convention Center and the entertainment district, the hotel offers 291 guest rooms, including 28 suites.
The Hotel Metropole, built in 1895, is the only nineteenth-century hotel in Brussels still in operation today. The hotel has 298 rooms and 15 suites.
In 1890, two brothers with a brewing company opened Café Metropole as a place in the city to sell their beer. The café was a huge success and the Weilemans-Ceuppens family then purchased the building next-door, a former bank, which would become the Hotel Metropole, inaugurated in 1895. Today, the hotel’s reception desk is easily recognizable as the desk of the former bank, a significant historical and heritage glimpse of the past.
The brothers commissioned French architect Alban Chambon to be the chief designer of the hotel. Today, Chambon’s design of modern comfort and luxury is still a prominent feature of the heritage hotel, which is considered an important historical landmark in the city.
Not only was Hotel Metropole one of the first luxury hotels, it was also the first to have electricity and central heating, and is now the only existing 19th century hotel in Brussels. In fact, many heritage tours of Brussels visit the Hotel Metropole to look upon its facades and design.
The hotel’s reception, lobby, and lounge are overtly ornate
The Mount Washington Hotel is a hotel near Mount Washington, in the town of Carroll, New Hampshire. The area is better known as Bretton Woods, and includes the Bretton Woods ski resort nearby. It is located at the northern end of Crawford Notch, 6 miles (10 km) east of the village of Twin Mountain, New Hampshire, along U.S. Route 302.
It is owned by the Orlando, Florida-based CNL Financial Group via its CNL Lifestyle Properties Group and is operated by Omni Hotels & Resorts under the official name of Omni Mount Washington Resort.
The hotel was constructed at a cost of 1.7 million dollars ($44.6 million in 2012 dollars) by Joseph Stickney, a native of Waltham, Massachusetts who had made a fortune before the age of 30 as a Pennsylvania-based coal broker. In 1881 Stickney and a partner had purchased the Mount Pleasant Hotel nearby from lumberman John T.G. Leavitt, a large early hotel that was later demolished. Subsequently, Stickney began work on his Mount Washington Hotel. He brought in 250 Italian artisans to build it, particularly the granite and stucco masonry. Construction started in 1900 on the Y-shaped hotel, which opened July 28, 1902. At the opening ceremony, Stickney told
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong (Chinese: 香港四季酒店) is a five-star hotel building in Sun Hung Kai Properties-owned International Finance Centre, Central, Hong Kong that was completed and opened in September 2005. It is a 45-storey building offering 399 rooms and 519 residential units (which belongs to Four Seasons Place (Chinese: 四季匯)). It is operated by Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts, a Canadian-based hotel chain.
In November 2009, it became the first hotel in the world with two three-Michelin-starred restaurants. The hotel’s French restaurant Caprice received three Michelin stars to join the hotel's Cantonese restaurant Lung King Heen, which had received three stars in 2008 under Chan Yan-tak.
Hotel Bristol was built in 1899/1900 and is in Krakowskie Przedmieście Street in Poland's capital, Warsaw.
Le Royal Méridien Bristol is, quite possibly, the best example of the splendour of Old Warsaw. Built in 1900 by a company whose partners included Ignacy Jan Paderewski, Polish pianist and prime minister. The Bristol had its heyday during the roaring 1920s. After World War II, the hotel was renovated mainly in the socialist realism style, opened in 1947, nationalised in 1948 and later became a hotel exclusively for visitors from abroad. It was thoroughly refurbished in its original style in the 1990s and re-opened by Baroness Thatcher in April 1993, as Le Royal Méridien Bristol.
Media related to Hotel Bristol in Warsaw at Wikimedia Commons
Hotel Georgia is a historic hotel located at 801 West Georgia street in Downtown Vancouver. It was opened on May 7, 1927, as a 12 story building. The architects were Robert T. Garrow and John Graham, Sr.
On July 15th, 2011, the hotel reopened its doors as the Rosewood Hotel Georgia and is now managed by Rosewood Hotels & Resorts. The newly redesigned hotel (with interior design by Toronto-based design firm, Munge Leung) features 155 rooms, a spa, and the Hawksworth Restaurant (with interiors also completed by Munge Leung). It was previously branded as the Crowne Plaza Hotel Georgia with 313 rooms, by owner Allied Hotel Properties Inc. The building and many portions of the interior are designated as a protected heritage property by the City of Vancouver. Sold in early 2007, the hotel underwent restoration and was unveiled in 2011 as Rosewood Hotel Georgia, 84 years after the original opening of the hotel in 1927.
Famous guests who have stayed at the Georgia include:
Currently the hotel's parking structure has been demolished and a new high-rise building is being constructed in its place. The tower will include 48 stories, and will rise to 156 meters. When complete in 2011, it is
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald (generally known as the Hotel Macdonald) is a hotel built in 1912 in the city of Edmonton, Alberta, by the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway. The hotel has successively been owned by Canadian National Railway, Canadian Pacific Hotels, and Fairmont Hotels and Resorts.
Prior to the construction of the Hotel Macdonald, the site was home to a squatters' camp. The squatters often lived in tents or in small caves dug into the side of the river valley wall where they still remain to this very day. Many of the squatters were Ukrainian-speaking immigrants from the Austro-Hungarian province of Galicia. The locals nicknamed the site the "Galician Hotel".
The Hotel Macdonald was designed by Ross and Macdonald, the same architectural firm that designed many of Canada's landmark hotels. The hotel was designed in the Château-style that characterized Canada's large railway hotels, and was completed on July 5, 1915. It is named after Canada's first prime minister, Sir John A. Macdonald. Standing high on the bank overlooking the largest urban parkway in North America, the North Saskatchewan River Valley, the Hotel Macdonald has a garden in the rear of the building.
The 55-storey all-suite hotel skyscraper Tamani Hotel Marina is situated in close proximity to both Dubai Media City and Dubai Internet City. It is managed by Tamani Hotels & Resorts, a member of KM Holding.
Tamani Hotel Marina is located in the densest district in Dubai Marina right next to Dubai Media City and opposite Le Meridien Mina Seyahi.
Tamani Hotel Marina was constructed by Al Rostamani Pegel L.L.C. According to the architects the shape of the tower is central to providing views to as many apartments as possible.
The Westin Virginia Beach Town Center is a 38 story high rise hotel and living residence in Virginia Beach Town Center. The 4 star hotel is the bottom half of the 38 story building and the upper stories are the residents' homes. There are 119 condominiums in the top floors ranging from 900 to 4,000 square feet (370 m). The building was built throughout 2006 and 2007. Upon completion, it became the tallest building in Virginia, surpassing the James Monroe Building in Richmond.
Colonial-Webb was the mechanical contractor.
The Savoy Hotel is a hotel located on the Strand, in the City of Westminster in central London. Built by impresario Richard D'Oyly Carte with profits from his Gilbert and Sullivan operas, the hotel opened on 6 August 1889. It was the first in the Savoy group of hotels and restaurants owned by Carte's family for over a century. It was also the first luxury hotel in Britain, introducing electric lights throughout the hotel, electric lifts, bathrooms inside most of the lavishly furnished rooms, constant hot and cold running water and many other innovations. Carte hired manager César Ritz and French chef Auguste Escoffier, who established an unprecedented standard of quality in hotel service, entertainment and elegant dining, attracting royalty and other wealthy guests and diners. Winston Churchill frequently took his cabinet to lunch at the hotel.
The hotel became Carte's most successful venture. Its bands, Savoy Orpheans and the Savoy Havana Band, became famous, and other entertainers (who were also often guests) included George Gershwin, Frank Sinatra, Lena Horne and Noël Coward. Famous guests have included Edward VII, Enrico Caruso, Charlie Chaplin, Harry Truman, Judy Garland, Babe
The Stanley Hotel is a 150-room neo-Georgian hotel in Estes Park, Colorado. Located within sight of the Rocky Mountain National Park, the Stanley offers panoramic views of the Rockies. It was built by Freelan Oscar Stanley of Stanley Steamer fame and opened on July 4, 1909, catering to the rich and famous, including the RMS Titanic survivor Margaret Brown, John Philip Sousa, Theodore Roosevelt, the Emperor and Empress of Japan, and a variety of Hollywood personalities. The hotel and its surrounding lands are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Stanley Hotel also hosted the horror novelist Stephen King, inspiring him to write The Shining. Contrary to information sometimes published, King was living in Boulder at the time and did not actually write the novel at the hotel. Parts of the mini-series version of The Shining were filmed there, although Stanley Kubrick's cinematic version was filmed at the Timberline Lodge in Oregon and at Elstree Studios in England. The Stanley Hotel shows the uncut R-rated version of Kubrick's The Shining on a continuous loop on Channel 42 on guest room televisions.
In 1903, Stanley, who was co-inventor of the Stanley Steamer
The Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, formerly the Nevskij Palace Hotel (known in Russian as Невский Палас), is a five-star hotel in Saint Petersburg, Russia. It is located on Nevsky Prospect. Corinthia Nevskij Palace Hotel is regarded as one of Saint Petersburg's most luxurious hotels, along with Hotel Astoria and Grand Hotel Europe.
It recently underwent an enlargement, during which two historical buildings on either side were restored and joined to the complex to serve as a 7,000 square metres (75,000 sq ft) office building, and a 10,000 square metres (110,000 sq ft) trading center. The building project was run by Arup.
The Dariush Grand Hotel (Persian: هتل بزرگ داریوش) is a 168-room, $125 million, five star hotel located on the eastern part of Kish Island in the Persian Gulf.
Dariush Grand Hotel was built to look like Persepolis, a symbol of the ancient Persian (Iranian) civilization and the Persian Empire. The hotel was designed and developed by Iranian entrepreneur Hossein Sabet, who also owns and manages several tourist attractions and hotels in the Canary Islands. The hotel was completed in 2003 and is owned by a number of companies .
On May 7, 2004 it was announced that the Rezidor Hotel Group would manage the Dariush Grand Hotel for ten years, with the intention of rebranding the hotel as a Radisson SAS property in the future. In 2006, Rezidor and the owner of the hotel agreed to cancel the contract.The General Manager at the time was Sascha Kaiser, a German national. It is currently unknown what company currently runs the hotel.
Hotel Sterling is a closed hotel in downtown Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, at the intersection of River Street and Market Street. It was opened in 1898 by local business persons, who then owned a music hall located at the site, and was named after Emma E. Sterling, whose late husband, Walter G. Sterling, a local banker and businessman, owned a share of the music hall. Emma was a driving force behind the building of the hotel. The hotel was later expanded by Andrew Sordoni by connecting it to the Plaza Hotel in 1936. After lying abandoned for years, the non-profit organization CityVest purchased the hotel and demolished the 14-story Plaza tower portion and four-story connecting building in 2007 in an attempt to make the property more marketable to developers. At present, CityVest is indicating that it also wishes to demolish the Hotel Sterling's original building.
The Hotel Sterling was built in 1897 and opened on August 14, 1898 by local business persons, who owned a music hall located at the site, and was named after Emma E. Sterling, whose late husband, Walter G. Sterling, a local banker, owned a share of the music hall. Walter G. Sterling died in 1889, and had nothing to do with
Angsana Hotel & Suites (known as Damas Towers during construction) is a complex of two towers along Sheikh Zayed Road in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The two towers, Angsana Suites Tower and Angsana Hotel Tower, stand at the same height of 250 metres (820 ft) with 49 floors each. Both towers were managed by Angsana Resorts & Spa.
Angsana Suites Tower, which began construction in 2004, was completed in 2007 and opened in February 2008. This residential tower contains 417 units.
The second tower, Angsana Hotel Tower, began construction in 2005. The tower was completed in 2008 and opened in June 2008 which have 364 hotel rooms.
The Burj Al Alam (English: "World Tower") is a proposed 108-story, 510 m (1,670 ft) hyperboloid skyscraper in the Business Bay area of Dubai, United Arab Emirates, though the project's roots are in a 101-storey design called "Fortune 101" and slated for the Dubai Marina area. It is designed to resemble a crystal flower. If constructed, it would become one of the world's tallest buildings. The tower is one of the projects of the Fortune Group, which also has a number of other projects in Dubai such as the Fortune Bay (Dubai) and Fortune Tower.
The proposed building would contain 74 floors of office space, a retail area at the base, and a high-end hotel and serviced apartments in the top 27 floors. A luxury 5-star hotel section would contain the highest hotel rooms in the world. The building would also feature a 6-storey crown that will contain a Turkish bath, sky garden, and other club facilities. Ground breaking occurred on 12 November 2006 with the tower slated for completion in 2009, but the project was dogged by delays in payments from investors due to the global financial crisis. Construction of the tower was put on hold just after piling work on the foundations was completed.
Damenlou Hotel (Chinese: 大门楼旅店) was a small hotel located at Ann Siang Road, in Singapore's Chinatown, within the Central Area, Singapore's central business district.
Damenlou Hotel's origins can be traced to the creation of the dish of fishhead mifen (rice vermicelli), which was invented by Tang Kwong Swee in the 1920s. The hotel had a famous restaurant, named Swee Kee.
By mid-2007, Damenlou Hotel had ceased operations. Its premises have been taken over by the Screening Room, a dining and entertainment venue with bistro, movie theatre and rooftop bar. Accompanying this change, the hotel facade and interior have been heavily renovated.
Disney's Hotel New York is a hotel situated in Disneyland Paris designed by postmodern architect Michael Graves. Citing early 20th century Art Deco it was designed to echo the essence and feel of New York City. The exterior of the hotel itself is a stylised skyscraper-filled skyline. The hotel opened in 1992 at the resort.
There are numerous references to the city's state of affairs during the 1930s, such as the Manhattan Restaurant which was based on Manhattan's Cotton Club, the displayed artwork from the 1939 World's Fair or the Rockefeller Center-based Rockefeller Plaza; a courtyard which provides a skating rink which is ecological (not needing electricity and water, synthetic ice), a flagship project of Disney to curb greenhouse gas emission. The rink is decorated during Christmas.
Rodger Rabbit Corner is a infant play area inspired by Who Framed Roger Rabbit. An indoor/outdoor pool with a jacuzzi and pool toys is available. The Empire State Club is where Character breakfasts are held. Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Pluto, Goofy, and Launchpad McQuack appear every morning.
Disney's Hotel New York is the nearest to Panoramagique and Disney Village.
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel (popularly known as the E. & O.) is a colonial-style hotel in Penang that was established in 1885 by the Sarkies Brothers. The sea-fronting hotel is known for its luxurious accommodation and restaurants. The address is at 10 Lebuh Farquhar.
The Eastern Hotel was founded by the brothers in 1884. Within one year, the hotel had prospered and gained so much popularity that the brothers established another hotel, the Oriental Hotel in 1885, leading to the merging of both hotels to form the Eastern & Oriental Hotel in 1885. The success of the hotel led the brothers to establish a sister hotel, the Raffles Hotel in Singapore, 2 years later.
After World War II, the hotel went through a period of decline and in 1996, it was closed down. After major restoration works to restore the hotel back to its former grandeur under its new owner, The E & O Group, the hotel was reopened to the public in 2001.
Famous visitors and guests of the hotel include:
Media related to Eastern & Oriental Hotel at Wikimedia Commons
The historic Hotel Boulderado is located at 13th and Spruce St. in downtown Boulder, Colorado. It opened its doors on New Year's Day 1909. The original 1908 Otis Elevator is still in operation.
"As one of the first Boulder hotels, it is located in the heart of downtown. The hotel's name comes from the words "Boulder" and "Colorado" so no guest would forget where they had stayed. The hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation's Historic Hotels of America."
The hotel maintains the original Victorian elegance of the property in every guest room, with elegantly furnished guestrooms, and comfortable antique furnished sitting areas. The lobby boasts a restored copy of the famed stained glass ceiling and the original cantilevered cherry wood staircase. Hotel literature from the 1920's stated "every guest may expect the best and get it", a policy which is still upheld in a modernized hotel with all the latest amenities.
The Hotel Boulderado houses three restaurants. Located off of the main lobby are Q's, a popular fine-dining restaurant, and the Corner Bar, a more casual eatery. The basement contains
Hotel Fontenelle was an upscale commercial hotel once located at 1806 Douglas Street in downtown Omaha, Nebraska. Designed by noted architect Thomas Rogers Kimball in the Late Gothic Revival style, it was built in 1914 and demolished in 1983. It was named for Logan Fontenelle, a well-known chief of the Omaha Tribe.
For many years it was the flagship of hotel magnate Gene Eppley's Eppley Hotel Company, which in the 1950s was the largest privately held hotel company in the US. He operated 22 units in six states. Eppley lived in the hotel after buying it in 1920, and died there in 1958. He had sold his hotel empire to the Sheraton Corporation, for thirty million dollars. The hotel remained in operation as the Sheraton-Fontenelle until 1968, at which time it became an independent, reverting back to the Fontenelle name. It was abruptly closed in 1970 due to the deteriorating condition of the hotel. Many attempts were made to redevelop it, but It remained empty until being demolished in 1983, when the site became a parking lot. The site is now the parking lot of the Roman L. Hruska Federal Courthouse.
The Fontenelle was opened in 1915. Costing $1,000,000 to build, the building was
The Met Hotel, Leeds (formerly the Hotel Metropole is a Grade II listed building situated on King Street in Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. It was built in 1898 as the Hotel Metropole, and underwent a £6 million renovation in 2005 under new owner the Principal Hayley Group, after which its name was changed to the trendier sounding 'The Met'. It has four stars and it has 120 rooms.
The principal reason that the Hotel Metropole is a listed building is the rare and remarkable Victorian terracotta facade. The cupola on the roof was taken from the demolished 4th White Cloth Hall, built in 1868 on the same site.
The Hotel Sacher is a five-star hotel in the Innenstadt district of Vienna, Austria, next to the Staatsoper. It is famous for the specialty of the house, the Sachertorte, a chocolate cake with apricot filling. There is also an art gallery in the hotel with works from the 19th century. The hotel is built where Antonio Vivaldi once lived.
The hotel was founded in 1876 by Eduard Sacher (1843–1892) as a maison meublée. After his death his widow Anna Sacher (1859–1930) became manager. Under her rule, the hotel became one of the finest hotels in the world, where the aristocracy and diplomats would meet. After World War I Anna Sacher upheld the upper-class reputation of the hotel and denied service to guests of non-aristocratic descent, at the same time granting generous credit to impoverished aristocrats. Her management ran the business into financial problems and eventually to bankruptcy and change of ownership in the 1930s.
Since 1934, the hotel has been owned by the Gürtler family under the company name "Eduard Sacher GmbH & Co OHG". This company also owns a second Sacher Hotel in Salzburg, formerly the Österreichische Hof.
After the end of WWII, occupied Austria, like Germany, was
Four Seasons Hotel and Private Residences Denver is a 565 feet (172 m) tall skyscraper in Denver, Colorado. It was completed in 2010 and has 45 stories and 766,487 sq ft (71,209 m) of usable floor space. It is estimated to cost $350 million, which would make it the most expensive privately-owned building ever constructed in Denver.
Hotel de Wereld (meaning The World Hotel) in Wageningen was the site of the capitulation of the German troops in the Netherlands on 5 and 6 May 1945, and the end of German occupation during World War II.
On 6 May 1945, the German general Blaskowitz surrendered to the Canadian general Charles Foulkes, which ended the Second World War in the Netherlands. The Generals negotiated the terms of surrender in the Hotel de Wereld.
This fact is remembered annually.
In 1669 Jacob Meijnsen had a hotel outsite the city gates of Wageningen. This is the first historical fact of the hotel "De Waerelt". It was a stopping place between Utrecht and Arnhem. The inn appears on a map of Gerard Passevant (thithe map) in 1676. In 1814 the oldest painting of the hotel was made, this painting was commissiond by Gerrit Steuk when he became the owner of the inn. In 1852 a new hotel was built (current building) on the foundations of the old inn. In 1872 a new extension of three storeys was build.
When British Field Marshall Montgomery reached Lübeck and the Baltic Sea in the beginning of May 1945, the German troops in Denmark and part of The Netherlands were isolated from their homebase. Without major fights,
Hotel Giraffe is a luxury hotel located in New York City. The hotel has won many awards such as "Best Boutique Hotel-2007" according to CitySearch.com.
Hotel Giraffe is located at the Northeast corner of Park Avenue South and 26th street.
Hotel Giraffe is part of HKHotels, a hotel collection that is owned by Henry Kallan. There are four hotels within the HK Collection; The Hotel Giraffe, The Casablanca, The Library, and The Hotel Elysee. HKHotels are known for all four hotels consistently ranking in the top ten hotels in NYC by the members of TripAdvisor.com
Hotel Giraffe opened its doors as an operating hotel in December 1999. Hotel Giraffe has been upgraded several times in the last decade.
Architect Stephen Jacobs and his wife, interior designer Andi Pepper were in charge of the design of the building when Henry Kallan opened Hotel Giraffe in 2000.
Guestrooms at Hotel Giraffe are each inspired by the rich lavish colors and textures of the Modern Period. Hotel Giraffe offers 73 guestrooms, including 21 suites.
Hotel Giraffe was just featured in Sex and the City: The Movie. The Piano Suite was transformed into Mr. Big's apartment. "The penthouse at Hotel Giraffe stood in for
The Hotel Green, built in 1903 in Pasadena, California was home to both the Tournament of Roses and the Valley Hunt Club. The hotel was built by George Gill Green and was supplemented by two later buildings, creating a complex of three structures.
Hotel Green, by Los Angeles-based architect Frederick Roehrig, was the first of the three buildings; it was published in the periodical The Western Architect in December 1905.
Castle Green was the second building in the complex and was originally known as the "Central Annex." By 1924 the hotel was owned by a group of investors who divided the hotel complex into three parts. The Central Annex was subdivided into fifty residential apartments and renamed the Castle Green. The Castle Green is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the State Historic Register, and the City of Pasadena's list of Historic Places.
The Castle Green Apartments that stand on Raymond Avenue in historic old town Pasadena were built in 1887 and officially opened to the public in 1889, however this wasn't the first portion of the Green empire. The first portion of the hotel complex that sits on the southwest corner of Raymond Avenue and Green Street with
The Imperial Hotel, Tokyo, Japan, was created in the late 1880s at the request of the Japanese aristocracy to cater to the increasing number of western visitors to Japan. The hotel site is located just south of the Imperial Palace grounds, next to the previous location of the Palace moat. The modern hotel overlooks the Palace, the 40-acre (16 ha) western-style Hibiya Park, and the Ginza neighborhood. Three buildings have stood on the hotel site, each of which embodied the finest western design of their era.
The original Imperial Hotel in Tokyo was completed in 1890, backed by key Japanese leaders, such as Foreign Minister Count Inoue Kaoru and Viscount Shibusawa Eiichi. Architect Yuzuru Watanabe designed the hotel, known as "Watanabe House", in the German neo-Renaissance style. French cuisine was the official banquet fare of the Imperial Palace, and the Imperial Hotel followed that tradition. By 1917, the hotel was no longer able to accommodate the growing number of visitors, and the design was seen as outdated. To replace the original wooden structure, the owners commissioned a design by Frank Lloyd Wright. Watanabe's Imperial Hotel burned down in 1919.
The second Imperial Hotel,
Villa Cimbrone is a historic building in Ravello, on the Amalfi coast of southern Italy, dating from at least the 11th century AD, although little of the original structure is now visible. The building was much altered and extended, using a motley collection of salvaged architectural elements from other parts of Italy and elsewhere, by Ernest William Beckett (later Lord Grimthorpe), an English politician, in the early twentieth century. The alterations were of such an extent that the building is now more pastiche than original structure. The gardens were redeveloped at the same time. The villa is now a hotel, and the gardens are open to the public.
Villa Cimbrone stands on a rocky outcrop known as "Cimbronium", and it is from this landscape feature that the villa takes its name. The earliest references to the villa date back to the eleventh century AD, when the villa belonged to the Accongiogioco, a noble family. It later passed to the ownership of a wealthy and influential family, the Fusco, who are also recorded in 1291 as owning the local church of S. Angelo de Cimbrone.
At a later stage in its history the villa became part of the nearby monastery of Santa Chiara, and during
The Hotel Le Plaza is one of the last independent hotels in Brussels, and also one of the most ancient. He was built in the early thirties in a Louis XVI style, in the heart of Brussels.
Under the reign of King Leopold II, Brussels was equipped with large boulevards and green avenues. Mayor Jules Anspach (1829–1879) contributed to the transformation of the urban landscape of the capital by the realization of the thoroughfare from the North station to the South station.
It is precisely on this thoroughfare that the Hotel Le Plaza was built and opened its doors in 1930. Michel Polak, to whom the architecture was entrusted, found inspiration in the style of the Hôtel George-V in Paris, ensuring by its concrete ossature a remarkable solidity. The frontage was covered with French stones. The interior was designed to reflect the ideas of brightness and splendour: high ceilings, large corridors, big light rooms, several naturally lighted bathrooms, a majestic stairways covering 8 floors, decorated with stained glass windows and fringed with wrought iron hand-rails...
Very soon, prestigious guests came to the Hotel le Plaza, which became one of the symbols of the Brussels luxury hotel
The Hotel Palomar Washington is a 335-room high end boutique hotel located at 2121 P Street Northwest in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, D.C.. The Hotel Palomar is one of twelve Kimpton hotel properties in the Washington Metropolitan Area and one of eight locations opeerating in the District. Kimpton opened their first Washington, D.C. hotel in 2000.
Opening in 2006, the Hotel Palomar Washington's theme is "Art in Motion". The Hotel Palomar maintains a partnership with The Phillips Collection and Smithsonian Institution. The hotel building was originally owned by Radisson Hotels until it was purchased by Kimpton in July 2005 for $40 million. Prior to being a Radisson property, this was known as the Omni Georgetown Hotel. Renovations to the hotel cost an estimated $32 million. The Hotel Palomar's restaurant is the Italian-themed Urbana.
Columbus Hotel Monaco is a luxury 4-star hotel located at 23, avenue des Papalins in the Fontvieille area of western Monaco. It used to be owned by the former Formula One racing car driver David Coulthard and Ken McCulloch until Coulthard sold out to London and Regional in May 2010. The hotel was opened on April 21, 2001 by Rainier III, Prince of Monaco.
The interior to the hotel was designed by international designer Amanda Rosa in the Italian Riviera style with light colour palettes and natural furnishings of leather, marble, wood and stone.The hotel has 174 rooms and 18 suites and several restaurants.
The hotel and Coulthard featured in an episode of Piers Morgan's travelogue series Piers Morgan on... looking at Monaco.
The Dorint Hotel Tower is the best-known high-rise building in the German city of Augsburg and visible throughout the city. At 107,2 m (158 m with the antenna) it is the highest building in the Augsburg area and among the ten highest in Bavaria. It is located at the intersection of Gögginger Straße and Imhofstraße, in the borough of Göggingen. In its vicinity are the Congress Hall and Wittelsbacher Park.
The building is architecturally similar to the Marina City towers in Chicago. The tower is nicknamed "Maiskolben" (corncob) by locals because of its cylindrical shape with numerous bulges.
The former Augsburg agricultural machinery dealer Otto Schnitzenbaumer had the tower built on the occasion of the 20th Olympic Games in Munich 1972 at a cost of 50 million Deutschmark and thereby fulfilled his desire to build a "symbol of modern Augsburg". Planning for the project soon faced resistance from inhabitants, however, leading to the founding of the "Save the Wittelsbacher park" campaign. Construction began in April 1971.
In order to keep to the planned build-time, the 18-sided interior which houses the lifts and stairwells was constructed from concrete cast in situ and the pre-cast
The Four Points by Sheraton, previously known as the Golden Sands Tower, is a 43-floor hotel tower in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The building, constructed of steel and glass, has a total structural height of 166 m (545 ft), and currently stands as the 40th-tallest structure in the Dubai. Construction of the tower began in 2005 and was completed in early 2007. The hotel is operated by Four Points by Sheraton, and stands as one of the tallest all-hotel structures in the city. However, the building does not surpass the Burj Al Arab or the Rose Tower to become the tallest hotel in Dubai. The Four Points by Sheraton is one of several recently completed skyscrapers to rise along Dubai's Sheikh Zayed Road.
The Four Points by Sheraton was originally proposed for construction as the Golden Sands Tower. The building was designed as a 43 floor all-residential apartment tower; it began construction in 2004, with a set estimated completion date of 2006. Starwood Hotels & Resorts entered the project after construction had already begun, and the building was subsequently renamed Four Points by Sheraton Sheikh Zayed Road. The building plans were revised to provide for the addition of a Four
The Hôtel Continental is a hotel in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. It was named after the Hôtel Continental in Paris, and is located in District 1, the central business district of the city. The hotel is situated by the Saigon Opera House and was built in 1880 by the French. The hotel has undergone a few refurbishments over the years, whilst still maintaining the essence of its original architecture and style.
Hotel Continental is owned by the state-owned Saigon Tourist.
The Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Continental has been also been featured in the Hollywood movie The Quiet American, an adaptation of Graham Greene's novel with the same name. Another movie in which it was featured was Indochine. This film and Greene's Quiet American illustrate the central place the Continental had in the social and political life of Saigon during the French Colonial Era. It is located near the City Post Office, built in 1891, the People's Committee of Ho Chi Minh City Building (1898, formerly the Hotel De Ville) and Notre Dame Cathedral (1880). Graham Greene lived in the Continental while writing "The Quiet American" and working as a journalist during the latter days of the French Colonial period. It is
Like the charming Pacific Heights neighborhood that surrounds it, the Laurel Inn is noted for its warm sense of hospitality and stylized sophistication. Designed as a contemporary take on mid-century style, the Laurel Inn incorporates a sophisticated and comfortable interior drenched in rich colors, relaxed textures and ingenious details. Each spacious guestroom is designed in the style of a modern San Francisco studio apartment, some offering great views of the city.
The Laurel Inn is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The JW Marriott Marquis Dubai Hotel is a twin-tower complex in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Once completed, at the cost of 1.8 billion dirhams, the twin tower consist a 1,608 room hotel run by Marriott International, with some residential apartments. At 77 stories and 376 m (1,234 ft) tall the JW Marriott Marquis Dubai Hotel is the tallest hotel in Dubai, surpassing the Rose Rayhaan by Rotana, and will be the world's 2nd tallest hotel once open.
Each tower comprises two basement levels, a ground floor, six podium parking levels and seventy additional floors with cantilevered suspended room balconies, sky terraces, 14 food and beverage outlets, rooftop bars, a business center, conference halls and meeting rooms, an extensive banquet hall, a 3,700 square meter spa and health club, as well as retail outlets, a swimming pool, and a gymnasium.
This project, owned by The Emirates Group, was originally conceived as a single, 350-metre tall, 77-storey tower which was supposed to be completed in 2008 and built alongside the Sheikh Zayed Road. However, its design and location had to be changed because of the construction of a creek extension belonging to the Business Bay megaproject. The new
Hotel Astoria (Russian: гости́ница «Асто́рия») is a five-star hotel in Saint Petersburg, Russia opened in December 1912. It has 213 bedrooms, including 52 suites.
It is located on Saint Isaac's Square, next to Saint Isaac's Cathedral and across from the historic Imperial German Embassy. The architect of the hotel was the Russo-Swedish architect Fyodor Lidval, who developed a style based on art nouveau and also influenced by neo-classicism. Hotel Astoria, along with its neighboring sister hotel, Hotel Angleterre, is managed by The Rocco Forte Collection and is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World. The hotel underwent a complete refurbishment in 2002.
Shortly after the Russian Revolution, Hotel Astoria housed members of the Communist Party.
During World War II, Adolf Hitler reportedly planned to hold a victory banquet in the hotel's Winter Garden. He was so convinced Leningrad would fall quickly that invitations to the event were printed in advance.
The hotel's many famous guests included Lenin, Prince Charles, Luciano Pavarotti, Madonna, Elton John, Isadora Duncan and U.S. President George W. Bush.
The Trump International Hotel and Tower, also known as Trump Tower Chicago and Trump Tower, is a skyscraper condo-hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. The building, named after billionaire real estate developer Donald Trump, was designed by architect Adrian Smith of Skidmore, Owings and Merrill. Bovis Lend Lease built the 92-story structure, which reached a height of 1,389 feet (423 m) including its spire, its roof topping out at 1,170 feet (360 m). It is adjacent to the main branch of the Chicago River, with a view of the entry to Lake Michigan beyond a series of bridges over the river. The building received publicity when the winner of the first season of The Apprentice reality television show, Bill Rancic, chose to manage the construction of the tower over managing a new Trump National Golf Course and resort in Los Angeles, California.
Trump announced in 2001 that the skyscraper would become the tallest building in the world, but after the September 11, 2001 terrorists attacks, he scaled back the building's plans, and its design underwent several revisions. When topped out in 2009, it became the second-tallest building in the Western Hemisphere, after another Chicago building,
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel is built across the F1 Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi.
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel is located within the Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi. It is the first new hotel in the world to be built over an F1 race circuit.
The Hotel, designed by Hani Rashid and Lise Anne Couture, principals of New York based Asymptote Architecture, consists of two twelve story hotel towers, one set within the race circuit and another placed in the Marina itself, linked together by a monocoque steel and glass bridge and Grid Shell structure that both cross above and over the Yas Marina Circuit F1 race track.
Asymptote created and conceived of the building as an architectural landmark embodying key influences and local and global inspirations ranging from the aesthetics and forms associated with speed and spectacle to the artistry and geometries that form the basis of ancient Islamic art and craft traditions.
Of architectural and engineering significance is the main feature of the hotelʼs design: a 217-meter expanse of sweeping, curvilinear glass and steel covering known as the Grid Shell: it features an LED lighting system incorporating video feeds that are transmitted over the
Gaige House is an exceptional blend of vintage and contemporary. Nestled along Glen Ellen's peaceful winding roads and flourishing greenery, the Gaige House is a Sonoma and Napa wine country hotel renowned for its picturesque setting, impeccable service, and unique luxury Sonoma hotel guest amenities.
The Gaige House is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special Sonoma vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Holbeck Hall Hotel was a clifftop hotel in Scarborough, North Yorkshire, England, owned by English Rose Hotels. The hotel had scenic views of the sea and surrounding area. It was built in 1879 by George Alderson Smith as a private residence, and was later converted to a hotel. On 3 June 1993, a landslide began beneath the hotel. This increased, and finally on 5 June 1993, a day of heavy rain, parts of the building dramatically fell into the sea, making news around the world. The remainder of the building had to be demolished by contractors.
Although it was on a clifftop, an information board at the top of the cliff states that the incident was nothing to do with the sea, blaming it on soil creep. This is a common problem in Scarborough, with several paths and pavements clearly starting to slip down the hill. Before the cliff collapsed, there had been some very heavy rainfall, resulting in the muddy cliff turning into sludge. This flowed downhill - quite rapidly for a muddy bank - and ultimately took the hotel with it. In total 27,000m² of mud fell into the sea, and protruded 100 metres further into the sea than the original coastline.
In 1997, it became the subject of a
Hotel Tammer (Sokos Hotel Tammer) is situated near Tammerkoski rapids in central Tampere, Finland. Tammer was built in 1929 and it belongs to S Groups Sokos Hotels chain. Other Sokos Hotels in Tampere are Ilves and Villa.
Hotel Tammer is one of Finland's oldest operating hotels. The building is listed as a part of Tammerkoski national heritage area by the Finnish National Board of Antiquities. Built in neo-classical style and designed by town architect Bertel Strömmer, it was ready to open just in time for the 150th birthday of Tampere in fall 1929. A tragic event, sinking of steamer SS Kuru in lake Näsijärvi, cancelled all festivities. The depression years in the beginning of 1930s drove Hotel Tammer into financial trouble. At the end of the 1930s a better economic situation saved the hotel.
During its history Hotel Tammer has hosted many famous guests including the Finnish marshal C.G.E. Mannerheim and the Russian astronaut Yuri Gagarin. Also Nobel laureate in literature Frans Emil Sillanpää was a frequent guest.
The hotel has also been portrayed in books and films. Some of the events in Arto Paasilinnas novel Elämä lyhyt, Rytkönen pitkä were set in the hotel. Also scenes for a
The Hotel Tuller once stood at Adams Avenue West, Bagley Street, and Park Avenue across from Grand Circus Park in downtown Detroit, Michigan. It was one of the largest luxury hotels in Detroit, and the first one to be erected in the Grand Circus Park Historic District. The hotel was known as the "grand dame of Grand Circus Park." The site is now the location of a parking lot next to the United Artists Theatre Building.
Composer Gerald Marks' band, the Gerald Marks's Hotel Tuller Orchestra, was based at the hotel. The band made several commercially successful recordings for Columbia Records in the mid-1920s.
The Hotel Tuller was originally constructed in 1906 by Lew Whiting Tuller. The hotel originally had nine floors; four additional floors were added in 1914. An Annex to the west of the original building was added by 1923, and it was a popular site for conventions and banquets. A final addition was made in 1929, bring in the room count to 800, each with a private bath.
Even by the 1920s, the Tuller had a difficult time competing with other Detroit hotels, and in the 1930s, the Tuller went bankrupt and was purchased by another owner. In 1940, the former boxer Kid McCoy was found
Umaid Bhawan Palace, located at Jodhpur in Rajasthan, India, is one of the world's largest private residences. A part of the palace is managed by Taj Hotels. Named after Maharaja Umaid Singh, grandfather of the present owners of the palace, this monument has 347 rooms and serves as the principal residence of the erstwhile Jodhpur royal family.
Umaid Bhawan Palace was called Chittar Palace during its construction due to its location on Chittar Hill, the highest point in Jodhpur. Ground for the foundations of the building was broken on 18 November 1929 by Maharaja Umaid Singh and the construction work was completed in 1943. .The Palace was build to provide employment to thousands of people during the time of famine.
The present owner of the Palace is Maharaj Gaj Singh. The Palace is divided into three functional parts - a luxury Taj Palace Hotel (in existence since 1972), the residence of the erstwhile royal family, and a Museum focusing on the 20th century history of the Jodhpur Royal Family. The opening hours of this museum are 9 am to 5 pm.
Welcome to the Best Western Hotel Tomo®, newly renovated and inspired by Japanese pop-culture. From the wall of televisions in our lobby to anime murals and glow-in-the-dark desk blotters in each guest room, this is a San Francisco experience like no other. The Best Western Hotel Tomo® has 125 guestrooms in an eight-story building. Guestrooms at the Best Western Hotel Tomo are not only roomy, cheerful and comfortable; they are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through anime-style wall paintings and views of the city.
The Hotel Tomo is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Hotel Adagio® features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. Located in the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, this elegant Union Square hotel is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting for business or pleasure.
The Hotel Adagio is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
Hotel El Convento is a hotel in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico located in an old nunnery. It is located across the street from the western hemisphere's second oldest cathedral, the San Juan Cathedral.
The Monasterio del Señor San José de la Orden de nuestra Señora del Carmen was founded in 1651 by Doña Ana Lanzós, a wealthy widow who donated her money and her magnificent residence (a large double sloped tiled roof) in the street that since then bears the name: de las Monjas. Historian María de los Ángeles Castro tells us that the delay in the arrival of a nunnery was due to economic reasons but also for lack of since the fortifications of the city were still not complete. Three nuns brought especially from Santo Domingo served as founders.
The building was expanded between 1854 and 1861 after the original building was torn down. Governor Fernando de Norzagaray personally helped raising the necessary funds and personally inspected the work daily. Certain elements stand out in the facade of the chapel, besides the entrance, the pair of Tuscan columns, the two towers and the latticed choir arch. The frieze above the door is interrupted for a legend that never was placed. The building was
The InterContinental San Francisco is a high-rise hotel at 888 Howard Street in the financial district of San Francisco, California. The 103.63 m (340 ft) 32-story hotel has 550 hotel rooms, and is operated by the InterContinental Hotels Group. The hotel is next to the Moscone West Center, completed in 2003. The hotel opened on February 28, 2008. There is a two-level underground garage and a six-floor podium housing hotel amenities.
The US$200 million hotel was designed by Patri Merker Architects, and Hornberger + Worstell with Webcor Builders as primary contractors. At night, the tower's southern facade is illuminated, lighting the corner of Howard and 5th Streets, and is visible throughout the city and from miles away. The curtain wall system consists of glass and metal panels. A restaurant is located at street level and a full service spa and health club including a swimming pool is located on the sixth floor. A series of terraces provides open space areas, outdoor activities and separation from adjacent buildings allowing natural light and ventilation to reach the north side of the building. The building, with its 550 rooms, is the largest hotel to open in San Francisco since
The Hotel Paramount in New York City is a hotel located at 235 West 46th Street, to the west of Broadway. Designed by Thomas W. Lamb, construction was completed in 1928. In 1988, the hotel was closed for an 18-month remodelling project. In 1990, the hotel, under the ownership of Ian Schrager and redesigned by Philippe Starck, reopened as the Paramount Hotel. The hotel underwent a seven-month long renovation in 1998 at a cost of $7 million, which included enhancements to lobby lighting.
After purchasing the hotel in 1986, Ian Schrager was able to more than double occupancy rates in about two years, to 82%. Schrager sold the hotel in 2004 for $126 million to a Sol Melia Hotels and Resorts / Hard Rock Cafe joint venture.
Various musicians have been associated with the Paramount. The Paramount Hotel Grill, a restaurant within the hotel, hosted jazz performances from the 1930s onwards. At the height of their fame in 1931, the Memphis Stompers performed at the Paramount Hotel. Charlie Barnet led a band there from 1932 onwards. From 1938 to 1951, theatrical impresario and song writer Billy Rose operated "Billy Rose's Diamond Horseshoe" nightclub in the basement of the Paramount. The club
The Westin Peachtree Plaza, Atlanta is a skyscraper hotel on Peachtree Street in downtown Atlanta Georgia adjacent to the Peachtree Center complex and the former Davison's/Macy's flagship store. At 220.37 m (723.0 ft) and 73 stories and a 57 m (187 ft) diameter, the tower is the second-tallest all-hotel skyscraper in the Western Hemisphere, and the 17th tallest all-hotel building in the world.
The first building on the site was the first official Georgia Governor's Mansion, a Victorian-style home purchased by the state in 1870 at the southwest corner of Peachtree Street and Cain Street (later International Boulevard, now Andrew Young International Boulevard). After housing 17 governors of Georgia (each limited to a single term of office) until 1921, it was demolished in 1923 for the Henry Grady Hotel, named for Atlanta Constitution newspaper journalist/magnate and philanthropist Henry W. Grady. That and the Roxy Theatre were in turn demolished for the current building.
Designed by developer/architect John Portman, the building gained landmark status within the city as Atlanta's tallest building from its completion, in 1976, to 1987 when it was overtaken by One Atlantic Center. The
The Drake Hotel on Queen Street West in Toronto, Ontario, Canada near Parkdale, was opened in 1890 as "Small's Hotel". At the time, the area was a major Canadian Pacific Railway hub near what was then one of the wealthiest neighbourhoods in the city.
In 1949, the hotel was acquired by new owners, who expanded the building and renamed it the Drake. The hotel eventually fell on hard times, along with its neighbourhood. In the 1970s, it fell into use as a flophouse like many hotels in American cities. Other uses in the 1980s, and 1990s include a punk bar, and rave den.
In 2001, the hotel was purchased by Jeff Stober, who renovated the hotel with the goal of turning it into a bohemian arts and culture mecca in the midst of the city's recently revived gallery district. After renovations were completed the Drake re-opened in 2004. The hotel has subsequently become one of Toronto's most talked-about nightclubs and arts venues, as well as a popular accommodation for out-of-town visitors. The hotel contains nineteen rooms including an upstairs lounge, a dining room, a cafe, a roof top patio named the Sky Yard, and a music bar called The Drake Underground - home to William New's Elvis
Sun City is a luxury casino and resort, situated in the North West Province of South Africa. It is located between the Elands River and the Pilanesberg, about two hours' drive from Johannesburg, near the city of Rustenburg. The complex borders the Pilanesberg Game Reserve.
Sun City was developed by the hotel magnate Sol Kerzner as part of his Sun International group of properties. It was officially opened on 7 December 1979; at the time it was located in the Bantustan of Bophuthatswana.
As Bophuthatswana had been declared an independent state by South Africa's apartheid government (although unrecognized as such by any other country), it was allowed under the South African law at the time to provide entertainment such as gambling and topless revue shows, which were banned in South Africa. These factors, as well as its relatively close location to the large metropolitan areas of Pretoria and Johannesburg, ensured that Sun City soon became (and stayed) a popular holiday and weekend destination. Many famous performers such as Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Elaine Page, Frank Sinatra, Queen, Elton John, Sarah Brightman, Roxette, Julio Iglesias, The O'Jays, Boney M., Black Sabbath, Rod Stewart,
The InterContinental Miami is a hotel in Downtown Miami, Florida, United States. It belongs to the InterContinental Hotels chain. Located on Biscayne Bay, the hotel is in the form of a 35-story tower on the eastern edge of downtown in Bayfront Park. The address is 100 Chopin Plaza. The building is 122 m (366 ft) tall, has 35 stories, and was built in 1982.
List of tallest buildings in Miami
The Queen Elizabeth Hotel (French: Le Reine Élizabeth; official English name Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth) is a grand hotel in Montreal, Quebec. Completed in 1958, it was built by the Canadian National Railway, but was later sold to Canadian Pacific Hotels, now Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. With 1039 rooms and 21 floors it is the largest hotel in the province of Quebec, and the second largest Fairmont hotel in Canada after the Royal York in Toronto, which has 1365 rooms.
Located at 900 René Lévesque Boulevard West, in the heart of Montreal, it is connected to Central Station and to the underground city.
Many famous guests have stayed there, including Queen Elizabeth II (four times) and the Duke of Edinburgh, the Queen Mother, Prince Charles, Fidel Castro, who was the first head of state to visit the hotel, Charles de Gaulle, and Princess Grace of Monaco, during Expo '67, Indira Gandhi, Jacques Chirac, Nelson Mandela, the Dalai Lama, Mikhail Gorbachev, Jimmy Carter, Henry Kissinger, Perry Como, Joan Crawford, John Travolta, Mikhail Baryshnikov, and George W. Bush.
The hotel reached worldwide fame when John Lennon and Yoko Ono, who had been refused entry into the United States,
The Rambagh Palace in Jaipur, Rajasthan is the former residence of the Maharaja of Jaipur and now a luxury Taj Palace Hotel, located 5 miles (8.0 km) outside of the walls of the city of Jaipur on Bhawani Singh Road. Preferred by celebrities and sport stars across the globe, Rambagh Palace, is widely considered to be one of the best hotels around the world.
The first building on the site was a garden house built in 1835 for the wet nurse of prince Ram Singh II. In 1887, during the reign of Maharaja Sawai Madho Singh, it was converted into a modest royal hunting lodge, as the house was located in the midst of a thick forest at that time. In the early 20th century, it was expanded into a palace to the designs of Sir Samuel Swinton Jacob. Maharajah Sawai Man Singh II made Rambagh his principal residence and added a number of royal suites in 1931. After India became independent and the princely states united, the Palace became the Government House. By the 1950s, the royal family felt that the upkeep of the palace and its 47 acres (190,000 m) of gardens was becoming very costly. They, therefore, decided in 1957 to convert it into a luxury hotel.
The Sportsmen's Lodge is a hotel located on Ventura Boulevard in Studio City, Los Angeles, California. Operating under various names (including "Hollywood Trout Farms") since the 1880s, the Sportsmen's Lodge is a San Fernando Valley landmark and remains a popular spot for celebrations, dinners and public events. Located in the heart of the Valley's studio district, the Sportsmen's Lodge was a popular gathering spot for cast and crew in old Hollywood, including Clark Gable, Bette Davis, John Wayne, Humphrey Bogart, Lauren Bacall, Spencer Tracy and Katharine Hepburn.
The original Sportsmen's Lodge opened in the 1880s before the movie business existed and before Studio City had its name. A history of Studio City published by the Studio City Sun describes the Lodge as an "enduring symbol of lost rural Valley life." The Sun notes that the site has had many owners since the 1880s but was "always a geographic crossroads for travelers because of its proximity to the river, the canyons, and watering holes created by a natural artesian spring." In the days before freeways were built across the Valley, "all traffic passed along Ventura’s two dirt lanes in the sparsely populated Valley, and
The USS Flagship Hotel was a hotel, located in Galveston in the U.S. state of Texas. It was built on the historic Pleasure Pier structure entirely over the Gulf of Mexico, albeit very close to shore. It was a popular destination in Galveston that withstood many storms.
The hotel was built in 1965 by Houston banker James E. Lyon who leased the pier for the construction. The lease rate was US$185,000 annually (US$1.36 million in today's terms) for forty years.
The structure was severely damaged by Hurricane Ike. As of 2009 the owner, Landry's Restaurants, was considering various possibilities for the site's future ranging from demolishing and replacing the structure, to repairing and re-opening the hotel.
In October 2010, local news sources reported that Landry's will demolish the hotel rather than repairing the dilapidated structure at a cost of $15 million. In its place, an amusement park will grace the 1,000 foot long Pleasure Pier. Coincidentally, the Flagship Hotel replaced an amusement park that was severely damaged during Hurricane Carla in September 1961. Demolition began February 17, 2011.
America's Best Value Inn by Vantage Hospitality is America's fastest-growing hotel chain, with over 1000 properties. Formerly known as Best Value Inn, it has related locations in Canada called Canada's Best Value Inn, and in China called China's Best Value Inn. The chain was founded in 1999.
America's Best Value Inn received Hotel Vikas diamond award in 2010. This award is reported to be given under Best Hotel Franchisor category to America's Best Value Inn. Vantage Hospitality CEO - Roger Bloss accepted this award.
The Hollywood Hotel was a famous hostelry and landmark located on the north side of Hollywood Boulevard between Highland and Orchid Avenues in Hollywood, California.
The first section of the hotel was built by a developer eager to sell residential lots among the lemon ranches then lining the foothills of the Santa Monica Mountains and opened in December of that year. Flanking the west side of Highland Avenue, the small stucco structure fronted on a dusty, unpaved road with pepper trees that would eventually become Hollywood Boulevard. Whitley was instrumental in the completion of the boulevard. Within less than three years he would be compelled to build an additional wing onto this elegant hotel. The first forty-room wing of the hotel was just completed when Whitley was determined it was time to expand. He began construction of an additional 104 rooms and the work would continue for the next three years. He enlarged it to cover the entire block, installing a wide lobby, a chapel, a music room, the famous ballroom and 125 guest rooms. Whitley surrounded the hotel with wide lawns and carefully cultivated gardens, stretching over 3 acres (1.2 ha). He operated the establishment as a
Hotel Metropole (sometimes spelled Hotel Metropol) was a hotel in Vienna which was constructed in 1871-73 but destroyed during World War II after serving as the headquarters of the Gestapo from 1938. The address was Morzinplatz, in the I. District Innere Stadt.
The hotel was built for the Vienna World Exhibition and was designed by Carl Schumann and Ludwig Tischler. The four-story building was richly decorated with Corinthian columns, caryatids and atlases. The inner court was glassed over and had a richly decorated dining hall.
After the Anschluss of Austria to Nazi Germany in March 1938, the hotel was confiscated by the Gestapo who made it their headquarters. Prisoners, especially Jews, were brought to the hotel to be interrogated, tortured and killed. During the war the building was hit by a bomb and burned down and ultimately the ruins were torn down to eliminate any memory of the building.
In 1951 a memorial stone was erected by concentration camp survivors, which was then replaced in 1985 with a bigger monument financed by the city of Vienna. The monument consists of granite blocks from the quarry of the former concentration camp at Mauthausen and a bronze statue symbolising
The Hotel Tallcorn is located at 134 East Main Street in Marshalltown, Iowa. Today it is called the Tallcorn Towers Apartments. Built in 1928 by the Eppley Hotel Company, local citizens contributed $120,000 to ensure the successful completion of this seven-story hotel. It was completed in connection to the seventy-fifth anniversary of Marshalltown. The hotel's sale in 1956 from the Eppley chain to the Sheraton Corporation was part of the second largest hotel sale in United States history.
The Hotel Waverly is located at 484 Spadina Avenue on the northwest corner of Spadina Avenue and College Street in downtown Toronto. It opened in 1900 making it one of the oldest Toronto hotels in continuous operation. The white four-storey hotel is located next to Toronto's Chinatown and to landmarks The Silver Dollar Room and The Scott Mission. Its proximity to the mission has kept rental rates low, attracting customers who are looking for a deal in downtown. The Waverly's interior rooms are modest but comfortable. This accommodation does provide low-cost housing benefiting Toronto's transient community as well as monthly residents. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry facilities, free parking and snack counter.
The hotel's central location is close to major attractions such as the Art Gallery of Ontario, Queen's Park, The Royal Ontario Museum and Kensington Market, making it a prime target for redevelopment. It enjoys proximity to major transit routes via the 506 Carlton Streetcar and 510 Spadina Streetcar.
Though he denied it, there is some evidence that James Earl Ray may have stayed at the Waverly while hiding out in Toronto after shooting Martin Luther King, Jr.. It was also the
The Moana Hotel, also known as the First Lady of Waikīkī, is a famous historic hotel on the island of Oʻahu, located at 2365 Kalākaua Avenue in Honolulu, Hawaiʻi. It is today one of three buildings that make up the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Built in the late 19th century as the first hotel in Waikiki, the Moana opened its doors to guests in 1901, becoming the first large hotel in Waikīkī. The Moana Hotel is regarded as the flagship in Hawaiʻi tourism, and has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In Hawaiian, moana means "open sea" or "ocean."
The wealthy Honolulu landowner, Walter Chamberlain Peacock, in an effort to establish a fine resort in the previously neglected Waikiki area of Honolulu, incorporated the Moana Hotel Company in 1896. Working with a design by architect Oliver G. Traphagen and $150,000 in capital, The Lucas Brothers contractors completed the structure in 1901. Construction of The Moana marked the beginning of tourism in Waikiki, becoming the first hotel amidst the bungalows and beach houses.
The Moana's architecture was influenced by European styles popular at the time, with Ionic columns and intricate woodwork and plaster
The Plaza Hotel in New York City is a landmark 20-story luxury hotel with a height of 250 ft (76 m) and length of 400 ft (120 m) that occupies the west side of Grand Army Plaza, from which it derives its name, and extends along Central Park South in Manhattan. Fifth Avenue extends along the east side of Grand Army Plaza.
The hotel's main entrance faces the southern portion of Grand Army Plaza, commemorating the Union Army in the Civil War. Grand Army Plaza is in two sections, bisected by Central Park South. The section in front of the Plaza Hotel is centered by the Pulitzer Fountain, of Abundance by Karl Bitter, funded by the will of the newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer: the statue in the fountain is specifically Pomona, Roman goddess of orchards. The statue was posed for by Doris Doscher, also famous for posing for the Standing Liberty Quarter. The north side of Grand Army Plaza, a corner cut out from Central Park, has Augustus Saint-Gaudens' part-gilded bronze equestrian statue of General Sherman. Scholars Gate, behind Grand Army Plaza, provided one of the two original main entrances to the carriage drives of Central Park, the other being Merchants Gate at the Grand Circle,
Treetops Hotel is a hotel in Aberdare National Park in Kenya near the township of Nyeri, 1,966 m (6,450 ft) above sea level on the Aberdare Range and in sight of Mount Kenya. First opened in 1932 by Eric Sherbrooke Walker, it was literally built into the tops of the trees of Aberdare National Park as a treehouse, offering the guests a close view of the local wildlife in complete safety. The idea was to provide a machan (hunting platform on a tree during shikar in India) experience in relative safety and comfort. From the original modest two room tree house, it has grown into 50 rooms. The original structure was burned down by African guerrillas during the 1954 Mau Mau Uprising, but the hotel was rebuilt near the same waterhole and has become fashionable for many of the rich and famous. It includes observation lounges and ground level photographic hides from which guests can observe the local wildlife which come to the nearby waterholes.
The hotel is known as the location where Princess Elizabeth acceded to the thrones of the United Kingdom and Commonwealth Realms upon the death of her father George VI while she was staying there in 1952.
The initial idea of Major Eric Sherbrooke
Union Square's Galleria Park is a stylish downtown hotel in San Francisco, located at the crossroads of Union Square and the Financial District.Completely renovated in early 2007, the guestroom changes include upgrades to Pillowtop mattresses, Frette linens, towels and robes, electronic door locks, flat screen televisions, and new heating and A/C units. A grand restoration of the hotel lobby was performed to enhance the natural historical elements featuring the glamour of the 40's. Experience beautifully-appointed guestroom and suite accommodations, three meeting rooms, and convenient location to a variety of dining and shopping locations during your stay at Galleria Park Hotel in San Francisco.
The Galleria Park Hotel is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special Sacramento vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort and Spa, formerly the Kaiser Hawaiian Village Hotel, has been a popular hotel in the Waikiki area of the City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii, United States since 1957. It is the largest hotel of the Hilton chain, with 3,386 rooms and with 7 towers. It is also the 17th largest hotel in the world.
Located on the Hawaiian island of O'ahu, it was built on the former village of Kalia, which was the childhood home of Duke Kahanamoku. It consisted of a private estate with an owners' residence, tenant houses and a salt flat. The portion of the estate nearest the ocean beach was developed around 1900 as a small hotel named the Old Waikiki, then redeveloped in 1928 as the Niumalu Hotel.
The Village was conceived, constructed and first administered by Henry J. Kaiser, the industrialist who built the Hoover Dam and Grand Coulee Dam and founded the Kaiser Permanente health system. Kaiser bought the Kalia estate of 16 acres (6.5 ha) and combined it to construct the Hawaiian Village, converting the flat to a lagoon. Hilton Hotels & Resorts bought the resort in 1961.
Today, the Hawaiian Village Hotel sits on over 22 acres (8.9 ha) of beachfront property,
The Hotel Bayerischer Hof is a five-star luxury 350-room hotel in the city center of Munich, Germany. It is mainly housed in an 1841 building. As of 1924, it was the largest hotel in Europe. Since several decades it is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World. The hotel is owned by the Volkhardt family since 1897. The current number of employees is 650.
In 1969, the adjacent Palais Montgelas, built in 1813, was added to the hotel. The main building has 7 storeys plus a public used basement.
Annually in February, the international Munich Conference on Security Policy (Münchner Konferenz für Sicherheitspolitik) is held here for three days.
Of the 350 guest rooms, 60 are suites. It has six bars and five restaurants. There is also a spa with a swimming pool in the 7th floor. 40 conference rooms are provided.
The Hotel Breakers, built in 1905, is a large historic Lake Erie resort hotel located at 1 Cedar Point Drive in the Cedar Point amusement park in Sandusky, Ohio.
It was designated a U.S. National Historic Landmark in 1987 but was altered significantly in 1999. It later was de-designated, having been delisted on August 7, 2001.
The hotel sits on the one mile beach mentioned on Cedar Point's web page. There are roughly 650 rooms or suites. The hotel has two outdoor pools and one indoor pool, each with a hot tub nearby. The hotel contains a few restaurants, including T.G.I. Friday's. There are also retail shops.
The hotel features Peanuts comic themed rooms.
Over the years notable guests have included:
Hotel Castelar is located at the northwest intersection of May and the 9 de Julio Avenues, in the downtown Montserrat section of Buenos Aires, Argentina. Opened in 1928 as the Hotel Excelsior, the building was designed by Italian architect Mario Palanti and built by local engineer José Pinzone. The Spanish poet and dramatist, Federico García Lorca, stayed here from October 1933 to March 1934 while his play, Bodas de Sangre, was being performed at the Avenida Theatre nearby; his erstwhile room has been preserved as a museum. More recently, the hotel was the site of Vice President Carlos Álvarez's dramatic, October 6, 2000, resignation, a milestone helping lead to President Fernando de la Rúa's own departure a year later.
Hotel Crowne Plaza (formerly Hotel Družba, Hotel Čedok, Hotel International and Hotel Holiday Inn) is the largest Stalinist architecture building in Prague, Czech Republic, and is located in the Dejvice district.
The building was built between 1952 and 1954 at the order of Defence minister Alexej Čepička. It is 88 m high (the roof is 67 m, plus a 10 m chalice and a 1.5 m red star) and has sixteen floors. Part of the building was a fallout shelter for 600 people, currently used as a staff clothes room.
The Hotel Windsor is a luxury hotel in Melbourne. The Windsor is Australia’s only surviving grand 19th century city hotel and only official "grand" Victorian era hotel. The Hotel Windsor is 5 stars and considered one of the grandest hotels in Melbourne.
The Windsor is situated on Bourke Hill in the Parliament Precinct and is a Melbourne landmark of high Victorian architecture. The hotel has a significant role in the History of Australia as the place where the Constitution of Australia was drafted in 1898. For much of its 20th Century life the hotel, dubbed the Duchess of Spring Street, was one of the most favoured and luxurious hotels in Melbourne. It has hosted many notable national and international guests.
The hotel is currently planning a major renovation which is expected to begin in early 2013.
Notable guests at the Windsor have included Margaret Thatcher, George VI of the United Kingdom and Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon (as Duke and Duchess of York), Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Gregory Peck, Laurence Olivier, Vivien Leigh, Katharine Hepburn, Basil Rathbone, Lauren Bacall, Douglas Fairbanks, Claudette Colbert, Robert Helpmann, Rudolph Nureyev, Dame Nellie Melba, Dame Joan
The Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is part of Munich Airport International. It is located between Terminal 1 and 2. Following a construction period of 20 months, the hotel opened on May 17, 1994, two years after the airport went into operation.
The architect of the hotel is German-born Helmut Jahn of the Chicago based Murphy/Jahn Architectural Group.
The hotel's grand plaza is a 24- metre high and 1400 square metre large atrium hall with a glass roof and decorated with palm trees (18 metres tall) from Florida. Green cubes and grown-over pyramid shapes continue the outer landscape surrounding the airport.
Arabella-Hochhaus is a 23-storey, 75 m (246 ft) skyscraper was designed by architect Toby Schmidbauer, and constructed from 1966 to 1969, by Josef Schörghuber in Munich, Germany. The building is located at Arabellapark, part of the Bogenhausen neighborhood in the East of Munich. In order to meet demand for hotel rooms during the 1972 Olympic Games the building was partly converted into Arabella Bogenhausen Hotel offering 467 rooms, which was one of the largest hotels in the Munich area at those times. In addition to the hotel the building is at present home to two clinics, 500 rental apartments and 100 offices and surgeries. The rooftop features a large spa area.
In 1998 a joint venture was formed between Arabella Hotel Holding and Starwood Hotels and the hotel was renamed ArabellaSheraton Bogenhausen. It has since been renamed Sheraton Munich Arabellapark Hotel.The company now operates the hotel jointly with The Westin Grand Munich which is located across the street.
Arabella-Hochhaus is also located in close vicinity to the headquarters of HypoVereinsbank (Hypo-Haus).
The Baghdad Hotel is a large hotel in Baghdad, Iraq, favored by Westerners after the 2003 invasion of Iraq. The hotel overlooks the Tigris on its eastern bank.
The Baghdad Hotel Bombing Terror Attack occurred on October 12, 2003, when a car rigged with a bomb drove past a checkpoint near the hotel. It drove down a side street before it was fired on by guards and exploded, killing the suicide bomber and six Iraqis. 32 other people were wounded, including three US soldiers. Security officials said that concrete barriers absorbed much of the blast, and prevented the car from destroying the hotel. Western journalists, workers, and American and Iraqi members of the Iraqi Governing Council frequently stayed at the hotel.
Çırağan Palace (Turkish: Çırağan Sarayı), a former Ottoman palace, is now a five-star hotel of the Kempinski Hotels chain. It is located on the European shore of the Bosporus between Beşiktaş and Ortaköy in Istanbul, Turkey.
The Sultan’s Suite, billed at US$15,332 per night, is listed at number 14 on World's 15 most expensive hotel suites complied by CNN Go in 2012.
The palace, built by Sultan Abdülâziz, was designed by the palace architect Nigoğayos Balyan and constructed by his sons Sarkis and Hagop Balyan between 1863 and 1867. This was a period in which all Ottoman sultans used to build their own palaces rather than using those of their ancestors. Çırağan Palace is the last example of this period. The inner walls and the roof were made of wood, the outer walls of colorful marble. The palace is connected with a beautiful marble bridge to the Yıldız Palace on the hill behind. A very high garden wall protects the palace from the outer world.
The construction and the interior decoration of the palace continued until 1872. After he moved in, Sultan Abdülâziz was, however, not able to live long in his magnificent palace. He was found dead in the palace on May 30, 1876, shortly after
Hotel Europejski is a hotel in the city centre of Warsaw, Poland, opened on 1 January 1857.
It is located on the historical Royal Route and close to Warsaw Old Town. Facilities include an art gallery and a coffee and pastry shop.
The 19th-century building designed by Enrico Marconi was almost completely destroyed in World War II. The building was rebuilt with its exterior in the original style and a modern interior. It reopened in 1962.
In 1965, The Golden Gate Quartet performed their only concert in Poland here.
The rooms vary in size and shape and most have views overlooking historic parts of Warsaw, including the Royal Tract and Plac Pilsudskiego.
The hotel closed in 2005 for extensive renovations. The heirs of the pre-war owners sold the building in 2012 to a foreign investor..
The Hotel Roanoke is a luxury hotel located in the Gainsboro neighborhood of Roanoke, Virginia. Originally built in 1882, the hotel has been renovated many times. It is currently owned by Virginia Tech and operated under the Doubletree Hotels brand. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1996.
The Hotel Roanoke was built in 1882 by the Norfolk and Western Railway (now part of the Norfolk Southern Railway), which had recently constructed its administrative offices in the city, bringing in over a thousand railroad workers. It officially opened on Christmas Day, 1882. In July, 1898, a fire started in the kitchen which shut down the hotel for several months. The hotel was reopened in January, 1899, restored with a few additions.
The next major renovation took place in 1938, remodeling the hotel to have a more Tudor look. Additional new wings were added in 1947 and 1955.
In 1989, Norfolk Southern deeded the Hotel Roanoke to the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech) for $65,000 (USD). After the flag lowering ceremony on November 30, the hotel was closed. Sale of the contents began and continued for 17 days.
In 1992, the "Renew Roanoke"
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, also known as the Pink Palace of the Pacific, is located at 2259 Kalākaua Avenue in Honolulu, Hawaii, on the island of Oahu. One of the first hotels established in Waikiki, The Royal Hawaiian is considered one of the flagship hotels in Hawaii tourism. It opened its doors to guests on 1 February 1927 with a black tie gala attended by over 1,200 guests. The hotel quickly became an icon of Hawaii's glory days.
The Royal Hawaiian closed on 1 June 2008 for a complete renovation. The property reopened on 20 January 2009 as a member of The Luxury Collection Resort division of Starwood Hotels. An extended renovation of the Royal Beach Tower was then completed in 2010, in a pristine beach house style, providing two distinct accommodation options for guests.
With the success of the early efforts by Matson Navigation Company to provide steamer travel to America's wealthiest families en route to Hawaii, Captain William Matson proposed the development of a hotel in Honolulu for his passengers. This was in hope of profiting from what Matson believed could be the most lucrative endeavor his company could enter into. Matson purchased the Moana
Burj Al Arab (Arabic: برج العرب,Tower of the Arabs) is a luxury hotel located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. At 321 m (1,053 ft), it is the fourth tallest hotel in the world. Burj Al Arab stands on an artificial island 280 m (920 ft) from Jumeirah beach and is connected to the mainland by a private curving bridge. The shape of the structure is designed to mimic the sail of a ship. Sometimes incorrectly referred to as "the world's only seven-Star hotel", its star rating has been often debated.
The beachfront area where Burj Al Arab and Jumeirah Beach Hotel are located was previously called Chicago Beach. The hotel is located on an island of reclaimed land 280 meters offshore of the beach of the former Chicago Beach Hotel. The locale's name had its origins in the Chicago Bridge & Iron Company which at one time welded giant floating oil storage tankers on the site.
The old name persisted after the old Hotel was demolished in 1997. Dubai Chicago Beach Hotel remained as the Public Project Name for the construction phase of Burj Al Arab Hotel until Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum announced the new name.
Burj Al Arab was designed by architect Tom Wright of WS Atkins PLC. The
The Christopher Hotel (also called Hotel Christopher) was a hotel in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, destroyed in the 2010 Haiti earthquake on 12 January 2010.
Prior to its destruction, it was a 3-star, 74-key, 5-story hotel built into the hillside, overlooking the capital of Haiti, Port-au-Prince. The hotel housed the headquarters for the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH). The hotel allegedlly did not meet the UN's Minimum Operational Safety Standard (MOSS), and reportedly MINUSTAH's 2009 procurement plan contained a budget allocation of US$400,000 to bring the Hotel Christopher into compliance.
In 1993, the then mayor of Port-au-Prince, Evans Paul, escaped an assassination attempt at the hotel.
In 1999, the Haitian Civic Political Front was formed and held its first congress at the hotel.
In 2005, a Filipino UN Peacekeeper was shot by a sniper at the hotel.
The hotel housed the headquarters for the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH) since 2004. According to a 2008 statement from the UN's Department of Peacekeeping Operations, the "decision to select the Hotel Christopher was based on a locally completed analytical process which determined that
Four Seasons Resort and Club Dallas at Las Colinas is a five-star golf resort that is located just a few miles north of Dallas, in the hills of Irving, Texas. It is operated by Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts and is the only AAA Five Diamond resort and club in Texas.
The resort contains a 431 room hotel, two restaurants, lounge bars, a spa, and an array of leisure facilities, including a swimming pool, gym, tennis courts and two golf courses, featuring a Tournament Players Club course, TPC Las Colinas, that hosts the PGA Tour's annual HP Byron Nelson Championship.
The Dallas Morning News reported on January 13th, 2010 that the lenders have filed for foreclosure on the property, seeking repayment of a $183 million loan.
The Four Seasons Resort and Club Dallas at Las Colinas is known for its golf facilities, which includes the TPC Las Colinas championship course that was designed by Jay Morrish in consultation with Byron Nelson and Ben Crenshaw. The course was constructed as a TPC stadium course, incorporating nine holes from the original Las Colinas Sports Club layout. Since it opened in 1986, it has been the venue for the PGA Tour's Byron Nelson Golf Classic, now known as the HP
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel is a 137-room boutique hotel located at 16th Street Northwest and Rhode Island Avenue in Washington, D.C.. Located at Scott Circle across from the Australian embassy, Hotel Rouge is one of 11 Kimpton hotel properties in the Washington Metropolitan Area. Originally a 1960s apartment building and then a Quality hotel, Hotel Rouge opened on December 14, 2001 and is owned by LaSalle Hotel Properties of Bethesda, Maryland. The building was purchased in 2001 and underwent a $14 million dollar renovation along with the nearby Topaz Hotel.
Kimpton hired Mike Moore, a product designer and interior decorator, to come up with the hotel's name and design. Moore chose "Rouge" and the crimson color scheme that is throughout the hotel after watching the film Moulin Rouge. Red walls, leopard print carpeting, white upholstery furniture, white shag carpets, and photographs of women were inspired by interior designers Jean-Michel Frank, Albert Hadley, and Philippe Starck.
The hotel features 137 rooms and a hotel lounge, that serves breakfast, dinner and late night drinks, called Bar Rouge.
Le Meridien Cyberport (Chinese: 香港数码港艾美酒店) is one of the Starwood hotels and resorts, located at the Cyberport in the Southern District of Hong Kong. It is a 5-star, 13-story, 170-room complex that publicises large plasma screen televisions, broadband, and luxury showers as features of its technology theme. The London-based hotel chain, Le Meridien, was awarded a 10-year management contract for this hotel to be built at the Cyberport complex. The hotel has been listed by British newspaper The Independent as one of the five best "hi-tech hotels".
Le Meridien Cyberport was due for completion in September 2003, then December 2003, and finally for March 2004. The hotel has since been completed and opened.
With an ideal location nestled between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a sightseeing trip to San Francisco or a special romantic getaway. The rich and detailed design of the Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres await your arrival. Many of the 26 guestrooms and suites offer fireplaces. All guests receive a gourmet breakfast buffet each morning.
The Petite Auberge is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Fort Shelby Hotel DoubleTree Guest Suites Detroit Downtown is a restored historic high-rise hotel, located at 525 West Lafayette Boulevard (at First Street) in downtown Detroit, Michigan, United States. It was originally named the "Fort Shelby Hotel" when it opened its doors in 1916. In 1951 it was renamed the "Pick Fort Shelby" when it was bought out by the Albert Pick Hotels Company. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.
In 2008, the restored historic hotel opened with 203 guest suites and the upper floors consisting of 56 apartments. The hotel features a 21,000-square-foot (2,000 m) conference center with two ballrooms and 17 Breakout rooms.
At a news conference on June 26, 2007, it was officially announced the renovation by Ann Arbor Architectural firm Hobbs + Black Associates Inc. would commence. It reopened under the name "Doubletree Guest Suites Fort Shelby/Detroit Downtown" on December 15, 2008 with 203 guest suites and the upper floors consisting of 56 apartments. The hotel features a 21,000-square-foot (2,000 m) conference center with two ballrooms and 17 Breakout rooms.
Preliminary preparation for renovation work began in June 2006. It
The Hotel Bauen is a recuperated business located at 360 Callao Avenue in Buenos Aires run collectively by its workers, serving both as a hotel and as a free meeting place for Argentine leftist and workers' groups. It is also used as a personal residence by some of the worker-owners.
Inaugurated in 1978, the four-star establishment received generous government subsidies in anticipation of the 1978 FIFA World Cup, which took place in Buenos Aires that June. The original owner, Marcelo Iurcovich, received 37 million USD for its development in 1976 from the Banco Nacional de Desarollo (BANADE), a state-owned business lender later absorbed into the Banco de la Nación Argentina. Tourism in Argentina subsequently suffered from the effects of the military dictatorship's Dirty War and the collapse of its economic policies, however. The hotel's finances worsened further after the opening of a number of newer, competing hotels in the 1990s, and during the crisis that developed in the early 2000s. In the wake of the December riots in 2001, and after systematic firings, the Hotel Bauen was closed on December 28.
In March 2003, with the help of the Movimiento Nacional de Empresas Recuperadas
The Hotel Chelsea, also known as the Chelsea Hotel, or simply the Chelsea, is a historic New York City hotel and landmark, known primarily for its history of notable residents. Located at 222 West 23rd Street, between Seventh and Eighth Avenues, in the Manhattan neighborhood of Chelsea, the 250-unit hotel has been the home of numerous writers, musicians, artists, and actors, including Bob Dylan, Virgil Thomson, Charles Bukowski, Janis Joplin, Leonard Cohen, Patti Smith, Iggy Pop, Jobriath, and Larry Rivers. Though the Hotel Chelsea no longer accepts new long-term residencies, the building is still home to many residents who lived there before the change of policy. As of August 1, 2011, the hotel has closed for renovations.
Arthur C. Clarke wrote 2001: A Space Odyssey while staying at the Chelsea, and poets Allen Ginsberg, and Gregory Corso chose it as a place for philosophical and intellectual exchange. It is also known as the place where the writer Dylan Thomas was staying when he died of pneumonia on November 9, 1953, and where Nancy Spungen, girlfriend of Sid Vicious of the Sex Pistols, was found stabbed to death on October 12, 1978. Arthur Miller has written a short piece, "The
Hotel Mehran, is considered as a four-star hotel located at Main Shara-e-Faisal, Karachi, Pakistan. This hotel is owned by Hayat Services (Pvt) Ltd. under the leadership of Mr. Abdul Rahim Baloch. It is located twenty minutes drive from the airport and is very close to Karachi's central business and industrial districts.
Besides accommodation, the hotel offers various other services including meeting/banquet services, business centre, foreign exchange counter, travel agents, airline offices, 24-hour restaurants/coffee shop, bank branches, ATMs, mosque, hair saloon etc etc. It is also located just a few metres from the emergency deptt of main Jinnah Hospital and NICVD (National Institute of Cardiovascular Diseases) so several 24-hour pharmacies and streetside cafés are within a five-minute walk. PIA, the national flag carrier, has also its auto-ticketing kiosque in lobby of the hotel.
The Willard InterContinental Washington is an historic luxury Beaux-Arts hotel located at 1401 Pennsylvania Avenue NW in Washington, D.C. Among its facilities are numerous luxurious guest rooms, several restaurants, the famed Round Robin Bar, the Peacock Alley series of luxury shops, and voluminous function rooms. It is two blocks east of the White House, and two blocks south of the Metro Center station of the Washington Metro.
The first structures to be built at 1401 Pennsylvania Avenue NW were six small houses constructed by Colonel John Tayloe III in 1816. Tayloe leased the six buildings to Joshua Tennison, who named them Tennison's Hotel. The structures served as a hotel for the next three decades, the leaseholder and name changing several times: Williamson's Mansion Hotel, Fullers American House, and the City Hotel. By 1847, the structures were in disrepair and Tayloe's son, Benjamin Ogle Tayloe, was desperate to find a tenant who would maintain the structures and run them profitably.
The Willard Hotel was formally founded by Henry Willard when he leased the six buildings in 1847, combined them into a single structure, and enlarged it into a four story-hotel he renamed the
Hotel Kämp is a historical hotel in Helsinki, Finland.
The hotel, originally built in 1887 by Carl Kämp, was designed by Theodor Höijer. The building was demolished and the facade was rebuilt in 1965. The headquarters of the bank Kansallis-Osake-Pankki (now part of Nordea) were situated in the building for almost three decades, until 1995.
A major restoration project, started in 1996, culminated in the reopening of Hotel Kämp in 1999 as a Luxury Collection property of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, a U.S. based hotel chain. A shopping centre, Kämp Galleria, was also opened within the same city block.
Banyan Tree Bintan is a five-star hotel and resort on the northwest coast of Bintan, Indonesia. It is located 45 minutes by high-speed ferry from Singapore. The resort, operated by Banyan Tree Holdings, is noted for its beachfront villas in the traditional Riau Islands style and tropical beaches and surroundings.
The Bishop-Andrews Hotel is a U.S. historic building in Greenville, Florida. It is located at 109 Redding Street, on U.S. 90. On June 28, 1990, it was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places. The building has been converted into the Grace Manor Inn, a bed and breakfast house.
The Boca Raton Resort, which opened February 6, 1926 as the Ritz-Carlton Cloister Inn, is a large resort and membership-based club located in Boca Raton, Florida. Originally designed by California-born architect, Addison Mizner, it was supposed to have been the latter of two hotels, the other being an oceanfront hotel. However the Ritz-Carlton Investment Corporation became involved in the project, and wanted the oceanfront hotel redesigned, so construction began on the smaller 100 room inn on the west side of Lake Boca Raton. Throughout the Florida land boom of the 1920s, Mizner visioned and began to plan Boca Raton as a major resort destination. To that extent a golf course and residential community, the Ritz-Carlton Park, was planned west of the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad. Today this is the site of Sugar Sand Park and Boca Del Mar. Nevertheless, the resort didn't gain a full-service country club until the acquisition of the Boca Country Club, seven miles northwest of the main hotel, immediately outside of the city limits.
Currently, the club is part of Waldorf Astoria Hotels and Resorts by the Hilton Hotels Corporation, an affiliate of the Blackstone Group. Before the Spring of
Chateau Marmont is an historic hotel located at 8221 Sunset Boulevard in West Hollywood, California. The hotel was built in 1927 and was modeled loosely after the Château d'Amboise, a royal retreat in France's Loire Valley.
The hotel has 63 rooms, suites and bungalows that are set amidst private gardens where they offer panoramic views of Los Angeles. Today, the hotel is owned and operated by hotelier André Balazs, President and CEO of André Balazs Properties.
In 1926 Fred Horowitz, a prominent Los Angeles attorney, chose the site at Marmont Lane and Sunset Boulevard to construct a premiere luxury apartment building. Horowitz had recently traveled to Europe for inspiration and returned to California with photos of a Gothic Chateau along the Loire River. In 1927 Horowitz commissioned his brother-in-law, Europen–trained artchitect Arnold A. Weitzman to design the seven-story, L-shaped building based on his French photos. When deciding upon a name for the building, Chateau Sunset and Chateau Hollywood were rejected in favor of Chateau Marmont, a name conceived by the small street running across the front of the property.
On February 1, 1929, Chateau Marmont opened its doors to the
Hôtel George-V (Fr. Hotel George Cinq) is a famous luxury five-star hotel set just off the Champs-Élysées on Avenue George V, in Paris, France. It is named, like the street in which it is situated, after King George V.
The Royal Suite, billed at US$24,550 per night, is listed at number 11 on World's 15 most expensive hotel suites compiled by CNN Go in 2012.
The Hôtel George-V is an eight story hotel built by Joel Hillman at a cost of $31 million and opened in 1928. Its next owner was François Dupré who also owned the Plaza Athénée at 25 avenue Montaigne in Paris and the Hotel Ritz in Montreal. It has 245 guest rooms and is the winner of several awards from Condé Nast Traveler.
As of 2008 it is managed by Four Seasons Hotels and is owned by Kingdom Holding Company, the investment company controlled by HRH Prince Al-Waleed bin Talal bin Abdul Aziz Al-Saud. The Le Cinq restaurant has two Michelin stars. The hotel is owned by Bill Gates. The general manager and regional vice president is Christopher Norton.
Hotel Metropol (Russian: Метропо́ль, IPA: [mʲɪtrɐˈpolʲ]) is a historical hotel in the center of Moscow, Russia, built in 1899-1907 in Art Nouveau style. It is notable as the largest extant Moscow hotel built before the Russian Revolution of 1917, and for the unique collaboration of architects (William Walcot, Lev Kekushev, Vladimir Shukhov) and artists (Mikhail Vrubel, Alexander Golovin, Nikolai Andreev).
In 1898, Savva Mamontov and Petersburg Insurance consolidated a large lot of land around the former Chelyshev Hotel. Mamontov, manager and sponsor of Private Opera, intended to redevelop the area into a large cultural center built around an opera hall. In 1898, professional jury of an open contest awarded the job to Lev Kekushev, however, Mamontov intervened and assigned it to English architect William Walcot, who proposed a refined Art Nouveau draft codenamed A Lady's Head (implying the female head ornament repeating in keystones over arched windows). Mamontov eventually hired Kekushev as a construction manager. Soon, Savva Mamontov was jailed for fraud and the project was taken over by Petersburg Insurance, omitting the original plans for opera hall.
In 1901, the topped-out
The Hotel Pennsylvania is a hotel located at 401 7th Avenue (15 Penn Plaza) in Manhattan, across the street from Pennsylvania Station and Madison Square Garden in New York, NY.
The Hotel Pennsylvania was built by the Pennsylvania Railroad and operated by Ellsworth Statler. It opened on January 25, 1919 and was designed by the firm of McKim, Mead & White, which also designed the original Pennsylvania Station located across the street. (The old Pennsylvania Station was razed in 1963 to make room for Madison Square Garden and the redeveloped below-ground station in use today.)
Statler Hotels, which had managed the Pennsylvania since its construction, acquired the property outright in 1948 and renamed it the Hotel Statler. Following the sale of all 17 Statler hotels to Conrad Hilton in 1954, the hotel became The Statler Hilton. It operated under this name until the early 1980s, when Hilton sold the hotel. It was renamed The New York Statler for a brief period and was operated by Dunfey hotels, a division of Aer Lingus. It was then purchased in 1984 by the Penta Hotels chain, a joint-venture of British Airways, Lufthansa and Swissair, becoming The New York Penta. In 1992 Penta went out
Hotel Polski (Polish Hotel), opened in 1808, was a hotel in Warsaw, Poland, at 29 Długa street. In 1943, the Hotel was used by Germans as an internment place for Jews from Warsaw, where they could buy foreign affidavits and passports and, as foreign citizens, leave Warsaw. This case is known as "Hotel Polski Affair".
In 1942, the Germans promised to allow Jews from Warsaw holding foreign passports of neutral countries to leave the General Government for South America. Seeing this as an opportunity to save the lives of Jews in the ghettos, Jewish organizations from Switzerland started sending documents to the Warsaw Ghetto. However, in many cases, the holders of these affidavits and passports were already dead. In May 1943, after the last deportation from the Warsaw Ghetto, a network of Jewish collaborators, some of them probably in direct agreement with local Gestapo authorities, started to sell these documents to Jews who were hiding on the "Aryan" side of Warsaw. The Gestapo used the Hotel Polski to house the Jewish families preparing for the journey. Around 2500 people came out of their hiding places and moved to the Hotel Polski. In July 1943 they were transferred to the Vittel
The Hotel Rex® is a Union Square hotel that was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects, original portraits and murals.
The Hotel Rex is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Hotel Saskatchewan is a grand hotel located in downtown Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada, overlooking Victoria Park.
One of a chain of hotels constructed and owned by the Canadian Pacific Railway, the railway's earlier hotels, such as the Château Frontenac in Quebec City, the Chateau Lake Louise and the Banff Springs Hotel were designed in a distinctive château style, but by the late 1920s this was abandoned in favour of a much simpler and less expensive style. The Hotel Saskatchewan was the hub of the city's social life, and as part of the Radisson Hotels chain, is still a luxury hotel.
A prior attempt at construction of a grand railway hotel, the Chateau Qu'Appelle, failed when the Grand Trunk Railway went bankrupt. The site of the partially constructed Chateau Qu'Appelle—now the site of the Royal Saskatchewan Museum on the corner of Albert Street and College Avenue—remained derelict for some years on the corner of College Avenue and Albert Street till the CPR purchased the disused girders for use in the construction of the Hotel Saskatchewan and the large excavation was finally filled in.
The City of Regina Archives website describes the Hotel Saskatchewan in the following
Hotel Ukrayina (Ukrainian: Готель Україна; Russian: Гостиница Украина) is a three-star hotel located in central Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. The hotel was built in 1961 as the Hotel "Moscow" in a location which originally was occupied by Kiev's first skyscraper, the Ginzburg House. The construction of the hotel finished the architectural ensemble of Kiev's main street the Khreshchatyk which formed the post-war reconstruction of central Kiev. The hotel is the state-owned and belongs to the State Management of Affairs.
The area of the location where the modern building sits is significant to the history of Kiev and its geography. Historically, when Kiev still had military fortification walls surrounding the city which ran along the modern Khreschatyk street and in the area of the Pechersk Gate, now located in today's Maidan Nezalezhnosti square. The layout of the roads leading to the gate can still be observed at the five small streets coming out of the northern part of the square.
Overlooking the Pechersk Gate from the south was an offspur of the Pechersk plateau with two roads on both sides linking the Pechersk with old Kiev. One of which, modern Institutska Street, was known
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel (Simplified: 中国大酒店; Traditional: 中國大酒店) is a 5-star Marriott Hotel in Guangzhou, Guangdong, China.
Guangzhou Lingnan International Enterprise Group Co. Ltd
Marriott International, Inc.
China Hotel was built in 1979 by the Hong Kong listed conglomerate Hopewell Holdings Ltd (controlled by Sir Gordon Wu) under a novel contractual agreement that came to be known as Build-Operate-Transfer, a means of building and operating joint ventures with local authorities in China. This arrangement allowed a foreign partner to build a facility at its own expense, operated it for an agreed length of time to generate a return on its investment, then hand it over to a local partner at no cost.
China Hotel first opened on the 18th of June 1984 and became the first hotel managed by Marriott in Mainland China in 1998. China Hotel became China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel.
In 2008, the hotel was fully renovated and offers 850 Guest rooms.
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, offers:
China Hotel, Marriott Hotel offers a large Shopping Arcade with fashion and beauty shops, including international banking, fine gifts and a trendy coffee shop.
Nearby the Hotel: Beijing Road Pedestrian
Culver Hotel is a historical landmark situated in downtown Culver City, California. It was built on the site of Culver City's first movie theater on September 4, 1924, with local headlines announcing: "City packed with visitors for opening of Culver skyscraper." Originally named Hotel Hunt, and later known as Culver City Hotel, the six-story building contained the offices of Harry Culver, the founder of Culver City. It was designed by Los Angeles architect Claud Beelman.
The Culver Hotel has appeared in countless films and television programs throughout its history, including the Our Gang short Honkey Donkey, Putting Pants on Philip with Laurel and Hardy, The Wonder Years, Party of Five, 7th Heaven, Last Action Hero, Sledge Hammer! and Stuart Little 2.
The Culver Hotel has a restaurant, conference room, and bar.
The hotel was originally jointly built by Charles Chaplin and Harry Culver, the founder of Culver City. Harry Culver's office was on the second floor in a room that, now, looks out to the Sony Plaza building.
Legend has it that Charlie Chaplin sold the hotel to John Wayne for a dollar during a poker game.
The Culver Hotel was owned by John Wayne for several years before he
The Hotel Alder, is an historic four-story building in downtown Portland, Oregon, United States. In 2004, it was named to the National Register of Historic Places. It has also been known as the Hotel President, the Jack London Hotel, and Century Plaza. The ground floor is occupied by the popular Rialto Poolroom Bar and Cafe and an off-track betting parlor.
The Hotel Alder was originally built by the Southern Pacific Railroad as a terminus hotel and was popular with traveling businessmen. Over the years, the hotel declined, eventually turning into low-priced single-room occupancy (SRO) hotel. In 1974, Art McFadden purchased the building. In 2004, McFadden sold the three residential floors to the Portland Development Commission (PDC). The PDC then sold the space to the Central City Concern (CCC), a local non-profit agency devoted to assisting the homeless get back on their feet. CCC began rehabilitating the building to provide for 99 low-income housing units.
The renovation, carried out by SERA Architects, required the entire building to be closed, including the Rialto. It was fully renovated to historic standards. On September 7, 2005, a ceremony marked the grand re-opening of the
Once a leading hotel in downtown Richmond, Virginia, the Hotel Richmond overlooks the Thomas Jefferson designed State Capitol in Capitol Square. One of the rare gilded-age hotels built by a woman entrepreneur, the Hotel Richmond is now owned by the Commonwealth of Virginia, which uses it as its Ninth Street Office Building.
The Hotel Richmond was built in 1904 by entrepreneuse Adeline Detroit Atkinson, with first phase by Harrison Albright and second by John Kevan Peebles, the latter architect of the wings of Virginia's State Capitol on Capitol Square. It sits across Grace Street from St. Paul's Church, and next to St. Peter's Church. It sits on the site of the St. Clare Hotel, which was demolished for the new hotel.
Mrs. Atkinson ran the Lexington Hotel at 13th and Main Streets. Atkinson, a Lexington native, came to Richmond with her husband. On his death, she took over the business. By all accounts she was a feisty woman, making sure that hotels were taxed fairly, instead of favoring the Jefferson Hotel. If not, she threatened to locate in another city where “taxes were not so high.” At the time, the Richmond Times-Dispatch called her the “personification of energy, industry and
How many hotels can claim that Keanu Reeves, Joan Jett, Vincent Gallo and Little Richard have graced their mattresses (no, silly, not all at the same time!)? How many hotels are the crash pad and launching pad for world-renowned bands like the Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Psychedelic Furs and Pearl Jam; and up-and-comers like The Killers, Bloc Party and The Shins? With so much creative energy swirling around you never know who might be strumming a guitar, posing for a photo shoot or just kicking back by the pool.
The Phoenix Hotel is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The New 7th Storey Hotel was a budget hotel located on Rochor Road in the Downtown Core of Singapore.
The New 7th Storey Hotel was established in 1953. The founder of the hotel, Wee Thiam Siew, spotted the potential for a hotel business on its current site in the early 1950s. Wee also owned the Ban Leong Group. At that time, there was an influx of immigrants and European businessmen.
The then five-star hotel did well and became prominent. It was the tallest standing structure in the Beach Road area, and offered panoramic views of the beach. It was commonly used as a landmark by drivers to locate the lower Rochor vicinity. With the advent of land reclamation in the 1970s and 1980s, the seascapes gave way to flyovers. Following urbanisation directives, shophouses, a Chinese temple and pasar malam markets in the hotel's immediate surroundings were also pulled down. In the 1990s, the development of the high-rise skyscrapers in Marina Centre such as the Suntec City obscured the sea view that the hotel once enjoyed.
In the 1950s and 1960s, the building's top floor was the site of cha cha parties thrown by post-war British officers and graced by Singapore's veteran singer S. K. Poon.
Bintan Lagoon Resort is a hotel and resort on the north coast of Bintan, Indonesia. It is located 55 minutes by high-speed ferry from Singapore. The resort, which is set in over 300 hectares of gardens overlooks the South China Sea and the archipelago of the Riau Islands. The resort has a notable golf course.
The Hotel Chancellor is a historic building in Los Angeles, California. Built in 1924, it was for many years located on the block to the east of the city's famous Ambassador Hotel. The structure was designed by Milton M. Friedman in the Beaux Arts style. It has since been converted from a hotel to an apartment building. In 2006, the building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places based on architectural criteria.
Americano, Hotel Vitale's signature restaurant, serves modern Italian cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Paul Arenstam with fresh ingredients from the local Farmers' Market.Americano features artful touches that set the tone for an alluring, comfortable atmosphere in the restaurant and bar. Private and semi-private dining space is available, along with an outdoor patio and aromatherapy garden. The cocktail lounge is located on the corner of the hotel and has panoramic views of the water and San Francisco Bay Bridge.
Brown Palace Hotel is the second-oldest operating hotel in Denver, Colorado and is one of the first atrium-style hotel ever built. It is now operated by Quorum Hotels and Resorts. It was built in 1892, one year later than the Oxford Hotel. It was named for its original owner, Henry C. Brown, and was designed with its odd triangular shape by architect Frank Edbrooke.
The hotel is located at 321 17th St, Denver, CO between 17th Street, Broadway and Tremont Street/Pl in downtown Denver behind the Republic Plaza. The main entrance door is on Tremont Street.
Guests included and still include entrepreneurs, legislators, presidents, and foreign officials. Past guests include the "Unsinkable" Molly Brown (she stayed at the hotel only a week after the Titanic disaster), infamous Denver crime boss Jefferson "Soapy" Smith, Dr. Sun Yat Sen (just before becoming the president of the new Republic of China), Queen Marie of Romania, the Duke of San Macario, and The Beatles. Presidential guests include Theodore Roosevelt, William Taft, Warren Harding, Harry S Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower and Bill Clinton.
The hotel was the site of the high profile 1911 murders in which Frank Henwood shot and killed
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway.
The Dream Inn is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special Santa Cruz vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Bellevue Palace is a five-star luxury hotel located in the Old City of Bern, Switzerland. Owned by the Swiss Confederation, it is the state's guesthouse for visiting heads of state and government, and is host to dozens of members of parliament during the weeks the assembly is in session.
The original Bellevue Palace was built by the financier Friedrich Osswald in 1865 immediately adjacent to the seat of the federal government, the Bundeshaus. His heirs had the hotel torn down and rebuilt it in 1910 in the neoclassicist style. The new Bellevue Palace was reopened in 1913 and General Ulrich Wille made it Switzerland's military headquarters during World War I. During World War II, the hotel remained open for business. It became a focal point of the warring powers' diplomatic and intelligence activities in Switzerland and its bar a haunt of OSS station chief Allen Dulles. One half of the restaurant came to be frequented by Allied guests and the other by patrons from Axis states.
After the war, the hotel's fortunes declined sharply. To prevent the state hotel from being acquired by foreign buyers, the Swiss National Bank acquired it in 1976, and in 1994 made a gift of it to the
Hotel Europe is a six-story heritage building located at 43 Powell Street (at Alexander) in the Gastown area of Vancouver, British Columbia. The building was commissioned by hotelier Angelo Calori and built in 1908 - 1909 by Parr and Fee Architects. Situated on a triangular lot, the building is designed in the flatiron style. It was the first reinforced concrete structure to be built in Canada and the earliest fireproof hotel in Western Canada. Contractors had to be brought in from Cincinnati, Ohio for the necessary expertise; the Ferro-Concrete Construction Company began this project six years after constructing the first tall concrete building in the world.
With funding from the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, the building was renovated in 1983 as affordable housing with A. Ingre and Associates as the project designers. The residential units are now managed by the Affordable Housing Society. A beer parlour formerly existed below the ground floor, which included areaways extending underneath the above sidewalks. To prevent a cave-in from the weight of pedestrians and above ground traffic, the City of Vancouver filled the areaway in with pea gravel at a cost of $215,000,
The Hotel Habana Riviera, or Havana Rivera as it is otherwise known, is located on the Malecón waterfront boulevard in Havana, Cuba. The hotel has over 350 rooms.
The hotel was owned and operated by Riviera de Cuba S.A. company, which was established by Meyer Lansky, though the incorporation papers listed the names of Miami hotel operators, a Canadian textile company and several others. It was built at a cost of US $8 million, most of which was provided by the Bank for Economic and Social Development (BANDES), a state-run development bank set up by Fulgencio Batista.
Lansky’s investment partners included some of Las Vegas’s biggest power brokers, among them his old friends Moe Dalitz, Morris Kleinman, Sam Tucker, and Wilbur Clark of the Desert Inn (and of Lansky’s Hotel Nacional casino); Edward Levinson of the Fremont Hotel; and Hyman Abrams and Morris Rosen of the Flamingo Las Vegas (of Bugsy Siegel fame). As with all of Lansky’s dealings, he and his underworld associates’ ownership of the Riviera was hidden behind layers of managers and front men.
Work began on the 21-story hotel, located on the Malecón right next to the Meliá Cohiba Hotel, in December 1956 in the midst of the
The Hotel Majestic is a historic luxury hotel located in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Built for local Chinese businessman Hui Bon Hoa in 1925 in a French Colonial and classical French Riviera styles.
It is located at 1 Dong Khoi Street, formerly rue Catinat. After 1975, the hotel name was changed to Mekong Hotel (Khách Sạn Cửu Long): and it became a government guest house. It was recently renamed again to the original name, the six storey building is now a 5 star hotel overlooking the Saigon River. It is owned by the state-owned Saigon Tourist.
Saigon Tourist announced a 1.9 trillion VND expansion project of the Majestic Hotel in July 2011. It plans to construct two towers of 24 and 27 storeys within 3 years. The new complex will have a total 538 rooms, 353 of which will be hotel rooms.
Other historic hotels in Ho Chi Minh City:
Book Majestic Hotel
Pera Palace Hotel (Turkish: Pera Palas Oteli) is a historic special category hotel and museum hotel located in the Beyoğlu (Pera) district in Istanbul, Turkey. It was built in 1892 for the purpose of hosting the passengers of the Orient Express and was named after the place where it is located. It holds the title of "the oldest European hotel of Turkey".
The Pera Palace Hotel, offering magnificent views of the Golden Horn and the skyline of the historic peninsula, is located in the Tepebaşı neighbourhood of Pera, once known as "Little Europe". Today, Pera is the cultural and social centre of Istanbul with its vivid night life and sophisticated museums. In addition to its historic grandeur, Pera Palace Hotel is also attractive due to its central location. It is about 20 km from Atatürk International Airport.
The hotel is in walking distance of Istiklal Avenue, Taksim Square and the British, Swedish, Russian, Dutch, Italian, French and German consulates.
The hotel was closed from 2006, undergoing a major renovation and restoration project and reopened on September 1, 2010.
In the late 1800s, a gap in the market for luxury hotels in Istanbul was recognised. Passengers aboard the
The InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is a luxury hotel located at the top of Nob Hill in San Francisco, California. The hotel is owned by the InterContinental Hotels Group. The chain operates over 200 hotels and resorts in approximately 75 nations.
The 19th floor penthouse suite was converted into the glass-walled Top of the Mark restaurant cocktail lounge.
Mark Hopkins, one of the founders of the Central Pacific Railroad, chose the southeastern peak of Nob Hill as the site for a dream home for his wife, Mary. The mansion was completed in 1878, after his death.
Mary Sherwood Hopkins at the age of seventy-three, on her death in 1891, left the Nob Hill mansion and a $70-million estate to her second husband, Edward Francis Searles. In 1893, Searles donated the building and grounds to the San Francisco Art Association (now San Francisco Art Institute), for use as a school and museum. It was called the Mark Hopkins Institute of Art and valued at $600,000 at the time.
The Mark Hopkins mansion survived the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, however, it was destroyed in the three-day fire that followed the earthquake.
Mining engineer and hotel investor George D. Smith purchased the
The Algonquin Hotel is a historic hotel located at 59 West 44th Street in Manhattan (New York, New York). The hotel has been designated as a New York City Historic Landmark.
The 174-room hotel, opened in 1902, was designed by architect Goldwin Starrett. It was originally conceived as a residential hotel but was quickly converted to a traditional lodging establishment. Its first owner-manager, Frank Case (who bought the hotel in 1927), established many of the hotel's traditions. Perhaps its best-known tradition is hosting literary and theatrical notables, most prominently the members of the Algonquin Round Table.
The Algonquin Hotel was originally designed as an apartment hotel, whose owner planned to rent rooms and suites on year-long leases. When few leases sold, the owner decided to turn it into a hotel which he was originally going to name "The Puritan." Frank Case, upon discovering that Algonquian tribes had been the first residents of the area, persuaded the owner to christen it "The Algonquin" instead.
Case took over the lease on the hotel in 1907 and bought the property on which the building sat in 1927 for USD $1 million. Case remained owner and manager of the hotel until
Four Seasons Hotel Riyadh is a five-star hotel and part of the Toronto-based Four Seasons luxury hotels and resorts. It is located in Kingdom Tower in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. The hotel currently houses 249 rooms. along with Boutiques, Conference halls, Gymnasium and several Swimming Pools.
The Kingdom Tower was completed in 2002, including Four Seasons Hotel Riyadh which was opened in the same year.
The Good Hotel is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience. Our philanthropic and positive approach is designed to inspire the “good in us all.” The Good Hotel is a hip San Francisco hotel that practices philanthropy and believes in doing good for the planet. The eco-friendly hotel décor features reclaimed and recycled construction materials. Vending machines in the lobby are stocked with wallets made from FedEx envelopes and are one example of our inventive ideas to promote a good lifestyle. We are also as fun as we are inventive. You’ll find humorous touches like “Be Good” written on walls of your room.
Hotel Kazakhstan (Kazakh: "Қазақстан" Қонақ Үйі, Russian: Гостиница "Казахстан") is the second tallest building in the city of Almaty, Kazakhstan. It is 102 m (335 ft) tall, with 26 floors. It is situated in the southern center of Almaty. It is located on Dostyk Avenue, a major road in the east part of the city which runs all the way from Medeo to Panfilov Park, in the north part of town.
The building was erected in 1970. It is a famous landmark all over Almaty, and serves as a symbol of the city. It is also the eighth tallest building in all Kazakhstan.
The Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya Hotel (Russian: Гости́ница Ленингра́дская) is one of Moscow's Seven Sisters, skyscrapers built in the early 1950s in the Stalinist neoclassical style. Stalinist neoclassical architecture mixes the Russian neoclassical style with the style of American skyscrapers of the 1930s. A main element of Stalinist neoclassicism is its use of socialist realism art. The hotel, completed in 1954, was designed to be the finest luxury hotel in Moscow.
Upon entering the hotel, the gold accents and hand-carved wooden ceiling impress visitors. The lobby boasts beautiful bronze statues, glittering chandeliers, and furniture in the Russian empire style. The staircase features one of the longest lighting fixtures in the world—it was once in the Guinness Book of World Records. The halls and corridors of the hotel's upper floors are panelled in dark cherry wood and the rooms have views of Moscow.
The hotel includes a restaurant, bar, lounge, spa and beauty salon, fitness centre with swimming pool, bureau de change, gift shop, meeting rooms, grand ballroom, and business center.
The tower of the Hotel Leningradskaya dominates Komsomolskaya Square, with its three ornate
The Hotel Monaco Washington is a 183-room high end boutique hotel at the corner of 7th and F Streets Northwest in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of Washington, D.C.. Hotel Monaco is one of 10 Kimpton hotel properties in the Washington Metropolitan Area and is located across the street from the National Portrait Gallery and the Verizon Center. The hotel opened in the summer of 2002 and was named one of the 80 best new hotels in the world in 2003 by Condé Nast Traveler. In September 2010, Pebblebrook Hotel Trust acquired the Monaco Washington DC hotel for $74.0 million.
The Hotel Monaco is located inside the neoclassical General Post Office building, a National Historic Landmark constructed in 1839 that was the first all-marble building in Washington and patterned after the Roman Temple of Jupiter. The hotel, listed on the Historic Hotels of America, occupies an entire city block between 7th and 8th, and E and F streets. The four-story building is separated by a courtyard. One half of the structure was designed by Robert Mills, designer of the Washington Monument, while the other half was designed by Thomas U. Walter, one of the architects for the United States Capitol.
The Hotel Nacional de Cuba is an historic luxury hotel located on the Malecón in the middle of Vedado, Havana, Cuba. It stands on Taganana hill just a few meters from the sea, and offers a great view of Havana Harbor, the seawall and the city.
The New York architectural firm of McKim, Mead and White designed the hotel, which features an eclectic mix of styles. It opened in 1930, when Cuba was a prime travel destination for Americans, long before the United States embargo against Cuba. In its 80+ years of existence, the hotel has welcomed many important guests.
The hotel was built on the site of the Santa Clara Battery, which dates back to 1797. Part of the battery has been preserved in the hotel's gardens, including two large coastal guns dating from the late 19th Century. There is also a small museum there featuring the 1962 Cuban missile crisis. During the crisis, Fidel Castro and Che Guevara set up their headquarters there to prepare the defense of Havana from aerial attack.
The Hotel Nacional de Cuba is a symbol of Cuba's history, culture, and identity. The hotel is a World Heritage Site and a National Monument, and it was inscribed in the World Memory Register.
Among its first
Hotel St. George, once the largest hotel in New York City, was located in the heart of scenic Brooklyn Heights. Today, it is a landmarked building in the first historically landmarked neighborhood in New York. Its various constituent buildings, mostly surviving, were built between 1885 and 1929, although it no longer operates as a hotel. It was conveniently located just one stop from Manhattan, atop the Clark Street subway station (2 3 trains) on the IRT Broadway – Seventh Avenue Line. The subway entrance still operates inside the Hotel itself, right before the main door leading to the no longer operating ballroom and check-in.
The St. George Tower once drew celebrities, athletes, and every presidential hopeful flocking to its many ballrooms (the Colorama Ballroom being the largest banquet room in the world) and the largest indoor salt-water pool in the United States. Part of The Godfather was filmed in the St. George.
The last remaining portion of the hotel operating as such was burnt down in a fire in August, 1995 although its signage remains for historical purposes.
From 1975-1976, several political prisoners, exiled from Chile by dictator Augusto Pinochet, stayed at the Hotel
The Hyatt Regency Birmingham is a hotel on Broad Street in the city centre of Birmingham, England. Hyatt Regency Birmingham is directly linked to the International Convention Centre (ICC) and Symphony Hall and is ten minutes by rail from Birmingham International Airport and the National Exhibition Centre (NEC). It stands at a height of 75 metres (246 feet) 24 floors and has 319 guest rooms. The hotel has a blue glass exterior facade, and stands across the road from the International Convention Centre. The hotel F&B offer includes Bar Pravda, Aria Restaurant and the Atrium Lobby. Room Service is provided 24-hour. The amala Spa & Club includes six treatments rooms and nail bar. The leisure facilities of the hotel also include a 16 metre swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym. Hyatt Regency Birmingham has 8 meeting rooms, individually designed to cater for every type of event from intimate board meeting and high profile conferences to banquets, weddings and private dining.
The hotel was built, and is run by, Hyatt Regency Birmingham Ltd. This company is a public-sector/private-sector partnership between the Hyatt Corporation, Trafalgar House, and Birmingham City Council.
One Wall Centre, also known as the Sheraton Wall Centre - North Tower, is currently the second-tallest completed building in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The skyscraper is located at a high point on the downtown peninsula of Vancouver and its address is 1088 Burrard Street.
One Wall Centre was designed by Perkins+Will Canada. It was completed in 2001 and won the Emporis Skyscraper Award for the Best New Skyscraper the same year.
One Wall Centre is 48 storeys tall with a total height of 491 feet (150 m). The first 27 floors of the building are the 4 Diamond Sheraton Hotel. Floors 28, 29, and 30 are the Club Intrawest Resort floors; which are operated independent of Sheraton. The remaining 17 floors are residential condominiums. The One Wall Centre tower part of the Wall Centre complex owned by Wall Financial Corporation and was largely the vision of Peter Wall.
To counteract possible harmonic swaying during high winds, One Wall has a tuned water damping system at the top level of the building which consists of two specially designed 50,000-imperial-gallon (60,000 U.S. gal; 227,300 L) water tanks. These tanks are designed so that the harmonic frequency of the sloshing of the
Raffles Hotel (Chinese: 莱佛士酒店) is a colonial-style hotel in Singapore, and one of the world's most famous hotels. It was established by Syed Mohamed Alsagoff as the first modern building with electricity in Singapore. Opened in 1887, it was named after Singapore's founder Sir Stamford Raffles. Managed by Fairmont Raffles Hotels International, it is known for its luxurious accommodation and superb restaurants. The hotel houses a tropical garden courtyard, museum and Victorian-style theatre.
The hotel was founded by the four Armenian Sarkies Brothers (Martin, Tigran, Aviet, and Arshak Sarkies). They opened the 10-room colonial bungalow at Beach Road and Bras Basah Road owned by an Arab trader and philanthropist Syed Mohamed Alsagoff on 1 December 1887. Alsagoff developed the site of his late father's estate until it became the most modern building in Singapore at the time. Sarkies was a tenant on favourable short-term lease. The original location was by the seaside, although continued reclamation means that the site is presently some 500 metres away from the shore. No Chinese were permitted as hotel guests until the 1940s. Designed by architect Regent Alfred John Bidwell of Swan and
The Magnolia Hotel (sometimes called the Magnolia Building, originally the Magnolia Petroleum Building) is a 29-story, Beaux-Arts style, upscale hotel in the Main Street District of downtown Dallas, Texas, that for many years was the tallest building in the state. The structure is a Dallas Landmark and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The building, which opened next door to the Adolphus Hotel in August 1922 at a cost of US $4 million, was originally the headquarters for the Magnolia Petroleum Company. In 1934, the company erected its trademark neon Pegasus on the building's roof (the Pegasus logo later became the logo of Mobil Oil who merged with Magnolia Petroleum in 1959) to celebrate the American Petroleum Institute's annual meeting, held in Dallas for the first time. The rotating winged horse came to represent the city of Dallas and became one of its most recognizable and endearing landmarks, even after the building became obscured by much larger skyscrapers (the neon Pegasus can now only be seen in the downtown skyline approaching from the south).
By 1974, however, Pegasus stopped rotating due to mechanical problems and in 1977, the Mobil Oil Company
With a fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn in San Francisco is a romantic and atmospheric small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn San Francisco is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture covered with elegant fabrics and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy evening turndown service, a gourmet breakfast buffet, and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor.
The Arizona Biltmore Hotel is a resort located in Phoenix near 24th Street and Camelback Road. It recently joined the Hilton Hotels' luxury collection The Waldorf-Astoria Collection and was also featured on the Travel Channel show Great Hotels.
The surrounding commercial and residential neighborhood has become known as the Biltmore District. This region has become nationally and internationally renowned for its real estate. This area is home to Phoenix's Ritz-Carlton hotel; the Biltmore Fashion Park shopping center, which includes many high-end tenants including Saks Fifth Avenue, Ralph Lauren, Cartier, and Escada; and many eateries. The area has median home values of $1.1 million with many exceeding $10–12 million.
The Arizona Biltmore has been designated as a Phoenix Point of Pride.
Warren McArthur, Jr., and brother Charles McArthur along with John McEntee Bowman, the entrepreneur behind the Biltmore Hotel chain, opened the Arizona Biltmore on February 23, 1929.
The Arizona Biltmore's architect of record is Albert Chase McArthur, yet its authorship is often mistakenly attributed to Frank Lloyd Wright, owing to Wright's on-site consulting for four months in 1928 relating to the
The Broadmoor is a 5-star/5-diamond luxury hotel and resort, located in southwestern Colorado Springs, Colorado. Built in the early 20th century as the "Grand Dame of the Rockies", it was one of the finest resort destinations along the Rocky Mountains during the age of railroads. It continues to be a popular conference destination for businessmen and government officials. It also offers a tennis facility rated #3 by Tennis magazine and three 18-hole golf courses; the East Course has hosted numerous USGA championships, most recently the 2008 U.S. Senior Open. The hotel sits at an elevation of 6230 feet (1900 m) above sea level.
The resort dates from 1891, when it began as a small hotel and casino. The current resort was built in 1918 by Spencer Penrose, a Philadelphia entrepreneur whose brother was Senator Boies Penrose. Nicknamed "Spec" for skill at speculation, Spencer Penrose amassed a fortune from mining claims at nearby Cripple Creek, and after a grand tour through Europe's finest hostelries, decided to build one, with no expense spared. The hotel attracted a wealthy clientele in the early 20th century, drawn to the beauty of Pikes Peak, as well as to the mountain air which
Opened in 1984 for The Los Angeles Olympic Games, Hilton Anaheim is the largest hotel in Orange County and the second largest hotel in all of Southern California with 1,572 guestrooms. Also one of the largest meeting spaces in Orange County, the Hilton Anaheim has over 100,000 square feet (9,300 m) of meeting and event space and is adjacent to the Anaheim Convention Center.
Hotel Continental is a hotel in Oslo, Norway, that opened in 1900.
The background story of the Continental is like an old fairytale, about a young couple, who through their hard work and entrepreneurship created a monument that will live for many years. It all started in Sweden in 1860, with the birth of Caroline Boman. Her family was poor, and instead of emigrating to America, something that was customary at the time, she crossed the border from Sweden to Christiania, now Oslo Norway in 1887, where she got a job as a cook. Four years later, she married Christian Hansen, who was from Oslo and worked as a waiter.
Hotel Continental and Theatercaféen opened in 1900, right after the opening of the National Theatre. The business was originally owned by Foss Brewery, but was run by different tenants who all had to give up. Caroline and Christian Boman Hansen took over the lease in 1909, and within only three years they were able to purchase the establishment.
In 1932 and 1961 respectively the hotel and restaurant was expanded, and now occupies a whole block centrally located in the center of Oslo. Through four generations the same family has built and developed the hotel and the
Hotel des Arts is a boutique hotel in San Francisco, California. When it opened in 2005, 16 of its 51 rooms were painted by local artists–today 38 rooms are. Materials used include wall-mounted vinyl records, plastic bags, graffiti, fabrics, three dimensional art work, and even installations.
Room 404, painted by Tim Gaskin, was the source of some controversy. The walls are adorned with larger-than-life Louis Vuitton logos as well as an image of Madonna. Louis Vuitton sent a cease-and-desist letter to the hotel ordering them to remove the logos, but the hotel refused and instead held a special public exhibition to display the room. Now the hotel's website has a disclaimer on the page for the room, which states, "Please Note: Room 404 is painted with fine art murals by Tim Gaskin. Hotel des Arts is in no way associated with any of the companies or celebrities whose trademarks and likenesses appear in the murals."
Hotel des Arts roster of featured artists include:
The Hotel George is a 139-room boutique hotel on E Street Northwest, between North Capitol Street and New Jersey Avenue in Washington, D.C. Hotel George is one of 10 Kimpton hotel properties in the Washington Metropolitan Area and is located one block west of Union Station and three blocks north of the United States Capitol. Opening in February 1998 and named after George Washington, the Hotel George was the first modern boutique hotel built in Washington, D.C.
Hotel George's building was originally constructed in 1928. An acid green painting of George Washington by artist Steve Kaufman hangs in the lobby with replicas hanging in each of the guest rooms.
Hotel George's restaurant, Bistro Bis, is a French cuisine establishment operated by chefs Jeffrey and Sallie Buben.
Hotel Torni (Hotel Tower) is a historical hotel located in Helsinki, Finland and part of the Sokos Hotels hotel chain. When opened in 1931, it became the tallest building in Finland, a position it maintained until the completion of the new Fortum (then Neste) headquarters in neighboring Espoo in 1976, and it remained the tallest building in Helsinki until 1987. The interior of the building was completely renovated in 2005. It is located in Helsinki's Design District.
The hotel was designed by architects Jung & Jung in 1928, and has 14 stories. It is allegedly the place where the murder of the Mata Hari-like Minna Craucher was planned in 1932. The hotel served the needs of air defense during the Second World War, when members of the Finnish women's paramilitary organization Lotta Svärd kept watch for enemy bombers. Immediately after the cessation of the war, Hotelli Torni served as the headquarters of the Allied Control Commission monitoring Finnish compliance with the obligations of the Moscow Armistice. It became known as a center of culinary excellence.
In Hotel Torni, there are several restaurants including Ravintola Torni (dining), Ateljee Bar (top of the tower with view over
Pacific Edge Hotel is a progressive and affordable oceanfront Laguna Beach hotel, located in Orange County's Gold Coast region. This undiscovered gem is located beachside in downtown Laguna Beach. Here, along a pristine stretch of one of the most breathtaking coastlines in the world, our guests enjoy beautiful, unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean, and relax to the soothing sound of crashing waves.
This Laguna Beach, California hotel, is only steps away from the wide range of cultural destinations for which Laguna Beach is famous. These include year-round art performances, exhibits, and nearly 100 galleries, as well as annual, seasonal, and monthly events and exhibitions. Our hotel's village highlights include the Laguna Playhouse, Laguna Art Museum, the annual, world-famous Pageant of the Masters and Festival of the Arts, and the village Art Walk, a festive cultural evening held the first Thursday of every month. Not to be overlooked, Pacific Edge's neighbors include many of the acclaimed restaurants, cafés, shops and boutiques that have helped to make Laguna a major travel destination.
Trump SoHo New York, announced in 2006,, is a $450 million, 46 story, 391 unit hotel condominium in SoHo, New York City. It was completed in 2010.
The plans for the building were unveiled on Donald Trump's show, 'The Apprentice, and chosen by the Season 5 winner, Sean Yazbeck, over the Trump International Hotel and Tower (Honolulu) project on the June 5, 2006, Apprentice season finale.
The building is located two blocks from the Manhattan entrance of the Holland Tunnel in Hudson Square, Printing District, West Soho neighborhood of New York City, at 246 Spring Street, between Varick Street and Avenue of the Americas. Despite its name, it is located a few blocks west of the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District. This is a region zoned for manufacturing, which precludes permanent residences. The condo-hotel design was approved after negotiations with New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. As a hotel condominium, 391 dwelling units within the building will be privately owned, but no unit may "be occupied by the same person for more than 29 days in any 36-day period, or for more than 120 days a year." When not occupied by the owner, an empty unit may be rented out as a hotel suite. The
If you're drawn to water, this may be a little piece of heaven for you. Set above the water and with stunning views of San Francisco and the bay, this small hotel is set in the quaint village of Tiburon amongst antique shops, movie theaters, and great cafes and restaurants.
The Waters Edge Hotel is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special Marin County vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
Chelsea Tower is a 250 m (820 ft) skyscraper located on Sheikh Zayed Road in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The 49 storey building is occupied by a hotel and residential apartments. Chelsea Tower is the 17th-tallest building in Dubai, and one of the tallest residential buildings in the world. The tower stands out in the Dubai skyline due to its distinctive shape, cladding and lighting. When completed in 2005, Chelsea Tower was the fifth tallest building in the city.
Chelsea Tower during its construction took over name of 'Al Salam Tower II' after its older next door building Union Tower, which underwent construction as 'Al Salam Tower' Project but it changed its name after purchase.
Its design features astonishing white diagonal spine that stretches from the ground to its apex at a height of 250m, and two wings of the top ornament join to form a perfectly square aperture, at the centre of which a 40-meter needle is suspended.
The owner known by the name of "Rizwan Haji".
Hotel Roberts was a historic hotel, built in 1882 on University Avenue in Provo, Utah. This Mission-style hotel was a famous landmark and a center of Provo social activity for much of the early 20th century. It also served briefly as the Language Training Mission (now called the Missionary Training Center) for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
In December 1919 the hotel was purchased by Mark Anderson who would later serve as Mayor of Provo and the namesake of the Provo power plant, "The Mark Anderson Utility Center." The hotel remained in the family for many years and was run by Anderson's son, Mark Anderson Jr, until he retired in 1995 at the age of 76 when the family sold the hotel because the upkeep was too much.
In later years, Hotel Roberts fell into serious disrepair, with profound structural and water damage, and was largely known as a residence for transients. Neglect by the owners and lack of community support to maintain the building led to its demolition in 2004.
Located on Leelanau Avenue in Frankfort, Michigan, Koch's Hotel was purchased by Charles and Betty Koch on July 7, 1925 from Mr. and Mrs. Boyce of Pleasant Hill, Tennessee. They in turn had purchased it from Belle Pratt Edgecomb on May 21, 1923. The hotel had once been called the Pratt Hotel. Constructed of frame and painted white, it was known as a small, exclusive hotel which had splendid meals. Inside there were only 9 or 10 bedrooms but a large attractive dining room and earlier a bar had graced the quiet interior.
Originally Charles was the 'Chef', but later his wife Betty took over and still later, Natilie, their daughter-in-law did the breakfast cooking. Known for their Hungarian Goulash and Yankee Pot Roast, people used to stand in line to get in. During the summer, like the other hotels in town, they employed mostly college girls to work as waitresses. During the season it was not unusual for them to serve over 200 dinners a night and over 150 breakfasts.
In the mid-1950s, the resort trade began to dwindle. Faced with heavy taxes and a declining business, the Koch's closed the business.
The BP International, more formally known as Baden-Powell International House, is a large, 25-storey three star hotel and conference centre in the touristically attractive Tsim Sha Tsui on the Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong. The formal address is 8 Austin Road.
BP International has 529 rooms and seven suites, accommodating over thousand guests. All rooms have quality modern amenities. For conferences and other large groups, the Gordon Wu Hall on the upper ground floor can hold up to 1,000 people in various settings. The first five floors of the building provide a 500+ spaces parking area. The three restaurants are in the basement and on the ground floor.
Although the BP International is connected to the Scout Association of Hong Kong, it is commercially autonomous, and does not present a Scout presence. Scouts may receive reduced rates at request.
The BP International is the major part of the Hong Kong Scout Centre, run by The Scout Association of Hong Kong. The association is housed on the 8th through 11th floors.
For July 2005, the BP International was the proposed host for the 9th World Scout Youth Forum, and the 37th World Scout Conference, which was actually held in Hammamet,
The Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles is a landmark 19-story luxury hotel forming a sweeping crescent design fronting the spectacular fountains on Avenue of the Stars, adjacent to the twin Century Plaza Towers and the CAA building.
The Century Plaza Hotel opened its doors on June 1, 1966 in the Los Angeles district of Century City on a former backlot of 20th Century Fox Studios. Fox still has its backlot in the district as well as its headquarters, Fox Plaza. Century City, known as the City of the Century (20th), was dominated for much of its early history by the Century Plaza Hotel, as it was the highest building on the hill, where the Presidential Suite looked all the way to the Pacific Ocean.
In 1961, developer William Zeckendorf and Alcoa bought about 180 acres (0.73 km) from 20th Century Fox after the studio had suffered a string of expensive flops, culminating in the box-office disaster Cleopatra. The new owners conceived Century City as "a city within a city" with the arc-shaped, 19-story, 726-room Minoru Yamasaki-designed Century Plaza as the centerpiece of the new city.
When the Century Plaza began operating in 1966, its doormen wore red Beefeater costumes.
The Hotel Drisco, a San Francisco Hotel constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Experience the value: complimentary gourmet continental breakfast; complimentary evening wine and cheese reception; complimentary town car service each weekday morning from the hotel to Union Square, the financial district, and Presidio businesses; complimentary high-speed Internet connection in each room.
The Hotel Drisco is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Hotel Monte Vista is a famous hotel located one block north of U.S. Route 66 in Flagstaff, Arizona. The hotel was built in 1927 and is a centerpiece of the historic downtown district. The hotel contains 43 rooms and suites on three floors.
The Monte Vista Lounge, or "Monte V" as it is known, is a popular bar and entertainment venue.
The Hotel Negresco on the Promenade des Anglais on the Baie des Anges in Nice, France was named after Henri Negresco (1868–1920) who had the palatial hotel constructed in 1912. In keeping with the conventions of the times, when the Negresco first opened in 1913 its front opened facing the Mediterranean sea.
Henri Negresco, born the son of an innkeeper in Bucharest, Romania, left home at the age of 15 going first to Paris then to the French Riviera where he became very successful. As director of the Municipal Casino in Nice, he had the idea to build a sumptuous hotel of quality that would attract the wealthiest of clients. After arranging the financing, he hired the great architect of the "café society" Édouard-Jean Niermans to design the hotel and its now famous pink dome. The spectacular Baccarat 16,309-crystal chandelier in the Negresco's Royal Lounge was commissioned by Czar Nicholas II, who due to the October revolution was unable to take delivery.
Contrary to popular belief, the large window of the Royal Lounge - listed as an Historical Monument - is not the work of Gustave Eiffel. Eiffel never worked at the Negresco, instead it is entirely the work of Edouard-Jean
The Koryo Hotel is the second largest operating hotel in North Korea. The twin-towered building is 143 metres (469 ft) tall and contains 43 stories. Erected in 1985 under the scrutiny of Kim Il-sung, it was intended to "showcase the glory and strength of the DPRK." The hotel's extravagance is exemplified by its entryway, which consists of a 9-metre (30 ft) wide jade dragon's mouth that leads into an expansive lobby dominated by a mosaic of North Korean cultural symbols. The mosaic tiles make use of a wide variety of precious metals and gemstones underneath low-dispersion glass panes, which are replaced biannually to preserve the mosaic's luster.
The hotel is rated three stars by Western standards. North Korea rates it as five stars. The Canadian Ministry of Foreign Affairs describes it as "Deluxe" and the "best international hotel in Pyongyang".
The hotel is situated along the Taedong river in Chung-kuyok, central Pyongyang.
The hotel offers 500 rooms although only about 50 rooms are occupied at any one time, usually by business people from China, Africa, and the Middle East and UN staff. The Washington Times claims most of the hotel's foreign guests are international arms dealers.
Millennium Tower is a 58-story highrise condominium completed in 2009 in the San Francisco Financial District, South of Market. A mixed-use building, primarily residential, it is the tallest building in San Francisco to include residences. The blue-gray glass, late-modernist tower is bounded by Mission, Fremont, and Beale Streets, and the north end of the Transbay Terminal. The building was opened to residents on April 23, 2009. Its highest level, 58 floors above the ground, is listed as the 60th.
The US$350 million project was developed by Millennium Partners of New York City, designed by Handel Architects, engineered by DeSimone Consulting Engineers and constructed by Webcor Builders. At 645 ft (197 m), it is the tallest concrete structure in San Francisco, the fourth tallest building in San Francisco overall, and the tallest since 345 California Street in 1986. It is also the tallest residential building west of the Mississippi. The tower is slender, with each floor containing 14,000 sq ft (1,300 m) of floor space. In addition to the 58-story tower, there is an 125 ft (38 m), 11-story tower on the northeast end of the complex. Between the two towers is a 43 ft (13 m), two-story
Palazzo Dandolo is a palace in Venice. Now it is home to the Hotel Danieli.
It was built in 1400, by one of the Dandolo families, but whether by that of the great Doge, Enrico Dandolo, is not quite certain. In the Annali of Domenico Malipiero which date from 1457 to 1500 is written that:
Today, the 28 August 1498, have arrived the Ambassadors of Florence, Rucellai and Vespucci; who are lodged in the Palazzo Dandolo, in the Calle delle Razze.
The Diary of Marin Sanudo reports that:
on the 7 April 1498 the Prince of Salerno came to Venice. A most brilliant reception was given him, great festas were held in his honour, and he, and his suite of forty-four persons were lodged in the Dandolo Palace of the Calle delle Razze.
The palace passed from the Dandolos to the Gritti family, in 1536, by a deed of sale. After the Dandolos and the Grittis, the Michiel, the Mocenigo and the Bernardo families became its possessors by marriage, and they retained it till 1805, when its second floor was sold, by the noble Dame Helen Michiel, widow of Alvise Bernardo to Dal Niel. Dal Niel left it to his daughter Alfonsina Muzzarelli, who was able, in 1840 to buy the first floor from the noble Filippo Nani,
The InterContinental Carlton Cannes is a 343-room luxury hotel built in 1911, located at 58 La Croisette in Cannes on the French Riviera and listed by the Government of France as a National Historic Building. During the Cannes Film Festival it is the most prestigious place to stay and the undisputed headquarters of motion picture industry deal-making.
Part of the InterContinental chain, the Carlton is famous for hosting movie stars from around the world during the annual Film Festival. The hotel was also featured in Elton John's well-known 1983 music video for the single, "I'm Still Standing", and the exterior and interior features in New Order's 1993 music video for the single, "World (The Price of Love)". More famously, the hotel was a central location for the Alfred Hitchcock film To Catch a Thief starring Grace Kelly and Cary Grant.
While staying at the Hotel Carlton during the 1955 Cannes Film Festival, Academy Award winning movie star Grace Kelly had an arranged meeting and photo shoot with His Serene Highness (HSH) Prince Rainier III of Monaco which eventually resulted in their 1956 marriage and in her becoming Her Serene Highness Princess Grace.
The Carlton's distinctive
Hotel Baker is a historic landmark in St. Charles, Illinois. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has been in and out of the hotel business since 1928.
It was 1926 when the groundbreaking began at a site on a garbage dump at the Main Street bridge. Col. Baker envisioned a luxury hotel, a resort and escape for the community of St. Charles, and an icon to the world for what big things were happening there.
The Hotel Baker was built on the site of the old Haines Mill, which had been destroyed by fire in 1919 and since used as a dumping grounds for seven years. Col. Baker believed that 'a garbage dump should not be the focal point of his hometown'. And so he bought the land, and for two years construction commenced on what was to be 'the World's finest small hotel'. The Hotel Baker was built with its own operating hydroelectric facility, the third-ever lighted dance floor to be built on Earth; it boasted 'the most modern 'phone system in the country'; there was a radio station established from the Hotel's tower (now exists as the 'Penthouse Suite'); the Hotel had its own parking garage, and the rose garden originally extended further, featuring a putting green
The Hotel Sainte Claire is a hexagonal six-story hotel in downtown San Jose, California, one of the city's most recognized architectural landmarks. It was built in 1926 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Sainte Claire was designed by the prominent San Francisco architectural firm of Weeks and Day, well noted for both their theater and hotel designs in California. Interior similarities exist between San Jose's Sainte Claire and the Mark Hopkins Hotel in San Francisco. Renaissance Revival detailing is basically derived from the Italian Renaissance tradition, though there are several references to French, Spanish, and Mediterranean Revival architecture.
Especially notable are the coffered lobby ceilings designed by the firm for both buildings. The northwest corner is truncated and recessed forming the corner entrance which faces the intersection of South Market and San Carlos Streets. North and west elevations meet the truncated corner at a 120-degree angle, thus framing the entrance. Tawny brick sheathes the steel and concrete frame on floors two through six, and rusticated buff colored stone faces the ground level. The three part vertical composition
The Beat Hotel was a small, run-down hotel of 42 rooms at 9 Rue Gît-le-Cœur in the Latin Quarter of Paris, notable chiefly as a residence for members of the Beat poetry movement of the mid-20th century
It was a "class 13" hotel, meaning bottom line, a place that was required by law to meet only minimum health and safety standards. It never had any proper name - "the Beat Hotel" was a nickname given by Gregory Corso, which stuck on. The rooms had windows facing the interior stairwell and not much light. Hot water was available Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. The hotel offered the opportunity for a bath - in the only bathtub, situated on the ground floor - provided the guest reserved time in beforehand and paid the surcharge for hot water. Curtains and bedspreads were changed and washed every spring. The linen was (sometimes and in principle) changed every month.
The Beat Hotel was managed by a married couple, Monsieur and Madame Rachou, from 1933. After the death of Monsieur Rachou in a traffic accident in 1957, Madame was the sole manager until the early months of 1963, when the hotel was closed. Besides letting rooms, the establishment had a small bistro on the ground floor.
The Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat is a five star hotel, situated in Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat in the French Riviera.
Luxury hotels were invented to be the stuff of dreams. The highest ranking of all the many “palaces” that sprang up all over the French Riviera, the Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat overlooks the sea from the furthermost tip of the peninsula from which it takes its name.
At the turn of the 20th Century, Cap-Ferrat was little more than a wilderness of rocks and dense scrubland, vegetation that only changed as real estate began to develop there. At the end of the 19th century, piece by piece, King Leopold II of Belgium purchased the peninsula’s only wooded area, and then proceeded to expand his estate by buying up most of the vacant land around.
Shortly before 1900, Leopold sold part of his property to a company founded by a Mr. Péretmère, the son of a coachman from the north who had some savings of his own. He reserved six and a half hectares of the land for the hotel, whose construction began in 1908 with the two wings built at an open angle to each other, then the following year a loggia dining room and the large, central Rotonde were added. By then the building had its final,
The Emirates Palace (Arabic: قصر الإمارات) is a luxury hotel in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.
The building was designed by architect, John Elliott RIBA, who was Senior Vice President at Wimberly, Allison, Tong and Goo, an international firm specialising in Luxury Hotels. It opened in November 2005 but certain restaurants and spas did not open until 2006. The hotel was built by and is owned by the Abu Dhabi government, and is currently managed by the Kempinski Group.
The costs to build the hotel were 3.9 billion GBP or 11.02 billion AED. The Emirates Palace occupies 850,000m² of floor space. Underground parking allows housing for 2,500 vehicles. There are two swimming pools and spas. The hotel has its own marina and helipad. The Emirates Palace is the second most expensive hotel ever built, only surpassed by Marina Bay Sands in Singapore.
Emirates Palace, located on 1.3 km of private white sandy beach and surrounded by 85 hectares of gardens, with 114 domes that are 80 meters high. It is a 30 minute drive from Abu Dhabi airport and 1.5 hours drive from Dubai airport.
Many of the suites offered are furnished in gold and marble. The main central area houses an expansive marble
Fanhams Hall is an 18th century Queen Anne House-style hotel Ware, Hertfordshire in the south east of England.
Fanhams Hall is noteworthy for being the birthplace and home of the first Lord Croft, Sir Henry Page-Croft, who was the youngest son of Richard Hale School benefactor Richard Benyon Croft and Winston Churchill's appointed Under-Secretary of State for War until 1945. The south-east wing of the house served as his living quarters, and the present-day bedrooms numbered 207-210 were Lord Croft's maisonette. In 1874, Fanhams Hall was also the birthplace and home of his sister, Anne, who later became the second wife of Liverpool Brewer Sir Charles Nall-Cain; they lived at Brocket Hall, Welwyn until Lord Brocket's death in 1934, when Lady Brocket returned to Fanhams Hall where she resided until her death in 1949.
It was Lady Brocket's interest in horticulture that influenced the employment of Japanese gardeners to create the Hall's formal gardens. Her ornamental lakes and choice of trees (such as Japanese maples) can still be seen in the present-day formal grounds, as can the "Fuji-yama Mound" which was built with earth from the Hall's lakes.
The house was sold as a training
The Hotel Blanche (also known as the Blanche Hotel or The Blanche or Hancock Building ) is a historic site in Lake City, Florida, United States. It is located at 212 North Marion Street. On January 18, 1990, it was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.
In the lobby of the building is the oldest elevator in the State of Florida. It is still functional but is currently blocked off. Also, the third floor is said to be haunted, and is inaccessible to the public.
The Hotel de Bilderberg is a hotel in Oosterbeek in the Netherlands where the Bilderberg Group first met in 1954. The hotel gave its name both to the Group and those who participate in its activities (Bilderbergers).
It is owned and operated by the Bilderberg hotel chain, which runs 20 hotels in the Netherlands.
Hotel Ilves (officially Sokos Hotel Ilves) is a 18-storey hotel in the centre of Tampere, Finland. It was designed by architect Maunu Kitunen and was completed in 1986. The hotel has a total of 336 guest rooms and five restaurants. At 63 metres (207 ft) tall, the hotel is one of the tallest buildings in Finland outside Helsinki metropolitan area. Hotel Ilves is part of the S Group's Sokos Hotels chain.
The S Group, a large Finnish co-operative company, first proposed the idea of building a new hotel in central Tampere in the 1970s. The site chosen was an old redbrick baize-factory situated near the Tammerkoski rapids. Two redbrick buildings and the base of an old factory chimney next to the hotel are the only surviving remnants of the large industrial premises.
In 1983 the S-group's design team travelled to the United States to see how some of the world's most famous hotels, such as the Grand Hyatt, Marriott and Hilton, were built. The project architect Maunu Kitunen completed the design in March 1983, creating a highly visible landmark in the centre of the city. The architect's idea for the shape of the building came from a matchbox.
The hotel was completed in 1986 and named Ilves
The Gleneagles Hotel is a luxury hotel near Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland.
The hotel was built by the former Caledonian Railway Company and opened in 1924, originally with its own railway station. The hotel's golf course and luxurious surroundings meant that golf and grouse shooting at Gleneagles had, by the 1950s, become a fixed part of high society's calendar, along with yachting at Cowes and polo at Deauville.
Between 1982 and 1986, £11 million was spent on renovation and since 1982 the hotel has been open all year round. In 1986, and every year since, the hotel has been awarded five red stars by the AA. The hotel is now owned by the international alcoholic beverage firm Diageo.
The hotel is currently undergoing redevelopment in preparation for hosting the 40th Ryder Cup Matches in 2014 which will be played on the PGA Centenary Course.
Gleneagles has four restaurants. The Strathearn (fine dining, Head Chef Paul Devonshire) is the hotel's main and most formal Restaurant, and is the location in which guests take breakfast. The Deseo restaurant is a Mediterranean, family restaurant. It has 6 main areas: the main restaurant floor; Braids coffee bar; Deseo cocktail bar;
The Ambassador Hotel is a hotel located in Niš, Serbia.
It is located in the middle of the town center, and in front of the hotel is the Monument to the Liberators of Niš. The Niš Fortress can be found just across the river Nišava. Not including the buildings found in Belgrade, this hotel is the tallest building in Serbia.
The Hotel Arcata is a National Historic Place and fully operational hotel located in Arcata, California. It was built to accommodate visitors to Arcata, California, drawn by the Humboldt State Normal School (now Humboldt State University) and delivered by the Northwestern Pacific Railroad. In 1920 the Redwood Highway, US 101 provided more access to Arcata.
The hotel was renovated in the 1980s and was acquired by the Big Lagoon Rancheria, becoming the first off-reservation Native American-owned hotel in California.
Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates is a five star hotel attached to UAE's first indoor ski slope and one of the biggest shopping mall outside of North America.
Together with the Mall of the Emirates shopping centre and Ski Dubai's alpine themed indoor snow resort, the hotel has become an attraction in Dubai.
Part of the Mall of the Emirates mega complex, Kempinski Hotel is located on Sheikh Zayed Road, 4th Interchange, Al Barsha.
Construction commenced in 2005, followed by the designs of the Wilson Associates firm. Wilson Associates was a finalist in the 27th annual Gold Key Awards for Excellence in Hospitality Design. The Hotel doors opened for the first time on the 6th of April 2006. .
The 47,000 sqm, five star Hotel is attached to one of the biggest Malls in the World as well as to UAE’s first indoor ski slope. The building is 17 stores high, with an outside pool-terrace situated on the second floor. The underground parking lot provides space for guests and visitors.
The hotel has 393 rooms and suites including 15 chalets with views over the indoor ski.
Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates includes 9 day light Banquest and Conference Rooms, 4 Office Rooms and indoor and
The seamless combination of the Waterfront Hotel’s nautical style and the traditional setting of Jack London Square come together on Oakland’s waterfront to create a soothing yet stimulating location for your next trip.
After a multi-million dollar renovation in 2008, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with modern and luxurious designs. Now featuring upgraded guestrooms, lobby, meeting spaces, exterior painting, and our new restaurant, Miss Pearl’s Jam House. The Waterfront Hotel celebrates the adventurous spirit of the Oakland waterfront, with all of the guestrooms, public spaces, and meeting rooms embodying the maritime atmosphere and soul of the waterfront through the nautical inspired décor.
The Waterfront Hotel is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco East Bay vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit is a luxurious historic skyscraper hotel In the Washington Boulevard Historic District of Downtown Detroit, Michigan. Designed in the Neo-Renaissance style, and constructed as the Book-Cadillac, it is part of Westin Hotels and embodies Neo-Classical elements and building sculpture, incorporating brick and limestone. Among its notable features are the sculptures of notable figures from Detroit's history—General Anthony Wayne, Antoine Laumet de La Mothe, sieur de Cadillac, Chief Pontiac, and Robert Navarre along the ornate Michigan Avenue facade and copper-covered roof elements. The flagship hotel is 349 ft (106 m) tall with 31 floors, and includes 67 exclusive luxury condominiums and penthouses on the top eight floors. It reopened in October 2008 after completing a $200-million reconstruction project and contains the Roast restaurant.
The hotel was developed by the Book Brothers—J. Burgess, Frank, and Herbert. The brothers sought to turn Detroit's Washington Boulevard into the "Fifth Avenue of the West." Part of that vision was the creation of a flagship luxury hotel to compete against the Detroit Statler Hotel three blocks to the north. They
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel and Suites is a 112 m (367 ft), 35-story hotel in Los Angeles, California, constructed between 1974 and 1976. Designed by architect John C. Portman, Jr., it is the largest hotel in the city. The top floor has a revolving restaurant and bar. It was originally owned by investors that included a subsidiary of Japanese conglomerate Mitsubishi Corporation and John Portman & Associates. The building is managed by Interstate Hotels & Resorts (IHR), and is valued at US$200 million.
The hotel and its architects have been the subject of several documentaries. In his book Postmodern Geographies: the reassertion of space in critical social theory (1989), Edward W. Soja describes the hotel as "a concentrated representation of the restructured spatiality of the late capitalist city: fragmented and fragmenting, homogeneous and homogenizing, divertingly packaged yet curiously incomprehensible, seemingly open in presenting itself to view but constantly pressing to enclose, to compartmentalize, to circumscribe, to incarcerate. Everything imaginable appears to be available in this micro-urb but real places are difficult to find, its spaces confuse an effective cognitive
El Senador was a luxury 4-star resort located in Cayo Coco, Cuba. It was owned as a joint venture between Cubanacan, a Cuban tourism company, and a syndicate of Canadian businesses. In December 2005 the Canadians sold their interest to an Anglo-Dutch syndicate, and the owners engaged the Spanish group NH Hotels as operator. The resort was renamed the NH Krystal Laguna Villas and Resort, until December 2010, when NH ceased to manage it.
When it opened, it was the largest hotel in Cuba; it remains one of the largest hotels, with almost 700 rooms.
Former NHL star and captain of the Montreal Canadiens, Serge Savard, was part owner. The name "El Senador" was a reference to his nickname "Le Senateur" (The Senator).
The hotel lies along a beach with 600m of white sands and tropical water. There is a nearby coral reef and located within the resort grounds is a natural lagoon. Some of the villas are situated on the lagoon, which is crossed by pontoon walkways.
There are four swimming pools (one specially designed for kids), amusement areas for the family and gardens. Neaerby there are shops featuring local artists, cigar stores and souvenir stores. There are also several restaurants
Ibis Budget, formerly Etap Hotel, is a European chain of basic-service budget hotels owned by the Accor Group. There are several branches in major cities and close to transport hubs like the Eurotunnel terminal in Coquelles. The chain competes with chains like Holiday Inn Express and Travelodge in Europe and the UK.
The rooms are simply furnished and in most cases the walls are whitewashed. Rooms typically contain amenities such as a small desk, television (sometimes with cable/international channels, depending on the location), a double bed or a double with a bunk bed, a shower, a basin and a toilet. In some locations the rooms and entrance have coded locks. Some rooms may also have Wi-Fi. A towel and a bar of soap come as standard, with other toiletries for purchase at the reception. Items such as ironing boards and irons are normally available for hire.
All Ibis Budget hotels have a breakfast area, a reception (manned 24 hours a day in the UK & Switzerland, however elsewhere this varies) and, at some locations, an automatic reception for out of hours check-ins.
There are over 370 hotels within Europe, most of which are in France. There are also Etaps in the Middle East.
Hilton Glasgow Hotel is a 20-storey high-rise hotel in Glasgow, Scotland. It is one of Glasgow's five-star hotels. It is located eight miles from Glasgow International Airport and three blocks away from Glasgow City Centre. The hotel can be seen in the Glasgow Skyline. It is located in Anderston close to the M8 Motorway. The hotel is known for having hosted several famous guests, including former United States President Bill Clinton. It officially opened on November 30, 1992.
Construction of the current hotel began in 1990. It stands on a site within the Anderston Commercial Zone, an area cleared during the 1960s and designated by the then Glasgow Corporation for "comprehensive development". Originally the land was earmarked for the second phase of the Anderston Centre complex (early plans show that a public housing tower was planned for the spot where the hotel stands), however this was abandoned, and the site lay derelict until the late 1980s.
As well as being Hilton's first foray into Glasgow (it later took over the prestigious Stakis Grosvenor in the city's West End, and a third hotel was added to the portfolio in Finnieston), the hotel was notable for being the first high rise
The 310 room Hotel Beauséjour was opened in 1972 by the Canadian National Railway in the railway hub of Moncton, New Brunswick.
The first class hotel was operated by Canadian National Hotels until that chain was purchased by Canadian Pacific Hotels in 1988. CP Hotels placed the Beauséjour under its Delta Hotels subsidiary in 1999 when CP Hotels took over the Fairmont Hotels and Resorts chain, assuming the latter's name.
The hotel currently operates under the Delta banner as the Delta Beauséjour Hotel and has the most rooms of any hotel in the province. The hotel building was purchased by Legacy Hotels in 2006 and underwent a major 6 million dollar renovation which finished in 2008.
The Belvédère du Rayon Vert was a hotel in Cerbère, France, designed in the art deco style by the Perpignan architect, Léon Baille, and built between 1928 and 1932. It has the overall appearance of a ship. It has its own cinema, and a tennis court on the roof.
In 2002, the building was added to the supplementary list of historic monuments. Part of the building has been brought back into use as apartments, with some original features. The building is open to visitors most afternoons.
The Delta Bessborough hotel is a three star (Forbes Travel Rating), ten-story hotel located in downtown Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. The hotel is a historical landmark in Saskatoon and is known for its castle-like appearance. The hotel was built by the Canadian National Railway from 1928 to 1932 and is designed in the same Château-style as many of Canada's other railway hotels. Although it is still referred to as "The Bessborough Hotel" today, many people have adopted an abbreviated form, known as "The Bess" (pronounced 'Bez'). The landmark provides a picturesque eastern terminating vista for Saskatoon's 21st Street East and is also a view terminus on Spadina Crescent from points south of the hotel.
After the Canadian Pacific Railway built a railway hotel in Regina in 1926, the Saskatoon business community lobbied Canadian National Railway to build one in Saskatoon. On December 31, 1928 Sir Henry Thorton, President of the Canadian National Railway, announced that they would build a similar hotel in Saskatoon. The hotel was designed by Archibald and Schofield of Montreal, and intentionally designed to resemble a Bavarian castle. In February, 1930, the excavation of the site
The Hotel Bovill was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1994. Located at 602 Park St. in Bovill, Idaho in Latah County the building was built in 1903. The structure has always been used commercially, first as a hotel, then as a store. It is currently vacant and in poor condition.
The structure was built and operated by Hugh Bovill (son of Sir William Bovill) and his wife, Charlotte. The Bovill family moved from the area by 1911.
Hotel Chile is a hotel on the corner of May Avenue and Santiago del Estero Street, in the downtown Montserrat section of Buenos Aires, Argentina. Designed in 1907 by the French Architect Louis Dubois, a graduate of the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris, the 70-room hotel is one of the most prominent surviving local examples of the French Art Nouveau style.
Hotel Tryp Habana Libre is one of the larger hotels in Cuba, situated in Vedado, Havana. The hotel has 569 rooms in a 25 floor tower at Calle 23 ("La Rampa") and Calle L.
The hotel was built as the Habana Hilton, under the personal auspices of President Fulgencio Batista, as an investment by the pension plan of the Cuban Catering Workers' Union, and was operated by the American Hilton Hotels group. It was designed by the Los Angeles firm Welton Becket & Associates, who had previously built the Beverly Hilton, as well as the Capitol Records Building in Hollywood.
Opened on March 22, 1958, with Conrad Hilton himself in attendance, the Habana Hilton was Latin America's tallest and largest hotel. It boasted a Trader Vic's, as well as a casino, supper club, pool and rooftop bar.
Following the entry of Fidel Castro into Havana, on January 8, 1959, the hotel became his headquarters. The casinos throughout the city were briefly closed, but protests by Havana casino workers led to their reopening in February.
The hotel remained in operation as a Hilton for two more unsuccessful years as relations between the US and Cuba worsened, until October 1960, when all American hotels in Cuba were
Hotel Indonesia - Kempinski, commonly abbreviated as HI, is one of the oldest and best known hotels in Indonesia. Located in Central Jakarta, it is one of the first 5-star hotels in the country. For many years, it has been the city's major landmark. Its fame is often linked to the country's political pride. The hotel is located in Jalan Jendral Sudirman. The famed Hotel Indonesia Roundabout gets its name from the hotel.
Occupying 25,082 m² of land, Hotel Indonesia was designed by an American architect, Abel Sorensen, and his wife, Wendy. The hotel was inaugurated on 5 August 1962 by the first President Sukarno in preparation for the 1962 Asian Games. The building was declared as national heritage by the local government, Pemda DKI, in 29 March 1993.
The hotel was operated by PT. Hotel Indonesia. Later in 2001, it was merged with PT. Natour (which manages other government-owned hotels) to form a new enterprise named PT. Hotel Indonesia Natour. Due to low occupancy and financial difficulties, on 30 April 2004, PT. Hotel Indonesia Natour widthdrew its operation from Hotel Indonesia. The hotel is integrated with a mixed-use complex Grand Indonesia, which adds a shopping mall, an office
Hotel Jugoslavija (Serbian: Хотел Југославија / Hotel Jugoslavija) translated in English to Hotel Yugoslavia in Belgrade is one of the oldest luxurious Serbian hotels located in the Novi Beograd municipality.
It was opened in 1969 as one of the biggest hotels in the region. It was used as an accommodation for celebrities and high officials visiting Belgrade. Some of the famous people that stayed in the Hotel Jugoslavija include Richard Nixon, Jimmy Carter, U Thant, Queen Elizabeth II, Willy Brandt, Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, Tina Turner, Neil Armstrong, and Buzz Aldrin.
During the 1999 NATO bombings of Yugoslavia, the hotel was directly hit by 2 missiles, and the west wing of the hotel was totally destroyed. One guest was killed. The reason for the bombing was not evident.
According to the original concept, the hotel was to be named “Belgrade”. Famous architects Mladen Kauzlarić, Lavoslav Horvat and Kazimir Ostrogović, followers of the Zagreb school of modernism won the first prize at the original tender in 1947. The hotel was built according to the modified project of the architect Lavoslav Horvat. Distinguished creators and builders, architects Milorad Pantović, Vladeta Maksimović
Hotel Kabuki is a premier Japanese-style hotel in San Francisco with a western touch. With its prime Japantown location and unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers a calm and serene ambiance. Recently renovated in 2007, the new décor elegantly balances the refined beauty of the East and West. Guests will experience a sense of place that reflects both historic and worldly Japantown as well as the pulse of San Francisco. The location is central to shopping, dining, university and medical center businesses and entertainment, including a new Sundance film theater complex and a choice of music venues within walking distance.
The Hotel Kabuki is the perfect place for a summer vacation. Why not stop by and enjoy a special San Francisco vacation package with JDV's summer promotion, Roadtrippin' California.
Hotel Petersberg is a hotel and official guest house of the Federal Republic of Germany, termed the "Bundesgästehaus" (the official title being Gästehaus der Verfassungsorgane der Bundesrepublik Deutschland). It is located on the Petersberg, a prominent mountain of the Siebengebirge near Bonn, Germany. With a height of 331 metres (1,086 ft), it overlooks the cities of Königswinter, on the right bank of the Rhine river, and Bonn on the opposite side.
In 1834 the area was sold to the merchant Joseph Ludwig Mertens. His wife Sibylle Mertens-Schaafhausen built a summer residence on the Petersberg, and became known as the Rheingräfin ("countess of the Rhine").
At the end of the 19th century the Nelles brothers from Cologne had bought the area and started to add buildings. In 1892 they opened up the eponymous hotel that could easily be reached via the newly built Petersbergbahn, a rack railway that continued in intermittent operation until 1958. In 1912 Ferdinand Mülhens' rack and pinion railway, owner of the 4711 company, bought the property. Under the direction of the architect Heinrich Müller-Erkelenz the hotel was converted during the next two years into a spa. Terraces to overlook
The Hôtel Ritz is a grand palatial hotel in the heart of Paris, the 1st arrondissement. It overlooks the octagonal border of the Place Vendôme at number 15. The hotel is ranked highly among the most prestigious and luxurious hotels in the world and is a member of "The Leading Hotels of the World".
The hotel, which today has 159 rooms, was founded by the Swiss hotelier, César Ritz, in collaboration with the chef Auguste Escoffier in 1898. The new hotel was constructed behind the façade of an 18th-century town house, overlooking one of Paris's central squares. It was reportedly the first hotel in Europe to provide a bathroom en suite, a telephone and electricity for each room. It quickly established a reputation for luxury, with clients including royalty, politicians, writers, film stars and singers. Several of its suites are named in honour of famous guests of the hotel, including Coco Chanel and Ernest Hemingway who lived at the hotel for years. One of the bars of the hotel, Bar Hemingway, is devoted to Hemingway and the L'Espadon is a world-renowned restaurant, attracting aspiring chefs from all over the world who come to learn at the adjacent Ritz-Escoffier School. The grandest
The Hotel San Carlos branch in Phoenix, Arizona, also known as San Carlos Hotel, is both an operating hotel and tourist site. It has been associated with ghost sightings. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) in 1983 as San Carlos Hotel.
Many employees have said that they have seen ghosts at the hotel, the most commonly mentioned being that of Leone Jensen. This caused the Travel Channel to dedicate part of their show World Travels to the hotel. This feature on the hotel was premiered on Monday, January 19, 2004. Whether the ghost sighting theory is a promotional stunt or not is debatable.
The site where the hotel sits was the location of the first school in Phoenix. The four room adobe school was inaugurated in 1874. It was replaced with a larger structure in 1879. The school was enlarged several times but was condemned in 1916, with construction of a luxury hotel in mind. In addition, many area children died during the 1918 swine flu epidemic that attacked the United States.
In 1919, the land was bought by the Babbitt family (relatives of Bruce Babbitt, former Secretary of the Interior and Arizona Governor, who intended to build a hotel. The San Carlos
The Milner Arms Apartments originally known as the Hotel Stevenson is a high rise building located at 40 Davenport in Detroit, Michigan; it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997. It is adjacent to, but not part of, the Cass-Davenport Historic District.
Early in the 20th century, Charles Hugh Stevenson, his brother, and his father-in-law founded the Davenport Realty Company. Stevenson was a writer and lawyer and was internationally recognized for work in the hotel industry.
In 1913, the Davenport Realty Company built the Hotel Stevenson (named for Charles Hugh Stevenson), which was designed to house the influx of male, transient, workers who came to Detroit to work in the booming auto industry. The hotel architect was Joseph P. Jogerst. The structure was designed as an apartment hotel, offering primarily efficiency and one bedroom units, rather than the two to four-room suites contained in typical apartment buildings of the time. The building is still in operation and is managed by Milner Hotels, Inc.
The Hotel Theresa was a vibrant center of black life in Harlem, New York City, in the mid-20th century. The hotel sits at the intersection of Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Boulevard and West 125th Street (Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard). The hotel was built by German-born stockbroker Gustavus Sidenberg (1843–1915), and designed by the firm of Buchman and Fox in a neo-renaissance style. It opened in 1913 and was from then, until the construction of the Adam Clayton Powell Jr. State Office Building across the street in 1973, the tallest building in Harlem. It has a striking white brick facade and was known as the "Waldorf Astoria of Harlem." From the time it opened until 1940, the hotel accepted only white guests plus a few black celebrities. This changed when the hotel passed to new management.
Louis Armstrong, Sugar Ray Robinson, Lena Horne, Josephine Baker, Dorothy Dandridge, Duke Ellington, Muhammad Ali, Dinah Washington, Ray Charles, Little Richard, and Jimi Hendrix all stayed in the Hotel or lived there for a time, as did Fidel Castro, while in New York for the 1960 opening session of the United Nations, after storming out of the Hotel Shelburne because of that hotel manager's
The New Yorker Hotel, is a hotel located 481 Eighth Avenue in New York City. The 43-story Art Deco hotel opened in 1930.
The New Yorker Hotel is a 900 room, mid-priced hotel. It is located in Manhattan's Garment Center, central to Pennsylvania Station, Madison Square Garden, Times Square and the Empire State Building. The one million square foot building offers two restaurants and approximately 33,000 square feet (3,100 m) of conference space. Since re-opening as a hotel in 1994, it has undergone approximately $100 million in capital improvements, including lobby and room renovations and infrastructure modernization. The Unification Church purchased the building in 1975, and since 2000, it has been part of the Ramada franchise.
The New Yorker Hotel was built by Garment Center developer, Mack Kanner. When the project was announced in 1928, the Sugarman and Berger designed building was planned to be 38 stories, at an estimated cost of $8 million. However, when it was completed in 1929, the building had grown to 43 stories, at a final cost of $22.5 million and contained 2,500 rooms, making it the city's largest for many years. Hotel management pioneer, Ralph Hitz, was selected as its
The Rose Tower, also known as Rose Rayhaan by Rotana, is a 72-storey, 333 m (1,093 ft) hotel on Sheikh Zayed Road in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It was the world's tallest hotel. The tower was originally to be 380 m (1,250 ft), but design modification reduced it to 333 m (1,093 ft). Construction began in 2004 and was completed in 2007. On 24 October 2006, the building reached its full height with the addition of the spire. By total height with spire the hotel surpassed the nearby 321 m (1,053 ft) Burj Al Arab. Although the building and its inner furnishings were in place in 2007, it did not open until December 23, 2009.
Rose Rayhaan Rotana is one of the first major hotel brands to open in Dubai as alcohol-free. The hotel has two restaurants and a 24-hour coffee shop. Bonyan International Investment Group is the developer and invested $180 million. The building was officially completed with 482 rooms, suites and penthouses. The Rose Tower officially opened on 23 December 2009.
The Ryugyong Hotel (Korean: 류경호텔) (sometimes anglicised as Ryu-Gyong Hotel or Yu-Kyung Hotel) is a 105-story pyramid-shaped skyscraper under construction in Pyongyang, North Korea. Its name ("capital of willows") is also one of the historic names for Pyongyang. The building is also known as the 105 Building, a reference to its number of floors. Construction began in 1987 but was halted in 1992 as North Korea entered a period of economic crisis after the fall of the Soviet Union.
The building stood topped out but without windows or interior fittings for the next sixteen years. Construction resumed in 2008.
The Ryugyong Hotel rises to a height of 330 metres (1,080 ft), making it the most prominent feature of Pyongyang's skyline and by far the largest structure in North Korea. Construction of the Ryugyong was intended to be completed in time for the 13th World Festival of Youth and Students in June 1989; had this been achieved, it would have held the title of world's tallest hotel. The unfinished building was not surpassed in height by any new hotel until the 2009 completion of the spire atop the Rose Tower in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The Ryugyong Hotel is currently the world's
The Thayer Hotel is a 149-room "Historic Hotel of America" property located 50 miles north of New York City on the banks of the Hudson River at 674 Thayer Road in West Point, New York on the campus of the United States Military Academy. It is named after Sylvanus Thayer, West Point class of 1808, the "father of the Military Academy."
The Thayer Hotel has three main markets: tourists visiting West Point, weddings, and corporate conferences. The Thayer Hotel came under new management in October, 2009. The 149-room hotel has been completely renovated, re-branded, and is now being marketed to host corporate events and leadership training.
In 1829, the West Point Hotel was built near the Plain on Trophy Point. The West Point Hotel served the academy for over a century, hosting a long list of dignitaries such as Robert E. Lee, Ulysses S. Grant, Stonewall Jackson, Winfield Scott, William Tecumseh Sherman, Washington Irving, Edgar Allan Poe, and James Whistler. Perhaps that hotels' history is tied most famously to one of West Point's most famous graduates, General Douglas MacArthur. During General Douglas MacArthur's time as a cadet, his mother lived in the West Point Hotel. When Brigadier
The Address Downtown Dubai, formerly The Address Downtown Burj Dubai, (Arabic: العنوان وسط المدينة دبي) is a supertall skyscraper rising 302.2 meters (991 feet) alongside the Dubai Mall, the Old Town, and the Lake Dubai in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It is now the 12th tallest building of Dubai. This hotel and residential tower contains a total of 63 floors. The tower is another supertall structure in the massive development named Downtown Dubai, which includes the centerpiece supertall building, the Burj Khalifa. The tower was topped out in April 2008, becoming the 6th-tallest building in Dubai and the 36th-tallest in the world. In September 2008, the tower was completed.
The Waldorf Astoria is a luxury hotel in New York. It has been housed in two historic landmark buildings in New York City. The first, designed by architect Henry J. Hardenbergh, was on the Fifth Avenue site of the Empire State Building. The present building at 301 Park Avenue in Manhattan is a 47-story, 190.5 m (625 ft) Art Deco landmark, designed by architects Schultze and Weaver and dating from 1931. Lee S Jablin, Harman Jablin Architects, fully renovated and upgraded the historical property to its original grandeur during the mid-1980s through the mid-1990s. The Waldorf Astoria New York is a member of Hilton's Luxury and Lifestyle Brands along with Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts and Conrad Hotels & Resorts.
The Waldorf Astoria was the first hotel to offer room service, making a huge impact for the future of the hotel industry.
The hotel was branded as The Waldorf=Astoria, with a double hyphen, but originally a single hyphen was employed between "Waldorf" and "Astoria," as recalled by a popular expression and song, "Meet Me at the Hyphen." The equal sign was chosen to signify the equality between the Waldorf and Astor families. It also visually represents "Peacock Alley," the