An Australian suburb is a local area, usually the smallest official division used. The definitive list of Australian suburbs is the Australia Post postcode list.The term "suburb" is used across the whole country, not just in suburban areas around cities, therefore even a remote rural settlement or the central area of a major city can be referred to as a "suburb".
More about Best Australian Suburb of All Time:
Best Australian Suburb of All Time is a public top list created by Listnerd on rankly.com on November 27th 2012. Items on the Best Australian Suburb of All Time top list are added by the rankly.com community and ranked using our secret ranking sauce. Best Australian Suburb of All Time has gotten 2.310 views and has gathered 621 votes from 621 voters. O O
Best Australian Suburb of All Time is a top list in the Travel category on rankly.com. Are you a fan of Travel or Best Australian Suburb of All Time? Explore more top 100 lists about Travel on rankly.com or participate in ranking the stuff already on the all time Best Australian Suburb of All Time top list below.
If you're not a member of rankly.com, you should consider becoming one. Registration is fast, free and easy. At rankly.com, we aim to give you the best of everything - including stuff like the Best Australian Suburb of All Time list.
Get your friends to vote! Spread this URL or share:
Plympton Park is a south-western suburb of Adelaide 8km from the CBD, in the state of South Australia, Australia and falls under the City of Marion. The post code for Plympton Park is 5038. It is adjacent to Park Holme, Plympton, South Plympton, and Morphettville. It is bordered to the east by Marion road, to the west by Park Terrace, to the south by Taranna Avenue and to the north by the Glenelg Tramline.
The suburb is residential, consisting substantially of Housing SA properties in its southern section and privately-owned residences in its older northern section.
The oldest parts of modern Plympton Park can trace their heritage back to the original subdivision of the area in the 1880s, when the Ryan family's farm was first subdivided. This area, bounded by Marion Road, the Glenelg Tram Line and South Terrace, contains the oldest houses in the area, including one in Arthur Street that dates back to the 1880s, and one adjacent the tram line that can be dated back to the 1890s.
Further subdivision in the 1950s saw the establishment of properties in the southern portion of Plympton Park. This area was originally known as Brayville North. Plympton Park Post Office opened on 1 May
Emu Plains is a suburb of Sydney in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is 58 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Penrith and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Emu Plains is on the western side of the Nepean River, located at the foot of the Blue Mountains.
Prior to European settlement, what is now Emu Plains was on the border of the Western Sydney-based Darug people and the Southern Highlands-based Gandangara people, whose land extended into the Blue Mountains. The local Darug people were known as the Mulgoa who lived a hunter-gatherer lifestyle governed by traditional laws, which had their origins in the Dreamtime. They lived in huts made of bark called 'gunyahs', hunted kangaroos and emus for meat, and gathered yams, berries and other native plants.
The first British explorers to visit the area surveyed Emu Plains in 1790 and named it Emu Island after emus they sighted on the land and in the mistaken belief that the land was actually on an island in the Nepean River. It was first referred to by its current name by Governor Lachlan Macquarie in 1814 when William Cox started building his road over
Smithfield is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Smithfield is located 30 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government areas of the City of Fairfield and the City of Holroyd. The suburb is a mix of residential, industrial and commercial areas. Though, it's mostly characterized by low-density housing .
Aboriginal people from the Cabrogal tribe, a sub-group of the Gandangara tribe, have lived in the Fairfield area for over 30,000 years.
European settlement began in the area in the early 19th century. Smithfield was originally known as Chilsholm's Bush. In 1867, Smithfield was a semi-rural settlement populated by vine growers, gardeners, wood timber cutters, orchards and tanneries. Early settlers were attracted to Smithfield by its good soil, dependable water supply and easy access to the Colony's established towns. Some of the best farming land was in the district to the west and southwest of the Smithfield area.
In 1803, homeless children were becoming a problem after convicts turned their children out into the streets. As a consequence, Governor Philip Gidley King, put aside a large area of 12,300 acres (50 km) for a
Padstow, a suburb of local government area City of Bankstown, is located 22 kilometres inner south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the state of New South Wales, Australia, and is a part of the South-western Sydney region.
Padstow is a mostly residential suburb bounded on the north by Bankstown and on the east by Salt Pan Creek, which is a stream feeding into the Georges River. The M5 South Western Motorway traverses the northern end of the suburb, which is also the location of a number of light industrial facilities.
A number of the streets in the vicinity of Padstow railway station have Egyptian themes as names, including Arab Road, Cairo Avenue, Pyramid Avenue and Sphinx Avenue. To the east of Padstow, on the border with Revesby there is also a group of streets with outer space related names, such as Uranus Road, Mars Street, Neptune Street, Hydrae Street and Vega Street.
Padstow was first named Padstow Park Estate after a town called Padstow in Cornwall, England. It was named for being the "holy place of St Petrock" (not to be confused with St Patrick), an important Cornish saint. The estate included the grants of Simon McGuigan (130 acres), Joseph Cunningham
Tyabb is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, as a part of the urban enclave on Westernport comprising Tyabb, Hastings, Bittern, Crib Point, and Somerville. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Mornington Peninsula. It is served by the Tyabb railway station on the Stony Point railway line.
The Post Office opened on 9 March 1891 shortly after the arrival of the railway in 1889. The local area was well known as a fruit growing area in the early twentieth century and was identified by the "TYCOS" brand, which was the name used by the local growers co-operative.
Tyabb is a small township with three small primary schools (Tyabb, the largest; Flinders, a Christian college; and Tyabb Railway, the smallest, with around 120 students), a Country Fire Authority station, bakery, newsagent, antique store, motel, cafe and unmanned railway station. There are a number of businesses in the town including fruit processing, cabinet makers, arborists, Motel, cafes, Pharmacy, Equine outfitters and engineering workshops.
Tyabb is well known for its many antique shops. The largest, the Tyabb Packing House Antique complex is housed in an historic Cool Store building dating from the area's
Hughes is a suburb in the Canberra, Australia district of Woden. The postcode is 2605. The area of the suburb is 1.81 km².
Hughes is named after The Right Honourable William Morris "Billy" Hughes, seventh Prime Minister of Australia from 1915-1923. Streets in the suburb are named with the theme of World War I armed services personnel and contemporaries of William Hughes. The suburb was gazetted on 20 September 1962, with a population of nine. Residential construction began in 1963, and by 1974 Hughes had a population of 4050.
Hughes adjoins the suburbs of Deakin, Garran, Phillip and Curtin. It is bounded by Carruthers Street to the North, Yarra Glen and Yamba Drive to the west, and the Red Hill area of Canberra Nature Park to the east and south.
Hughes has several different kinds of rock from the Silurian period. Shale from the Yarralumla Formation is in the south west. Cream coloured rhyolite from the Mount Painter Volcanics is found in the north west. Dark purple rhyodacite from the Deakin Volcanics is found in the north of Hughes. In the south east tuff forms a layer on top of the Mount Painter Volcanics. An inactive north west - south east trending fault runs though the middle
Noble Park is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 26 km south-east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Greater Dandenong. At the 2006 Census, Noble Park had a population of 26,282.
Noble Park has a mixture of residential, commercial and industrial zones and is home to a highly multicultural population, with residents who have immigrated from Europe, Asia, the Americas and Africa.
The history of Noble Park as a Suburb in Melbourne began in 1909 when Allan Buckley turned Noble Park into a subdivision after having used the land to test explosives developed by Alfred Nobel. Allan Buckley nicknamed the estate Nobel Park eventually turning it to the Noble Park it now is. Early settlement was encouraged by building a community centre, church, school, postal centre and later, a railway station. The postal centre was opened in August 1910 and the railway station was completed in July 1912. In the early days, growth was relatively slow due to the lack of population growth in the area. In the early 1920s, the Railway Department set up a poultry farm and eventually a plant nursery was set up in the eastern part of the suburb. The focus
Kalorama is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 35 km east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Yarra Ranges. At the 2006 Census, Kalorama had a population of 1,157.
The suburb was first settled by Europeans in and around 1855 when Isaac Jeeves, Mathew Child and Jabez Richardson took up selections. The traditional custodians of the area are the Wurundjeri of the Kulin nation.
The Post Office opened on 1 October 1909, but was known as Hand's Corner until 1910, then Mount Dandenong North until 1926.
The area, renowned for its beauty, is the site of a famous lookout point named "Five Ways" which overlooks Kalorama Park, Silvan Reservoir, the National Rhododendron Gardens, and the R.J. Hamer Arboretum. Nearby attractions include William Ricketts Sanctuary, Olinda Falls, The Five Ways Galleries, and a range of tea-rooms, cafes and stores.
The forests of the region are dominated by various eucalypt species including Mountain Ash (Eucalyptus regnans), the tallest known angiosperm. The local wet sclerophyll forests form habitat for many species of native bird including the Superb Lyrebird (Menura novaehollandiae) which can be
Fremantle ( /ˈfriːmæntl/) is a city in Western Australia, located at the mouth of the Swan River. Fremantle Harbour serves as the port of Perth, the state capital. Fremantle was the first area settled by the Swan River colonists in 1829. It was declared a city in 1929, and has a population of approximately 25,000.
The city is named after Captain Charles Howe Fremantle, the English naval officer who had pronounced possession of Western Australia and who established a camp at the site. The city contains well-preserved 19th-century buildings and other heritage features. The Western Australian vernacular diminutive for Fremantle is Freo.
Fremantle lies on a series of limestone hills known by the Nyungar people as Booyeembara; the sandplain to the east is Gardoo. The original vegetation of the area was mainly Xanthorrhoea and eucalyptus trees, which were traditionally fired annually by the Aboriginal people.
Fremantle is the end of the Fremantle railway line which runs from Perth to Fremantle, run by the Western Australia's Public Transport Authority. Major highways including Stirling Highway, Canning Highway and Leach Highway have Fremantle as their start point and/or
Glenorchy is a business district and suburb in the northern part of greater Hobart, capital of the state of Tasmania, Australia. The land was originally used for agriculture (particularly orchards) but is now a largely suburban, working-class area. It is the seat of the Local Government Area of the same name, the City of Glenorchy.
Glenorchy is home to many facilities of the northern suburbs. These include an outdoor swimming pool, a cinema, an Australian rules football oval and a football (soccer) ground (both part of the KGV Oval complex), a bowls club, and a public area called Tolosa Park. Glenorchy is also home to the Tasmanian Transport Museum. A major feature of the park is its open-air auditorium, primarily used for musical performances.
Schools in the area include Glenorchy Primary School, Cosgrove High School, Guilford Young College and Dominic College.
The main traffic route in and out of Glenorchy is the Main Road, which passes the area in a north-south direction.
Glenorchy is a physically large suburb, and some parts of it have been given alternate names:
At the 2011 Australian census, the suburb of Glenorchy had a population of 10,534.
The Glenorchy Central business
Bidwill is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Bidwill is located 48 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Blacktown and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Bidwill takes its name from John Carne Bidwill (1815-1853) appointed as botanist in charge at the Botanic Gardens in 1847. Prior to settlement and colonisation of Australia, Bidwill and the surrounding area was inhabited by the Darug tribe.
Bidwill was dominated by the development of public housing in the 1960s and 1970s. In recent times, Bidwill has been associated with social and economic problems. These have resulted in an increase of crime and such trouble as riots.
Bidwill is primarily a residential suburb with extremely limited commercial activity. It is quite close to the suburbs of Mount Druitt and St Marys, which have larger shopping centres, banking facilities and railway stations.
Limited commercial facilities such as supermarkets and service stations are available at Emerton and Plumpton rather than in Bidwill itself. A small supermarket complex existed at Bidwill in the 1990s, which was closed partly due to
Wyndham Vale is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 36 km south-west from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Wyndham. At the 2011 Census, Wyndham Vale had a population of 17,304.
Wyndham Vale Reserve, located on Honour Avenue is the home of the Wyndham Vale Sports Club. The sports club consists of the Wyndham Vale Cricket Club, the Wyndham Vale Falcons Senior Football Club and the Wyndham Vale Falcons Junior Football Club. The Sports Club has been set up with the ambition of improving sporting facilities in Wyndham Vale for the local community.
The Wyndham Vale Cricket Club has 6 Senior Mens', 1 Senior Women's and 4 Junior Cricket Teams. It also hosts a Milo Have-A-Go Clinic for children not yet old enough to play junior cricket.
The Wyndham Vale Falcons Senior Football Club, an Australian Rules football team, competes in the Western Region Football League. It has 2 Senior Men's Teams.
The Wyndham Vale Falcons Junior Football Club has 7 Junior Boys Teams and a Youth Girls Team.
President's Park, on McGrath Road is home to the Werribee Hockey Club. The club has 7 Senior Men's and Women's Teams and up to 12 Junior Teams.
Ballarat East, is a suburb of Ballarat in Victoria, Australia. Ballarat East covers a large area east (and also north) of the CBD. It is the oldest area in Ballarat and was once also a municipality known as the Ballarat East Town Council between 1859 and 1921. The population of Ballarat East at the 2006 census was 4,995 making it the fifth most populated in the Ballarat urban area.
The discovery of goldfields in 1851 led to heavy immigration. In 1854, in their resistance of an arbitrary tax, gold miners in the area came into armed conflict with the authorities. A commission was appointed to investigate their grievances and a charter was granted to the town in 1855. Ballarat East Post Office opened on 1 December 1857 and was replaced by the Bakery Hill office in 1992.
The Ballarat East goldfield, which consisted of three distinct areas known as Ballarat East, Ballarat West and Nerrina, produced over 1.9 million ounces of gold from vein systems and over 16 million ounces from adjacent alluvial deposits. At the turn of the twentieth century, these alluvial goldfields were the richest ever opened. As these surface deposits were exhausted, the quartz reefs at deep levels were exploited
Vaucluse is an eastern suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Vaucluse is located 8 kilometres (5 mi) north-east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government areas of Waverley Council and the Municipality of Woollahra.
Vaucluse is located on the South Head peninsula, with Sydney Harbour on the west and the Pacific Ocean on the east. The Sydney Harbour side of the suburb commands views across the harbour to the Sydney Harbour Bridge. The adjacent suburbs are Watsons Bay, to the north and Rose Bay and Dover Heights to the south.
Vaucluse is a mainly residential suburb. For many years, it was the most affluent suburb in Sydney and in terms of houses and properties is still in the top five most expensive suburbs. Tahiti, a Hawaiian-style residence in tropical gardens above Hermit Bay, set Australian residential record when it sold to a trio of South Africans (the Krok brothers) for more than $29 million in September 2007.
Before European settlement, the area where Vaucluse is now located was inhabited by the Birrabirragal aboriginal clan, who belonged to the coastal Dharug language group. The first European activity in the area took place not
Kotara is a suburb of Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia, located 9 kilometres (6 mi) from Newcastle's central business district. It is part of the City of Newcastle local government area.
The Australasia Coal Company operated a mine near Kotara, in the valley below the present-day northern entrance to the Tickhole railway tunnels. A private railway connected the screens with the Government line near the present-day triangle junctions north of Broadmeadow. Surveying for the line commenced in 1875 and the line was completed in April, 1877. However only a total of 9,052 tons was ever produced and the company went into liquidation in June, 1879.
Westfield Kotara, formerly known as Garden City, is a major shopping centre which features a department store, two discount department stores, two supermarkets and a variety of other clothing, toy, homeware and newsagency stores and many cafes and a foodcourt.
Kotara is home to Kotara High School, located across from Hudson Park, and Belair Public School adjacent to Westfield Kotara. The local Catholic School is St James Primary School Kotara South, located on Vista Parade.
Kotara railway station
Tempe is a suburb in the inner west of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Tempe is located 9 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of Marrickville Council.
Tempe sits on the northern bank of the Cooks River and is separated from Sydney Airport by the Alexandra Canal, also known as Sheas Creek. The Wolli Creek waterway also empties into the Cooks River near Tempe.
Tempe was named after the mansion on the southern banks of the Cooks River in the area that is now known as Wolli Creek. Alexander Brodie Spark (1792–1856), an immigrant from Elgin, Scotland, built Tempe House in 1836. It was named after the 'Vale of Tempe', a beautiful valley in ancient Greek legend set at the foot of Mount Olympus in Greece. Tempe House, designed by John Verge (1772–1861), has a Georgian feel and is regarded as one of the great houses of Sydney. Spark also donated money towards the purchase of land and the building of St Peter’s Church of England, which gave its name to the suburb of St Peters, to the north of Tempe.
Frederick Wright Unwins, who gave his name to Unwins Bridge Road, was a clever man in the legal profession in Sydney’s early
Beverly Hills is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Beverly Hills is located 17 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the St George area. Beverly Hills lies across two local government areas, the City of Hurstville and the City of Canterbury. It is often colloquially referred to as "Bevo". The postcode is 2209, which is shared by Narwee.
Beverly Hills is mostly residential, consisting of many freestanding red brick and tile bungalows built in the years immediately after World War 2. Many of these feature late Art Deco design elements. Medium density flats have been built in the areas close to King Georges Road and Stoney Creek Road.
Beverly Hills was originally known as Dumbleton after a local farm in the area, circa 1830. This name was generally disliked by residents who lobbied to supplant it with a more glamorous alternative to coincide with the arrival of the East Hills railway line, which opened 31 December 1931. The name was changed to Beverly Hills, at a time when Beverly Hills in California, USA was becoming famous for being the home of many famous movie stars. Real estate developments followed in the
Battery Point is a suburb of the city of Hobart, Tasmania, Australia. It is immediately south of the Central business district. It is in the local government area of City of Hobart.
Battery Point is named after the battery of guns which were established on the point in 1818 as part of the Hobart coastal defences. The battery no longer exists.
The area is generally known as one of the city's more prestigious suburbs, with many large and extravagant homes and apartment blocks. It adjoins the waterfront Salamanca area as well as the nearby prestigious suburb of Sandy Bay.
Battery Point has a large number of historic houses dating from the first European settlement of 'Hobart Town'. Probably the most significant is Arthur Circus with its cottages, mostly originally constructed for the officers of the garrison. Arthur Circus is the only circus in Australia.
Battery Point is accessible via Hampden Road, which runs from Sandy Bay Road from the edge of the city.
Battery Point residents have been the centre of controversy in recent years, demanding noise restrictions and other measures aimed at safeguarding a sheltered lifestyle.
The Newcastle metropolitan area is the second most populated area in the Australian state of New South Wales and includes most of the Newcastle and Lake Macquarie Local Government Areas. It is the hub of the Greater Newcastle area which includes most parts of the Local Government Areas of City of Newcastle, City of Lake Macquarie, City of Cessnock, City of Maitland and Port Stephens Council.
Situated 162 kilometres (101 mi) NNE of Sydney, at the mouth of the Hunter River, it is the predominant city within the Hunter Region. Famous for its coal, Newcastle is presently the largest coal exporting harbour in the world, exporting over 97 Mt of coal in 2009–10 with plans to expand annual capacity to 180 Mt by 2013. Beyond the city, the Hunter Region possesses large coal deposits. Geologically, the area is located in the central-eastern part of the Sydney basin.
Newcastle and the lower Hunter Region were traditionally occupied by the Awabakal and Worimi Aboriginal People, who called the area Malubimba.
In September 1797 Lieutenant John Shortland became the first European to explore the area. His discovery of the area was largely accidental; as he had been sent in search of a number of
Conder is one of three suburbs in the Lanyon Valley in Canberra, Australia. It lies in the district of Tuggeranong. The three suburbs are presently (as of 2011) the southernmost suburbs of the city, although the small settlement of Tharwa exists only a short distance further south.
Named after artist Charles Conder, the suburb of Conder extends from the slopes of Tuggeranong Hill to the valley floor. Conder is home to the valley's main services including the Lanyon Market Place, Lanyon High School and one of the four Vikings Sports Clubs in Canberra. The suburb also includes Charles Conder Primary School, a youth centre, child care centre, family services centre and Catholic Primary School.
Just like the name of the suburb, the streets of Conder are named after artists, including members of the Heidelberg School and places associated with that school. Among those recognised are Russell Drysdale and Tom Roberts.
Major developments in Conder including "Eastern Valley Rise" and "The Landscape" have seen the Lanyon Valley's population grow rapidly.
Quaternary Alluvium covers the whole suburb. Underneath the alluvium and on the surrounding hills are Deakin Volcanics erupted during the
Pomona is a town located at the base of Mount Cooroora at the northern end of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia. The town was originally called Pinbarren siding and was renamed Pomona in 1906, after the Roman goddess of fruit and orchards. Pomona is 166 kilometres north of Brisbane, and approximately 30 minutes driving time from Noosa Heads.
Now a heritage and lifestyle town and formally declared the region's 'friendliest town' (2004 and 2010), Pomona was first settled by Europeans in the late 1880s, but had been home to the Gubbi Gubbi indigenous peoples for thousands of years before that. Early settlers collected timber from the area. The railway to Pomona was operating in 1891, opening the land to farming.
The town became the administrative centre of the Noosa Shire Council in 1909 until 1 December 1985 when the Council moved to its Tewantin premises. The original headquarters for the Shire were constructed in Pomona in 1911 on a site now used (since 1985) by the Cooroora Historical Society and Noosa Museum. The main street of the town was devastated by fires in 1939 and 1942. Many buildings were re-constructed with brick.
Pomona is notable for three things: a relaxed
Hawker (postcode: 2614, is a suburb of Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia. Hawker is in the district of Belconnen.
The suburb of Hawker is named after Charles Hawker (1894–1938), Member of the House of Representatives from 1929–1938 and Federal minister in 1932. Streets in the suburb are named according to the theme of Northern Territory pastoral stations.
The centrepiece of the suburb is a group centre where there are many small businesses and shops like take aways, newsagents, a hotel, and a KFC. The area supports three schools: Hawker Primary, Belconnen High, and Hawker College (a specialist senior high school). Combined, these schools cover students from preschool to Year 12.
Hawker is a popular location for sport, and includes the multi-purpose Hawker Playing Fields; Hawker Enclosed Oval, a small football (soccer) stadium, centres for tennis and lawn bowls; and the Hawker International Softball Centre.
In 2006 the residents of Hawker were among the highest earning in Canberra.
Silurian age Green grey rhyodacite of the Walker Volcanics underlie the whole suburb. Off the south west of the suburb and south east of the Pinnacle is a lens of limestone and shale
Wareemba is a small suburb in the inner-west of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Wareemba is 12 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Canada Bay. Wareemba sits on the eastern shore of Hen and Chicken Bay, on the Parramatta River.
European settlement of the area began in the 1830s, with land mainly used for farming. The suburb was originally part of neighbouring suburb Abbotsford until declared a separate suburb in 1993.. The name Wareemba comes from an Aboriginal word meaning "place where sweet water meets salt water".
Wareemba has a small group of shops located on Great North Road. Wareemba is famous for its coffee shops, including one business that combines fruit shop with coffee shop.
Wareemba Gospel Hall is in Coranto Street.
The suburb of Wareemba had a population of 1,390 people, according to the 2006 Census of Population and Housing.
Like the nearby suburbs of Haberfield and Five Dock, Wareemba has a large population of residents with Italian ancestry. At the 2006 Census, 16% of the population of Wareemba noted their country of birth as being Italy, the second most popular response after
Allawah is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Allawah is located 16 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the St George area. Allawah lies mostly in the local government area of the Municipality of Kogarah and partly in the City of Rockdale. The postcode is 2218, which is shared by the neighbouring suburb of Carlton.
Allawah is an Aboriginal name meaning "make your abode here" or "remain here".
In 1808, an area including and surrounding Allawah was given, via a land grant, to Captain John Townson. The grant extended from King Georges Road and Stoney Creek Road (of modern-day Penshurst and Beverly Hills) to beyond Kogarah railway station.
The railway line to Hurstville was opened in 1884, but the railway station at Allawah did not open until 23 October 1925.
The Allawah post office opened in May 1933.
Allawah is a small landlocked suburb, about 15–20 minutes walking distance from Hurstville. Allawah’s main shopping centre is located on Railway Parade, beside Allawah railway station. The Allawah shopping strip contains a newsagent, post office, corner store, real estate agent, take-away shops, a computer repair
Cringila is a densely populated southern suburb in the city of Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia, about 4 km along Springhill Road. The suburb is bounded by Berkeley, Unanderra, Lake Heights and Warrawong.
The suburb is planned on a north-south residential/commercial strip and the east west streets that adjoin it, making a rectangular pattern. From the hilltops fine views of Lake Illawarra to the south and Port Kembla steelworks and industries to the north are had.
Cringila Community Park is a 78 ha site purchased by Wollongong City Council after residents defeated a proposal by BHP to use the land as a dump for industrial waste. Its main purpose is to regenerate the local area's natural wildlife.
Surrounding Cringila's primary school is a spectacular protected rain forest which is much loved by the entire community. The rain forest contains much flora and fauna, which is admired by Cringila and surrounding suburbs.
Immediately west of Cringila is a reservoir topped hill.
Cringila gained its fame in Wollongong for being the setting for the movie A Man's Gotta Do starring John Howard.
A fraction of Cringila is the Port Kembla steelworks which employs many people in the local
Eastern Creek is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Eastern Creek is located 35 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Blacktown and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Eastern Creek is west of the Prospect Reservoir and is most notable for containing the Eastern Creek Raceway and the former site of Wonderland Sydney amusement park.
The origin of the suburb's name lies in the fact the eastern branch of South Creek became known as 'Eastern Creek'. The village that then grew where the road crossed the creek became known as Eastern Creek.
Eastern Creek features many industrial developments and often the description 'Eastern Creek Area' also includes the industrial developments in the neighbouring suburbs of Arndell Park and Huntingwood. With this in mind most statistics and demographic information is not available for this suburb by itself. Eastern Creek Waste and Recycling Centre also takes up a large part of the suburb.
Eastern Creek Raceway hosts Round 5 in the V8 Supercar motor racing series. Wonderland Sydney was a large amusement park that operated here between 1985 and 2004.
Griffith (postcode: 2603) is an early inner-south suburb of Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia. Griffith is named after Sir Samuel Griffith, who was chosen in 1903 as the first Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia and retained his position until retirement in 1919. Streets in Griffith are named after explorers.
Griffith contains the Manuka Shopping Centre, one of the earliest shopping areas built in Canberra. Noted buildings in the suburb include the Russian Embassy and St Paul's Anglican Church.
Griffith, sized at approximately 3 km², is one of Canberra's oldest suburbs, with several of its streets designed according to Walter Burley Griffin's original designs for Canberra. The suburb has 20 parks covering nearly 12% of the total area.
On Census night 2006, Griffith had a population of 3095 people, of which 2305 were in the workforce. The major industry of Griffith's citizens is public administration & safety, and a majority of Griffith workers are professionals. The average Griffith citizen is 37-years of age, earning a mean weekly gross income of approximately $935/week.
Rocks in Griffith are from the Silurian age. Mount Painter Volcanics dark grey to
Marayong is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Marayong is located 38 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Blacktown and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Marayong is derived from an Aboriginal word 'Marriang' meaning emu or place of cranes. The name was first given by the New South Wales Railways to the railway station when it opened in October 1922.
Around 1900–1905, large areas were subdivided and market gardens and poultry farms were established. The area was part of Quakers Hill but in 1926 the Marayong Progress Association applied to have Marayong made a suburb, in its own right.
The area was mostly rural until the 1960s. Housing Commission (public housing) estates, opened in the 1960s, marked the urbanisation of the suburb predominantly south of the railway line. In addition, an industrial area was also released north of the railway line.
The population of Marayong was 6821 at the 2006 census. The median household income of $993 per week was a bit less than the national average and there were a higher than average number of clerical and administrative workers (18.4%) and
Redfern is an inner-city suburb of Sydney. Redfern is 3 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the local government area of the City of Sydney. Strawberry Hills is a locality on the border with Surry Hills
Redfern is subject to extensive redevelopment plans by the state government, to increase the population and reduce the concentration of poverty in the suburb and neighbouring Waterloo (see Redfern-Eveleigh-Darlington).
The suburb is named after surgeon William Redfern, who was granted 100 acres (0.40 km) of land in this area in 1817 by Lachlan Macquarie. He built a country house on his property surrounded by flower and kitchen gardens. His neighbours were Captain Cleveland, an officer of the 73rd regiment, who built Cleveland House and John Baptist, who ran a nursery and seed business. Sydney's original railway terminus was built in Cleveland Paddocks and extended from Cleveland Street to Devonshire Street and west to Chippendale. The station's name was chosen to honour William Redfern. At that time, the present Redfern station was known as Eveleigh. When Central station was built further north on the site of the Devonshire Street cemetery,
Shorncliffe is a suburb of Brisbane, Australia. It is situated northeast of Brisbane and is the neighbouring suburb of Sandgate. The suburb comes under the jurisdiction of the Brisbane City Council. It is a small community with a village atmosphere. At times Shorncliffe has different festivals, including The Blue Water Festival whereby that start of the Brisbane to Gladstone yacht race begins from the opening of The Cabbage Tree Creek.
Shorncliffe includes one primary schools; Shorncliffe State School and one private school; St Patrick's College. Both these schools are situated on neighbouring blocks of land to each other.
Shorncliffe also includes one railway station, which is the terminus of the Shorncliffe railway line.
Attwood is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 20 km north-west from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Hume. At the 2011 Census, Attwood had a population of 3,261.
Attwood is home to Victoria Police's driver training track, Dog Squad and Mounted Branch. The suburb is located south of Greenvale, along Mickleham Road.
Gymea Bay is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Gymea Bay is 27&nbps;kilometres south of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the Sutherland Shire. The postcode is 2227, which it shares with the adjacent suburb of Gymea.
Gymea Bay takes its name from the small bay on the north shore of the Port Hacking estuary (also known as the Port Hacking River). The suburb's extremities are defined by Forest Road on the northeast, Avenel Road on the north, Dents Creek on the west, and the waters of North West Arm and the bay itself to the south. The area is characterised by large amounts of verdant bushland. However, since the 1990s, invasions of feral deer from the Royal National Park have begun to negatively affect the ground cover underneath the tree canopy.
The bay, the suburb and the adjacent suburb of Gymea, were named after the Gymea Lily Doryanthes excelsa, a 6 m tall perennial that is prevalent in the area. It was named by the local Eora people and became the inspiration for the suburb's name, by government surveyor W.A.B. Geaves in 1855. The Gymea Lily has been adopted as a symbol of the area and features on the
Lane Cove West is a suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Lane Cove West is located 9 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the Municipality of Lane Cove. Lane Cove and Lane Cove North are separate suburbs.
The land in the area was originally used for agriculture and owned by John Blackman. From the mid-1950s Lane Cove West was home to the national head office, pressing plant, warehouse and recording studios of the Warner Bros. Records label Festival Mushroom Records. Lane Cove West Public School was also built at this time.
Lane Cove West Business Park is an industrial area with factories and warehouses of such companies as Nestle, Macquarie Goodman, Wicked Foods and Lego. Most are located on Sam Johnson Way and Mars Road.
There are also a number of small businesses situated at Figtree Plaza on Cullen Street and Burns Bay Road. These include a hair salon, cafe, beautician, fish and chip shop, fruit and vegetable market, newsagent, bakery and a butcher shop. Close by is the Metropolitan Baptist Church.
Blackman Park is situated on the Lane Cove River and was originally a small
Rosewater is one of the western suburbs of Adelaide and is located 10 km north-west of Adelaide's central business district (CBD). Although mainly residential, there are many shops along Grand Junction Road and the retired "Rosewater Loop" railway line runs through the suburb. Rosewater is split in half by Grand Junction Road and bordered on the east by Addison and on the south by Torrens Road.
Originally, the area was mainly used as vegetable and dairy farmland but became more and more residential as the railway lines and Grand Junction Road were completed and as Port Adelaide grew and developed. Rosewater was also the site of the AdelaideRadio (VIA) maritime radio station system from 1912 to 1963.
Prior to European settlement, the area was inhabited by the Kaurna people. They called the general area Yatala from which the nearby Yatala takes its name. Further north, the area was known as Yertabulti and Yerta Boldingga, which means 'land of sleep or death' according to John Phillip Gell.
The original subdivision of Rosewater was created in 1855 by Philip Levi, when he subdivided Section 1189. The area just south of this, between Grand Junction and Torrens Roads, had been laid out
Greenmount is a locality and a geographical feature in the Shire of Mundaring, Western Australia, on the edge of the Darling Scarp. It is a vital point in the transport routes from the Swan Coastal Plain into the hinterland of Western Australia.
Ensign Robert Dale reached the summit on 18 October 1829. John Septimus Roe communicated with Dale over the York Road he had used the name Green Mount.
In the era of the Swan River Colony the name 'Greenmount' was used for two points on the Darling Scarp. In the 1840s the York Road was known as York Greenmount, and the road further north along the Scarp was known as Toodyay Greenmount. It is possible that these two locations might have had slightly different coloured foliage compared to the grey blue green colour of the Scarp.
During the convict era, in 1854 Edward Du Cane was the supervisor of the building of a convict depot on the slopes of the hill. In 1870s a government bluestone quarry was developed on the western slope of the hill.
Chippers Leap is a memorial stone on the northern edge of the Great Eastern Highway between the two points where the Old York Road remains linking with the highway.
On its western slopes and southern slopes
Melbourne ( /ˈmɛlbərn/, locally [ˈmælbən]) is the capital and most populous city in the state of Victoria, and the second most populous city in Australia. The Melbourne City Centre is the hub of the greater metropolitan area and the Census statistical division—of which "Melbourne" is the common name. As of June 2011, the greater geographical area had a population of 4.1 million. Inhabitants of Melbourne are called Melburnians or Melbournians.
The metropolis is located on the large natural bay known as Port Phillip, with the city centre positioned on the estuary of the Yarra River (at the northernmost point of the bay). The metropolitan area then extends south from the city centre, along the eastern and western shorelines of Port Phillip, and expands into the hinterland. The city centre is situated in the municipality known as the City of Melbourne. The metropolitan area consists of a further 30 municipalities.
Melbourne was founded in 1835 (47 years after the European settlement of Australia) by settlers from Launceston in Van Diemen's Land. It was named by Governor of New South Wales Sir Richard Bourke in 1837, in honour of the British Prime Minister of the day, William Lamb, 2nd
Millers Point is an urban locality within Sydney's city centre, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is on the north-western edge of the Sydney central business district, adjacent to The Rocks and is part of the local government area of the City of Sydney.
Millers Point lies on the southern shore of Sydney Harbour, beside Darling Harbour. The Barangaroo development is taking place on 22 hectares of land on the western side of the suburb. Sections of Millers Point have been included as part of the The Rocks area in the past and some residents and businesses still use it in their address.
A small mill that was owned by Jack Leighton was located here. The area became known as Jack, the Miller's Point. In 1833 Governor Bourke granted the Catholic Church land at Millers Point for the construction of a school house that could serve as a chapel on Sundays. The Colonial Architect, Ambrose Hallen in consultation with Bishop Ullathorne, designed the school building which was completed by May, 1835. It was a one story building constructed in sandstone with two rooms that could be opened into one. St Brigid's Millers Point is the oldest existing place of Catholic worship in
Leschenault is an outer suburb of Bunbury, Western Australia, and is located 16 km to the north-east. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Harvey.
The name Leschenault honours botanist Jean Baptiste Leschenault de la Tour, who was part of Nicolas Baudin's 1802-1803 voyage which visited the coast and explored the estuary and nearby rivers. However, the first reported sighting of the coast was by Captain A.P. Jonk in the VOC Emeloort, who sighted land at 33°12' (most likely opposite the estuary from Australind) on 24 February 1658 while looking for the Vergulde Draeck but did not land.
Until the 1980s, the area was used only for low-level agriculture such as grazing, and some holiday homes were built along Cathedral Drive (formerly Scenic Drive) - as recently as 1988, the area was undeveloped. In the mid-1980s the State Government and the Shire of Harvey made plans for a new industrial park at nearby Kemerton, and interest in land at Leschenault for residential purposes increased during the 1990s as facilities became established in nearby Australind and the Australind Bypass was constructed. Most of the land was released in small rural residential estates such as Ashmere
Dolans Bay is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 26 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the Sutherland Shire.
Dolans Bay is on the north shore of the Port Hacking estuary. The suburb is named after the small bay on the edge of Burraneer Bay. Houses overlook the bay and some line the water's edge together with boatsheds. Boats are moored in the bay, which provides protection from the southerly wind. Burraneer Bay features a private marina and slipway with full repair facilities.
Dolans Bay is surrounded by the suburbs of Caringbah, Lilli Pilli and Port Hacking. The suburb of Burraneer is located across Burraneer Bay. The villages of Maianbar and Bundeena are located on the opposite bank of Port Hacking.
Dolans Bay was named after a land owner in the area called Dominick Dolan. In 1858 Mary and Andrew Webster paid 108 pounds and 15 shillings plus a yearly peppercorn quit rent for their land in this area. The Websters sold their land to Dominick Dolan in 1863.
The suburb can be accessed by Port Hacking Road or Saunders Bay Road, both of which lead to Lilli Pilli Point and Wally's Wharf.
McKellar (postcode: 2617) is a residential suburb of Canberra, Australia in the Belconnen district. The suburb is named after Colin McKellar who was Minister for Repatriation from 1964-70. The suburb name was gazetted on 15 January 1974. The streets of McKellar are named for journalists with the main street of the suburb called Dumas Street.
McKellar features the McKellar Oval in the centre and has panoramic prospect from Mount Ainslie to Black Mountain and Mount Majura. There is also the McKellar Pre-School, shopping centre (with a Chinese takeaway, hair salon and chiropractor), and a small football stadium and club in the north east "North Belconnen Soccer Club".
McKellar is serviced by the ACTION bus network along Dumas Street and William Webb Drive. Route 12 travels along Dumas Street to Belconnen Interchange; route 312 also travels along Dumas Street to Belconnen Interchange but also services City, Woden and Tuggeranong Interchanges; route 52 travels along William Webb Drive to Belconnen Interchange. On weekends, McKellar is serviced by routes 902 (Dumas Street) and 956 (William Webb Drive) both travelling to Belconnen Interchange.
McKellar has its own Neighbourhood Watch,
Reynella is a metropolitan suburb of Adelaide, South Australia.
It is located 20km south of the Central Business District of Adelaide in the north of the City of Onkaparinga. It is bordered to the east by Main South Road, to the south by Sherriffs Road, and to the north by Field River.
Reynella was divided into three smaller suburbs: Reynella, Old Reynella (the historical centre of the district) and Reynella East.
Reynella is in the South Australian districts of Mawson and Mitchell.
Reynella Post Office opened on 5 September 1856. A Reynella South office opened in 1963 and closed in 1969.
Reynella is primary serviced by buses on the Adelaide Metro network.
It is serviced primarily by South Road, Sherrifs Road exits on the Southern Expressway and Young Street.
An unusual landmark in Reynella is what has become known colloquially as Junk Food Junction or Junk Food Corner. At a time when the fast food market was less saturated, the intersection of South Road, Adelaide and Sherrifs/Pimpala Road had all four major fast food outlets: McDonalds, Hungry Jacks, Pizza Hut and Kentucky Fried Chicken. Currently on this intersection there is McDonalds, KFC, Hungry Jacks, Fasta Pasta, Yiros
Vermont South is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 20 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Whitehorse. At the 2011 Census, Vermont South had a population of 11,416.
The eastern boundary of Vermont South is the Dandenong Creek, which flows from the Dandenong Ranges, through to Port Phillip. The suburb was mostly developed in the late 1970s and early 1980s, after developers bought the apple orchards in the area.
Prior to the first European settlers, the landscape was thickly timbered bushland, occupied by the Wurundjeri, Indigenous Australians of the Kulin nation, who spoke variations of the Woiwurrung language group. They were hunters and gatherers, camping near the creeks and gullies of the area now known as Bellbird Dell. The creek flowed from immediately north of the Dell, through it and on to join the Dandenong Creek.
The first settlers, who were woodcutters and charcoal burners, came in the 1850s before land sales. Selectors followed and they marked out, leased and improved allotments, which would enable them to gain freehold titles from the Crown. Temporary wattle and daub huts were erected and later substantial
Waratah is a north-western residential suburb of Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia, located 7 kilometres (4 mi) from Newcastle's central business district and bounded on the north by the Main North line. Waratah station was opened in 1858 and is served by CityRail's Hunter line.
Waratah was once a major Municipality in its own right, with an elected council and mayor, incorporated in 1871. Two notable mayors, both elected to the office three times each were John Scholey and auctioneer N.B.Creer, both of whom resided at North Waratah (now Mayfield, New South Wales). Scholey was instrumental in the establishment of the Waratah Bowling Club of which he was also Patron.
Originally Waratah had as its industrial base a large colliery bearing its name. The largest industry in Waratah today is the Commonwealth Steel Company, which abuts the railway.
The suburb contains a major acute hospital, the Calvary Mater, owned by the Roman Catholic Sisters of Mercy, who, until recently occupied all the most senior nursing positions. Nearby is an established major 150+ -bed independent Home of the Elderly, Maroba.
Pearce is a suburb in the Canberra, Australia district of Woden. The postcode is 2607. It was named after the longest-serving Senator and longest-serving Minister in Australia's federal history, Sir George Pearce.
It is next to the suburbs of Torrens, Mawson, Chifley and behind it is the Canberra nature park of Mount Taylor. It is bordered by Beasley St, Melrose and Athllon drives. Located in the suburb is Marist College, Melrose High School and Sacred Heart Primary School, and a neighbourhood oval.
Deakin Volcanics green-grey and purple rhyodacite is in the northern half and under Quaternary alluvium in the south. In the upper parts of the suburb are two patches of Deakin Volcanics green grey, purple and cream rhyolite. Further up Mount Taylor are Deakin Volcanics red-purple and green grey rhyodacite and porphyry.
Sturt is a suburb of Adelaide in the City of Marion local government area. It was named after the explorer Captain Charles Sturt.
Sturt is in the South Australian House of Assembly electoral district of Mitchell and the Australian House of Representatives Division of Boothby.
The first Sturt Post Office opened on 11 October 1849 and closed in 1969. A Darlington South office opened in 1953; it was renamed Sturt South in 1966 and Sturt in 1985.
Botany is a suburb in south-eastern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Botany is located 10 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the City of Botany Bay.
Botany sits on the northern shore of Botany Bay, east of Sydney Airport, adjacent to the suburbs of Mascot, Banksmeadow, Pagewood and Port Botany.
Botany Bay is where Captain James Cook first landed on 29 April 1770, when navigating his way around Australia on his ship, the Endeavour. The ship's English botanist Joseph Banks and Swedish assistant botanist Daniel Solander, spent several days on shore collecting vast numbers of specimens, that were previously unknown. Cook's journals first referred to the bay as Sting Rays' Harbour, then later Botanist Bay and finally both these names were crossed out and replaced with Botany Bay. The suburb name comes from the bay it stands on.
Botany was originally planned as an agricultural district, in the same way the surrounding suburbs were used for market gardens. However, it became an industrial area with fellmongers yards and slaughter works. In 1809, Mr E Redmond was one of the first to settle here and Simeon Lord (1771–1840) was an
Roseville is a suburb on the Upper North Shore of Sydney in the state of New South Wales, Australia 12 kilometres (7.5 mi) north-west of the Sydney central business district. It is within the local government areas of Ku-ring-gai and Willoughby. Roseville Chase is a separate suburb to the east.
William Henry was one of Ku-ring-gai's first European settlers, who used the area for farming. There were a few fruit orchards and market gardens in the area. Other significant settlers were David Mathew, who owned a property called Clanville, and Richard Archbold, who was granted an area of 600 acres (2.4 km) adjacent to Clanville. Archbold later acquired Clanville and set up an orchard on the property. Archbold's son-in-law had a stone cottage called Rose Villa, which was later demolished to make way for the North Shore railway line. Roseville eventually derived its name from Rose Villa.
Roseville Post Office opened on 8 July 1901. Roseville East Post Office opened on 1 December 1937.
Babbage Road was named for Eden Herschel Babbage (a grandson of Charles Babbage), a retired banker who lived in "Rawhiti" on Clanville Road. Dubbed the "Father of Roseville", he was largely responsible for
Bundeena is a village on the outskirts of southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Bundeena is located 29 km south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the local government area of the Sutherland Shire.
Bundeena is adjacent to the village of Maianbar and lies on the southern side of Port Hacking, opposite the suburbs of Cronulla and Burraneer. The village is surrounded by the Royal National Park.
The beaches at Bundeena are Jibbon Beach, Bonnie Vale Beach, Gunyah Beach and Horderns Beach. Cabbage Tree Creek and 'The Basin' separate Bundeena from the smaller village of Maianbar. A bush track and footbridge link the two villages. Bonnie Vale is also one of the few camp grounds within the Royal National Park.
Bundeena may be accessed by passenger ferry from Cronulla or by road through the Royal National Park from Sutherland or Waterfall. Cronulla and National Park Ferry Cruises provides regular ferry services between Cronulla and Bundeena. The wharf at Cronulla is located on Gunnamatta Bay, near Cronulla railway station. Ferry trips vary from 20mins to 30mins depending on the weather. Many people from Bundeena drive to the railway station at
Camperdown is an inner-city suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Camperdown is located 4 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district and is part of the Inner West region. Camperdown lies across the local government areas of the City of Sydney and Marrickville Council.
Camperdown is a heavily-populated suburb, home to the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, the University of Sydney and the historic Camperdown Cemetery. It was also once home to the Royal Alexandra Hospital for Children, which was relocated to be next to Westmead Hospital in Sydney's west. The hospital buildings and grounds have been redeveloped into apartment complexes.
Camperdown takes its name from the Battle of Camperdown (or Camperduin in Dutch). It was named by Governor William Bligh who received a grant of 240 acres (1 km²) of land covering present day Camperdown and parts of Newtown. The land passed to Bligh's son-in-law Maurice O'Connell, commander of the 73rd Regiment, later Sir Maurice, when Bligh returned to England. Camperdown was established as a residential and farming area in the early 19th century.
In 1827, a racecourse was opened on land where the Royal Prince
Carlton is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Carlton is located 15 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the St George area. Carlton lies across the boundary of two local government areas, the Municipality of Kogarah and the City of Rockdale.
The area was originally heavily timbered. Carlton was part of a grant of 1,950 acres (7.9 km) made to Captain John Townson in 1808. The grant extended from King Georges Road and Stoney Creek Road to beyond Kogarah railway station. When the railway line to Hurstville was opened in 1884, large estates were subdivided and residents began moving in. However, there was no platform at Carlton until 1889. Landholders were given a block of land free if they contributed 400 pounds to finance the construction of the platform and station buildings. They were also guaranteed a first class ticket to Sydney for one year.
Carlton’s main shopping centre is located on both sides of Carlton railway station, on Railway Parade and Carlton Parade. Commercial developments are also found along the Princes Highway. Carlton railway station is on the Illawarra line of the City Rail network.
Penshurst is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 17 km south of the Sydney central business district. It is part of the St George area. Penshurst lies across the local government areas of the City of Hurstville and Municipality of Kogarah.
Penshurst features low to medium density housing. It has a predominantly older population however it is increasingly being populated by a new generation of migrant families who are attracted by its proximity to Hurstville.
Penshurst was named after Penshurst, Kent, England. Originally part of the land grant to Robert Townson (1763-1827), the land was acquired in 1830 by John Connell, who left it to his grandsons J.C. and E.P. Laycock. Connell's Bush was subdivided by the Laycocks and the western part sold to Thomas Mort. The railway station opened 17 May 1890. A large portion of Penshurst located south of the railway line is referred to as the MacRae's Estate, as it was once owned by the MacRae family. This particular area is now between Laycock Road and Grove Avenue, and Hillcrest and Railway Parade. The original homestead is still present on Laycock Road, along with a caretakers house for the stables. McRaes
"Templestowe" redirects here. For the Victorian Legislative Council Province, please see Templestowe Province.
Templestowe is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 17 km north-east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Manningham. At the 2011 Census, Templestowe had a population of 16,484.
The suburb has a number of natural attractions, including ample parklands, contrasted with large, modern shopping malls.
Templestowe is located in the north-eastern area of Melbourne. Templestowe is bordered by the Yarra River, King Street, Victoria Street, Blackburn Road and some parks.
Gentle, rolling hills extend from east of the Yarra River flood plains, along Templestowe Road (towards the Eastern Freeway) for seven km (4.3 miles), to the north-east. The altitude of the plain above sea level is 50 m, and the topography is subdued and mostly flat; the hills are just below 60 m, the slopes rounded and there are several forrested gullies.
Since the Southern Ocean sea-level stabilised 3000 years ago, the rivers of the Port Phillip Sunkland ceased eroding their channels and have been depositing an alluvium of silt, clay and sand in the lower
Woollahra is a suburb in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Woollahra is located 5 kilometres east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the Municipality of Woollahra. The Municipality of Woollahra takes its name from the suburb but its administrative centre is located in Double Bay. Woollahra is famous for its quiet, tree-lined residential streets and village-style shopping centre.
Woollahra is an Aboriginal word meaning camp or meeting ground or a sitting down place. It was adopted by Daniel Cooper (1821–1902), the first speaker of the legislative assembly of New South Wales, when he laid the foundations of Woollahra House in 1856. It was built on the site of the old Henrietta Villa (or Point Piper House). Cooper and his descendants were responsible for the establishment and progress of the suburb and its name was taken from the house.
Woollahra was the home of John McGarvie Smith, a metallurgist and biochemist who produced the first preservable anthrax vaccine.
Among the cafes and restaurants are a number of antique shops and art galleries. The suburb is also the location of many government consulates,
Fisher is a suburb of Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia located in the district of Weston Creek. Fisher was named after Andrew Fisher (1862–1928), coal miner, founding member of the federal parliamentary Labor Party and Prime Minister of Australia for three terms between 1908 and 1915 (ACTLIC, 2004). The theme for the street names in Fisher is Australian mines and mining towns (ACTPLA, 2003).
Laidlaw Volcanics pale to dark grey dacitic tuff is found though most of Fisher except north slice of the suburb which is Deakin Volcanics red-purple and green grey rhyodacite with spherulitic texture.
Middle Cove is a suburb on the Lower North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 7 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Willoughby.
Middle Cove is bounded to the north, east and south by Middle Harbour and to the west by Eastern Valley Way. Middle Cove shares its postcode, 2068, with the surrounding suburbs of Castlecrag and Willoughby North.
Middle Cove takes its name from its location between two coves, Castle Cove and Crag Cove. The suburb was undeveloped bushland until 1957 when Dick Dusseldorp bought most of the land from the NSW government and subdivided Middle Cove as we know it today. Dusseldorp was the founder and the largest share holder of Lend Lease, GPT and MLC. The Dusseldorp's lived in Middle Cove until the patriarch death in 2003. In 2004 the Dusseldorp's property was sold for a record $4.5 million dollars.
Before European settlement, this area was populated by the Aboriginal tribe Cammeraygal, which lends its name to the nearby suburb of Cammeray. Governor Phillip in a dispatch of 1790 reported: "...About the north-west part of this harbour there is a tribe which is mentioned as
Woden Town Centre is the main commercial centre of the district of Woden Valley in Canberra, Australia. It is located in the Canberra suburb of Phillip.
The main shopping centre of Woden Town Centre is Westfield Woden, formerly called 'Woden Plaza' and 'Woden Shopping Square'. Westfield Woden includes major supermarkets (Woolworths and Coles), department stores such as Harvey Norman, David Jones and Big W, Hoyts cinemas and many other stores on several levels. Separate buildings house multi-storey car parks.
The Woden Town Centre also contains a police station, public library, post office and health centre. Woden Bus Interchange is located in the Town Centre between Bradley and Bowes Streets.
The tallest commercial building in Canberra, the 22 story (90m high) Lovett Tower is located on Keltie Street. The Woden Town Park is located across Callam street, although infrequently used because of its location away from the major shopping areas. A number of other buildings are located in Woden mainly housing government offices including Scarborough House (14 stories and the second tallest office building in Canberra), Juliana House, Bonner House and the Alexander and Albemarle Buildings.
Avalon is a northern beachside suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Avalon is located 35 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Pittwater Council, in the Northern Beaches region.
Avalon was named after the mythical Avalon, a legendary island in Celtic languages mythology. According to legends, Avalon was an earthly paradise and the final resting place of King Arthur.
The first land grant in the area was 60 acres (240,000 m) to John Farrell in 1827. A 400-acre (1.6 km) land grant was made to Father John Joseph Therry in 1833, who fought hard for the recognition of the Catholic Church in the colony. He built a church in this area but his plans for a settlement never eventuated. In the 1920s, the area was still known as 'Priest's Flat'. Arthur J Small handled a subdivision in 1921 and chose the name Avalon.
Avalon features RSL, bowling and sailing clubs; a supermarket, shops, cafes and a cinema.
Avalon Beach is a surfing beach and has a 25 metre salt water rock pool at the south end. Avalon Beach Surf Life Saving Club members patrol Avalon Beach. Several former surfing world champions are also past or current
Glenfield Park, or simply 'Glenfield' is a rapidly growing southern suburb of Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia reaching its final stages of development. Glenfield Park's strong residential development is due to its situation so close to the outskirts of the city and availability of relatively flat, cheap land. The suburb is home to the city's first Aldi supermarket and a large shopping centre known as South City Shopping Centre that is home to Wagga's second Coles supermarket.
Streets in Glenfield Park are named after Aboriginal words.
Lalor Park is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Lalor Park is located 35 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Blacktown. Lalor Park is part of the Greater Western Sydney region. Lalor Park is commonly abbreviated as 'L.P'.
Lalor Park takes its name from the Lalor family, who owned property in the area. Two members of the family (George and Robert) were Councillors on (then) Blacktown Shire Council, George serving as Shire President on two occasions, 1921-1923 and 1928.
Originally farmland the area was originally known as Seven Hills West and began being developed by the housing commission in 1959 when it became known as Lalor Park.
Although the suburb is primarily residential there is a significant retail shopping precinct with about thirty shops including a newsagents, pharmacy and a small supermarket located at the junction of Northcott Road and Freeman Street.
Lalor Park is the location of a number of educational institutions including:
Lalor Park Kookaburras Rugby League Club was established in 1959.They compete in the Parramatta Junior Rugby League. The club's colours are blue,brown
Leura is a suburb in the City of Blue Mountains Local Government Area 109 km west of Sydney in New South Wales, Australia. It is one of the series of small towns stretched along the Blue Mountains railway line and Great Western Highway that bisects the Blue Mountains National Park. It is 100 km by road from Sydney and the train journey takes a little under 2 hours. Leura is adjacent to Katoomba, the largest centre in the upper mountains, and the two towns merge along Leura's western edge.
The name Leura comes from the Aboriginal word meaning "lava".
Leura's elevation of 985 metres above sea level leads to occasional snowfall in winter and a climate that reflects all four seasons distinctly. At the 2006 census, Leura had a population of 4,385 people.
The village centre lies on Leura Mall which is divided at this point by a wide median planted with flowering cherry trees. The historic streetscape has been largely preserved, although there has been local concern regarding the development of a shopping complex on the site of a former distribution warehouse. Redesigned to better suit the Leura Mall ambience after consultations with the wider community, the new shopping complex is now
Bankstown is a suburb of south-western Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Bankstown is located 20 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district and is the administrative centre of the local government area of the City of Bankstown.
Prior to European settlement, Cumberland Plains Woodland occupied much of the area. Turpentine ironbark forest covered much of what is now Bankstown. The land was occupied by the Bediagal people. Their land bordered the Dharawal and the Darung people. The Aboriginal inhabitants strongly opposed the European settlers. The resistance ceased after a number of their leaders were killed or imprisoned in 1816. In that year an epidemic broke out amongst the native people which reduced the Aboriginal populations, this also contributed to the end of their resistance.
In 1795, Matthew Flinders and George Bass explored up the Georges River for about 20 miles beyond what had been previously surveyed, and reported favourably to Governor Hunter of the land on its banks. Hunter examined the country himself, and established one of the pioneer colonies there, called Bank's Town, today written as one word Bankstown.
Hunter named it in
Highgate Hill is a suburb of inner Brisbane, Australia 2 km south of the Brisbane CBD on the Brisbane River. The topography of the suburb is undulating hills no more than 70 metres (230 ft) above sea level.
Highgate Hill is a high-density suburb with many apartment buildings, some more than 10 storeys. These apartment blocks are centered along the main road of Dornoch Terrace, a trend that was started in 1960 by the landmark Torbreck building. Proximity to and views of the Brisbane central business district have drawn residents to the area.
On the eastern side of the suburb Gloucester Street railway station once provided better rail access. The station was removed in 1978, with little indication of its existence remaining.
The following prominent people have an association with Highgate Hill:
Bardwell Park is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Bardwell Park is located 12 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the St George area. Bardwell Park is in the local government area of the City of Rockdale. The postcode is 2207. Bardwell Valley is a separate suburb, to the east.
Bardwell Park was named after free settler Thomas Hill Bardwell who owned land in the area. His grant was originally heavily timbered and bounded by Wolli Creek, Dowling Street and Wollongong Road. In 1881, the land was auctioned and 1,600 acres (6.5 km) were subdivided. The railway station opened on the 21st September 1931 which opened up the area for home sites. The school opened in September 1943 and the post office opened in May 1946.
Bardwell Park borders an extremely important piece of remnant bushland, the Wolli Creek Valley, beside Wolli Creek. There have been very active movements fighting for its preservation in the face of demands for land. The most successful of these prevented the building of the M5 South Western Motorway through the valley, resulting in the road being built as a tunnel under the valley. Nevertheless,
Brunswick East is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 6 km north from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Moreland. At the 2011 Census, Brunswick East had a population of 8,476.
Brunswick East lies 6 km north of Melbourne. Bordered generally by Lygon Street and Holmes Street in the west; the Merri Creek in the east adjoining Northcote; Park Street, Nicholson Street and Glenlyon Road in the south adjoining Carlton North and Fitzroy North; and Moreland Road in the north adjoining Coburg. Brunswick East is a mixed use suburb, consisting of primarily residential and commercial properties.
According to the 2006 Census just over 7,400 people were living in Brunswick East. The suburb has a higher proportion of people 18–34 years and a lower proportion of children 0–17 years and older people over 70 years, than the Moreland average. While cultural diversity is declining, just nearly one third of all citizens were born overseas which is substantially higher than the metropolitan average, although lower than the Moreland average. Almost 40 per cent of citizens speak a language other than English at home. Religious affiliation in Brunswick
Georges Heights is an urban locality in the suburb of Mosman, in Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Georges Heights is located in the local government area of the Municipality of Mosman and is part of the Lower North Shore.
Georges Heights was named after King George III, who reigned from 1760 to 1820, which was during the time that the First Fleet left Portsmouth, England in 1788 and arrived in what is now Sydney Harbour.
The Georges Head Battery located in Georges Heights was constructed in 1871. A naval depot stands on the eastern side of Chowder Bay.
Lindfield is a suburb on the Upper North Shore of Sydney in the state of New South Wales, Australia 13 kilometres north-west of the Sydney Central Business District in the local government area of Ku-ring-gai Council.
This suburb of 7.21 square kilometres contains residential housing of California bungalow and federation style, in double brick and tile construction. Australian native bushland in Garigal National Park and Lane Cove National Park borders the suburb.
Lindfield means "lime tree field" and the area was settled by Europeans in the 1850s. The name derives from the native town of an early landowner, Mr List, who named his house after Lindfield, Sussex, England. When the railway line came through the area in 1890s, the name of the property was used to identify the station and neighbourhood.
Lindfield Post Office opened on 5 January 1895.
Lindfield railway station is on the North Shore Line of the Cityrail network and is about 30 minutes by train from the Sydney central business district. The Pacific Highway is the main arterial road through Lindfield. Lindfield has a small commercial area on both sides of Lindfield railway station on the Pacific Highway and Lindfield
Spencer is a suburb of the Central Coast region of New South Wales, Australia. It is located on the north bank of the Hawkesbury River just upstream of that rivers confluence with Mangrove Creek. Spencer is part of the City of Gosford local government area.
Spencer is bounded by the Hawkesbury River to the south and west and Mangrove Creek to the east. Despite the relatively short distance from the Sydney-Newcastle Freeway as the crow flies, a boat across Mangrove Creek significantly reduces the distance to be travelled.
Spencer is a township presumed to be named for the Parish in which it is situated. Originally this area was known as Fernleigh. The true name origin of Spencer is unclear, but it is believed to be named after George John Spencer, second Earl Spencer (1758-1834), who was first Lord of the admiralty in 1794, and who held this position until 1810. He was a mentor of Lord Nelson, and oversaw many of the Royal Navy's victories over the French.
The economy is rural based with farming and fishing as its main source of income. Tourism is a growing concern that is based around the history of the area and the beautiful scenery.
Tennyson is a suburb of Brisbane, Australia. It is 7 km south of the CBD on the Brisbane River. At the 2011 Australian census the suburb had a population of 859.
The area was originally named Softstone by James Strong, one of the original settlers, but by 1897 the name was changed to Tennyson. Tennyson is named after the British poet Alfred Tennyson.
The Queensland Tennis Centre is located in Tennyson. It is built on the site of the demolished Tennyson Power Station.
The Tennyson Railway Station provides access to very limited Citytrain services.
Barton (postcode: 2600) is a suburb of Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia. Barton is named after Sir Edmund Barton, Australia's first Prime Minister. Streets in Barton are named after Governors.
On Census night 2006, Barton had a population of 940 people. Barton is the most Socio-Economic advantaged location in Australia.
Barton is adjacent to Capital Hill. It contains the Department of The Prime Minister and Cabinet, Attorney-General's Department, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and several other Commonwealth government departments.
On Kings Avenue is the controversial Edmund Barton Building, which was made a heritage listed building in 2005, but its modernist design has often been criticised.
The boundary of Barton runs along Telopea Park East in the south east. On the east side it surrounds the East Basin of Lake Burley Griffin. In the north east the boundary is Morshead Drive. The boundary continues along Kings Avenue all the way to State Circle. State Circle forms the boundary with Capital Hill to the west. The boundary then extends along the centre of Sydney Avenue, and finally along New South Wales Crescent back to Telopea Park.
Barton mainly contains
Jacka is a designated suburb of Gungahlin, Canberra, the National Capital of Australia. The suburb was gazetted in April 1991 though an official announcement is yet to be made about the first land release. The suburb is named after Albert Jacka, the first Australian to be decorated with the Victoria Cross during the First World War, receiving the medal for his actions during the Gallipoli Campaign. Jacka is located in north Gungahlin adjacent to the existing suburb of Amaroo and the future suburbs of Taylor, Bonner and Moncrieff. The suburb is located approximately 4 km from the Gungahlin Town Centre and 16 km from the centre of Canberra.
The suburb when finished is expected to accommodate approximately 1500 blocks and contain a variety in housing types including:
An important feature within the suburb is the Horse Park Wetlands located in the southern central part of the central valley. The Wetlands along with the ‘Horse Park Homestead Complex, Sedgeland and Surrounds’ are now listed on the Register of the National Estate. The Wetland is an important habitat for Latham’s Snipe Gallinargo hardwickii, a small bird that migrates annually from South East Australia to north half a
Kingston is the oldest and most densely populated suburb of Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia. The suburb is named after Charles Cameron Kingston, the former Premier of South Australia and minister in the first Australian Commonwealth Government. It is adjacent to the suburbs of Barton, Fyshwick, Griffith and Manuka. The suburb of Kingston is situated about 4 km from the centre of Canberra.
In the early years of Canberra's development, Eastlake occupied the area now known as Kingston. Eastlake Football and Cricket club is one of the few reminders of Kingston long past. Eastlake was designated as a workers living quarters while the suburb of Forrest was reserved for middle and higher ranking public servants. About 120 portable wooden cottages for construction workers were built at the Causeway in 1925 and 1926. Canberra's first hall for community gatherings and entertainment was at the Causeway where the recreation hall was completed in 1926 with voluntary labour using materials provided by the Federal Capital Commission. After the second world war, housing at the Causeway and Westlake was considered sub-standard. Although all of the original Westlake cottage have
Sylvania Heights is a locality in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Sylvania Heights is located in the north-western part of the suburb of Sylvania.
The main road through the locality is Princes Highway which is lined with shops, including Sylvania Heights Plaza.
Chigwell is a suburb in the 'northern suburbs' area of Hobart, the capital city of Tasmania, Australia. The suburb is situated between the suburbs of Berriedale, Claremont and Glenlusk. The suburb shares its border with Berriedale along the Brooker Highway and the streets north of Berriedale Rd. Until the late 1990s, the suburb boundary was closer to the main road.
The area was originally made up of public housing, however much of the public housing stock has now been sold to private owners. The suburb is considered both a lower and middle class socio-economic area, typical of many of the suburbs within Glenorchy City Council
Named after frank chigwell Frank is so not cool full of bogans stay away
Safety Bay is an outer southern suburb of Perth, the capital city of Western Australia, located on the coast within the City of Rockingham.
Safety Bay was originally a small cove on the north shore of Warnbro Sound, now encompassed by Safety Bay Road, Berry Street and Janet Road. It had been noted by surveyor-general John Septimus Roe in 1837 as "a safe, well protected boat anchorage" and he gave it the appropriate name of Safety Bay.
In the mid-1830s, Thomas Peel became interested in Safety Bay as a potential harbour to establish a base for whaling operations as well as a point from which inland stands of jarrah could be exported. After initial approval by Governor Stirling and Surveyor-General J. S. Roe for the founding of ‘Liverpool’—as Peel’s port-town was to be known—in 1842 a town site was marked out and planned by surveyor Thomas Watson. Peel’s venture did not go ahead at this time, however.
Roe recorded depths of 7 fathoms (12.8m) in what was later named "Peel Harbour". In 1846, Roe undertook a more detailed investigation of the potential of Safety Bay as the site for a port. The Harbour, however, had silted up to such an extent that it was no longer suitable for shipping
Terrey Hills is a suburb of northern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 25 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of Warringah Council. It is part of the Northern Beaches region.
Terrey Hills is also considered to be part of the Forest District, colloquially known as The Forest. Terrey Hills is a very leafy suburb and in some areas semi-rural, with many people boarding their horses in the area.
Terrey Hills owes its name to the two original land holders Samuel Hills and Obediah James Terrey. Obediah Terrey acquired 640 acres (2.6 km) in 1881 and Samuel Hills owned 100 acres (0.40 km) nearby.
The area was naturally used by Aborigines prior to European settlement, and rock carvings exist in some places. One set of carvings is located near Larool Road and depicts hunting scenes with kangaroos, human figures and footprints.
Terrey Hills Post Office opened on 17 June 1935.
The shopping centre includes an IGA supermarket, a Post Office, specialty shops and a number of restaurants and landscaping and plant suppliers.
Warringah Council has its Volunteer Services Centre located in Thompson Drive. Terrey Hills is home to the
Wattleup is a southern suburb of Perth, Western Australia, located within the City of Cockburn. As of 2001, it has been part of the Hope Valley-Wattleup development program, which has meant the demolition of most of the houses in the area for future industry. Wattleup had many market gardens in the past. They provided agricultural produce for the town of Fremantle.
Airds is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Airds is located 56 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Campbelltown and is part of the Macarthur region.
Airds is a predominantly residential area and the majority of houses within the suburb are owned by the New South Wales Department of Housing.
Governor Lachlan Macquarie named the region Airds, after the Scottish family estate of his wife Elizabeth Campbell.
Airds appeared in land grant lists, and referred to almost the entire area between Glenfield and Gilead. The name fell into disuse as Campbelltown and other settlements along the valley floor came to be known by their individual names after the 1820s.
In January 1975, tenders for the first homes in the Housing Commission's 'Kentlyn' subdivision were called but the name Airds was not approved until May 1976. Like many public housing estates in Sydney, Airds was constructed on American Radburn principles designed to separate traffic from pedestrians. As a result, houses in the suburb did not face roads, which was later found to create enormous problems relating to crime and passive
Bomen is a northern suburb of Wagga Wagga in southern New South Wales, Australia. The suburb is dominated by industrial enterprises including Cargill Beef, Watties, the Wagga Wagga Livestock Marketing Centre (saleyards). The suburb is also home to Wagga Wagga's secondary (and original) railway station on the Great Southern Line, when the line waited for the construction of a bridge over the Murrumbidgee River. New streets in Bomen are to be named after sheep and cattle breeds.
Major industries located within Bomen are located within the Bomen Business Park which include Cargill Foods Australia, Heinz-Watties factory, BOC Gas plant and Austrak concrete sleeper plant.
Chapel Hill is a suburb of Brisbane, Australia which is located 7 km south-west of the Brisbane CBD. It is primarily a residential suburb, consisting of mostly detached housing. There has been a trend towards townhouse and small lot developments during the last decade. Chapel Hill is currently undergoing a 'major suburban renovation', with many of the original houses (built in the 1970s to 1990s) being demolished or renovated to make way for newer houses, or lot divisions. Currently, there are no apartment buildings in Chapel Hill. Chapel Hill has a large amount of bushland in and around the suburb including Mount Coot-tha.
By road, Moggill Road is the major road through Chapel Hill connecting it to the suburbs of Indooroopilly to the east, and Kenmore to the west. The Western Freeway allows quick access to the suburb from around Brisbane. There are also the four bus routes, the 425, the 426, the 427 and the 428 that lead through a major part of Chapel Hill; with the 425 goes into Indooroopilly shopping centre and Toowong Village, continuing into the Brisbane CBD. The 426 is an express bus that only goes through Chapel Hill, and then goes straight to the CBD via the Western Freeway
Frenchs Forest is a suburb of northern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Frenchs Forest is 13 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of Warringah Council. Frenchs Forest is part of the Northern Beaches region and also considered to be part of the Forest District, colloquially known as The Forest.
Prior to the arrival of the First Fleet in Port Jackson in 1788, the area of land we now know as Frenchs Forest, and surrounding Warringah areas, was the home of the Guringai (Ku-ring-gai) language group of the Garigal Aboriginal clan. Evidence of their habitation remains today in the form of rock engravings, rock art, open campsites, rock shelters, scarred trees and middens. The word Warringah has many interpretations including "sign of rain", "across the waves" and "sea".
European exploration into Warringah began within the first weeks of settlement at Sydney Cove in 1788. Governor Phillip made a number of journeys throughout the area, detailing the landscape, flora and fauna, as well as observing Aboriginal lifestyle and culture. Although Beacon Hill advertises the "Arthur Phillip lookout" at its peak, it is believed by
Glendenning is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Glendenning is located 44 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Blacktown and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Glendenning was officially declared a suburb in 1987. It is named after William Glendenning a Plumpton butcher who, in the early 1900s, had a slaughteryard in Lamb Street in what is now Glendenning.
The Free Wesleyan Church of Tonga on the corner of Glendenning Road and Lamb Street was officially opened in October 2008 by George Tupou V, the King of Tonga.
Glendenning had 4,820 residents in the 2006 census conducted by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. The area could be characterised as classic mortgage belt with 62% of homes being purchased, almost double the national average. The median housing loan repayments of $1733 per month were higher than average but so too was the average household income of $1250 per week. The number of couples with children (66%) was well above average and the average age of the suburb (28) was well below average. Most residents were Australian citizens (86%) but a substantial number of
Warrandyte is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 24 km north-east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Manningham. At the 2006 Census, Warrandyte had a population of 7393.
Warrandyte is bounded in the west by Mullum Creek and Target Road, in the north by the Yarra River, in the east by Jumping Creek and Anzac Road, and in the south by an irregular line from Reynolds Road north of Donvale, Park Orchards and Warrandyte South.
Warrandyte was founded as a Victorian town located in the once gold-rich rolling hills east of Melbourne, Victoria, and is now on the north-eastern boundary of suburban Melbourne. Gold was first discovered in the town in 1851 and together with towns like Bendigo, Victoria and Ballarat, Victoria, led the way in gold discoveries during the Victorian gold rush. Today Warrandyte retains much of its past in its surviving buildings of the Colonial period and remains a twin community with North Warrandyte which borders the Yarra River to its north.
In Australian Aboriginal mythology (see dreamtime), a Wurundjeri dreamtime story tells of a great eagle; "the all powerful, ever watchful creator of the world" named
Black Rock is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 18 km south-east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Bayside. At the 2006 Census, Black Rock had a population of 5796.
The suburb was named after Black Rock House, a grand residence built by Charles Ebden in 1856, who had taken the name from Black Rock, Dublin. Ebden was an early Port Phillip pastoralist as well as being a businessman and parliamentarian representing the seat of Brighton in the Victorian Parliament. Black Rock House is on the Register of the National Estate.
The northern part of the suburb between Beach Road and Bluff Road was one of the early estates in the parish of Moorabbin developed by Josiah Holloway in the 1850s. Named Bluff Town, sales were slower than in other areas and the suburb grew slowly.
One of the notable characteristics of the Black Rock shoreline is Red Bluff. The bluff's name comes from the oxidised iron in the cliffs which gives off a burnt orange colour. Either side of Red Bluff are many popular beaches and seaside destinations, including Half Moon Bay. Half Moon Bay had been setting for yachting since the 1890s, and a branch of the
Kensington is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 4 km north-west from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Melbourne. At the 2011 Census, Kensington had a population of 9,719.
Kensington was once home to one of Victoria's major abbatoirs and livestock saleyards, as well as an army ordnance depot and has a strong working-class history. The stock yards ceased operation in 1984. These areas have experienced significant urban renewal since the 1970s and while it retains some industrial sections, Kensington is now a primarily residential suburb in nature.
Kensington was named after Kensington in London.
Sections of Kensington include reclaimed swamp land and was home to local aboriginal peoples.
The commercial and social heart of Kensington is the Macaulay Road shopping strip, which turns the corner into Bellair Street, opposite Kensington railway station. This short but lively strip has a number of cafes, restaurants and pubs, as well as local supermarkets, newsagents, real estate agents, a post office, several gift shops including a children's boutique, the Macaulay credit co-operative as well as medical services. The stretch of
Mount Clarence is an inner suburb of Albany, Western Australia, between the Albany city centre and Middleton Beach. Its Local Government Area is the City of Albany, and over three-quarters of its land area is either parkland or forest, including Albany's Heritage Park. Mount Clarence was gazetted as a suburb in 1979.
Mount Clarence is bounded by Middleton Road to the north, Marine Drive to the east and south and the eastern boundary of Albany's town centre to the west. Most of the suburb's population of 758 persons is concentrated in the north and northwest of the suburb near Middleton Road.
The Desert Mounted Corps Memorial stands near the summit of Mount Clarence. The memorial is a 9-metre bronze statue of an Australian mounted soldier assisting a New Zealand soldier whose horse has been wounded. The memorial was originally erected at Port Said, Egypt. In 1916, Brigadier General J.R. Royston, commander of the 3rd Australian Light Horse Brigade, suggested that a memorial be erected at Port Said in honour of Australian and New Zealand mounted soldiers killed in the Sinai and Palestine Campaign. The memorial was funded by the Australian Government, the New Zealand Government and
Rosehill is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Rosehill is located 23 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Parramatta and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Rosehill contains a mixture of residential, commercial, industrial and recreational land.
In the early days of the colony, the hill behind old Government House had been named ‘Rose Hill’ by Governor Arthur Phillip, before the suburb had been named Parramatta. Nearly a hundred years later in 1883, 850 acres (3.4 km) of John Macarthur’s Elizabeth Farm were subdivided for industrial purposes. Part of the estate was set aside for a recreation area, which became Rosehill Racecourse.
A public school opened here in 1886 and the railway station opened in 1888 on the Carlingford line, which was a private railway line until it was taken over by the state government in 1904.
Clovelly is a small beach-side suburb in Sydney's eastern suburbs, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Clovelly is located 8 kilometres south-east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Randwick, within the Federal Division of Wentworth.
Clovelly is a mainly residential suburb on Clovelly Bay. Clovelly Beach is a small beach that sits on the end of the narrow bay. The bay is popular with swimmers. The bay is home to one of the first surf lifesaving clubs in the world, Clovelly Surf Life Saving Club, which was founded in 1906. Clovelly is surrounded by the suburbs of Bronte in the north, Randwick in the west and Coogee in the south.
Originally known as Little Coogee, the name was changed to Clovelly in 1913. When the search for a new name began, Eastbourne, an English seaside town was suggested. The president of the local progress association suggested Clovelly, the name of a local estate owned by Sir John Robertson, which was named for the village of Clovelly on the north Devon coast, England.
William C. Greville bought 20 acres (81,000 m), which included the whole bay frontage, for 40 pounds in 1834. Early Clovelly houses were
Hornsby Heights is a suburb of northern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Hornsby Heights is located 27 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Hornsby Shire and is part of the North Shore region.
Hornsby Heights lies to the north of Hornsby. The suburb's northern boundary and western boundary are defined by Berowra Creek, as far south as Galston Road. South of Galston Road, the western boundary, falls generally west of Berowra Creek. Walls Gully forms the eastern boundary. The southern boundary of Hornsby Heights is north of the Hookhams Corner locality. The following localities are in Hornsby Heights: Black Ash, Outlook, Galston Gorge, Montview, Somerville, Rofe Park.
The name Hornsby is derived from Convict-turned-Constable Samuel Henry Horne, who took part in the apprehension of bushrangers Dalton and MacNamara on June 22, 1830. In return he was granted land which he named Hornsby Place.
Hornsby Heights is dominated by parks. The suburb is encircled by the Berowra Valley Regional Park. Parks within Hornsby Heights are Rofe Park and Montview Oval. Rofe Park is located on Galston Road and has a leash-free
Banks is a suburb in the Canberra, Australia district of Tuggeranong. It is the most southerly suburb of Canberra. The suburb is named after Sir Joseph Banks (1743–1820), the botanist who accompanied Captain James Cook to the Pacific Ocean on which he entered Botany Bay in 1770. The suburb was gazetted on 12 March 1987. The theme of the street names is botany or natural history.
Banks is located next to the suburbs of Conder and Gordon. It is bounded by Box Hill Avenue, Tom Roberts Avenue and Tharwa Drive. Located in the suburb is Beau and Jessi Park and the Banks Oval.
The Rob Roy Nature Park is a hilly region to the east of Banks. The suburb itself slopes gently to the west north west.
There is a small shopping centre in the suburb, on the main internal road, Pockett Avenue.
Alluvium covers the whole suburb. Underneath the alluvium and on the surrounding hills are Deakin Volcanics erupted during the Silurian age at 414 Mya.
Bibra Lake is a suburb of Perth, Western Australia, which takes its name from the extensive lake within its boundaries. It is located within the City of Cockburn and its postcode is 6163.
The existence of the lake was first reported by A.C. Gregory during a survey of George Robb's land in May 1842. Gregory recorded the Aboriginal name of the lake as Walubup. During the following year, Benedict von Bibra, surveying his own selection on the southern shores of the lake, recorded the name as Walliabup and the latter version was used exclusively on maps for more than half a century.
In the summer of 1843, Benedict von Bibra (son of Franz Ludwig von Bibra) bought land at the edge of a wide depression to use as a camping place in order to shorten the trip between his two carpentry businesses in Perth and Fremantle. He apparently assessed from the stringyback trees, that the basin would become a lake in winter of a depth of seven to eight feet. He proved correct.
In 1877, it was found the von Bibra's association with Lake Walliabup was apparently still recalled by locals who referred to the feature as Bibra's Lake. This alternative name was added to plans and eventually in 1967, adopted in
Edensor Park is a suburb of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Edensor Park is located 38 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Fairfield. It is mainly a residential area, which mainly consists of the middle social class. Edensor Park is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
John Brown Bossley (1810-1872) came to Australia around 1838 and practised as a chemist in Sydney. Bossley built an English styled farmhouse on his land near Clear Paddock Creek. He called the property Edensor, after a village near Chatsworth in Derbyshire, England. This established the name Edensor Park after Edensor House. Edensor Park and its surrounding suburbs was a rural area until the 1970s, when it was developed into a residential settlement. Edensor Park belonged to the Prospect County Council, before its amalgamation into Fairfield City Council.
Edensor Park is a mainly residential suburb served by a local shopping centre, Edensor Park Plaza.
Edensor Park is served by two primary schools Edensor Park Public School and Governor Philip King Public School and three high schools outside the suburb.
Edensor Park has a number of recreation
Gordon is a suburb in the Canberra, Australia district of Tuggeranong. The postcode is 2906. The suburb is named after the poet Adam Lindsay Gordon (1833–1870). It was gazetted on 12 March 1987. Streets are named after sportspersons, an example is Woodfull Loop, named after the captain of the Australian cricket team during the Bodyline test series.
It is next to the suburbs of Bonython, Conder and Banks. It is located on the west side of Tharwa Drive. Located in the suburb is the Point Hut Pond, with the Point Hut district park. Gordon has a primary school and neighbourhood oval.
Quaternary alluvium is found in south and center of Gordon. Deakin Volcanics rhyodacitic crystal tuff from the Silurian age is on the surface in the north of the suburb.
Greenwith is an outer-north-eastern suburb of Adelaide, the capital city of South Australia, and is within the City of Tea Tree Gully local government area. It is adjacent to Golden Grove and Salisbury Heights. Greenwith is the northernmost part of the Golden Grove urban land development.
Greenwith was named by Thomas Roberts in 1846, who had been engaged by the South Australian Mining Association to open up mineral sections along the River Torrens. He named his property Greenwith Farm after the mine at which he worked near Truro, Cornwall. The property was later owned by John Garfield Tilley. Greenwith Cottage is still open today as a historical site.
In 1973 the South Australian Land Commission started to acquire land in the Golden Grove area for housing. In 1983 the South Australian Urban Land Trust contracted Delfin to develop the land. Construction started in 1985.
The boundary of Greenwith is defined by Slate and Cobbler Creeks in the south, Green Valley Drive in the west, Golden Grove and Para Roads in the east, and the Little Para River catchment area in the north. From Greenwith there is easy access to the Adelaide Hills and Barossa Valley wine region via One Tree Hill or
Heckenberg is a suburb in south-western Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 36 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Liverpool.
Heckenberg was named after a pioneering family who settled in the area before 1840. Casper Theodore Heckenberg was born in Plymouth England in 1810 to parents Harriet and Henry, who later moved to Hull. Casper was a master mariner and operated ships between Sydney and Port Stevens in the logging trade. The family bought land in the Liverpool area and some of the Heckenberg sons became well known woodchoppers. James William Heckenberg was the Australasian Woodchopping Champion at the turn of the century. There were eight brothers and one sister in the Heckenberg family. Heckenberg was part of the Green Valley housing estate, which was subdivided in 1960.
Heckenberg Post Office opened on 1 July 1965 and closed in 1986.
According to the 2006 census, Heckenberg had a population of 2870 whose average age of 30 was substantially younger than the national average of 37. It is a low-income area with the median household income ($692 per week) significantly lower than the national
McMahons Point is a harbourside suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. McMahons Point is located 3 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of North Sydney Council. McMahons Point sits on the peninsula flanked by Berrys Bay to the west and Lavender Bay to the east. The lower tip of the peninsula is known as Blues Point, which offers expansive views of Port Jackson (Sydney Harbour). The postcode is 2060.
Once predominantly working-class, it is now among Sydney's most exclusive localities. McMahons Point is primarily a medium-to-high-density residential area and is bordered by the surrounding suburbs of Waverton, North Sydney and Lavender Bay. Real Estate north of Sydney Harbour in this collection of villages is set at a premium due to the areas low crime rate, cafes, restaurants, pubs, parks, accessibility to bus, train and ferry networks plus expansive views of the Sydney City CBD.
McMahons Point is named after Maurice McMahon, an Irish manufacturer of brushes and combs who, in 1864, built his home on the headland. He became mayor of the borough of Victoria (later North Sydney) in 1890.
Point Piper is a small, harbourside eastern suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia six kilometres east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area known as the Municipality of Woollahra.
Point Piper is generally regarded as the most exclusive residential suburb in Australia. Wolseley Road, Point Piper, is currently ranked the 9th most expensive street in the world, at $20,900 per square metre.
The suburb of Point Piper sits on Sydney Harbour, beside the suburbs of Rose Bay, Bellevue Hill and Double Bay. The streets in Point Piper are: Buckhurst Avenue, Longworth Avenue, New South Head Road, Redvers Street, Wolseley Road, Wolseley Crescent, Wingadal Place, Wentworth Place, Wentworth Street, Wunulla Road, Wyuna Road.
Point Piper was named after Captain John Piper (1773–1851). Piper was a Scottish-born military officer of Cornish parentage, who arrived in the colony in 1792 and built a neo-Palladian mansion on the point, on 190 acres (0.77 km) of land granted by the governor in 1816. After a review of Piper's performance as head of the Customs Department showed that he had mismanaged funds (although he was not actually accused of being
Roseville Chase is a suburb on the Upper North Shore of Sydney in the state of New South Wales, Australia 11 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government areas of Ku-ring-gai Council. Roseville is a separate suburb to the west.
Located on Middle Harbour at its uppermost reaches, Roseville Chase is a secluded and bushy suburb.There are two main geographical and socio-economic subdivisions in Roseville Chase. The Chase Lowlands are centred around lower confines of Babbage Road, while the Chase Heights are centred around eloquent Calga Street, offering commanding views down to the harbour and beyond. North of Warringah Road, the residential development is lighter and is largely surrounded by bushland. The area is defined by the gully of Moores Creek to the west and north, plus Middle Harbour to the east. Much of the surrounding bushland is contained within Garigal National Park.
Captain Arthur Phillip's search for “good land, well watered” led to the discovery and colonisation of the rough shores of Roseville Chase, where Samuel Bates built a farm at Echo Point on the edge of what is now Middle Harbour.
The area was also inhabited by
Bell is a small rural/residential village in the Blue Mountains with an elevation of approximately 1100 metres above sea level. Bell is approximately 125 km west of Sydney, Australia by road or 137 km by rail, some 20 km east of Lithgow and 10 km north of Mount Victoria. It is a locality on the junction of the Bells Line of Road, Chifley Road and the Darling Causeway. Bell is in the north-west corner of the local government area of the City of Blue Mountains.
Bell is named after Archibald Bell, Jr., who found a new route over the Blue Mountains via Richmond. This crossing had been partly explored by George Caley, who went as far as Mt Banks in 1804, but Bell was the first to go the whole way from the Richmond area to the Bell area. Bells Line of Road was later established along his route.
Bell is on the main NSW Western railway line. The railway station was built in 1875 to service the village of Mount Wilson, some 14 kilometres from Bell. Bell Railway Station was originally named Mount Wilson Railway Station. Bell railway station is the highest elevation station on the CityRail network at 1060 metres (3475 feet) above sea level.
The area has a small number of properties with an
Bundoora is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 16 km north from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area are the Cities of Banyule, Darebin and Whittlesea. At the 2011 Census, Bundoora had a population of 25,709.
Bundoora is the headquarters of La Trobe University, Bundoora Campus. Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) also has a campus situated in Bundoora.
The word Bundoora is derived from "Kelbundoora", the name of a 19th century Wurundjeri tribesman.
Bundoora Post Office opened on 1 October 1863.
Bundoora is home to Mount Cooper. Mount Cooper is located within Bundoora Park, a large (180 ha) public park.
Bundoora is situated on the traditional lands of the Wurundjeri people, and the name "Bundoora" is derived from "Kelbundoora", the name of a 19th century Wurundjeri tribesman.
Bundoora is the terminus of tram route 86. The line was completed in 1986. The last W2 class tram ran along this route in mid-1987. The closest train station is Watsonia on the Hurstbridge line.
The Western Ring Road Trail and Darebin Creek Trail provides facilities for recreational and commuting cyclists.
Bundoora has a football team competing in the Northern
Illawong is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Illawong is located 27 kilometres south-west of the Sydney Central Business District, in the local government area of the Sutherland Shire in the area commonly called Menai. The post code is 2234, which is also assigned to the contiguous suburbs of Menai, Bangor and Alfords Point.
Illawong sits between the southern shore of the Georges River and the northern shore of the Woronora River. Illawong consists mainly of residential homes, a nursing home, a primary school and a small shopping centre.
Illawong is an Aboriginal word meaning between two waters, referring to the Georges and Woronora Rivers. Illawong was originally inhabited by the Tharawal and/or Eora tribes who left remnants of their lives in many middens, rock carvings and cave paintings. The Illawong Nature Reserve also lies "between two waters". In this case, the reserve lies between a system of 2 wetlands, which in combination with the heavily vegetated ridgeland, provide habitat which is particularly suited to the long necked turtle.
Captain John Hunter (1731–1821) was the first European to explore the area. In 1789, Hunter sailed
Wentworthville is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Wentworthville is located 27 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region. Wentworthville is split between the local government areas of the City of Parramatta and the City of Holroyd. Wentworthville is colloquially known as 'Wenty'.
Wentworthville, Wentworth Falls in the Blue Mountains and, Wentworth in far western New South Wales, were named after the Wentworth family. A land grant of 2000 acres (8 km²) in this area was made in 1810 to D'arcy Wentworth, the father of William Wentworth, the famous Australian explorer, barrister, newspaper publisher, politician and landowner.
Another pioneer to the area, William Fullagar established the Star Inn on the corner of Ettalong Road and the Western Road (now the Great Western Highway). Fullagar also opened a cattle saleyards which became on of the principal ones for the colony. His family's estate "Essington House" is now the site of a Christian school. Fullagar Road is named after him.
In the mid-1800s, a land boom attracted people into the area, land was subdivided for housing and small farms.
Denistone West is a state of the art suburb in the Northern Suburbs of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Denistone West is located 16 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Ryde. Denistone and Denistone East are separate suburbs.
West Denistone Park, Lions Park, Lynn Park, Rutherford Park. Many people travel from near and far to the lush and fragrant surrounds of West Denistone's leafy environs. It has been compared to a modern day Garden of Eden, where families and their pampered pets can cavort in total freedom and safety amongst the luxuriant foliage. West Denistone Park features one of the finest sets of swings in the greater Sydney area, being featured briefly in an episode of Season 43 of Play School on the ABC
Denistone railway station is situated in the lower class suburb of Denistone. Denistone West is serviced by several Sydney Buses routes these being the 543 and 544. However, many Denistone West residents forgo public transport, instead choosing to walk along the wide footpaths of gold whilst admiring the stately manors the suburb is renowned for.
The commercial and retail hub of West
Edgecliff is a small suburb in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Edgecliff is located 4 kilometres east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the Municipality of Woollahra. The postcode is 2027.
Edgecliff is surrounded by the suburbs of Double Bay, Woollahra, Paddington, Rushcutters Bay and Darling Point. The property prices are very high because it is close to the city and many homes provide views of Port Jackson (Sydney Habour).
Edgecliff takes its name from its location because it literally sits on the edge of a cliff. The rocky cliff was extensively quarried in the early day of European settlement. The area was dominated for some time by the Glenrock property, on the north side of New South Head Road. Sir Edward Knox built Fiona in 1864 after having it designed by J.F.Hilly. It has been described as "a Classical Revival two-storey mansion" and was made of sandstone. Other elements of the estate included Glenrock, an Italianate residence designed by David MacBeath and built by John Marks circa 1870. There were also substantial gates of wrought iron and sandstone. The building was demolished when New
Henley Beach is a coastal suburb of Adelaide, South Australia. It is located in the City of Charles Sturt.
Named for English town of Henley-on-Thames, the Town of Henley Beach was promoted in the South Australian Register in 1860 as being "free from all the noxious smells which have been cause of complaint elsewhere". The Register again advertised the township in 1874:
While admitted to be one of the finest in the colony, [it] has been somewhat neglected owing to the road not being made. The District Council and private enterprise, however, have overcome this...
Henley Beach lies between the western extremities of Grange and Henley Beach roads.
The 2006 Census by the Australian Bureau of Statistics counted 5,405 persons in Henley Beach on census night. Of these, 49.9% were male and 50.1% were female.
The majority of residents (73.6%) are of Australian birth, with a further 6.8% identifying England as their country of origin.
The age distribution of Henley Beach residents is skewed slightly higher than the greater Australian population. 71.2% of residents were over 25 years in 2006, compared to the Australian average of 66.5%; and 28.8% were younger than 25 years, compared to the
McLaren Vale (postcode 5171) is a township in the wine region of McLaren Vale in South Australia. At the 2006 census, McLaren Vale had a population of 2,908.
The township was formed in 1923 from a merging of the two original villages of Gloucester and Bellevue, which were established in the 1840s by British pioneers.
The McLaren Vale wine region is well known for its dry red wines, especially those made from Shiraz, Grenache and Mourvedre. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot are also grown. White wine varieties in the region include Chardonnay, Semillon, Sauvignon blanc and Riesling.
In recent years innovative wineries have begun using less common varieties such as Sangiovese, Tempranillo, Barbera, Cinsaut, Vermentino and Viognier.
Children's author Alexander S. Foxhall was born in McLaren Vale, as was former Newsboys frontman Peter Furler.
The Coast to Vines rail trail passes through Mclaren Vale. There was a station at Mclaren Vale on the former Marino-Willunga rail line that it follows.
The main junction into the town, at Victor Harbor Road and Main Road has over the years, been notorious for fatal crashes. In 2011, construction stated on an overpass, to remove the
Midway Point is an outlying suburb of Hobart, capital of Tasmania, Australia. It is in the local government area of Sorell Council, and is located on a small peninsula with Orielton Lagoon on its eastern side and Pitt Water on its southern and western sides. The suburb meets the mid-way point of the Sorell Causeway from Hobart to Sorell, hence the name. The suburb lies close to Hobart International Airport and is approximately 21 km to Hobart via the Tasman Highway. In recent years Midway Point has become a popular commuter town for people working in Hobart.
St Peters is a suburb in the inner west of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. St Peters is located 7 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Marrickville Council.
St Peters was named by its association with St Peters Anglican Church, which was consecrated in 1838. St Peters is the third oldest Anglican church in Sydney and has been claimed to be the first church built in Australia using non-convict labour.
The first large land grant in the area was made in 1799 to Provost-Marshal Thomas Smyth. His 470 acres (1.9 km) stretched from the Cooks River to the present Campbell Street. After his death in 1804, the land was acquired by Robert Campbell (1769–1836), a wealthy merchant who built some of the early warehouses along the Sydney Cove waterfront.
Alexander Brodie Spark (1792–1856), was a wealthy merchant who named the suburbs of Tempe after his mansion Tempe House that he built at what is now Wolli Creek and the suburb of St Peters that developed around the church. Barwon Park House was a large residence erected by Spark in 1815 on land leased from Robert Campbell and was demolished in 1953. He sold his property in
Thirroul is a northern seaside suburb of the city of Wollongong, Australia, with the name supposedly Aboriginal for "Valley of Cabbage Tree Palms". Situated between Austinmer and Bulli, it is approximately 13 kilometres north of Wollongong, and 69 km south of Sydney. It lies between the Pacific Ocean and a section of the Illawarra escarpment known as Lady Fuller Park, adjacent to Bulli Pass Scenic Reserve.
It is a fairly old town by Australian standards. It was originally called Robbinsville and that name was decided upon at a meeting of ten men (including Frederick Robbins) in George's Whitford's "big new House" (located on the site of today's Ryans Hotel) in 1880. One suggestion for a name for the place was "Mudmire" but somehow Robbins comvinced the others to call the Town after himself. It only had a total population of 490 in 1891. Coal mining operations began at the start of the 20th Century and miners needed residences, though logging had been occurring before for some time. It has a lot of visible heritage.
The town's major commercial area lies between an area just north of Bulli Pass, where the Princes Highway splits to form the Lawrence Hargrave Drive, to Thirroul
Annandale is a suburb of Townsville, Queensland, Australia. It borders the southern side of Ross River. It is the biggest suburb of Townsville and thus the most populated in the city. It was the biggest planned Housing development in Townsville City, which started construction in the mid-1970s and was completed in early 2005, Annandale is one of Townsville's newest suburbs and is home to some of Townsville's wealthy, who live more toward the riverbank. Before the 2006 Queensland state election, Annandale was part of the Electoral district of Burdekin, but just prior to the 2006 state election, the suburb became part of the Electoral district of Mundingburra.
In 2006 there were 1624 registered dogs in Annandale, seven out of every ten homes owned at least one dog, this is the highest density of dogs of Townsville suburbs.
Some of the Public Facilities in Annandale include:
Aranda is a suburb in the Canberra district of Belconnen. It is the eastern most suburb in Belconnen, located at the western foot of Black Mountain. Bounded on two sides by nature park, the suburb is characterised by its bush setting. During the planning and development of the suburb, a large proportion of large native trees – predominantly eucalypts – were left in place.
The suburb derives its name from the Arrernte tribe of Central Australia, previously known as Arunta, which means 'White Cockatoo'. The streets in Aranda are named after Aboriginal tribal groups from around Australia. The suburb comprises an area of 160ha and in 1967 was the first suburb in Belconnen to be settled. On Census night 2011, Aranda had a population of 2,483 people.
A small plaque at the Aranda District playing fields near the suspension bridge over Belconnen Way marks the settlement of the suburb as the first development in the Belconnen district. It reads:
Aranda is located in the south east of Belconnen. It is bounded by Caswell Drive on the east, separating the suburb from Black Mountain Nature Park, Belconnen Way to the north, Bindubi Street to the west and Aranda Bushland to the south. A
Fassifern is a suburb of the City of Lake Macquarie, in New South Wales, Australia, located west of Lake Macquarie. The Sydney-Newcastle railway line runs through Fassifern railway station, which is a major station along the line. There used to be a branch line between Fassifern Station and nearby Toronto, but this has been replaced by a bus service, aptly named "The Train".
Fassifern was first developed as a result of sawmill and coal mining operations in the area. The railway station opened in 1887. The first school, Fassifern Public School, was opened in 1922.
From the late 19th century the Croft family's Northumberland Coal Company operated the Northumberland Colliery, within walking distance from the railway station and to where a rail spur extended. This company operated several subsidiary coal companies. Further up the main line they had another colliery, Olstan, now long closed. In 1950 Northumberland Colliery was renamed Newstan Colliery and leased out to the NSW Electricity Commission, and is still in operation to this day. The collieries were named after Mr Stanley Croft, an early proprietor and manager of the coal company. The mine is a source for some of the local jobs
Hawthorn is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 6 kilometres (3.7 mi) east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Boroondara. At the 2011 Census, Hawthorn had a population of 21,177.
Glenferrie Road, Hawthorn, is designated one of 82 Major Activity Centres in the Melbourne 2030 Metropolitan Strategy.
The area was first settled in the late 1830s. The Boroondara Roads Board, the first municipal authority, was set up in the 1850s and covered a remarkably similar area to the present City of Boroondara. Boroondara is an aboriginal word reputed to mean place of shade. However, the Hawthorn Roads Board and the Kew Roads Board split from the rest of Boroondara in 1860. The HRB evolved into the Town of Hawthorn and the City of Hawthorn. The state government amalgamated the Cities of Camberwell, Hawthorn and Kew in 1994 to form the City of Boroondara.
The name Hawthorn, gazetted in 1840 as "Hawthorne", is thought to have originated from a conversation involving Charles La Trobe, who commented that the native shrubs looked like flowering Hawthorn bushes. Alternatively the name may originate with the bluestone house, so named, and built by
Herston is an inner suburb of Brisbane, Australia located 3 km north of the Brisbane CBD.
Herston is dominated by the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital. The hospital campus is also shared by the Queensland Institute of Medical Research and the Royal Children's Hospital.
Herston is mostly a residential suburb, with some areas of light industry near the main roads. Many of Herston's residents are employed by the hospital or nearby at the Queensland University of Technology in Kelvin Grove. There is also a significant student population that studies at the university.
Prior to December 1968 the eastern side of the suburb was served by frequent tram services along Bowen Bridge Road, with routes converging from Chermside, Kalinga (until 1962), Stafford, and Grange. These services combined to provide the suburb with an off-peak service of a tram every 2½ minutes along Bowen Bridge Road in the late 1950s. The western side of the suburb was served by trams which ran along Kelvin Grove Road. This service also ceased in December 1968.
Between 1953 and November 1968, the suburb was also served by Brisbane City Council trolley-buses which connected the suburb with Fortitude Valley and ran
Hunters Hill is a suburb in Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Hunters Hill is located 9 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district and is the administrative centre for the local government area of the Municipality of Hunter's Hill.
Hunters Hill is situated on a small peninsula that separates the Lane Cove River and Parramatta River. It can be reached by bus or by ferry.
The area's Aboriginal name is 'Mookaboola' or 'Moocooboola', which means meeting of waters.
Hunters Hill was named after John Hunter, the second Governor of New South Wales, who was in office between 1795 and 1800.
The area that is now Hunters Hill was settled in 1835. One of the earliest settlers was Mary Reibey, the first female retailer in Sydney. She built a cottage—later known as Fig Tree House—on land that fronted the Lane Cove River; Reiby Street is named after her. During the 1840s, bushrangers and convicts who had escaped from the penal settlement on Cockatoo Island would take refuge in Hunters Hill.
Many of the suburb's early houses were built from the local sandstone. A number were built by Frenchman Didier Numa Joubert (1816–1881), who bought 200 acres (81 ha) of land
Richmond is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 3 km south-east from Melbourne's Central Business District. The suburb's Local Government Area is the City of Yarra municipality. The 2011 Census listed Richmond's population as 26,121.
Three of the 82 designated Major Activity Centres identified in the Melbourne 2030 Metropolitan Strategy are located in Richmond—the commercial strips of Victoria Street, Bridge Road and Swan Street.
The diverse suburb has been the subject of gentrification since the early 1990s and now contains an eclectic mix of expensively converted warehouse residences, public housing high-rise flats and terrace houses from the Victorian-era. The residential segment of the suburb exists among a lively retail sector and a shrinking industrial and manufacturing base. Richmond was home to the Nine Network studios, under the callsign of GTV-9, until the studios moved to Docklands in 2011. Dimmeys is long associated with Richmond, although it is located in the neighbouring suburb of Cremorne. The suburb is well known for its textile industry history and popular factory outlets, centred along Bridge Road and remain an attraction to the area.
Bayswater is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 28 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Knox. At the 2011 Census, Bayswater had a population of 11,240.
The first Post Office in the area was Scoresby North, which opened on 8 May 1882 and renamed Macauley in 1884. When the railway arrived in 1889, a Bayswater office near the station replaced Macauley. In 1898 Bayswater Village (at the shopping centre of that name) office replaced Bayswater.
In the late 1940s, a number of German Templers (just released from the Tatura Internment Camp) settled in Bayswater and Boronia. Part of the Temple Society Australia, they built a Community Centre (1961) in Elizabeth Street and a Retirement Village, as well as Nursing Home Tabulam, in partnership with the Australian German Welfare Society (AGWS).
Education in Bayswater include Our Lady of Lourdes Primary School, Bayswater Primary School, Bayswater South Primary School, Bayswater West Primary School and Bayswater Secondary College (formerly Bayswater High School).
Its most well-known reserve is Bayswater Park, where football and cricket is played on the two ovals, as well as netball
Hillsdale is a suburb in south-eastern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Hillsdale is located 9 kilometres south-east of the Sydney central business district in the City of Botany Bay. The post code is 2036.
Hillsdale is a residential area surrounded by the suburbs of Eastgardens, Maroubra, Matraville and Banksmeadow.
Hillsdale has a shopping centre called Southpoint on Bunnerong Road, which is a high-rise complex with commercial and residential space. The Hensley Athletic Field is located on Wentworth Avenue, opposite the Westfield Eastgardens shopping centre. Matraville Public School is located in Hillsdale at the corner of Bunnerong and Beauchamp Roads.
Hillsdale was part of the suburb of Matraville until the 1960s. Matraville was originally reserved for the Church and Schools Corporation with income generated intended to support clergy and teachers. It reverted to the crown in 1917 and was allocated for a settlement for soldiers returning from World War I. The suburb was split between Randwick and Botany Councils. When problems arose from the division in 1961, Botany Council decided to rename its portion Gilmore, to honour Australian poet Dame Mary Gilmore
Modbury is a suburb of Adelaide, South Australia in the City of Tea Tree Gully. Modbury is located at the end of the Adelaide O-Bahn and is home to the Tea Tree Plaza shopping complex and a Hospital.
It was named Modbury by R. S .Kelly, on 1 September 1840, after his native town in Devonshire.
The suburb of Modbury contains one high school (Modbury High School) and one Primary School (Modbury West). However, there are many other schools in the surrounding areas which also bear the name Modbury. Modbury South Primary for example is located in the suburb of Hope Valley. There is also another primary school named Modbury School which was originally in Modbury proper but relocated in the 1970s to what is now known as Modbury North.
Modbury is also home to the Tea Tree Gully TAFE Campus.
The suburb of Modbury is located within the Australian House of Representatives Seat of Makin, and the South Australian House of Assembly Seat of Florey.
The Local Government Area is the City of Tea Tree Gully and its chambers are located within this Suburb.
There are many sporting teams in Modbury - Modbury Hawks (Australian rules football), Modbury Jets (Soccer), Modbury Tennis Club and Modbury
Mount Colah is a suburb of northern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 29 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Hornsby Shire.
Mount Colah is 5 km north of Hornsby, the nearest major town centre. It is one of the most northerly suburbs of Sydney and is the second highest suburb in Sydney by elevation. Considered one of Sydney's leafier suburbs, streets are clustered around the Pacific Highway. Mount Colah is bordered to the east by the Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park.
Mount Colah was originally known as Colah - the name first used by naturalist George Caley to describe a koala in a letter to botanist Sir Joseph Banks. When Hornsby became a shire in 1906 the name was changed to Mount Colah. Colah Post Office opened on 29 September 1905 and was renamed Mount Colah in 1906.
The F3 Sydney-Newcastle Freeway was built through Mount Colah in 1988 and opened in March 1989. In the process it cut through an old World War II gravel airstrip, and isolated 2 holes of the Asquith Golf Course just to the south. Some World War II building remnants are still visible nearby.
Mount Colah was voted "Australia's Best Suburb"
Norman Park is a suburb in Brisbane, Australia. It is located 4 km east of the Brisbane central business district.
Norman Park has numerous parks and recreational areas for residents in the area. Bordered by East Brisbane, Coorparoo, Camp Hill, Morningside and Hawthorne, Norman Park offers limited housing along the Brisbane River.
The suburb is served by rail, bus and ferry services. Frequent commuter trains use Norman Park railway station on services to the City and Cleveland. Buses operated by Brisbane Transport also link the suburb to the City and Westfield Carindale. Cross-river ferries, also operated by Brisbane Transport link the suburb with New Farm.
Norman Park began taking in the first settlers in 1853. Initially, development in Norman Park was slow and almost ceased after the 1893 Brisbane floods. Industries in Norman Park at the time included dairying, leather and brooms.
Between 1912 and 1926 a steam tram service to Belmont connected with the Queensland Government Railway at Norman Park. Initially the service was operated by the Belmont Shire Council. The service was suspended in 1924. The service was reinstated by the Brisbane City Council in 1925, but was again
Para Hills is a residential suburb of Adelaide, South Australia, accessible from Adelaide by bus, (partly using Adelaide's O-Bahn Busway). A train station is approximately 2 kilometres to the west. There is a light aircraft airport close to its boundary, and numerous sporting facilities, abundant parks and schools and two medium sized shopping centres. Most of the suburb is in the City of Salisbury while some is in the City of Tea Tree Gully.
The prefix "Para" is derived from the Kaurna word "Pari" meaning a stream of flowing water, which could refer to either the Little Para River or Dry Creek. Para is used to name many places in the area including Parafield Airport, three seasonal creeks, and some suburbs. The flat land between Dry Creek and the Little Para River is sometimes called the Para Plains and the facing hills the Para Hills.
An early settler family were the Goodalls, who established a farm at the base of the hills in 1850. When Andrew Melville Goodall expanded the farm in 1853 he named the property Para Hills Farm, building a farmhouse near what is now the corner of St Clair Avenue and Goodall Road.
Para Hills Post Office opened on 28 June 1961.
Para Hills is built on
Plumpton is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Plumpton is located 46 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Blacktown and is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Following European settlement of Australia in 1788, attempts were made to integrate Indigenous Australians into the European culture. As significant land grants had been made around Prospect, a 'Native Institute' - which came to be known as 'Black's Town' - was built early in the 1820s around the Plumpton area, at the intersection of Rooty Hill Road and Richmond Road. The 'School for Aboriginal Children' was relocated to this institution in 1823, however by 1833 it had been abandoned.
In the short time it existed, 'Black's Town' stamped its name on the road from Prospect to the institution. The railway station was named for the road and the settlement around Blacktown railway station and the whole district became known as Blacktown.
Walter Lamb (1825-1906) established a cannery, fruit preserving works and a coursing (greyhound racing) track on his property Woodstock. The area was initially known as Woodstock, but when a post
The Entrance is a district centre and town of the Central Coast region of New South Wales, Australia. It is part of the Wyong Shire local government area. At the 2006 census, The Entrance had a population of 2,632 people.
The town occupies an area of land that is bounded by water on three sides. The Entrance gains it name from the channel that runs along much of its northern border that is the entrance to The Tuggerah Lakes. The Entrance has been a very popular holiday destination for many people since the first guest house was established in 1885. The area is currently experiencing enormous growth as a result of small holiday cottages that dominated The Entrance for most of the 20th century being replaced by multi-storey apartment blocks.
Although the area was previously inhabited by the Darkinjung people, the local Indigenous Australians, it is believed Europeans first discovered it in 1796. It was found by Governor of Tasmania, Colonel David Collins, who had arrived on the First Fleet during the search for an escaped convict woman, Mary Morgan, who was said to be living with the Aborigines to the North of the Hawkesbury River.
The area now known as The Entrance was occupied by
Banksia Park is a north-eastern suburb located 20 km from the city centre of Adelaide, South Australia, within the City of Tea Tree Gully.
Banksia Park was originally named Steventon by John Stevens, the first purchaser of this block of land however the name was later change to Banksia Park due to the abundance of banksia trees located within the area.
Steventon Post Office opened around January 1859 and was renamed Tea Tree Gully in 1872. A Banksia Park office has never existed.
In 2001, Banksia Park had a population of 3,455 with 48% being in the age group of 25 to 54 years. As from 2006, the population dropped to 3,398.
Athol Park is a north-western suburb of Adelaide, South Australia. It is located in the City of Charles Sturt.
The suburb lies at the western end of Grand Junction Road, which also forms its northern boundary. It is bordered to the east by Hanson Road, to the west by Glenroy Street, to the east by Hanson Rd, with Hamilton Road forming the bulk of its southern boundary.
The southern portion of Athol Park is residential with a light industrial area in the north.
The suburb is home to a large number of Housing Trust homes. In the 1990s, plans were made for the Westwood Urban Renewal project, of which Ferryden Park, Angle Park, Woodville Gardens, and Mansfield Park were also a part. This involved replacing the Housing Trust homes with either private housing or a new townhouse-style housing trust homes.
The 2006 Census by the Australian Bureau of Statistics counted 1,307 persons in Athol Park on census night. Of these, 50.3% were male and 49.7% were female.
The majority of residents (47.9%) are of Australian birth, with other common census responses being Vietnam (15.1%) and Poland (3.4%).
The age distribution of Athol Park residents is similar to that of the greater Australian
Bilgola is a suburb in northern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 33 kilometres north-east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Pittwater Council. It is part of the Northern Beaches region. Bilgola Plateau is a locality in the western part of the suburb.
Bilgola is located on the Pacific Ocean side of the Barrenjoey Peninsula between Avalon to the north and Newport to the south. The land rises steeply behind Bilgola Beach to Bilgola Plateau and then descends to Clareville on the western side of the peninsula.
The name "Bilgola" is derived from an Aboriginal term Belgoula meaning "swirling waters", or perhaps "a pretty beach with steep slopes, studded with cabbage palms". The word Belgoula was noted in Surveyor James Meehan's records of 1814. Robert Henderson received a grant of 100 acres (0.40 km) in 1822 which he named "Belgoola". The district eventually adopted the simplified name "Bilgola".
The area was owned by the McLurcan family from the start of the early 1900s. Mrs McLurcan was famous for her cookery book,'Mrs McLurcan's Cookery Book'. The large family home was surrounded by cabbage tree palms, which the area is generally
Brighton is the northernmost suburb of Brisbane City, Australia, located 19 km north of the Brisbane CBD. The Nashville locality makes up much of the southwest of the suburb.
Brighton features mostly suburban housing. The large nursing home Eventide, run by the Queensland Government, is within Brighton.
Brighton was also home to the World War II barracks of the RAAF Air Training School between December 1940 to May 1946 and was built on reclaimed land. After this time it became The Eventide Nursing Home.
The main pub in Brighton is the Brighton Hotel located along Beaconsfield Terrace. An early settler, Captain William Townsend, bought the Brighton Hotel and used it as his home and, once sold in 1893, it was used as an orphanage. It resumed being a hotel in 1912.
Three primary schools are located within Brighton; Brighton State School, Nashville State School and St. Kieran's Primary School. The northside Autistic Children's Therapy Centre is also located in Brighton.
Brighton has a wonderful woodland wetland protected by the local government. This natural reserve is made up of three woods; namely Goodenia Woods, Pimelea Woods and Dianella Woods. The land is so called a wetland as it
Chiswick is a suburb in the inner-west region of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is located 9 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Canada Bay. Chiswick sits on the peninsula between Abbotsford Bay and Five Dock Bay, on the Parramatta River. It is surrounded by the suburbs of Abbotsford, Russell Lea and Drummoyne.
The area around Chiswick was first known by its Aboriginal name Bigi Bigi. The suburb was originally part of Five Dock Farm. In 1850s a Dr Fortescue owned an estate in this area which he named Chiswick after the village on the Thames, west of London. Parramatta River had been known as the 'Thames of the Antipodes' and other nearby suburbs were also named after Thames localities of Greenwich, Woolwich, Henley and Putney.
More recently it has been subjected to an increase in the building of many modern apartment blocks, which has seen the population rise to around 2400.
The Chiswick ferry wharf is used by Parramatta River ferry services. Sydney Buses operate a terminus nearby, with buses running to Circular Quay either via Drummoyne and Victoria Road, or via Leichhardt and Parramatta Road.
Georges Hall, a suburb of local government area City of Bankstown, is located 24 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district in the state of New South Wales, Australia, and is part of the South-western Sydney region.
Georges Hall is bounded by the Georges River in the west and Bankstown Airport in the south. The suburbs of Bass Hill and Condell Park lie to the north and east, respectively.
Georges Hall was named after the house and farm owned by Captain George Johnson (1780–1823) called 'Georges Hall'. It was situated beside and Prospect Creek, near Henry Lawsons Drive. In 1809 it became an administrative centre, where it was used to conduct the census.
Garrison Point is a historically significant parkland. It obtained its name from the garrison of soldiers that were stationed here to ensure the safety of Major George Johnston as he conducted a census in the area. The park is now the local focus of annual Australia Day celebrations in the Bankstown area.
In 1796, George Bass, Matthew Flinders and the boy servant William Martin began an expedition to explore parts of the colony on a small boat called the Tom Thumb. They sailed into Botany Bay and explored the
Hamersley is a residential suburb 14 kilometres (8.7 miles) north-northwest of the central business district of Perth, the capital of Western Australia, and six kilometres (4 mi) from the Indian Ocean. The suburb adjoins two major arterial roads—Mitchell Freeway to the west and Reid Highway to the south—and is within the City of Stirling local government area. It was built during the late 1960s and 1970s as part of the Government of Western Australia's response to rapidly increasing land prices across the metropolitan area.
Before development, Hamersley was a remote district covered in jarrah, marri, banksia and other vegetation typical of the Swan Coastal Plain, with small areas cleared for small-scale agriculture such as market gardening and poultry farming. By 1974, six years after the first subdivision, Hamersley was home to the district's first community hall, an annual parade and fair which were broadcast on Perth TV and radio, an active progress association, and its own newspaper, the Hamersley Gazette, a forerunner to today's Stirling Times. Rapid growth further north removed the focus from Hamersley, which was completed in 1981 and has remained relatively stable since
Lawson is a town in the Blue Mountains area of New South Wales, Australia. It is located on the Great Western Highway between Hazelbrook in the north east and Bullaburra in the west. At the 2006 census, Lawson had a population of 2,419 people. It has a station on the Main Western line. The town is also served by a public swimming pool and over the years has developed into the commercial hub of the mid-mountains area, which spans from Linden to Bullaburra, boasting a significant industrialised area as well as a shopping centre located on the south-eastern side of the highway.
One of the first settlements on the eastern slopes of the Blue Mountains, Lawson was identified on early maps as 24 Mile Hollow - a name which was changed to Christmas Swamp for a few years. When the Blue Mountain Inn was opened in 1848, the locals adopted the name Blue Mountain for the village. This name was also given to the original railway station after the rail line was pushed through in 1867. The presence of a Blue Mountain on the Blue Mountains, however, became so confusing to visitors that the authorities stepped in and renamed the village Lawson in honour of William Lawson who, along with William
Marshall, formerly known as Marshalltown, is a residential suburb of Geelong, Victoria, Australia.
The section of the locality south of the Marshall Railway Station is part of the large Armstrong Creek Growth Area with development beginning in 2010.
The first Marshalltown Post Office opened on 8 November 1873, closing in 1911 when the Marshall Railway Station office opened. This was renamed Marshalltown in 1915 and closed in 1979.
Olivers Hill is a locality located in the City of Frankston, Victoria in Australia. It is the first major rise in terrain along the eastern coastline of Port Phillip, between Melbourne and the Mornington Peninsula. It was named after local Frankston fisherman, James Oliver, who built the first cottage atop the hill in the mid-19th century, from where he kept watch for fish in the waters below.
Olivers Hill is one of the most sought after residential locations in the City of Frankston. Many properties here boast uninterrupted views aross Port Phillip to the city of Melbourne, and some also overlook the Frankston Beach and the suburbs waterfront precinct. According to The Age newspaper, property on Olivers Hill has been sold for in excess of A$2 million, when the 2005 median price for a house in Frankston was only A$228,000.
It straddles the suburbs of Frankston and Frankston South, however its borders remain loosely defined. Real estate agents commonly refer to any property along the Nepean Highway strip from the Frankston Waterfront in the north, to Humphries Road in the South, as being on Olivers Hill.
Olivers Hill is easily accessible from the Frankston CBD (just over 1 km to the
Warilla is a seaside suburb of the City of Shellharbour, Australia which sits within the Wollongong urban area. It is one of the more established areas and is nestled between other suburbs of Mount Warrigal in the west, Barrack Heights and Barrack Point in the south and Lake Illawarra in the north.
Warilla was officially granted township status in 1951. It is predominantly a residential suburb with many of the houses being built in the 1950s and 1960s. Warilla's main commercial centre is located on George Street with surrounding shops located on Lake Entrance Road and Shellharbour Road, where Warilla Grove Shopping Centre is also situated. There is also a small industrial park located 1 km (0.62 mi) south at Sunset Avenue where light industries are established. Warilla is also blessed with fine beaches which are very popular with locals and tourist especially in summer.
Warilla held the council chambers for Shellharbour City Council from 1969 to 1991 when it relocated to the nearby Shellharbour City Centre. The building, which is still in good condition, is still used for council meetings. Other businesses have also set up inside.
There are two high schools - Lake Illawarra High
West Ryde is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. West Ryde is located 16 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Ryde and is part of the Northern Suburbs area.
Ryde, North Ryde and East Ryde are separate suburbs. The suburbs of Denistone, Denistone West, Meadowbank and Melrose Park share the 2114 postcode with West Ryde.
West Ryde is an extension of Ryde, which was named after the 'Ryde Store', a business run by G.M. Pope. He adopted the name from his birthplace of Ryde on the Isle of Wight, UK.
West Ryde is one of 16 suburbs that form the City of Ryde. West Ryde is approximately 12 kilometres from the centre of Sydney and occupies most of the land between the Parramatta and Lane Cove rivers. It is bisected from west to east by one of Sydney's busiest roads, Victoria Road. It is crossed north to south by another main road, Lane Cove Road, and is skirted on the north-west by the M2 Motorway and Epping Road. At the time of the arrival of Europeans at Sydney Cove in January 1788, the Wallumedegal or Wallumede were the traditional owners of the area and they called it Wallumetta. This clan
Yanchep is an outer coastal suburb of Perth, Western Australia, 56 kilometres (35 mi) north of Perth's central business district. It is part of the City of Wanneroo local government area. It was built by entrepreneur Alan Bond in the 1970s for the 1977 America's Cup. The area covers the urban centre of Yanchep as well as Yanchep National Park in its entirety.
Yanchep is bounded to the north-west by Two Rocks and to the south by the rural localities of Eglinton, Carabooda and Pinjar. The non-metropolitan Shires of Gingin and Chittering surround Yanchep's northern and eastern boundaries. West of Yanchep is the Indian Ocean.
Its boundaries as a suburb are extremely large, covering over 220 square kilometres (85 sq mi) and taking up almost the entire northern and north-eastern portion of the City of Wanneroo. Despite this, Yanchep's urban concentration is almost entirely located in a small enclave around Yanchep Beach Road, near the coast.
The lands comprising Yanchep were initially used as a sheep station, up until 1970 when Alan Bond bought approximately 8,100 hectares (20,000 acres) of land in the area. Bond Corporation presented designs for "Yanchep Sun City" - a future satellite
Hume is a suburb of Canberra in the district of Tuggeranong. The suburb is named after the explorer Hamilton Hume and streets are named after Australian industrialists and businessmen. Hume is a light-industrial suburb and there is no significant housing development. On Census night 2006, Hume had a population of six people.
Deakin Volcanics from the Silurian period underlie Hume. Cream and purple rhyodacite are found in the south and including Tralee, New South Wales. A mixture of purple and green tuff, ashstone, shale, and coarse sandstone in the north east Coarse dark purple rhyodacite is in the north end near Queanbeyan turn off.
Abbotsford is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 2 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Yarra. At the 2011 Census, Abbotsford had a population of 4,907.
Abbotsford is bounded by Collingwood, Richmond and Clifton Hill and separated from Kew by the meandering Yarra River. Formerly part of the City of Collingwood, it is now part of the City of Yarra. Victoria Street forms the southern boundary to Abbotsford (with Richmond); Hoddle Street forms the western boundary (with Collingwood); the Eastern Freeway forms the northern boundary (with Clifton Hill) while the Yarra forms the eastern boundary with Kew, in Boroondara.
Some well known Abbotsford landmarks include the Skipping Girl Sign, Dights Falls, the former Collingwood Town Hall, Victoria Park Football Stadium and Abbotsford Convent.
Abbotsford is designated one of the 82 Major Activity Centres listed in the Metropolitan Strategy Melbourne 2030.
Abbotsford takes its name from the estate of John Orr, which in turn is named after a ford in Scotland's Tweed River, used by the Abbott of Melrose Abbey.
The Abbotsford area was once bush along the Yarra River sporadically
Blackheath (elevation 1065 metres) is a town located near the top of the Blue Mountains in New South Wales, Australia, 120 kilometres west north-west of Sydney, 11 kilometres north-west of Katoomba and 30 kilometres south-east of Lithgow. In 2006, Blackheath had a population of 4,177 people.
Prior to European settlement of Australia the region of Blackheath and surrounding areas were thought to be a summer corroberee meeting place for several Aboriginal nations, these being Darug (East), Gundungurra (South) and Wiradjuri (West). Due to the harsher climatic winter conditions, habitation would not have been feasible (see Geography & Climate). Some descendants of these people still reside in the modern township of 4104 persons and the surrounding areas (2001 ABS Census Data).
Blackheath was named in 1815 by Governor Lachlan Macquarie after the colour of the native shrubbery in the area. Macquarie recorded in his journal: "This place having a black wild appearance I have this day named it Black-Heath." The name is also sometimes taken as reference to the occurrence of bleak weather and the locals have also coined the phrases, "Bleak-Heath" and "(b)Lack-Heat(h)". Whilst true to some
Lara is a residential rural suburb, 15 km north-east of Geelong, inland from the Princes Freeway to Melbourne.
The explorers Hume and Hovell arrived at Lara on December 16, 1824, believing that they had reached Westernport Bay. They recorded that the Aboriginals described the bay as Jullong and land as Corago, suggesting origins for the names of Geelong and Corio.
The area was originally named Kennedy's Creek but was also given several different names including Duck Ponds, Hovell's Creek, Cheddar, Swindon and Lara Lake. The area of Lara was no more than a few farms at this time.
The railway though the town was opened in 1857 along with the local railway station, with several subdivisions then announced. A Post Office opened on March 1, 1858 as Duck Ponds (Hovell's Creek in 1872 and finally Lara in 1884). The population grew to a few hundred by 1890, and several facilities like schools and churches were built, but town water did not extend to the town until 1947.
In January 1969, 17 people were killed in bushfires which ravaged Lara. Most of the victims were trapped by the fast-moving grass fire while travelling on the Princes Highway.
Several scenes from the 1979 feature film Mad
Baxter is a township and rural locality in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, beyond the urban area. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Mornington Peninsula. It is served by Baxter railway station on the Stony Point greater-metropolitan line.
Originally named Baxter's Flat, Baxter was founded by pastoralist Benjamin Baxter, who lived in a property named Carrup Carrup - the Aboriginal name. The property still exists today on what is now the Frankston-Flinders road, as does the original cottage he and his wife Martha lived in. Benjamin Baxter died in 1892 and his gravestone, found in the Frankston Cemetery, reads "Benjamin Baxter, late of h. m. 50th regiment. Died at Currup Currup 15 May 1892, aged 87. Also Martha, beloved wife of above 31 January 1906 age 94 years".
It was at Baxter's Flat that the railway to Mornington and Stony Point (built in the late 1880s) separated. The station was called Mornington Junction before being changed to Baxter, however its role as a junction ended in the 1980s with the closure of the Mornington line. The early township grew around the railway station and a Post Office named Mornington Junction opened on December 1, 1892 (Baxter from 1918)
Chippendale is a small inner-city suburb of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia on the southern edge of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Sydney. Chippendale is sandwiched between Broadway to the north and Cleveland Street to the south, Sydney Central railway station to the east and the University of Sydney to the west.
The area was first occupied by the Gadigal people of the Dharug Nation. William Chippendale was granted a 95-acre (38 ha) estate in 1819. It stretched to the present day site of Redfern railway station. Chippendale sold the estate to Solomon Levey, emancipist and merchant, in 1821, for 380 pounds. Solomon Levey died while in London, in 1833. Levey's heirs sold over 62 acres (25 ha) to William Hutchinson.
The eastern side of Chippendale, being adjacent to the CBD, includes a greater mix of uses than other parts of the suburb. It includes commercial uses such as offices and warehouses, with higher buildings facing Regent Street and Broadway. Elsewhere in Chippendale there are scattered shops, cafes and pubs. The small suburb depends on Broadway for shopping and services. The historic Regent Street railway station or
Cremorne Point is a harbourside suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Cremorne is located 6 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government areas of North Sydney Council.
Cremorne Point shares the postcode of 2090 with Cremorne, a separate suburb to the north. Cremorne Point sits on Sydney Harbour between Shell Cove and Mosman Bay. Cremorne Junction is a locality within the suburb of Cremorne.
Cremorne was named after the Cremorne Gardens in London, a popular pleasure ground in England, which derives from Gaelic words meaning 'boundary' and 'chieftain'.. Robertsons Point was named after James Robertson who was granted 35 hectares there in 1820. He was the father of Premier Sir John Robertson.
James Milson Jnr (1814-1903), son of James Milson (1785-1872) who had owned much land in nearby Milsons Point, was a merchant and a pastoralist in NSW and Queensland. In time he greatly expanded the family's land holdings in the lower North Shore, including the 1853 purchase of the Cremorne peninsula. The sale of this land for residential blocks in the last years of the 19th and early years of the 20th centuries proved to be
Kensington is a suburb in south-eastern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is located 6 kilometres south-east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area (LGA) of the City of Randwick, in the Eastern Suburbs region. Colloquially, Kensington is referred to as "Kenso".
Kensington lies to the immediate south of Moore Park and west of Randwick Racecourse. The principal landmarks of the suburb are the main campus of the University of New South Wales, National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA), and the exclusive Australian Golf Club. Kensington is also a residential suburb close to the Sydney CBD. There is a mixture of high- and medium-density housing, and free-standing homes for its 11,000 residents.
The original inhabitants of the area were tribes of Aboriginal. The Cadigal people were part of the salt-water clans, in the Darug language group and their land. The Cadigal people were known for their fishing skills and often travelled in canoes. The 1828 census showed some 50-60 clans of Cadigal people living by the Lachlan swamps of Kensington and surrounding areas. Swamps provided fruit, nectar, roots and tubers. Very few Aboriginals live in
Lavender Bay is a harbourside suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Lavender Bay is located 3 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of North Sydney Council.
The suburb takes its name from the natural feature of Lavender Bay, on Port Jackson (Sydney Harbour), to the west of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. It lies between Milsons Point and McMahons Point and the suburb of North Sydney is located, to the north. Lavender Bay is a residential suburb with expansive views of Sydney Harbour.
Lavender Bay was named after the Boatswain (bosun), George Lavender, from the prison hulk "Phoenix", which was moored there for many years. The bay was originally called Hulk Bay and sometimes Phoenix Bay. George Lavender lived on 14 acres (57,000 m) adjacent to the property of Billy Blue.
On 30 May 1915 Lavender Bay railway station was opened to take the place of Milsons Point railway station. This only lasted for seven weeks, as passengers refused to alight here and demanded that trains stop at Milsons Point. During the harbour bridge construction, Lavender Bay Station was the terminus for the North Shore Line. The area is
Telopea is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Telopea is located 23 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Parramatta.
Telopea is named from Telopea speciosissima, the New South Wales waratah, a plant that was abundant in the area before it was colonised and which became the floral emblem of New South Wales.
Telopea railway station is on the Carlingford line of the CityRail network. The suburb is bordered by Kissing Point Road to the south and Pennant Hills Road to the north.
Waratah Shopping Centre, located on Benaud Place, has many retail shops including a Franklins supermarket, newsagent, chemist, and a hair and beauty salon. A small group of shops is also located opposite the railway station on Adderton Road.
Telopea is mainly low to low-medium density housing with most of the dwellings been built after the Second World War. The suburb is bisected by the Carlingford railway line with most of the medium density housing lying adjacent to the train line.
Telopea contains a large tract of bushland on its western edge, backing onto the Oatlands golf course. The bushland, the Vineyard
Surrey Hills is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 12 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area are the Cities of Boroondara and Whitehorse. At the 2011 Census, Surrey Hills had a population of 13,133.
The Surrey Hills area was acquired from the Crown by Henry Elgar, as part of his Special Survey purchase in 1841.
The Surrey Hills area was first developed by a Real Estate consortia, following the extension of the railway line from Camberwell to Lilydale in 1882. Surrey Hills Post Office opened on 1 October 1884. Housing estates were laid out and lovely period homes built in either brick or weatherboard, with most designs being influenced by the Victorian, Federation and Edwardian era. The streets were planted mainly with avenues of Pin Oak and Plane trees, which are now mature and offer a pleasant shady vista. The streets have impressive names such as Empress, Kingston, Surrey, Balmoral, Leopold, Windsor, Albert and Wolseley, but the area was considered too distant from the nearest shopping districts; Camberwell to the west and Box Hill to the east. The economic depression of the 1890s brought development to a halt and the next major
Undercliffe is an area in the east of the suburb of Earlwood in south-western Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Undercliffe is located 10 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Canterbury.
Undercliffe was a suburb of Sydney until incorporation into Earlwood in 1993.
Undercliffe is located on the peninsula between the Cooks River and Wolli Creek. Bayview Avenue and Unwins Bridge link Undercliffe north over the Cooks River to Tempe. Another bridge links Illawarra Avenue over the Cooks River to Marrickville. Wolli Creek and Turrella are located on the opposite bank of Wolli Creek, to the south, with footbridges being the only direct links to these suburbs.
Undercliffe is a predominantly residential area. The northern end of the peninsula is characterised by parkland and recreational areas. Canterbury Velodrome is located at Waterworth Park, beside Wolli Creek. Gough Whitlam Park is a large recreational area, beside Cooks River. The popular Cooks River bicycle track follows the river along its northern bank connecting the suburb with Homebush to the north-west and Botany Bay to the east.
Balmoral is an urban locality in the suburb of Mosman in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Balmoral is located in the local government area of the Municipality of Mosman and is part of the Lower North Shore.
The locality is mostly known for its beach, officially divided into Balmoral and Edwards Beaches. Expensive residential real estate on the surrounding “Balmoral Slopes” benefits from the views and beach proximity. The naval depot HMAS Penguin is situated at the eastern end of Balmoral Beach. It houses a naval hospital and is accessed from Middle Head Road.
Balmoral is named after Balmoral Castle, the large estate house in Aberdeenshire, Scotland known as Royal Deeside and a favourite summer royal residence. The Star Amphitheatre, an open air temple constructed by the Theosophical Society-related group, was built in 1923-1924. Intended as a platform for lectures by the expected 'World Teacher', widely believed at the time to be Jiddu Krishnamurti, it was demolished in 1951, and its foundations used for an apartment building that still stands on the site.
The Balmoral line opened as a branch of the Georges Heights line in May 1922 and was one of the last tram lines to be opened
Bobbin Head is a point on Cowan Creek in the north of the suburb of North Turramurra, New South Wales, Australia. It is a "near-urban" part of Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park. Bobbin Head is easily reached by taking Bobbin Head Road through North Turramurra or Kuringai Chase Road, Mount Colah near Hornsby.
Facilities at Bobbin Head include a marina, picnic areas with gas barbecues, a licensed restaurant and kiosk at the marina, small boat hire at the marina, and a lunch-time restaurant in what used to be the Bobbin Head Inn, which also contains a National Parks information centre. The area also contains many fire trails and a mangrove boardwalk. Aboriginal engravings can be observed along some of the bushwalk trails. There is also a discovery trail along the waterfront inside the marina that chronicles the history of the area.
Canada Bay is a suburb in the inner-west of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 11 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of City of Canada Bay.
Canada Bay is also a bay on Parramatta River between Concord and Five Dock. The suburb of Canada Bay sits on the southern shore and is bordered by the suburbs of Burwood and Croydon. The City of Canada Bay takes its name from the bay but its administrative centre is located in the suburb of Drummoyne.
The name Canada Bay honours a link between Australia and Canada. Following the Lower Canada Rebellion of 1837 to 1838, two Irish and 58 French Canadian rebels were deported to Australia. At the request of the local Catholic bishop, they were brought to Sydney. Imprisoned at Longbottom Stockade (which was located at what is now Concord Oval), the convicts broke stone for the construction of Parramatta Road and collected oyster shells for making lime. In 1842, the French Canadians were allowed to work outside the prison. Between 1843 and 1844, all received pardons and, except for two people who died and one (Joseph Marceau) who settled in Dapto all returned to Canada.
Chatswood is a suburb on the North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 10 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district. It is the administrative centre of the local government area of the City of Willoughby. Chatswood West is a separate suburb.
It is a well-known ethnic Chinese hotspot, second only to Haymarket, New South Wales.
Chatswood was named after Charlotte Harnett, wife of then Mayor of Willoughby, Richard Harnett (a pioneer of the district) and the original "wooded" nature of the area. The moniker derives from her nickname "Chattie" and was shortened from Chattie's Wood to Chatswood.
Residential settlement of Chatswood began in 1876 and grew with the installation of the North Shore railway line in 1890 and also increased with the opening of the Harbour Bridge in 1932.
Chatswood Post Office opened on 1 August 1879, closed in 1886 and reopened in 1887.
Chatswood is one of the North Shore’s major commercial and retail districts. The Australian headquarters of CSR Limited, Smith's Snackfood, Pepsico and Carter Holt Harvey as well as offices of Nortel Networks, Optus, IBM, NEC, Leighton Holdings and Cisco Systems are located in Chatswood. A
Claremont is a suburb of the City of Glenorchy, part of the greater Hobart area, Tasmania, Australia. It is named after Claremont House, which was built in the 1830s by local settler Henry Bilton, who named it after one of the royal homes of England. Claremont was the home of an Army training facility during World War I, but this was moved to Brighton some time before World War II. At that time Claremont consisted of only a few houses and farms. Between the 1960s and the 1980s, public housing was built in the suburb (as happened in the rest of the City of Glenorchy).
Claremont is best known as the location of the Cadbury chocolate factory. Another tourist attraction is the Alpenrail, a Swiss model village and railway.
Claremont has a senior secondary college (Claremont College which also has a TAFE campus), two government primary schools (Windemere Primary School and Austins Ferry Primary School), and one private primary school (Holy Rosary School).
Claremont has a small shopping centre named Claremont Village, and several churches. Claremont is home to a Retained Volunteer Fire Station whose members support career staff from Glenorchy Fire Station with fire incidents within the
Keysborough is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 27 km south-east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Greater Dandenong. At the 2006 Census, Keysborough had a population of 16,368.
Keysborough includes market gardens and semi-rural properties and is also a large residential/industrial suburb which started to grow in the 1960s and well into the 1990s.
The Post Office opened on 27 November 1973 and was known as Noble Park South until 1978.
Today, Keysborough facilitates several primary and secondary schools, including the Keysborough campus of Haileybury College and Lighthouse Christian College. Parkmore Shopping Centre includes a Coles, Woolworths, Kmart, Big W, Australia Post and an assortment of specialty stores. As of 2002 the southern corner of the suburb was under development and four new housing estates have been developed including The Keys, Hidden Grove, and Crystal Waters. A new housing estate, Somerfield, in southern Keysborough is currently under development.
Keysborough is home to several schools and educational facilities. The Chandler Park( which are Chandler primary school and Maralinga Primary school
Shelly Beach is a coastal suburb of the Central Coast region of New South Wales, Australia, located on a peninsula between Tuggerah Lake and the Pacific Ocean south of The Entrance. It is part of the Wyong Shire local government area. It is 66 km south of Newcastle & 93 km north of Sydney. Shelly Beach is considered one of the most popular surfing beaches on the Central Coast.
Shelly Beach Golf Club (Tuggerah Lakes) is an 18 hole golf course located at the eastern end of Shelly Beach Road, overlooking Shelly Beach. It was formally established in 1930, originally being located at Killarney Vale until 1954 when it moved to its present location.
Shelly Beach is also home to the Shelly Beach Surf Club and the Shelly Beach Fossils soccer club.
Spring Hill is an inner suburb of Brisbane, Australia located 2 km north of the central business district. Parts of Spring Hill can be considered to be extensions of the Brisbane CBD.
Spring Hill is serviced by a number of schools, including Brisbane Grammar School, Brisbane Girls Grammar School, St Joseph's College, Gregory Terrace and Brisbane Central School. Those in the surrounding suburbs including the Petrie Terrace State School in Paddington and the Albert Park Flexi School in Petrie Terrace.
The Old Windmill in Wickham Park was built in 1824 when Brisbane was a penal colony and originally milled grain and then used as a gallows for the colony. The Spring Hills Baths operated by the Brisbane City Council are the oldest public baths in Queensland.
Spring Hill was so named in the nineteenth century because the hill on which the suburb was built was the source of the creek that was Brisbane's first fresh water supply.
Spring Hill is one of the oldest residential neighbourhoods in Brisbane, with many houses dating from the nineteenth century. As an example, some of the house lots in Sedgebrook Street were surveyed in the 1870s. However, in recent decades much of the older
Tatton is an outer south-eastern suburb of Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia. Located to the south of Kooringal, and to the West of Lake Albert, Tatton is one of Wagga Wagga's more expensive new suburbs. Subdivision of what was an area dominated by small rural holdings, commenced in the 1990s. Tatton Public School was previously located within the confines of the suburb, however this school closed down prior to the commencement of any significant development. Today the suburb is serviced by the private Lutheran Primary School.
Media related to Tatton, New South Wales at Wikimedia Commons
Thorngate is an inner northern suburb of Adelaide, South Australia. It is located in the City of Prospect.
This small suburb is one of South Australia's most expensive. Although sales are rare, houses on Fitzroy Terrace and Churcher Street were valued well over $1 million in 2006.
Formerly part of Fitzroy, the suburb is thought to be named after the original grantee of that area, one John Batty Thorngate. Arriving from Gosport, Hampshire, Thorngate was granted his land in 1840.
In the early twentieth century, the first houses were built along Parkland Terrace (now known as Fitzroy Terrace) and Churcher Street on what was a small swamp.
Thorngate is one of Adelaide's smallest suburbs. It is bounded to the north by Carter Street, to the south by Fitzroy Terrace, in the west by Prospect Road and the east by Main North Road. The only other streets in the suburb are Churcher Street and Thorngate Street.
The 2006 Census by the Australian Bureau of Statistics counted 180 persons in Thorngate on census night. Of these, half were female.
The majority of residents (76.7%) are of Australian birth, with an additional 6.7% identifying Greece as their country of birth.
The age distribution of
Ascot is a predominantly affluent residential suburb of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, characterised by large Queenslander homes. Located 7 kilometres (4 mi) from Brisbane, the suburb is well catered for in terms of public transport with many bus and train services departing from Ascot railway station. Ascot is home to the Eagle Farm and Doomben racecourses, and is best known for its racing carnivals and for the precinct of Racecourse Road, with its cafes, restaurants, boutique shops and poinciana trees lining the street.
Historically, the land was occupied by the Aboriginal Turrbal group. In 1855, pastoralist James Sutherland purchased a large portion of area including Ascot and its surrounds. In 1882 a railway line was built from Eagle Junction to Ascot for access to the racecourse that had already been established.
During World War II, several buildings were used by Douglas MacArthur and the Central Bureau, which had its headquarters at "Nyrambla", 21 Henry Street. Also used was the fire station at 77 Kitchener Road and several other locations in nearby Hamilton.
The consulate of Austria in Brisbane is located at 81 Yabba Street, Ascot.
The population in Ascot was 4,545 people
Forest Lake was the first Master Planned Community within the municipality of Brisbane, Queensland. It has won numerous awards for its design and had a population of 20,900 residents, as of February 2006. Delfin, the developer of Forest Lake, was absorbed into Lend Lease in 2001. Now operating as Delfin Lend Lease, they are developing the adjacent Springfield Lakes Master Planned Community.
Forest Lake was considered instrumental in the creation of affordable housing within Australia. The development was the first modern day community to contain small lot product, a first during its time. The master planned community contained retail, commercial, educational, residential, retirement, and recreational uses. The entire community is linked by an extensive network of pedestrian and cycle paths, which are integrated into the large open space network.
Forest Lake lies within the Brisbane City Council municipality and is approximately 19 km from the Brisbane central business district. It adjoins the suburbs of Doolandella, Inala, Park Ridge and Algester. It successfully mixes wildlife with residential development.
The Forest Lake Village Shopping Centre is located in Forest Lake.
Glenfield is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Glenfield is located 40 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government areas of the City of Campbelltown and the City of Liverpool. It is part of the Macarthur region.
Glenfield was named after the property founded by early colonial surgeon and explorer, Charles Throsby. According to local authorities and Campbelltown City Library, the property was named after the Glenfield in Leicestershire, England, where Throsby once lived. Many of the streets in the suburb have links to British names, such as Canterbury Road, Cambridge Avenue and Trafalgar Street.
The name was first used when Glenfield railway station was built in 1869 although a village didn't begin to develop until 1881 when the first subdivision of the paddocks were marketed. A public school opened in a tent the following year and a local post office was established in 1899. However, the suburb did not really develop until the 1950s and 60s.
Glenfield gained notoriety in 1968 as the site of a hostage siege which ended in bizarre circumstances with the NSW Commissioner of Police Norm Allen acting as witness to
Wooloowin is an inner-north suburb of Brisbane, Australia located approximately 5-6 km north of the city's central business district. The suburb derives its name from a local Indigenous Australian term for "pigeon". It was the home of Brisbane's first Resident Judge, Alfred Lutwyche.
The suburb is serviced by Brisbane City Council buses and contains two train stations, Eagle Junction and Wooloowin. Several Queensland government institutions are located in this suburb, including Kedron State High School and the State of Queensland's State Emergency Services headquarters.
As of the 2001 census, the population of Wooloowin was 5 381 persons. 1% of these people were Aboriginal, 0.2% were Torres Strait Islander, 17.2% were born overseas, and the remainder were Australian-born of non-indigenous origin. 87.9% of people speak English at home.
Kalinga is a residential district within Wooloowin. The area is predominantly flat, with a mix of small apartment blocks and houses, with some older style Queenslanders still extant. The area borders with Kalinga Park. This area is notable for the original residence of Alfred Lutwyche, known as the Kedron Lodge.
Between 1927 and 1962 an electric tram
Beaumaris is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 20 km south-east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Bayside. At the 2006 Census, Beaumaris had a population of 12,441.
Beaumaris is pronounced bo'morris, the town in Wales it is named after is pronounced byoo'maris. The suburb is located on Port Phillip.
Beaumaris includes two early estates in the parish of Moorabbin developed by Josiah Holloway from 1852. Named Beaumaris Town and Beaumaris Estate (after the pastoral run in the area and ultimately after Beaumaris in Wales) he marketed the lots by suggesting the railway was imminent and a canal would be built. The township developed slowly, a Post Office opened on 1 March 1868, but was replaced next month by Gipsy Village office (now Sandringham). Beaumaris Post Office did not reopen until 1925. In 1957 this was renamed Beaumaris South when a new Beaumaris office opened in the current location. In 1954 Cromer Post Office opened to the north of the suburb.
From 1889 to 1914 the Beaumaris Tram Company conducted a horse drawn tram service from Sandringham to Cheltenham through Beaumaris. It closed due to high costs and low
The Rocks is an urban locality, tourist precinct and historic area of Sydney's city centre, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is located on the southern shore of Sydney Harbour, immediately north-west of the Sydney central business district. The precinct and its immediate surroundings are administered independently of the local government area of the City of Sydney, by a New South Wales state government statutory authority, the Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority.
The Rocks area borders on the Bradfield Highway, leading to the Sydney Harbour Bridge, with the localities of Dawes Point and Millers Point, to the west. It is immediately adjacent to Circular Quay on Sydney Cove, the site of Australia's first European settlement in 1788.
The Rocks became established shortly after the colony's formation in 1788. The original buildings were made mostly of local sandstone, from which the area derives its name. From the earliest history of the settlement, the area had a reputation as a slum, often frequented by visiting sailors and prostitutes. During the late nineteenth century, the area was dominated by a gang known as the Rocks Push. It maintained this rough reputation until
Wulguru is a suburb of Townsville, Queensland.
Wulguru is a fine suburb with a variety of different houses and landscapes. The bushy hills near Lexington Street and Coral Sea Crescent provide panoramic views of Townsville and Magnetic Island. However, most of this lovely area is owned by the Australian Army and is fenced off. "Wulguru" is the name of an extinct Aboriginal language and it is claimed that the word itself means "windy valley". The Edison Street Plaza is the main shopping centre of the suburb consisting of a Edison Street Seafood, video hire, Chinese dining, a bakery, a St vincent De Paul store, a butcher, a hairdresser and a handy mini-mart. Across the road from this thriving shopping plaza is Wulguru State School which is where the vast majority of Wulguru children are educated. Next to the school is a beautiful park and several good soccer fields as well as a scout hall. Other schools close to the vicinity of Wulguru are Southern Cross Catholic School and William Ross High School.
Wulguru is a centrally located suburb with two major shopping centers near by being Fairfield Waters and Annandale Central.
Around Wright Street there are many beautiful Queensland-style
Bossley Park is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Bossley Park is located 36 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Fairfield. Bossley Park is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
The 2006 census records Bossley Park as having a resident population of 13,931 (of whom around half were born outside Australia) and an area of 4.5 km.
Bossley Park was named after John Brown Bossley (1810–72), an English chemist who purchased a large block of land on Smithfield Road. He named his property Edensor after a village in Derbyshire, England. When the area north of Edensor was subdivided in 1890, it became known as Bossley Park. The public school was built in 1890 and a post office in 1895. After World War II, Bossley Park received many migrants from Italy, who have since played a large role in the local community.
Bossley Park has a number of government schools including Bossley Park High School, Bossley Park Public School and Prairievale Public School. There is also the Catholic run Mary Immaculate Primary School. .
Bossley Park residents are predominantly Catholic (Latin and Eastern), Assyrian
Footscray is a suburb 5 km west of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Its Local Government Area is the City of Maribyrnong. At the 2011 Census, Footscray had a population of 13,203.
Footscray is characterised by a very diverse, multicultural central shopping area, which reflects the successive waves of immigration experienced by Melbourne, and by Footscray in particular. Once a centre for Italian and former Yugoslavian migrants, it is now a hub for Vietnamese, and increasingly, East African immigrants in Melbourne.
Footscray is named after the Foots village, on the River Cray in Kent, England, United Kingdom (UK).
Footscray is part of the City of Maribyrnong and was built largely on the traditional lands of the Kulin nation.
For thousands of years, Footscray was the meeting place of the lands of the Yalukit-willan, the Marin-balluk and the Wurundjeri. Koories stalked game, collected food and fished along the river junction, estuaries, swamps and lagoons. Within Melbourne's western region, the Marin-balug and Kurung-jand-balug clans of the Woiwurrung cultural group, and the Yalukit willam clan of the Boonwurrung cultural group shared the luscious resources around the Maribyrnong
Kew East is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 9 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Boroondara. At the 2011 Census, Kew East had a population of 6,017.
A number of farming properties were established along the Yarra River following government land auctions, between 1845 and 1847.
The Wills family established "Willsmere Estate", a grazing and dairying property, with the name now reflected in Willsmere Road and Willsmere Park.
William Wade established a farm, named "Belford", next door. A flood in December 1863 devastated the property, which later became the Kew Golf Course.
The Harp of Erin Hotel, on the corner of Harp Road and High Street, was established in 1854, by Edward Glynn. It was a centre for race meetings and gave its name to Harp Road, which was part of a route to Lilydale, used by Cobb and Co.
Kew East Post Office opened around 1924.
The East Kew Maternal and Child Health Centre, in Strathalbyn Street, Kew East, is registered as a Historic Place with Heritage Victoria. Opened in December 1925, it is the earliest purpose-built and intact baby health centre in the state.
Windella Road was originally named
Mansfield Park is a north-western suburb of Adelaide 10 km from the CBD, in the state of South Australia, Australia and falls under the City of Port Adelaide Enfield. It is adjacent to Wingfield, Angle Park, Woodville Gardens, and Athol Park. The postcode for Mansfield Park is 5012. It is bounded to the north by Grand Junction Road, and to the west by Hanson Road. It is named after the corresponding location in Ayrshire, Scotland.
Prior to the Second World War, Mansfield Park mainly consisted of pastures and open land. Its development as a residential area coincided with the post-war boom in the 1950s. It is home to a large number of houses owned by the former South Australian Housing Trust (now Housing SA). In 1965, a council library was opened in Hamley Crescent, but it was relocated in 1978 to the newly-established Parks Community Centre in 1978. In the 1990s, plans were made for the Westwood Urban Renewal project, of which Ferryden Park, Angle Park, Woodville Gardens, and Athol Park are also a part. This involved the demolition of many of the Housing Trust homes, which were to be replaced by either private housing, or a lesser number of townhouse-style new housing trust homes.
Palmerston is a suburb in the Canberra, Australia district of Gungahlin. The postcode is 2913. The suburb is named after George Thomas Palmer (1784–1854) who established a settlement in the Canberra region in 1826 called Palmerville, which was later renamed Ginninderra. It was gazetted on 20 March 1991. Streets are named after mountains and mountain ranges of Australia, with the main street called Kosciuszko Avenue.
It is next to the suburbs of Nicholls, Gungahlin, Crace and Franklin. It was the second suburb to be developed in the Gungahlin district, after the industrial suburb of Mitchell. It is bounded by Gungahlin drive and Gundaroo drive.
It has a primary school, Palmerston Primary School (which opened in 1994) and a large neighbourhood oval adjacent to the school.
Palmerston is underlaid by the Canberra Formation from the late middle Silurian age. The area was studied in more detail than many other parts of Canberra by J P Ceplecha from the ANU in 1971.
Mostly the Canberra Formation is slaty shale and mudstone. A layer of ashstone has been folded to form 75 meter wide exposures on the surface. These are in the shape of an ear of corn with the major axis pointing north north
Vista is a small north-eastern suburb of Adelaide, South Australia and is within the City of Tea Tree Gully local government area. It is adjacent to Houghton, Tea Tree Gully, St Agnes and Hope Valley.
First farmed in the 1840s, the area was subsequently used for mining of dolomite and quartzite, grazing, fruit growing and an extensive plant nursery (in use from 1854 to 1913), which is now in ruins. The residential portion was settled since the 1890s as part of the Hope Valley settlement, and was primarily used for viticulture. The Vista subdivision was created in 1927 but was not significantly developed until the 1950s-1960s.
The boundary of Vista is defined by Lower North East Road to the south, Hancock Road to the west, and a line extending from Smart Rd, St Agnes to the north. The eastern three-quarters of the suburb is part of the Anstey Hill Recreation Park.
At the ABS 2001 census, Vista had a mostly middle-income population of 918 people living in 366 dwellings, an outright majority of whom were from the Great Britain and Ireland.
Anstey Hill (371m) (named after George Anstey (1814-1895), a local viticulturalist) and the surrounding 362-hectare Anstey Hill Recreation Park,
Willoughby East is a suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Willoughby East is located 9 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Willoughby.
A bus depot is located in Stan Street.
Woolooware is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Woolooware is located 24 kilometres (15 mi) south of the Sydney central business district in the Sutherland Shire. It shares the 2230 postcode with Cronulla.
Woolooware stretches from Woolooware Bay in the north to Burraneer Bay and Gunnamatta Bay in the south, on Port Hacking estuary. It borders the suburbs of Cronulla, Caringbah, Burraneer and Kurnell.
It was originally a thickly forested area, with mangrove swamps around Woolooware Bay. Those were later reclaimed to create parks and playing fields including Endeavour Field, Woolooware Golf Course and Cronulla Golf Course. The area was subdivided after the railway line from Sutherland to Cronulla was opened in 1939. The first public school opened in 1951 and the post office opened in October 1954.
A small group of shops, known locally as Woolooware North, is located on Wills Road, close to Woolooware railway station. Shops include a general store, beauty salon, liquor shop, hairdressers, gift shop, cafe, doctor's surgery and Chinese restaurant. Another small group of shops, known locally as Woolooware South, is located around the intersection
Mount Pritchard is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 34 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Fairfield and is part of the South-western Sydney region.
Mount Pritchard was originally home to the Cabrogal people who occupied much of the greater Fairfield area. In the early 19th century, the land was granted to a number of ex-convicts for farming. When it was later subdivided into smaller residential lots by a real estate agent named Pritchard, it took on the name Mount Pritchard. During the Great Depression of the 1930s, a number of homeless people built makeshift shacks on vacant land in the area and the suburb gained the nickname Mount Misery. Mount Pritchard is the home suburb of Matthew Chadwick, the great-great grandson of British physist James Chadwick.
At the 2006 Australian census, Mount Pritchard had a population of 8895 which was fairly multicultural. Nine percent of the population was born in Vietnam and 12% spoke Vietnamese at home. There were also a substantial number of speakers of Arabic (7.1%), Italian (5.1%) and Serbian (4.8%). The large number of Vietnamese made
Belconnen (postcode: 2617) is a suburb of Canberra, Australia in the district of Belconnen. It contains the Belconnen Town Centre, Lake Ginninderra and several residential areas. It is bounded by Ginninderra Drive, Aikman Drive, Eastern Valley Way, Belconnen Way and Coulter Drive. It has a number of parks such as Diddams Close Park and John Knight Memorial Park.
The suburb name is associated with the locality since the days of the early settlers. The streets in Belconnen are named for Lord Mayors and Mayors.
Belconnen Town Centre is the major commercial centre for the Canberra district of Belconnen and is located in the suburb of Belconnen. Belconnen Town Centre includes the region's major shopping centre, Westfield Belconnen, large government office buildings including Cameron Offices, Australian Bureau of Statistics and Department of Immigration and Citizenship, and three bus stations. Government plans were released early in 2009, detailing refurbishment of the areas surrounding the shopping centre, including the relocation of the bus interchange and the extension of the bus lane.
The service and trades area is located in the suburb's west. In this area can be found car dealers
Caringbah is a suburb, in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Caringbah is 24 kilometres (15 mi) south of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of Sutherland Shire.
Caringbah once stretched from Woolooware Bay on the Georges River to Yowie Bay and Burraneer Bay on the Port Hacking estuary. A number of Caringbah localities have been declared as separate suburbs but still share the postcode 2229. These suburbs are to the north, Taren Point on the Georges River and to the south, Port Hacking, Lilli Pilli, Dolans Bay and Caringbah South on the Port Hacking River.
Caringbah is an Aboriginal word for a pademelon wallaby. The suburb was originally called Highfield, but it is unclear whether this was a position description or whether it was named after an early resident. Caringbah was used from 1911, after the steam trams began operating between Cronulla and Sutherland.
Thomas Holt (1811–88) owned most of the land that stretched from Sutherland to Cronulla in the 1860s. Most of the area around Miranda and Caringbah was used for market gardening from the 1880s. Caringbah was still used for orchards and farming until after World War II.
Collingwood is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 3 km north-east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Yarra. At the 2011 Census, Collingwood had a population of 6,467.
Collingwood is one of the oldest suburbs in Melbourne and is bordered by Smith Street, Alexandra Parade, Hoddle Street and Victoria Parade.
Collingwood is notable for its historical buildings, with many nineteenth century dwellings, shops and factories still in use.
It was named after Baron Collingwood, a British admiral.
The suburb was named after Baron Collingwood, a British admiral.
Australian author Frank Hardy set the novel Power Without Glory in a fictionalised version of the suburb, named Carringbush. The name is used by a number of businesses in the area, such as "Carringbush Business Centre". At one time a ward in the City of Yarra that includes part of Collingwood was actually named Carringbush.
Subdivision and sale of land in Collingwood began in 1838, and was mostly complete by the 1850s. Collingwood was declared a municipality, separate from the City of Melbourne on 24 April 1855, the first to follow the state's major population centres of
Hurlstone Park is a suburb in the inner-west of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Hurlstone Park is located ten kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district and is mostly in the local government area of the City of Canterbury, and partly in the Municipality of Ashfield. The suburb is bounded by: the Cooks River to the south, Garnet Street to the east, New Canterbury Road to the north, Canterbury Road to the north-west, and Church Street to the west.
Previously known as 'Wattle Hill' and then 'Fernhill'. After the Postmaster-General's Department refused to open a post office called Fernhill, a 1910 referendum chose the name 'Hurlstone', after the nearby Hurlstone College. John Kinloch founded the college in 1878, on the site of present-day Trinity Grammar School and named it after his mother's maiden name, which was Helen Hurlstone. The college moved to a new site, now known as Hurlstone Agricultural High School. The 'Park' was added at the request of the Railways Department, to avoid confusion with the New South Wales town of Hillston.
Hurlstone Park railway station is a CityRail station (located 8.8 km from Central station) on the Bankstown line. Sydney Buses
Kingsford is a suburb in south-eastern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Kingsford is located 7 kilometres south-east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Randwick. Kingsford is also considered to be part of the Eastern Suburbs region.
Kingsford is a mainly residential area, situated directly south of the University of New South Wales, which is in Kensington. Many of the residents are students living in medium and high density housing. A large Australian Army depot lies in the east of Kingsford.
At the centre of Kingsford, on Anzac Parade and Gardeners Road, there is a large roundabout connecting a public transport system to nine possible destinations via a large number of bus services. For this reason, this part of Kingsford is sometimes referred to as “nine-ways”. Kingsford is less than 5 km from Coogee Beach.
The area was once known as South Kensington. It was named Kingsford to honour Australian aviator Sir Charles Kingsford Smith (1897–1935), as was the nearby Sydney Airport. Kingsford was undeveloped until a land boom in the 1920s. In the 1940s many Greeks settled in the area, particularly migrants from the
North Parramatta is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 24 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Parramatta. Parramatta is a separate suburb to the south.
The Darug people had lived in the area for many generations, and regarded the area as a food bowl, rich in food from the river and forests. They called the area Baramada or Burramatta ('Parramatta') which means "the place where the eels lie down".
North Parramatta is dominated by Lake Parramatta and The King's School, which together comprise almost 50% of the land area.
O'Malley (postcode: 2606) is a suburb in the Canberra district of Woden Valley. On Census night 2006, O'Malley had a population of 684 people. There are numerous embassies in O'Malley.
The suburb is named after King O'Malley, who was the politician who arranged the competition for a design for Canberra. Streets in O'Malley are named with Aboriginal words.
Deakin Volcanics green-grey and purple rhyodacite are under the suburb. To the east in the valley bottom is Deakin Volcanics purple and green tuff and up the slopes of Mount Mugga Mugga are Deakin Volcanics coarse dark purple rhyodacite.
Peakhurst Heights is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Peakhurst Heights is located 22 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the St George area. Peakhurst Heights is in the local government area of the City of Hurstville.
Peakhurst is a separate suburb to the north. Peakhurst Heights is bordered by Boggywell Creek and Lime Kiln Bay, on the Georges River. The shores of Lime Kiln Bay once had Aboriginal middens that were used by shell-gatherers.
Peakhurst Heights is a mainly residential area. Gannons Park is a large recreation area in the north west corner and Hurstville Golf Course sits on the eastern border.
A small group of shops is located on Pindari Road. Peakhurst South Public School is located nearby.
Peakhurst was named after landholder John Robert Peake. The area was originally part of a land grant to Captain John Townson. John Robert Peake bought 10 acres (40,000 m) of land from William Hebblewhite in 1838. Peake donated land for the first Methodist church built in 1856. School Inspector Huffer suggested that Peake's name be used when the public school was founded in 1871 and it was later adopted by
Beaumont is a suburb of Adelaide in the City of Burnside. Founded as a purpose-built village by Sir Samuel Davenport in 1848, it initially struggled due to high land prices in the area. However, with Adelaide's inevitable expansion residents eventually settled. The early village had quite a cosmopolitan flavour - although predominantly Anglo-Saxon like most of Australia at this point, many of Beaumont's early residents were veterans of the British Navy or Army or had lived in other countries for some time. Beaumont House, constructed around 1850 for Augustus Short, still stands and is now owned by the National Trust of South Australia. Edward Burton Gleeson, the founder of the Mid North town of Clare originally owned a farm within the boundaries of Beaumont in the early 1840s, which he named Gleeville. He became bankrupt, sold his holdings to Davenport in 1842 and later moved to the Clare Valley region.
The original village was centred around a small park known as the "Beaumont Common" (or to residents simply as "The Common"). The suburb has now expanded south-east in the direction of the hills however, with newer developments now on the face of the Adelaide Hills.
Beecroft is a suburb of northern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 22 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of Hornsby Shire. Beecroft is considered to be in the Northern Suburbs of Sydney.
Beecroft was, before its suburban development, orchard country. The railway arrived in 1886 and Sir Henry Copeland, Minister of Lands, conducted a survey of the area to determine its suitability as a residential area. He named the suburb after the maiden name of his two wives, Hannah and Mary Beecroft, (two sisters he married in succession). Their names are also remembered through the respective naming of the suburb's east-west streets; Hannah Street, Copeland Road and Mary Street. 'Beecroft Post Office opened on 10 February 1890. Due to the strength of the temperance movement in Beecroft at that time there have never been any hotels in Beecroft. The bushland and amenity of Beecroft has been largely preserved due to the efforts of the Beecroft Cheltenham Civic Trust which has been very active since its inception in 1958.
The majority of commercial activity conducted in Beecroft is concentrated within a couple of blocks.
Box Hill South is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 14 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Whitehorse. At the 2011 Census, Box Hill South had a population of 7,699.
In the summer of 1885/86, Tom Roberts and Frederick McCubbin set up a camp, on a site near Damper Creek (now Gardiners Creek), on the property of David Houston, about a mile south of the Box Hill railway station. In this location, painting activities were carried out on weekends over the next few years. At this time the area was relatively untouched bushland.
Following the end of World War II, extensive suburbanisation of the area occurred, including the development of a Housing Commission estate.
Box Hill South Post Office opened on 19 October 1927, with the Wattle Park Post Office opening on 12 December 1960 and the Houston Post Office, on Middleborough Road, on 16 October 1961.
Heritage places listed in the City of Whitehorse Planning Scheme include Tyneholm, in Elgar Road (built in 1891), Pound House in Canterbury Road, St James Uniting Church in Riversdale Road and Gwynton Park (built c. 1907), which is now the administration building of Kingswood
Fraser is a suburb in the Canberra district of Belconnen. It lies at the north west end of Belconnen. The postcode is 2615. The suburb is named after James Reay Fraser, who was Member of the Australian House of Representatives for the Division of Australian Capital Territory from 1951 to 1970 and Vice Chairman of the Joint Committee of the Australian Capital Territory from 1959 to 1970. It was gazetted on 15 January 1974. Streets are named after early residents of Canberra.
Mount Rogers reserve is part of Fraser with an elevation of 704 metres. Fraser has a neighbourhood oval and primary school. It is bordered to the north by Kuringa Drive.
The median house price for the Fraser suburb (2011) is $410,000.
Silurian age Hawkins Volcanics green-grey dacite and quartz andesite fill the suburb.
Fraser Primary School is a popular local government primary school. It offers a quality education for students from preschool to year 6.
Lawson is a suburb in the Canberra district of Belconnen. The postcode is 2617. It does not have any suburban houses, consisting only of part of Lake Ginninderra, the Belconnen Naval Radio Station, and an open area of grassland where there is a reservoir and substation. A bicycle path runs alongside Ginninderra Drive, another along the shore of the lake. The area is surrounded by Baldwin Drive, William Slim Drive and Ginninderra Drive. It lies next to the suburbs of McKellar, Giralang, Kaleen, Bruce and Belconnen.
The suburb is planned to be opened for residential development, with first release of land for subdivision to begin in 2011.
Currently, an intersection is being built for the suburb. The intersection points are off Haydon drive and Ginninderra Drive.
The rocks in Lawson are from Ordovician and Silurian ages. The Ordovician age greywacke from the Pittman Formation is in the far south and east of Lawson, including a band of black Acton Shale. Greywacke is formed by underwater landslides of mud settling out on the ocean floor. The black shale was formed in the deep ocean when the water had no oxygen. Then in the north west there are late Silurian sedimentary rocks. From the
Lane Cove is a suburb on the Lower North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Lane Cove is nine kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district and is the administrative centre for the local government area of the Municipality of Lane Cove. Lane Cove West and Lane Cove North are separate suburbs.
Lane Cove occupies a peninsula on the northern side of Port Jackson (Sydney Harbour), at the opening of the Lane Cove River.
There are a number of possibilities of the origin of the name 'Lane Cove'. The first written use of the name was by Lieutenant William Bradley after he had just sailed along the river in 1788. Some have argued that the it was named after Lieutenant Michael Lane, a respected cartographer, who had once worked with Captain Cook. Others say that it was in honour of John Lane, who was the son of the London Lord Mayor at the time as well as a good friend of the first Governor, Arthur Phillip. In any case, the name stuck, and by the 1800s was being used to refer to all the land north of the river.
Prior to the arrival of the First Fleet, the area in which Lane Cove is situated was inhabited by the Cam-mer-ray-gal Group of the
Pelican Point is a northeastern suburb of Bunbury, Western Australia, adjoining Eaton and located 6 km from the centre of Bunbury. Its Local Government Area is the City of Bunbury.
The suburb was developed from 1997 onwards by the City of Bunbury. The Sanctuary Golf Resort was designed in 1994 by Michael Coate, and residential estates opened around it and along the surrounding waterways and wetlands.Pelican Point is now one of the wealthiest suburbs of Bunbury with house prices as high as A$2,000,000.
The suburb of Pelican Point is bounded to the west and south by the port railway, to the east by Old Coast Road, and otherwise by the Leschenault Estuary and the mouth of the Collie River. Only the north-eastern third is available for residential development.
Pelican Point's main attraction is the Sanctuary Golf Resort, open since 1999, with an All Seasons hotel and 18-hole golf course on site. The resort hosts a range of events. Several B&Bs, foreshore parks and a boat ramp are also located within the suburb. A neighbourhood shopping centre is proposed at the intersection of Estuary Drive and Old Coast Road. Eaton Central shopping centre meets daily shopping needs, while Bunbury
Preston is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 9 km north from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Darebin. At the 2011 Census, Preston had a population of 29,925.
The area where Preston now resides was first surveyed by Robert Hoddle in 1837 for sub-division. In 1850, Edward Wood, a settler from Sussex, England, opened a store at the corner of High Street and Wood Street. The original name for Preston was Irishtown. Meeting at the Wood store, members of the Ebenezer Church, Particular Baptist from Brighton, England met to change the name. They wanted to name the town after their former home in Sussex, but Brighton was already taken. Instead they named it after Preston, a small village also in Sussex, where the church members had happy annual outings [Douglas Wood 24/04/08].
The first church was accompanied by a growing number of hotels and other stores, which had emerged some 2 kilometres south of Wood's store at the junction of Plenty Road and High Street, the latter of which served as a route to Sydney. Throughout the 1880s the area between Wood's Store and the junction would be known as "Gowerville".
1854 saw the establishment
Fairfield East is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Fairfield East is located 28 kilometres (17 mi) west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Fairfield. Fairfield East is part of the Greater Western Sydney region.
Fairfield East shares the postcode of 2165 with nearby suburbs of Fairfield, Fairfield Heights and Fairfield West.
Fairfield East gets its name from its neighbour Fairfield which in turn was named after the family estate of Captain John Horsley, an early settler. Prior to colonisation, the Cabrogal clan of the Dharug people inhabited the area around what is now known as Fairfield East. British settlers moved into the area in the early 19th century and used the land for farming.
By the 1870s, the area now known as Fairfield East was part of two large properties: Orchardleigh in the north which extended towards Guildford and Mark Lodge in the south which also included Villawood, Carramar and parts of the Fairfield town centre.
In 1876, Orchardleigh was subdivided for housing and when Mark Lodge followed suit in 1885, the area completed its transformation from farmland to suburbia. The name Mark
Putney is a suburb of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It is located 10 kilometres (6 mi) west-northwest of the Sydney central business district on the northern bank of the Parramatta River. Its local government area is the City of Ryde.
Evidence of the Walumedegal clan remains around Morrisons Bay and Glades Bay, with 4 distinct sites including shelters amongst the sandstone overhangs, open rock engraving site, sheltered stencil (art site) and an axe grinding site.
The area of Putney and Ryde was originally known Eastern Farms and then as Kissing Point by the British colonists. It was of one the first areas of British settlement in the colony. One of the earliest settlers within the present day suburb was the brewer James Squire who settled there in 1792. He established his brewery the Malt Shovel near the present day Kissing Point.
The eastern section of Putney was part of a land grant to Nicholas Bayley. The land was later sold to Eugene Delange who subdivided the land calling it the Village of Eugenie.
The name was later changed to Putney, derived from its namesake Putney on the River Thames in London. Parramatta River had been known as the 'Thames of the Antipodes' and
Brunswick is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 6 km north of Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Moreland. At the 2011 Census, Brunswick had a population of 22,764.
Approximately four kilometres north of Melbourne CBD, it has a southern border with the suburbs of Princes Hill and Parkville, the boundary being Park Street. To the east Brunswick is bordered by Brunswick East, the boundary being behind Lygon Street and Holmes Street; to the north it is bordered by Coburg, along Moreland Road, while the western border with Brunswick West follows Grantham, Pearson and Shamrock Streets.
Brunswick's main thoroughfare is Sydney Road, which runs north-south as the continuation of Royal Parade and which several kilometres north of Brunswick becomes the Hume Freeway.
Brunswick is designated one of 82 Major Activity Centres in the Melbourne 2030 Metropolitan Strategy.
Brunswick takes its name from Caroline of Brunswick, the estranged wife of King George IV.
Brunswick is located in the area known as Iramoo by the Aboriginal people who inhabited and hunted in it. Occupied by the Wurundjeri people who spoke the Woiwurrung dialect, white
Enfield is a suburb in the Inner-West of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is 13 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of Burwood Council.
The suburb is named after Enfield Town, a suburb of London, England.
Prior to the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788, the Enfield area belonged to the Wangal people, a clan of the Eora tribe, which covered most of Sydney. In the early years, the Eora people were badly affected by smallpox, which arrived with the British. Many of the clans became unsustainably small and the survivors formed new bands who lived where they could. While it would be wrong to say that the local indigenous population gave no resistance to British land claims (Pemulwuy being a notable example), within thirty years or so of the colony's establishment, most of the land in the inner-west had been conceded to British settlers.
William Faithful was granted 100 acres (0.40 km) in 1810 covering what is now Enfield as well as much of Croydon Park and parts of Burwood and Croydon. In 1812, Liverpool Road was built through Faithful's land and the high position of Enfield made it a sensible spot for a
Fairview Park is located in the northeasern suburbs of Adelaide, South Australia, located within the City of Tea Tree Gully. It is situated at the base of the Adelaide Hills.
The suburb contains a golf course on its southern boundary.
There are also commercial interests in the suburb, including a hotel, supermarket and range of businesses along Hancock Road.
The following bus routes in Adelaide travel to Fairview Park through the O-Bahn Busway - 541, 541G, 542, 542X and the J3.
Sandringham is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Sandringham is located 18 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the St George area. Sandringham is in the local government area of the City of Rockdale.
Sandringham is a quiet residential suburb on the western shore of Botany Bay, at the mouth of the Georges River. Cook Park runs along the eastern and southern border and the beach stretches from Dolls Point to Sandringham Bay. The Georges River Sailing Club sits on the foreshore. A small group of shops is located at the intersection of Clareville Avenue and Russell Avenue, on the border with Sans Souci and Sandringham. It includes Sandrigham Friendly Grocer, The Cherish Cafe, Foodies, Village Greek Restaurant and Dolls Point Pharmacy.
Sandringham was originally known as Strippers Point in the 1830s, from the local occupation of tree-felling and bark-stripping. William Rust, bought a grand house on Rocky Point Road at Sans Souci from Thomas Holt (1811-88), which he turned into a luxurious hotel. Later, he moved to Strippers Point renamed it Sandringham and built the Prince of Wales Hotel. As an ardent royalist,
Alexandria is an inner-city suburb of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Alexandria is located 4 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the local government area of the City of Sydney. The postcode is 2015.
The rough boundaries of Alexandria are Botany Road to the east, Gardeners Road to the south, Mitchell Road and Sydney Park to the west, and Henderson Road to the north. It is approximately 2 km south of Central Station.
Alexandria was named after Princess Alexandra, wife of King Edward VII. The name was also used for the surrounding parish. In 1868, the Borough of Alexandria was formed, after separating from Waterloo. The former Alexandria Town Hall is in Garden Street.
By 1943, Alexandria was the largest industrial district in Australia, and known as the "Birmingham of Australia", with everything from bricks to aeroplanes manufactured in 550 factories in just 1,000 acres (4.0 km). The municipality was abolished upon merger into the City of Sydney in 1949, along with Darlington, Erskineville, Newtown, Redfern, Waterloo, Paddington and Glebe.
In 1968 the boundaries were changed again and Alexandria was part of a new municipality, South Sydney
Noarlunga Centre is a suburb in the City of Onkaparinga in the southern suburbs of Adelaide, South Australia. The suburb is purely commercial, being dominated by the Centro Colonnades shopping centre. Thus there are no private residents. The suburb is bordered by Beach Road to the north, Dyson Road to the west and Goldsmith Road to the east and south. Burgess Drive, Seaman Road and David Witton Drive are the main thoroughfares inside the boundaries of the suburb.
The name Noarlunga is an English adaptation of the native Kaurna word Nurlongga, meaning 'at the curvature', referring to the horseshoe bend near the mouth of the Onkaparinga River.
Sharing the name Noarlunga are the two adjacent seaside suburbs Port Noarlunga and Port Noarlunga South and the historic township of Old Noarlunga that is located on the Onkaparinga River.
Noarlunga Centre is home of many facilities. The Onkaparinga Council headquarters, Noarlunga TAFE, the Noarlunga Library and Noarlunga Hospital are all located in this area, as well as a 5 screen Wallis Cinema, a bowling alley, an ice-skating rink, a swimming centre, as well as a multi-sport venue. The number of retailers in this area is large, with over 200
Wolli Creek is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It sits beside the Wolli Creek and Cooks River waterways. Wolli Creek is situated between the suburbs of Arncliffe and Tempe, 10 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Rockdale and is part of the St George area.
Wolli Creek was named after the waterway on its northern border.
The suburb was previously part of Arncliffe. Reuben Hannam was granted land in 1825 on the banks of Cooks river. Alexander Brodie Spark purchased land in 1826 and built Tempe house in 1836. It was named after 'Vale of Tempe', a beautiful valley in ancient Greek legend set at the foot of Mount Olympus. Tempe House, designed by John Verge, has a Georgian feel and is regarded as one of the great houses of Sydney.
Philanthropist Caroline Chisholm leased Tempe House as a boarding school for young women (1863–1865). The estate was known as Greenbank during this time and presented an ideal location for Chisholm's work. She remarked on the spacious and lofty rooms and the 'fine large and open orchard of fruit trees, intersected by wide and shady walks'.
In 1884 the
Woodville is a suburb of Adelaide, situated about 8 kilometres northwest of the Central Business District of Adelaide. It lies within the City of Charles Sturt. The postcode of Woodville is 5011. Woodville is bound by Cheltenham Parade to the west, Torrens Road to the north, Port Road to the south and Park Street to the east, excluding the area of Cheltenham Park Racecourse.
Woodville was one of the first areas to be settled by European migrants in the mid-19th century, many establishing dairy farms in the vicinity. By 1853 Woodville consisted of 24 houses, a forge and a wheelwright’s shop. The Woodville Post Office opened around March 1856. It has many fine examples of colonial and federation architecture and was considered to be a genteel area. Many European migrants settled in Woodville and the surrounds after World War II. It was a busy local centre in the 1950s and 1960s when General Motors Holden had a car manufacturing plant in the nearby suburb of Cheltenham and because of its proximity to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Woodville South. Woodville Road was the hub of local activity with numerous commercial businesses. During the 1980s and 1990s, Woodville and its surrounds
Alderley is a suburb of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. It is 7 kilometres (4 mi) north-west of the CBD. It is surrounded by Newmarket in the south, Ashgrove and Enoggera in the west, Grange and Stafford in the east and Kedron and Everton Park in the north. At the 2006 census, it had a populatio of 5,068.
In prehistory, the area was inhabited by the Turrbal Aboriginal clan. Corroborees were held at Sedgeley Park estate.
Alderley is an older suburb, having had a post office since 1878 and a railway station since 1899. Trams operated by the Brisbane City Council ran to the suburb between 1949 and 1968. Alderley also consists of several warehouses, a police station and a community-based shopping complex that is anchored by one of only two remaining Bi-Lo supermarkets in Brisbane's northern suburbs (the other one is located in Toombul).
Cammeray is a suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Cammeray is located 5 kilometres (3.1 mi) north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of North Sydney Council.
Cammeray is mostly a residential area. Some houses have waterfront access such as those in Cowdroy Avenue and the end of Cammeray Road, leading down to Folly Point.
Cammeray is named after the Cammeraygal, the Aboriginal tribe who once resided in the North Sydney area. Cammeray was Sydney's first quarry, with sandstone blocks from the quarry making many of the first buildings in Sydney town.
Miller Street, the main thoroughfare of Cammeray, is lined with restaurants influenced by Chinese, Thai and Italian cuisine, as well as several cafes, the local post office, a petrol station and many other small businesses. The Green Park shopping area makes a small hamlet, within the village of Cammeray.
Cammeray is the last of the south-bound bus stops for services that operate via the Warringah Freeway to the Sydney central business district, although other south-bound services do travel to North Sydney, Milsons Point and Crows Nest. Long Gully Bridge, a sandstone
Concord is a suburb in the inner west of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is 15 kilometres (9.3 mi) west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Canada Bay.
Concord is known as the 'Parkland Suburb' of the Inner West. Concord West is a separate suburb, to the north-west.
Concord takes its name from Concord, Massachusetts, in the USA, which was the site of the Battle of Concord, one of the first military engagements of the American Revolutionary War (1775–1778). Some historians believe the Sydney suburb was named Concord to encourage a peaceful attitude between soldiers and settlers. The first land grants in the area were made in 1793.
The original Concord Council was established in 1883. Concord Council amalgamated with Drummoyne Council in 2000 after 117 years of self governance to form the City of Canada Bay. It is also the name of the surrounding parish.
Concord features a small shopping strip on Majors Bay Road. Several cafes and restaurants featuring outside dining are located here. The restaurants and shops include Italian, Chinese & Thai restaurants, a wood-fired pizzeria, steak house, cafes, pharmacy,
Terrigal is a major coastal suburb of the Central Coast region of New South Wales, Australia, located 12 kilometres (7 mi) east of Gosford on the Pacific Ocean. It is part of the City of Gosford local government area.
Terrigal was first settled in 1826 by European Settler John Gray, who called his property Tarrygal, after the indigenous Aboriginal place name, signifying 'place of little birds'.
The town's long beach is highly popular with tourists. Of geographical significance are the Terrigal lagoons. There are in fact two lagoons at Terrigal, one of which has been filled in to make way for a traffic oval. A local landmark is "The Skillion", a promontory which provides a view of all Terrigal. In recent years the Skillion has undergone rehabilitation by the local city council.
The Skillion is on a preserved area of land known as "The Haven". The Haven is centered by a popular public oval which is home of the "Terrigal Trojans", a Rugby Union club. Their new club house was provided by Gosford City Council. The Haven also has a popular boat ramp which is partnered by a diving club, and a small number of restaurants and cafes (due to tight development restrictions on the area).
Geelong West is a commercial and residential suburb of Geelong, Victoria, Australia. When Geelong was founded, the area was known as Kildare but its name was changed to Geelong West in 1875. The main street is Pakington Street.
Ashby was once a suburb of Geelong located in the area of Geelong West, west of Latrobe Terrace, between Aberdeen Street and Church Street. By 1850 this area had become known as Little Scotland, and Kildare. At this point, Ashby referred to the area between Autumn Street and Waratah Street.
In 1875 the entire Ashby area was renamed West Geelong. The Ashby state school, which had only opened that same year, changed its name to Geelong West. In 1988, as part of Australia's bicentennial celebrations, the school changed its name back to Ashby. A Post Office named Geelong West opened on 1 July 1865 but was replaced and renamed Geelong North Railway Station in 1886. On 1 April 1887 the Geelong West office reopened near its present location. In 1960 Shandeen Post Office opened near the corner of Aberdeen Road and Shannon Avenue.
Geelong West was served by an electric tramway service from 1912 until 1956, when the service was replaced by buses subcontracted out to
Seven Hills is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Seven Hills is located 34 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Blacktown. Seven Hills is part of the Greater Western Sydney region. The suburb incorporates the localities of Grantham (the Grantham Estate) and Grantham Heights. Seven Hills is colloquially known as 'Sevo'.
Prior to European settlement in the 1790s, the area now known as Seven Hills was originally settled and occupied for hundreds, if not thousands, of years by indigenous peoples who most probably would have identified with the Warmuli and Toogagal clans, of the Darug nation. The vicinity of Seven Hills was first visited by Europeans very early on in the settlement of the colony of New South Wales, possibly as early as April, 1788 by Arthur Phillip or more certainly by Watkin Tench in June 1789.
The first land grant by the colonial administration (in what was then known as the "District of Toongabbee") was to an ex Marine soldier, John Redmond in May 1793, whose grant of 60 acres (24 ha) was adjacent to a track which later became Station Road. At least 13 further grants were
Blairgowrie is a seaside village approximately 87 km from Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Mornington Peninsula.
Blairgowrie was named after the Burgh of Blairgowrie, 2nd largest town in Perth and Kinross, Scotland. A Post Office was not opened until 1 November 1947.
Rhys Isaac, Pulitze-prize-winning author, died in Blairgowrie on 6 October 2010.
Blairgowrie is located near the western tip of the Mornington Peninsula, between Sorrento and Rye, and is one of many popular holiday destinations for Melburnians along this narrow peninsula strip. It is bordered on the north by Port Phillip, and on the south by Bass Strait and a series of surf beaches interspersed with spectacular cliffs and rocky ledges. It is frequented by tourists in the summer months, and has been featured on numerous travel programs.
Burwood East is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, located 17 km east of Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Whitehorse. At the 2011 Census, Burwood East had a population of 10,141.
Burwood East is bounded by Springvale Road to the east, Middleborough Road to the west, Eley Road and Hawthorn Road to the north and Highbury Road to the south.
The Wurundjeri Aboriginal clan, one of four Koorie clans that inhabited the Port Phillip region, were the original occupants of the area now occupied by East Burwood. To the east of present day Middleborough Road, much of the land was initially not very attractive to European squatters for settlement and parts were mostly covered with open forests, consisting of Red Stringybark, Red Box, Long Leaf Box, Candlebark and Manna Gum. Highbury Park contains some of the few stands of remnant vegetation, including the locally uncommon Shiny Wallaby-grass (Austrodanthonia induta).
By the mid 19th century, East Burwood and the surrounding districts were under cultivation and local horticulturists were supplying Melbourne's markets, including the Victoria Markets, with cut flowers and produce. Jonquils
Clifton Beach is a town located approximately 25 km southeast of Hobart on the South Arm Peninsula on the outskirts of Hobart, Tasmania, Australia. It is part of the City of Clarence, and is a popular surfing location.
Clifton Beach Surf Life Saving Club was established in 1963. This section of the club is one part of two, the other half being at Kingston Beach on the western shore.
The entire beach is backed by a coastal reserve, which incorporates coastal dunes behind the central and eastern part of the beach. The now vegetated dunes have transgressed up to 300 m inland rising to more than 20 m, with dense vegetation behind, then the shallow southern shores of circular Pipe Clay Lagoon. The beach is bordered by 54 m high Cape Deslacs in the east and 50 m high rocky cliffs in the west that run south for 3.5 km rising to 100 m high at Cape Contrariety. The beach is 2.1 km long and faces south-southeast into Storm Bay exposing it to all southerly swell. Waves average 1-1.5 m and maintain a moderately steep beach fronted by a continuous bar which is cut by rips every 200 m during and following high waves, with permanent rips against the rocks at each end.It is considered by some as
Darlington is a small, inner-city suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Darlington is located about 3 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the local government area of the City of Sydney and is part of the region of the Inner West.
Darlington was part of the area first occupied by the Cadigal band of the Dharug people. The Cadigal people were decimated in the smallpox epidemic of 1789 and it is said only three Cadigal people were left by 1791. It is suggested that some Cadigal people may have escaped to the Concord area.
In 1835 William Shepherd, a botanist, held about 28 acres (110,000 m) in the area where he cultivated a nursery garden. He named it Darling Nursery, in honour of Governor Ralph Darling. The suburb became known as Darlingtown, which gradually was corrupted to Darlington. Street names such as Ivy, Vine, Rose, Pine and Myrtle recall the nursery origins.
Although Darlington is small in area it can be split into a number of subdivisions including the Golden Grove locality. Much of the western half of the suburb has become part of the campus of the University of Sydney while the south-west and the east has
Fitzroy is an inner northern suburb of Adelaide 4 km from the Adelaide city centre, in the state of South Australia, Australia within the City of Prospect. It is adjacent to North Adelaide, Prospect, Ovingham and Thorngate. The post code for Fitzroy is 5082. It is bounded to the west by Cotton Street, to the south by Fitzroy Terrace, in the east by Prospect Road and the north by Avenue Road. Fitzroy is essentially a residential suburb, overlooking the North Adelaide Parklands.
Fitzroy mainly consists of expansive 19th century multi-storey mansions and leafy European tree-lined streets, which were the abode of upper-class early South Australian settlers, who lived away from the noise of Adelaide city, where the working class lived in cramped cottages. Fitzroy used to also contain the present Thorngate, before a subdivision.
An historic lane in Fitzroy is Goode Lane, dating back to the mid-19th century.
Fitzroy is an attractive and affluent suburb of Adelaide; with many residences being within South Australia's most valuable properties. This highly sort after suburb consists of only a handful of residential streets. There are no non-residential facilities directly within the suburb,
Milsons Point is a suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. North Sydney is located 3 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of North Sydney Council.
Milsons Point was named after James Milson (1785-1872), one of the earliest settlers. Milsons Point is also the geographical feature that juts into Sydney Harbour from the northern side, directly opposite Sydney Cove, the spot where the first European settlement was established in 1788.
Milsons Point was named after James Milson (1785-1872), a free settler originally from Lincolnshire who settled in the then-almost uninhabited district in 1824. In that year, Governor Brisbane granted Milson a total of 350 acres (1.4 km) on land fronting the Harbour. However, after a protracted dispute following a house fire in which all his land deeds were destroyed, Milson's holdings in the area were reduced in 1830 to 50 acres (200,000 m) back from the Harbour. As compensation for the lost land, he was granted a holding that now encompasses the suburbs of Thornleigh and Normanhurst. Milson subsequently established a profitable business supplying ships with
Queens Park is an eastern suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 6 kilometres east of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Waverley Council.
Queens Park is east of the park and suburb known as Centennial Park, west of Waverley and Charing Cross, south of Bondi Junction and north of Randwick.
Queens Park was originally part of the Sydney Common and later the Lachlan Swamps Water Reserve. Today it is a large urban park, part of Centennial Parklands. It was dedicated with Centennial Park in 1888 as part of the centenary celebrations of European settlement in Australia.
Numerous playing fields are located on the southern and western flatter sections of the park. It has been used for sports fields since 1938. Moriah College which is just across the road also uses the park for their PDHPE lessons and other schools in Sydney also use the park.
The Centennial Park and Moore Park Trust undertook major renovations of Queens Park in 2009 to improve the quality of the playing fields which are used daily. The Trust also completed a major renovation of the popular children's playground in 2009, and developed a shared cycleway to link the
St Ives Chase is a bushland suburb on the Upper North Shore of Sydney in the state of New South Wales, Australia. St Ives Chase is 18 kilometres north-west of the Sydney Central Business District in the local government area of Ku-ring-gai Council. St Ives is a more developed adjacent suburb and St Ives Chase covers the area approximately north of Toolang Road and west of Collins Road. The neighbouring suburb of North Turramurra is separated by a section of the Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park. It is a separate suburb from St Ives, which lies to its south.
By road, St Ives Chase can only be accessed via St Ives. Warrimoo Avenue is the main road used to access streets in St Ives Chase. Many properties sit very close to the bush. As St Ives Chase has no through traffic, there are rarely traffic delays in the suburb. Residents driving from St Ives Chase will first encounter peak hour traffic trying to join or cross Killeaton Street or Mona Vale Road in St Ives. A common route to the city is via the North Shore's Eastern Arterial Road.
Buses to St Ives Chase include Forest Coach Lines route 195 to/from Gordon railway station and route 194/594 from St Ives through St Ives Chase to the
Mooroolbark is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 31 km east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Yarra Ranges. At the 2006 Census, Mooroolbark had a population of 19,335. Mooroolbark is at an altitude of approximately 93m.
“Mooroolbeek” is popularly thought to be the name given by the local Wurundjeri Aboriginal people ("moorool" meaning red and "beek" the earth). An alternative meaning of Mooroolbark being "the place where the wide waters meet" is recorded by Museum Victoria. Another meaning recorded is "red bark".
The Parish of Mooroolbark was surveyed in 1855, with a township originally called Brushy Creek standing where North Croydon is today. The name "Mooroolbark" was to be popularised with eventual European settlement in the late 19th century. A rural hub developed around the train station, which opened in 1887 and offered rail access to Melbourne. The Post Office opened shortly after on 15 March 1888.
Wonga Park used to be a part of Mooroolbark until the early 20th century when it became a separate suburb. Another locality called Mooroolbark Park was later renamed as Chirnside Park.
Mooroolbark has a train station
Bittern is a rural town in Victoria, Australia, 49 km southeast from Melbourne's central business district, as a part of the urban enclave on Westernport comprising Bittern, Hastings, Crib Point, Somerville, and Tyabb. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Mornington Peninsula. It is served by Bittern railway station on the Stony Point greater-metropolitan line and by the 782 bus route operated by Peninsula Bus Lines between Frankston and Flinders. Bittern is named after the shy wetland bird, the Australasian Bittern, which reflects the suburb's location amongst significant areas of native bushland and dense coastal vegetation.
The town was part of the Coolart pastoral run of the 1860s. Bittern Post Office opened on 5 January 1891. The railway opened for Bittern in 1889 and small scale commercial development began during the early 1900s. The town also has a primary school, Bittern Primary School, and a small basketball and netball stadium known as Graham Myers Sports Stadium or Bittern Memorial Stadium, which features an indoor court used for basketball, netball or floorball and four outside courts used for netball. There is also a small oval located outside the stadium.
Burnley is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 4 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Yarra. At the 2011 Census, Burnley had a population of 738.
Burnley is bounded by the Yarra River as its southern and eastern boundaries. Burnley is a very small residential suburb located in a pocket of the Yarra, considered to be part of the larger Richmond area.
Burnley Post Office opened on 21 March 1887.
With a large number of small homes in its narrow streets, Burnley has a diverse range of residential architecture.
Burnley has three major parks. Burnley Public Golf Course services local residents and other Melburnians.
Ryans Reserve, on Swan Street, is a centre for tennis and netball.
Golden Square Bicentennial Park is the former site of the Burnley Primary School, which was merged together with Cremorne Primary School and Richmond Primary School, 500m to the west. Burnley Park houses Burnley Oval, near Yarra Boulevard and Melbourne Girls College. Melbourne Girls College was formerly Richmond High School, which was the site of controversial protests in 1993 when it was closed down by the Kennett Government. Kevin Bartlett
Camellia is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Camellia is located 23 kilometres (14 mi) west of the Sydney central business district in the local government area of the City of Parramatta.
The railway station that opened here in 1885 was originally called Subiaco, but it caused confusion because it was also the name of an estate and mansion on the opposite side of Parramatta River at Rydalmere, built by Hannibal Macarthur, the nephew of John Macarthur. In 1901, the station name was changed to Camellia, after the Camellia Grove Nursery nearby that specialised in growing Camellias. This land was leased by Silas Sheather since 1852 on what was originally part of the 850 acres (3.4 km) of Elizabeth Farm.
Camellia is predominantly an industrial and commercial area. An office block close to the railway station contains an Aldi supermarket.
Camellia railway station is on the Carlingford railway line of the CityRail network. Grand Avenue is the main road in Camellia.
Garran is a suburb in the Woden district of Canberra in the Australian Capital Territory. Garran was named after Sir Robert Garran who made numerous contributions to the development of higher education in Canberra. The streets in Garran are named after Australian writers. On Census night 2006, Garran had a population of 3,175 people. The suburb was first settled in 1966 and has an area of 2.74 km².
The Canberra Hospital is located in Garran. The suburb also contains three primary schools: a government school, Garran Primary, a special school for the intellectually disabled, Malkara School and a Catholic school, Sts. Peter & Paul Primary School .
Garran contains volcanic materials from the Silurian Age. Deakin volcanics purple and green tuff is under the Canberra hospital, around Ingamells Street in the north and the base of Davidson Hill. Deakin Volcanics coarse dark purple rhyodacite is under Fitchett Street and Couvreur Street areas. Deakin Volcanics green grey and purple rhyodacite is in the center and south of Garran.
Narwee is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Narwee is located 18 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the St George area. Narwee lies across the local government areas of the City of Hurstville and the City of Canterbury. The postcode is 2209, which it shares with neighbouring Beverly Hills.
The main street of Narwee is Broad Arrow Road, which runs from King Georges Road in Beverly Hills to just past Bonds Road in Riverwood. Broadarrow Road is also the boundary line between the northern part in the City of Canterbury, and the southern part in the City of Hurstville.
Narwee is an Aboriginal word meaning "sun", an appropriate name for an area once called 'Sunning Hill Farm'. The language and dialect it was derived from is unclear. A number of Sydney suburbs developed during the 1930s have similar allegedly Aboriginal names, the origins of which are uncertain, including nearby Panania, and Jannali. Jannali supposedly means "moon" and was apparently named at the same time as Narwee, as a "sister suburb".
The name Narwee was adopted when the railway station opened on the 21st December 1931. People living there at
North Wahroonga is a suburb on the Upper North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. North Wahroonga is located 23 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Ku-ring-gai Council. Wahroonga is a separate suburb, to the south.
North Wahroonga is bounded by the F3 Sydney-Newcastle Freeway on the west and the Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park on the north.
Wahroonga is an Aboriginal word meaning our home.
In the early days of British settlement in New South Wales, the main activity was cutting down the tall trees which grew there. The Wahroonga area was first settled in 1822 by Thomas Hyndes, a convict who became a wealthy landowner. Later there were many orchards, and when the railway was built it became a popular place for businessmen to build out-of-town residences with large gardens in the 1920s and 1930s.
Pagewood is a suburb in south-eastern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 8 kilometres south-east of the Sydney central business district. It is part of the City of Botany Bay.
Pagewood has a mixture of residential and industrial areas.
Pagewood was originally planned as a garden suburb, similar to neighbouring Daceyville. However, it was developed to provide housing after World War I when there was a shortage of land. The new suburb began developing in 1919 as an estate called Monash Gardens. The suburb was named Pagewood in 1929 to honour Alderman F.J. Page of Botany Council.
National Studios was opened in 1935 and for nearly thirty years, Australian and British cinema was produced here. During the 1950s, the site was bought by General Motors Holden, which operated a car manufacturing plant until 1981.
In 1960, the council considered changing the suburb name to East Botany. Residents battled to retain the name, particularly since Botany was becoming an industrial area, while Pagewood retained its identity as a mainly residential area.
Westfield Eastgardens shopping centre in Wentworth Avenue was built in the northern part of the suburb on the old Pagewood Bus Depot
Potts Point is a small, densely-populated suburb of inner-city Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Potts Point is located 3 kilometres east of the Sydney central business district and is part of the local government area of the City of Sydney.
Potts Point sits on a ridge immediately east of Woolloomooloo, west of Elizabeth Bay and Rushcutters Bay and north of Darlinghurst. The suburb has a roughly trapezoidal shape, and at its greatest extent is no more than 1 kilometre long by 200 metres wide. Potts Point's eastern boundary is Macleay Street. The suburb's other boundaries include Darlinghurst Road to the southeast, William Street to the south, Brougham Street and part of Cowper Road to the west.
Kings Cross is not an officially designated suburb of Sydney, but rather a locality encompassed entirely by the suburbs of Potts Point and Elizabeth Bay. Kings Cross is a commercial area that is dominated by bars, restaurants, nightclubs, strip clubs and adult bookstores. Kings Cross railway station is situated beneath Darlinghurst Road and the Garden Island facility of the Royal Australian Navy sits on the north end of Potts Point.
Potts Point is named for Joseph Hyde
South Yarra is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 4 km south-east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area are the Cities of Melbourne and Stonnington. At the 2011 Census, South Yarra had a population of 19,134.
The area east of Punt Road is in the Local Government Area of the City of Stonnington and the area to the west is in the City of Melbourne.
The main shopping region of South Yarra runs along Toorak Road and Chapel Street. Trade along these two arteries are focused on trendy and upscale shopping, restaurants, nightclubs and cafe culture. The area of South Yarra centred along Commercial Road is one of Melbourne's gay villages.
South Yarra is also home to some of Melbourne's most prestigious residential addresses. Residential land price records (per square metre) have been set by properties in Domain Road, Walsh Street and Fairlie Court.
South Yarra was originally inhabited by the Wurundjeri tribe of the Kulin aboriginal nation.
The area was settled by European settlers in the 1830s, around the time of the establishment of Melbourne. During the 1840s, it became popular with wealthy citizens of Melbourne as a suburban retreat from the town.
Waterloo is an inner-city suburb of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Waterloo is located 4 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district and is part of the local government area of the City of Sydney.
Waterloo took its name from the Battle of Waterloo in 1815, when Allied and Prussian forces under the Duke of Wellington and Blücher defeated the French forces under Napoleon Bonaparte.
In the 1820s Waterloo began supporting industrial operations including the Fisher and Duncan Paper Mill and the Waterloo Flour Mills owned by William Hutchinson and Daniel Cooper. William Hutchinson, superindendent of convicts and public works, had been granted 1,400 acres (5.7 km) of land in 1823. He sold Waterloo Farm to Daniel Cooper (1785-1853) and Solomon Levey (1794-1833). Cooper later bought out Levey's share and on his death the Waterloo Estate passed onto his son, also named Daniel Cooper, who was the first speaker of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly.
Waterloo was a relatively poor area, until the early 2000's. Waterloo has undergone and is still undergoing gentrification with a rising business district focusing on technology-oriented firms and the development of more
Waurn Ponds is a mainly residential southern suburb of Geelong, Victoria, Australia.
The suburb is bounded by Rossack Drive, Princes Highway, the Geelong to Warnambool railway, Reservoir Road, Draytons Road, Pigdons Road, Deakin University and Honeys Road.
The town was named after the Waurn chain of ponds, a watercourse that flows from Mount Moriac over 30 km into the Barwon River. Two early hotels - the Victoria Inn (1845-60) and the Waurn Ponds Inn (1856) were located on the Princes Highway serving travellers on the road. The Albert and Victoria vineyards, owned by David Pettavel, began growing grapes in 1848 and the area was better known as Pettavel in the 1860s. The Pettavel Post Office opened on 12 January 1865 and remained open until 1952. The Waurn Ponds Post Office opened on 1 December 1871 and closed in 1968.
A quarry for limestone was opened in the 1840s, with quarrying continuing from 1964 to today at the nearby Blue Circle Southern cement works. Kilns for making mortar lime operated until the 1970s.
Waurn Ponds started to become part of the outer suburbs of Geelong from the 1970s, with the opening of the Deakin University campus and the Waurn Ponds Hotel on the
Austinmer is a northern suburb of Wollongong on the south coast of New South Wales, Australia. It sits in the northern Illawarra region, south of Stanwell Park and immediately north of Thirroul.
The town's main beach is Austinmer Beach, a patrolled surf beach and a popular tourist beach. A second smaller and unpatrolled beach lies directly to the north of Austinmer beach, and is known locally as "Little Austi".
The main road through the town is Lawrence Hargrave Drive, which connects with the Princes Highway at Bulli Pass. Moore Street connects Austinmer railway station to Lawrence Hargrave Drive, and, along with a short stretch along Lawrence Hargrave Drive, constitutes Austinmer's commercial presence, as well as a police station, school, churches, and veterinary clinic.
The Headland Hotel to the north of Austinmer Beach was featured in the 2005/2006 Television series headLand.
It is served by Austinmer railway station, on the South Coast railway line which runs electric double deck train services to Sydney and Wollongong.
The area was originally called Sidmouth, but by the 1860s was called Bulli North. The name changed to Austinmere (later dropping the final "e", but still
Bardwell Valley is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Bardwell Valley is located approximately 12 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Rockdale and is part of the St George area.
Bardwell Valley is a primarily residential area. Some beautiful sandstone cottages from the early 20th century still stand in East Street and The Glen Road. Bardwell Creek runs through the middle of the valley and empties into Wolli Creek.
Prior to European settlement, Bardwell Valley was a significant part of the lands of the Cadigal people. Bardwell Valley was originally the name used to describe the land beside Bardwell Creek in the suburb of Bardwell Park. The suburb was formed in 1996 from parts of Arncliffe that bordered the valley and creek.
Bardwell Park was named after free settler Thomas Hill Bardwell who owned land in this area. Thomas Hill Bardwell was a wealthy pastoralist from southern New South Wales who bought the land in December 1853.
After much development had taken place in the Ancliffe and Bardwell Park areas during the early 1900s, Bardwell Valley was the last remaining area with any
Belfield is a suburb in south-western Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 14 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Canterbury and partly in the Municipality of Strathfield.
Belfield has a mixture of residential, light industrial and commercial areas. A small shopping strip is located along Burwood Road. The Cooks River forms a natural border, to the north of the suburb.
Belfield has a population of about 4,500, in about 1,500 dwellings. 42% of Belfield's residents were born overseas.
Belfield has a number of houses of worship, and St. Michael's Primary School opened in 1959. There is also a Uniting Church on Punchbowl road and a Korean Presbyterian Church on Burwood Road.
The Belfield Bowling and Recreation Club is a bowls club located near the intersection of Punchbowl Road and Georges River Road and the Cooks River. Rudd Park is home to the Belmore Eagles Soccer FC and features two tennis courts.
A small group of shops, restaurants, post office and a hotel are located on Burwood Road, near the intersection of Punchbowl Road. The Belfield area is being renovated with new shops and apartments. It
Berowra is a suburb of northern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 38 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Hornsby Shire. Berowra is south-east of the suburbs of Berowra Heights and east of Berowra Waters.
Berowra is largely residential with a small retail precinct lining the Pacific Highway near the train station. In May 2007 a new shopping complex opened on Turner Road in Berowra Heights. Leading up to the opening, the Berowra & District Community raised over $750,000 in BSX listed shares to buy a franchise of the Bendigo Bank. The Community Bank became one of the first to open its doors in the new complex. This was a landmark development for the future prospects of the area as the last Bank in the area closed its doors in 1996.
By road, Berowra has access to the F3 Sydney-Newcastle Freeway heading north or south and is approximately 15 minutes drive from the major regional shopping centre of Hornsby, New South Wales. The Berowra railway station is serviced by trains from both the North Shore Line and the Newcastle and Central Coast railway lines providing regular services to Sydney and the Central Coast /
Blacktown is a suburb in the City of Blacktown, in Western Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Blacktown is located 34 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district and is the administrative centre of the local government area of City of Blacktown. Blacktown is the largest of any suburb or township in New South Wales and is one of the most multicultural places in Sydney.
Prior to the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788, Blacktown was inhabited by different groups of the Darug people including the Warmuli, based around what is now Prospect, and their neighbours the Gomerigal from the South Creek area and the Wawarawarry from the Eastern Creek area. It is estimated that fifty to ninety percent of the Darug died of smallpox and other introduced diseases within a few years of the British arrival. Governor Arthur Phillip began granting land in the area to white settlers in 1791, a process that was reversed slightly in 1819 when Governor Lachlan Macquarie granted land to two indigenous men, Colebee and Nurragingy.
A few years later in 1823, the Native Institution (a school for Aboriginal children) was moved from Parramatta to the site where Richmond Road meets
Bullaburra is a small town in the state of New South Wales, Australia in the City of Blue Mountains. It is one of the towns that stretch along the route of the Main Western railway line and Great Western Highway which pass over the Blue Mountains, west of Sydney. Bullaburra used to have a service station but it was demolished in 2008.
Bullaburra lies west of Lawson, and east of Wentworth Falls. The population together with Lawson was 3637 as of 2001 (Census 2001). Bullaburra has a railway station served by CityRail's Blue Mountains services, a railway siding, and a playground. Two reserves, Red Gum Park and Sir Henry Parkes Park, are nearby, Red Gum Park being on the south side of the town. Minnatonka Falls are a feature of the park. Another notable landmark is Rhondda Valley, a large property just west of Bullaburra. The Blue Mountains National Park, which is a World Heritage Area, is situated not far to the north and south of the town.
A walking track was constructed through the area in 1931. The Railway Department had agreed to supply electricity to the Blue Mountains Shire Council from the power station at Lithgow and a transmission line was put through from Blackheath to
Carlton is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 2 km north from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Melbourne. At the 2011 Census, Carlton had a population of 13,509.
Its boundaries are roughly Elizabeth Street to the west, Princes Street to the north, Victoria Parade to the south, and Nicholson Street to the east.
The suburb is well known for its "Little Italy" precinct on Lygon Street, for its Victorian architecture and its European-style squares (University Square, Lincoln Square, Argyle Place and MacArthur Place) and the Carlton Gardens, the latter being the location of the Royal Exhibition Building, one of Australia's few man-made sites with World Heritage status.
Carlton is thought to have been named after Carlton House, London.
Carlton was founded in 1851 at the beginning of the Victorian Gold Rush, with the Carlton Post Office opening on 19 October 1865.
The area is noted for its diverse population that has been the home in earlier days of Jewish and Italian immigrants
A large number of low-income residents live in the substantial public housing estates that were built during the 1960s. The two main estates are between
Condell Park, a suburb of local government area City of Bankstown, is 22 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the state of New South Wales, Australia, and is a part of the South-western Sydney region. The postcode of Condell Park is 2200, which is shared with Bankstown, Bankstown Airport, and Mount Lewis.
Condell Park was named after Ousley Condell, an engineer who arrived on 8 May 1829 on the barque Swiftsure with 13 other settlers. He applied for a position in the public service and was granted four 50-acre (200,000 m) adjoining lots in 1830 that he called Condell Park.
Black Charlie's Hill, located in Simmat Avenue Condell Park, was named after a local identity whose nickname was 'Black Charlie'. His real name is said to have been Charles Luzon or Charlie Lopez, a man of Aboriginal ancestry. He lived near Edgar Street, South Yagoona and like others in the area, during the early 1900s, grew vegetables that he carried off to the market by horse and cart. His home was constructed of corrugated iron. Black Charlie was said to fire a single shot each evening promptly at 9pm but the reason was never disclosed. Some suggested he was hunting rabbits, others
Cook is a suburb of Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia. Cook is in the district of Belconnen. On Census night 2011, Cook had a population of 2,901 people.
The suburb of Cook is named after Captain James Cook and the sixth Prime Minister of Australia Sir Joseph Cook. The streets in Cook are names after notable women from Australian history.
Greywacke from the Ordovician Pittman Formation forms a band down the east of Cook. This has been uplifted on the east side of the Deakin Fault. The fault heads in the north north west direction in Cook. A porphyry of Green-grey Dacitic intrusive containing large white feldspar crystals is found in the north east corner of Cook. Mount Painter Volcanics dark grey to grey green crystal tuff is found in the center and south and south west. Green grey rhyodacite of the Walker Volcanics underlie the north west.
Darlinghurst is an inner-city, eastern suburb of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Darlinghurst is located immediately east of the Sydney central business district and Hyde Park, within the local government area of the City of Sydney. Darlinghurst is colloquially known as Darlo.
Darlinghurst is a densely populated suburb with the majority of residents living in apartments or terraced houses. Once a slum and red-light prostitution district, Darlinghurst has undergone urban renewal since the 1980s to become a rather upmarket, cosmopolitan and diverse area. Places such as Victoria Street (which joins Darlinghurst and Kings Cross) are known as culturally rich destinations. The main thoroughfare of Darlinghurst is considered to be Oxford Street which is well-known around the world as the centre of Sydney's gay community, and is home to a number of gay venues. In recent years, Oxford Street has garnered a reputation as being Sydney's primary "nightclub strip", popular with both gay and straight clubbers, and surpassing the notorious red-light district of Kings Cross in popularity. Subsequently, crime rates increased in the area, particularly for assaults and robberies.
East Sydney is a
Fitzroy is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 2 km north-east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Yarra. At the 2011 Census, Fitzroy had a population of 9,430.
Planned as Melbourne's first suburb, it was later also one of the city's first areas to gain municipal status. Its borders are Alexandra Parade (north), Victoria Parade (south), Smith Street (east) and Nicholson Street. Fitzroy is also Melbourne's smallest suburb in terms of area, being approximately 100 Ha.
It has a long associations with the working class and is currently inhabited by a wide variety of ethnicities and socio-economic groups and is known for a culture of bohemianism, being the main home of Melbourne's Fringe Festival. Its commercial heart is Brunswick Street, which is one of Melbourne's major retail, eating, and entertainment strips.
It has undergone waves of both urban renewal and gentrification since the 1950s. In response to past planning practices, much of the suburb is now a historic preservation precinct, with many individual buildings and streetscapes covered by Heritage Overlays. Its built environment is diverse and features some of the finest
Glen Alpine is a suburb of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Glen Alpine is located 56 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Campbelltown and is part of the Macarthur region.
Glen Alpine began as a golf course estate with houses constructed mainly inside the looping design of the 18 hole course. From the late 1990s, development expanded outside this ring towards the local shopping centre Macarthur Square.
In the past few years a new estate, Macarthur Gardens has been developed in the area between the 6th hole, Menangle Road and Macarthur Square. This development included the creation of a local shopping and tennis complex 500 metres from the golf course clubhouse. This development consists of over 50 new single and double story houses on much smaller blocks than those of Glen Alpine. The modern style of these homes complements those of Glen Alpine. Englorie Park is another new development in this area between Glen Alpine and Ambarvale.
The name Glen Alpine dates back to the 1820s when Thomas Reddall, who lends his name to Thomas Reddall High School in neighbouring Ambarvale, built a house with
Lyneham is a suburb of Canberra, Australia in the North Canberra district. It is named after Sir William Lyne, premier of the Australian state of New South Wales from 1899 to 1901. The suburb name was gazetted in 1928, but development did not commence until 1958. The streets of Lyneham are named after artists and people associated with the development of early Canberra.
In the 2006 Census, the population of Lyneham was 4,318, including 33 (0.8%) Indigenous persons and 2,834 (65.6%) Australian-born persons. Only 35.7% of dwellings were separate houses (compared to the Australian average of 74.8%), while 36.7% were semi-detached, row or terrace houses (Australian average: 9.2%) and 27.6% were flats, units or apartments (Australian average: 14.2%). 38.5% of the population were professionals, compared to the Australian average of 19.8%. Notably 19.1% worked in government administration, compared to the Australian average of 1.3%, although the Canberra-wide average is a very similar 18%. Lyneham is favoured by students and young adults with 15.6% of its population in the 15-24 year old age group (compared to the Australian average of 13.6%). The suburb has few children under 15: 11.3%,
Milperra, a suburb of local government area City of Bankstown, is located 24 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district in the state of New South Wales, Australia, and is a part of the South-western Sydney region.
Milperra is an Aboriginal word for a gathering of people. The land at Milperra was originally owned by George Johnson Jr. After World War I, returning soldiers established poultry farms and vegetable gardens in the area. The area commonly known as Thorns Bush, became officially known as Bankstown Soldier Settlement in 1917. Many streets in the area are named after World War 1 battles and officers.
The Milperra College of Advanced Education was established in 1974, which became the Bankstown campus of the University of Western Sydney in 1989.
In September 1984, on Father's Day, members of rival motorbike gangs the Comanchero and the Bandidos had a showdown in the car park of the Milperra Viking Tavern, which is technically located in Revesby. This altercation has since been called the 'Milperra Massacre'. Six bikies and a 14-year-old girl were killed.
Milperra sits on the bank of the Georges River and features a number of parks and reserves along the
Moore Park is a large area of parkland in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. It is part of Centennial Parklands, a collective of three parks being Moore Park, Centennial Park and Queens Park. Centennial Parklands is administered by the Centennial Park & Moore Park Trust, a NSW Government agency. The only exception is the land on which the Sydney Cricket Ground and Sydney Football Stadium are sited; these stadiums are managed by the SCG Trust.
Moore Park is also a small suburb in its own right, as is Centennial Park. Moore Park is located 3 kilometres south-east of the Sydney central business district and is part of local government area of the City of Sydney.
The parkland south of Paddington was named after Charles Moore, Mayor of Sydney from 1867–69, who fought for the land to be dedicated as a leisure area for the people of Sydney and suburbs. The land was part of 1,000 acres (4.0 km) originally set aside by Governor Lachlan Macquarie in 1810 for grazing and watering stock.
Sydney's first zoo was established here in 1879 on 7 acres (28,000 m) of land known as Billygoat Swamp. The zoological gardens covered 15 acres (61,000 m) by 1906 but
Mortlake is a suburb in the inner-west of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 17 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the City of Canada Bay.
Mortlake sits on the southern bank of the Parramatta River and is home to the southern bank of the Mortlake Ferry or commonly known as the Putney Punt, the last surviving punt service in Sydney. Mortlake is also The Terminus for bus routes 439 & L39 (to Circular Quay via Five Dock Shops and Leichhardt) and 464 (to Ashfield railway station).
Mortlake was originally known as Bottle Point.
The suburb's name is derived from its namesake Mortlake, by the banks of the Thames in London. Parramatta River had been known as the 'Thames of the Antipodes' and other nearby suburbs were also named after Thames localities of Greenwich, Woolwich and Putney.
Mortlake was notable as the site of the Australian Gas Light Company (AGL) gas works, which first purchased land here in 1883. Colliers from Newcastle brought coal to the gasworks site at Mortlake. When a new Gladesville Bridge was opened in 1964, it was built to replace a bridge that needed to close every time the swing section on the
Mount Evelyn is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 37 km north-east from Melbourne's central business district. Its Local Government Area is the Shire of Yarra Ranges. At the 2006 Census, Mount Evelyn had a population of 9100.
Mount Evelyn nestles in a right-angled bend of the Olinda Creek, a large, permanent creek known originally as Running Creek. Different parts of the current Mount Evelyn area were first known as Olinda Vale, Billygoat Hill, McKillop/Valinda and South Wandin. When the (now closed) railway station was opened in 1901, it was named Olinda Vale. It was renamed Evelyn after the County in which it is centrally placed, possibly as part of an attempt by the Victorian Railways to shorten names of stations. By 1913, local progress association members persuaded the Railways to add the "Mount" to promote visitors to the healthy mountain area (which is the highest point on the railway (now Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail).
The Post Office opened on 15 February 1904 as Valinda (derived from Olinda Vale). The name was changed to Evelyn (the name of the county) in 1908, then to Mount Evelyn in 1913.
Most of the soil in the township is grey, nutrient-poor, and rocky,
Northbridge is a suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia 7 kilometres north of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Willoughby.
Northbridge features a historic stone bridge over Tunks Park. It has many large waterfront houses which overlook Sailors Bay and Middle Harbour on Port Jackson.
Northbridge took its name from its location, north of a sandstone suspension bridge built in 1892. It was constructed by a team of land developers at a cost of 42,000 pounds and originally known as North Sydney Bridge. The engineer responsible for the construction was J.E.Coyle and the style was Federation Gothic, with medieval motifs as "unexpected embellishments". It has been known as the Northbridge and Cammeray Suspension Bridge but is now called the Long Gully Bridge.
The land where the suspension bridge was built belonged to Arthur Twemlow, a Sydney jeweller. In 1870 he built a two storey house called The Hermitage, on Fig Tree Point, from sandstone quarried on the estate. Transport was a problem in the early days and Tremlow had to sail through The Spit and around Middle Head to Circular Quay, from where he walked to his shop at
Ramsgate is a suburb in southern Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia 16 km south of the Sydney central business district. It is part of the St George area. Ramsgate is in the local government area of the City of Rockdale. Ramsgate Beach is a separate suburb, to the east.
Ramsgate is surrounded by the suburbs of Ramsgate Beach, Monterey, Kogarah, Beverley Park and Sans Souci.
The area between Cooks River and Georges River was originally known as Seven Mile Beach. It was changed to Lady Robinson’s Beach in 1874 to honour the wife of Governor Sir Hercules Robinson. Cook Park is named after Samuel Cook who advocated it as a public pleasure area. Ramsgate was named after the seaside resort in England. A model village was originally planned for the suburb but later abandoned.
Scarborough Park was created in the 1830s from part of Pat Moore's Swamp or Patmore Swamp. Patrick Moore was granted 60 acres (240,000 m) of land in 1812. It was named by the Hon. Thomas Holt after the English coastal town of Scarborough, Yorkshire and the First Fleet convict ship which was briefly anchored in Botany Bay in 1788.
The suburb is mostly residential with a shopping strip on Rocky Point
Valley View is a suburb of Adelaide, South Australia. It is located mainly in the City of Salisbury and the City of Port Adelaide Enfield, with part also in the City of Tea Tree Gully.
Valley View Post Office opened on 1 June 1967 and closed in 1993. An earlier office was opened as Para Vista on 13 January 1964, was renamed Valley View in October 1964 and Valley View East in May 1967 and closed in August 1967.
The 2006 Census by the Australian Bureau of Statistics counted 5,981 persons in Valley View on census night. Of these, 50.5% were male and 49.5% were female.
The majority of residents (70.5%) are of Australian birth, with another common census response being England (6.3%).
The age distribution of Valley View residents is comparable to that of the greater Australian population. 71.0% of residents were over 25 years in 2006, compared to the Australian average of 66.5%; and 29.0% were younger than 25 years, compared to the Australian average of 33.5%.
The largest park in Valley View is Thomas Turner Reserve on Nelson Road.
The suburb is serviced by the following main roads:
Valley View is serviced by public transport run by the Adelaide Metro.
Werribee is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 32 km south-west of Melbourne's Central Business District. Its Local Government Area is the City of Wyndham. At the 2011 Census, Werribee had a population of 37,737.
Werribee is situated on the Werribee River, approximately halfway between Melbourne and Geelong, on the Princes Highway. It is the administrative centre of the City of Wyndham Local Government Area and is the City's most populous centre. Werribee is considered part of the Greater Melbourne metropolitan area and is included in the capital's population statistical division.
Since the 1990s the suburb has experienced rapid suburban growth into surrounding greenfield land, and becoming a commuter town in the Melbourne-Geelong growth corridor. Due to this urban sprawl Wyndham and its suburbs have merged into the Melbourne conurbation.
It was established as an agricultural settlement in the 1850s, originally named Wyndham and was renamed Werribee (derived from the aboriginal name meaning "backbone" or "spine") in 1904.
The suburb is best known for its major tourist attractions, which include the former estate of wealthy pastoralist Thomas Chirnside, known as Werribee
Woolwich is a suburb on the lower North Shore of Sydney, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Woolwich is located 11 kilometres north-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the Municipality of Hunter's Hill.
Woolwich sits on the peninsula between the Lane Cove River and the Parramatta River, jutting out from Hunters Hill.
The suburb's name is derived from its namesake Woolwich, by the banks of the Thames in London. Parramatta River had been known as the 'Thames of the Antipodes' and other nearby suburbs were also named after Thames localities of Greenwich, Putney and Henley.
The area's Aboriginal name is 'Mookaboola' or 'Moocooboola', which means meeting of waters. An early settler was John Clarke, who bought land here in 1834 and is responsible for naming Clarke's Point. Samuel Onion was another early land owner with an ironmongery business and he gave the suburb its first name 'Onion Point' in 1835.
The world's first, union-led green ban was placed on the suburb. Jack Mundey and his followers in the Builder's Labourers Federation did not support the destruction of local habitat. They eventually won their battle and 'Kelly's Bush'