Ranked #4 on the list Best Location of All Time

Based on 6 votes

About Wuchang

  • Contained by: China
  • Time zone(s): Chinese Standard Time
  • Events: Wuchang Uprising

Wuchang (simplified Chinese: 武昌区; traditional Chinese: 武昌區; pinyin: Wǔchāng Qū) was one of the three cities that merged into modern-day Wuhan, the capital of Hubei province, China. It stood on the right (southeastern) bank of the Yangtze River, opposite the mouth of the Han River. The two other sister towns, Hanyang and Hankou, were on the left (northwestern) bank, separated from each other by the Han. The Wuchang fish (Megalobrama amblycephala; 武昌鱼 Wǔchāng yú) is named after the town. The name "Wuchang" remains in common use for the part of urban Wuhan south of the Yangtze River. Administratively, however, it is split between several districts of the City of Wuhan. The historic center of Wuchang lies within the modern Wuchang District, which has an area of 82.4 square kilometres (31.8 sq mi) and a population of 1,003,400. Other parts of what's colloquially known as Wuchang are within Hongshan District (south and south-east) and Qingshan District (north-east). In 221, warlord Sun Quan moved the capital of Eastern Wu from Gong'an county, Jingzhou (northwest of present day Gong'an county, Hubei) to È county (in present day Ezhou City), and renamed È to Wuchang (literally prospering

Comment on Wuchang


There are no voters yet.