Waterloo railway station

Ranked #160 on the list Best Transit Stop of All Time

Based on 2 votes

About Waterloo railway station

  • Transit Lines: Northern Line
  • Terminus For Lines:

Waterloo railway station is a railway station in Waterloo, Merseyside, England on the Northern Line of the Merseyrail network. It serves a largely residential area. Waterloo opened in 1848 as the original terminus of the Liverpool, Crosby and Southport Railway. In 1850, the line was extended to Liverpool Exchange. It became part of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway in 1904, who took over from the LCSR. The Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway amalgamated with the London and North Western Railway on 1 January 1922 and in turn was Grouped into the London, Midland and Scottish Railway in 1923. Nationalisation followed in 1948 and in 1978 the station became part of the Merseyrail network's Northern Line (operated by British Rail until privatisation in 1995). The station recently completed a refurbishment at a cost of £90,000 which includes an upgraded station entrance, improvements to the staircase and access ramp with installation of double handrails, enhanced lighting, security fencing renovation, a new 'M to Go' shop opened in September 2010 and a new disabled lift will be officially opened in September 2011. Trains run to Southport (northbound) and Liverpool Central and Hunts Cross

Comment on Waterloo railway station


There are no voters yet.