Ranked #37 on the list Best Location of All Time

Based on 3 votes

About Głogów

  • Contained by: Lower Silesian Voivodeship
  • Time zone(s): Central European Time
  • Events: Battle of Głogów

Głogów [ˈɡwɔɡuf] ( listen) (German: Glogau, rarely Groß-Glogau, Czech: Hlohov) is a town in southwestern Poland. It is the county seat of Głogów County, in Lower Silesian Voivodeship (as of 1999), and was previously in Legnica Voivodeship (1975–1998). It is also the administrative seat of Gmina Głogów, although it is not part of its territory (the town forms a separate urban gmina). Głogów is the sixth largest town in the voivodeship; according to the 2004 census estimate the town had a total population of 71,686. The name of the town derives from głóg, the Polish name for hawthorn. Głogów consists of the following residential districts: Brzostów, Chrobry, Hutnik, Kopernik (Copernicus), Kościuszki, Ostrów Tumski (Church Island), Paulinów, Piastów Śląskich, Sportowe, Przemysłowe, Słoneczne, Stare Miasto (Old Town), Śródmieście, Żarków. Two villages, Biechów and Wróblin Głogówski, are also within Głogów's administrative borders. Głogów is one of the oldest towns in Poland. It was founded as a grad by a West Slavic tribe called the Dziadoszan. The first known historic record comes from 1010, in Thietmar of Merseburg's chronicles, after the troops of King Henry II of Germany in the

Comment on Głogów


There are no voters yet.