Death Comes to Pemberley

Ranked #1 on the list Best Pastiche Books

Based on 0 votes

About Death Comes to Pemberley

  • Year Released: 2011

Death Comes to Pemberley is a novel by P.D. James that continues Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice with a murder mystery. The novel begins in October, 1803, six years after the events in Pride and Prejudice which resulted in the marriage of Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy and Miss. Elizabeth Bennet. The Prologue and Book One introduce the main characters, summarize the histories of the Bennet and Darcy families, and introduce a murder. The remainder of the novel is about the mystery and its solution. The novel is a pastiche in the style of Jane Austen, as James acknowledges in her Author's Note. The book is divided into sections: Author's Note; Prologue; six Books; Epilogue. Reviews are generally favorable, with many enthusiastically so, with the New York Times foremost in the United States.

Comment on Death Comes to Pemberley


There are no voters yet.