Ranked #102 on the list Best Location of All Time

Based on 3 votes

About Charleston

  • Contained by: Charleston County
  • Time zone(s): North American Eastern Time Zone
  • Events: Battle of Grimball's Landing

Charleston is the second largest city in the U.S. state of South Carolina, surpassed only by the state capital of Columbia. Charleston is the county seat of the modern Charleston County. In 1670, Charleston was originally named Charles Towne. It moved to its present location on Oyster Point in 1680 from a location on the west bank of the Ashley River known as Albemarle Point. Charleston adopted its present name in 1783. In 1690, Charleston was the fifth largest city in North America, and remained among the ten largest cities in the United States through the 1840 census. As defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget, and used by the U.S. Census Bureau for statistical purposes only, Charleston is a principal city for the Charleston–North Charleston–Summerville Metropolitan Statistical Area and the Charleston-North Charleston urban area. Charleston is known as The Holy City perhaps by virtue of the prominence of churches on the low-rise cityscape, perhaps because, like Mecca, its devotees hold it so dear , and perhaps for the fact that Carolina was among the few original thirteen colonies to provide toleration for all Protestant religions, though it was not open to Roman

Comment on Charleston


There are no voters yet.